DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sims et al. (US 4,286,406) in view of Kaminkow et al. (US 4,968,031).
Sims teaches a stadium toy (Fig. 1) that includes: a field (20) which includes a floor (24) on which a toy top (32) runs around; a second acceleration rail (40) that extends along the entire outer edge (Fig. 1). However Sims fails to disclose a stadium that includes a movable part and step part as claimed.
Kaminkow teaches a similar invention to Sims that includes a moving part (24) that constitutes a portion of the floor (14); the movable part is configured to rise and lower with respect to the remaining part of the floor (Fig. 1) (column 3, lines 1-36); the movable part is configured to generate a step part (34) with the remaining part of the floor (Fig. 1); an output and retraction mechanism configured to move the movable part to output and retract the step part (column 3, line 51 – column 4, line 17); the step part (34) includes a first acceleration rail (sidewall of 34) that’s capable of engaging a toy top; wherein the rail output and retracts with the step part (34); wherein the movable part is in the center of the floor (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sims to include the movable/step part, as taught by Kaminkow, since combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to modify Sims/Kaminkow to change the shape to be circular in plane view, since it has been held that a mere change in shape involves routine skill in the art. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 69, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sims et al. in view of Kaminkow et al. and further in view of Muraki et al. (US 10,500,511).
Sims/Kaminkow discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the top toy includes a wheel.
Muraki teaches a top toy that includes a wheel (30) (Claims 4,6,7) in order to allow the spinning top to stably spin for a long time (column 2, lines 51-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sims/Kaminkow to include a top with a wheel, as taught bye Muraki, in order to provide stability for the top to spin for a long time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 Form.
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722