Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/27/2026 has been received; Claims 1 & 3-23 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-22 & 24-26 of copending Application No. 18/008/8692 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to the same subject matter of a helmet with a head mount suspended within the outer shell having a head engagement device.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-16, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Svendsen (USPN 4,000,520).
Regarding Claim 1, Svendsen discloses a helmet (Figures 1 & 2), comprising: an outer shell (10); a head mount (22) suspended within the outer shell such that, in use, an air gap (gap, see annotated Figure 1 below) is provided between the head mount and the outer shell, the head mount comprising a head ring (18) that is configured to engage at least the forehead of a wearer of the helmet, and a plurality of straps (22), each strap of the plurality of straps configured to extend across the top of the head of a wearer of the helmet with the ends of each strap of the plurality of straps connected (via 28) to the outer shell on opposite sides of the head of the wearer of the helmet (Figure 5); wherein the helmet further comprises a head engagement device (24) that is mounted on a surface of the head mount, that is configured to face the head of the wearer of the helmet (Figures 1-5), the head engagement device comprising a crown region that is configured to be located between the top of the head of the wearer of the helmet and the straps of the head mount (Figures 1 & 2), a frontal region that is configured to overlap with the head ring (Figures 1-5), and an intermediate region that connects the crown region to the frontal region (Figures 1-5); the crown region of the head engagement device includes at least one hole opening (Figure 5, shown slits) through which at least one strap of the plurality of straps passes, to connect the head engagement device to the at least one strap such that the head engagement device can move relative to the straps of the head mount (Col. 3, lines 3-31); a sliding interface is provided between the straps of the head mount and the crown region of the head engagement device to enable sliding movement of the crown region of the head engagement device relative to the straps of the head mount (Col. 3, lines 3-31, sliding is possible due to slits for straps), and between the head ring and the frontal region of the head engagement device to enable sliding movement of the frontal region of the head engagement device relative to the head ring of the head mount (Col. 3, lines 3-31, sliding is possible due to slits for straps).
Regarding Claim 3, Svendsen discloses at least two straps of the plurality of straps are connected to each other (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 4, Svendsen discloses the head engagement device is connected to the head mount by at least one connector (Figure 5, the connector of the opening of the slit or 36) that engages with one strap of the plurality of straps.
Regarding Claim 5, Svendsen discloses wherein the at least one connector has a first end (the first end of slit of 36) and a second end (the second end of the slit of 36) that are both joined to the head engagement device at respective first and second locations on the head engagement device (Figure 5); and the one strap of the plurality of straps is located between the connector and the head engagement device in a region between the first and second locations on the head engagement device (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Svendsen discloses the one strap of the plurality of straps is not fixedly secured to any part of the connector such that the one strap can slide relative to the connector (Figure 5 & Col. 3, lines 3-31).
Regarding Claim 7, Svendsen discloses the connector is formed from an elongate section of material, optionally one of a cord, band or a tape (36).
Regarding Claim 8, Svendsen discloses plural connectors are formed from separate pieces of said material (36, Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Svendsen discloses plural connectors are formed from sections of a single piece of said material (36).
Regarding Claim 10, Svendsen discloses the head mount comprises at least one strap (22) of the plurality of straps connected to the front of the outer shell extending in a direction towards the rear of the helmet (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Svendsen discloses the head engagement device is provided as a single component (Col. 3, lines 7-13).
Regarding Claim 12, Svendsen discloses the head engagement device is formed from plural separate sections (Col. 3, lines 7-13).
Regarding Claim 13, Svendsen discloses the frontal regional of the head engagement device is located between the forehead of the wearer of the helmet and the head ring (Figures 1-5).
Regarding Claim 14, Svendsen discloses the head ring is located between the forehead of the wearer of the helmet and the frontal regional of the head engagement device (Figure 1-5).
Regarding Claim 15, Svendsen discloses a front pad (16) positioned to be adjacent the forehead of the wearer of the helmet.
Regarding Claim 16, Svendsen discloses the front pad is connected to at least one of the head ring, the frontal region of the head engagement device and the outer shell (Figures 1 & 2, via 30).
Regarding Claim 18, Svendsen discloses the head engagement device comprises one or more pads (Col. 3, lines 7-13) provided on a surface of the head engagement device facing the head of a wearer of the helmet (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Svendsen discloses the head engagement device comprises a plate of material (Figures 1-5), optionally shaped to conform to the head of a wearer of the helmet (Figures 1-5).
Regarding Claim 20, Svendsen discloses the head engagement device comprises a plurality of holes (Figure 5, slits shown) that may be configured to provide at least one of a location for a connector to join to the head engagement device and ventilation (slits are capable of providing at least one of a location for a connector to join to the head engagement device and ventilation).
Regarding Claim 21, Svendsen discloses the low friction sliding interface is provided by a low coefficient of friction between the surfaces of the head mount and the head engagement device (Col. 3, lines 3-31, sliding possible due to slits for straps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen (USPN 4,000,520).
Regarding Claim 22, Svendsen does not specifically disclose in the absence of an impact on the helmet, the separation between the outer shell and the head mount at a location corresponding to the top of the head of a wearer provided by the air gap is at least 10mm, optionally at least 15mm, optionally at least 20mm, optionally at least 30mm, optionally at least 40mm. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of space for the gap in order to achieve an optimal configuration, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of thegap involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 & 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but, as they are drawn to the newly amended limitations not previously examined, are moot in view of the newly modified ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732