DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 113948008; “Chen” hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a foldable support device, comprising: two rotating members (31 and 32; figs 3-4), arranged adjacent to each other in a first direction (fig. 3), the two rotating members rotating synchronously (“The first gear 31 and the second gear 32 mesh and rotate together”, par. [n0026] of the machine translated document, the paragraph number cited hereinafter is the paragraph number from the machine translated document), and each rotating member having a center of rotation (figs 3-4); and two support members (21 and 22), arranged on two sides of the two rotating members in the first direction (fig. 3), the two support members being correspondingly connected to the two rotating members (“the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 are movably connected to the first body 21 and the second body 22, respectively”, par. [n0027]), and the rotating members driving the support members to move respectively (“The relative rotation of the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 can realize the relative rotation of the first body 21 and the second body 22, thereby changing the state of the display panel 10”, par. [n0028]), wherein during folding of the foldable support device, a distance between the centers of rotation of the two rotating members which rotate synchronously tends to decrease (“When the folding display device changes from a flattened state to an outward folding state, the center distance between the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 can gradually decrease”, par. [n0029]; figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein during the folding of the foldable support device, the distance between the centers of rotation of the two rotating members which rotate synchronously decreases gradually (“When the folding display device changes from a flattened state to an outward folding state, the center distance between the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 can gradually decrease”, par. [n0029]; figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the support members are movably connected to the rotating members respectively (“the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 are movably connected to the first body 21 and the second body 22, respectively”, par. [n0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the foldable support device according to claim 5, further comprising two connecting members (33 and 34), wherein the support member is movably connected to the rotating member by means of the connecting member (“The first gear 31 is movably connected to the first body 21 through the first connecting component 33, and the second gear 32 is movably connected to the second body 22 through the second connecting component 34”, par. [n0026]), and the connecting member comprises a first connecting end (333) connected to the rotating member (31) and a second connecting end connected to the support member (figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a foldable display device, comprising: a flexible screen (10; “The display panel 10 can be a flexible organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel, …The display panel 10 can be flattened and bent through its bending portion 13”, par. [n0024]), and a foldable support device (20 and 30), comprising: two rotating members (31, 32), arranged adjacent to each other in a first direction (fig. 3), the two rotating members rotating synchronously (“The first gear 31 and the second gear 32 mesh and rotate together”, par. [n0026]), and each rotating member having a center of rotation (figs 3-4); and two support members (21 and 22), arranged on two sides of the two rotating members in the first direction (fig. 3), the two support members (21, 22) being correspondingly connected to the two rotating members (“the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 are movably connected to the first body 21 and the second body 22, respectively”, par. [n0027]), and the rotating members driving the support members to move respectively (“The relative rotation of the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 can realize the relative rotation of the first body 21 and the second body 22, thereby changing the state of the display panel 10”, par. [n0028]), wherein during folding of the foldable support device, a distance between the centers of rotation of the two rotating members which rotate synchronously tends to decrease, and wherein the foldable support device being configured to support the flexible screen “When the folding display device changes from a flattened state to an outward folding state, the center distance between the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 can gradually decrease, so that the centers of the first gear 31 and the second gear 32 move closer to each other, thereby reducing or preventing the display panel 10 from being subjected to excessive tensile force during the outward folding process.”, par. [n0029])
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 11758670; “Kim” hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a foldable support device (HIG), comprising: two rotating members (GR1, GR2), arranged adjacent to each other in a first direction (fig. 12), the two rotating members rotating synchronously (figs 12-14, par. [0119], [0124]), and each rotating member having a center of rotation (CP1, CP2); and two support members (SUP1, SUP2), arranged on two sides of the two rotating members in the first direction (fig. 12), the two support members being correspondingly connected to the two rotating members (“The first and second gears GR1 and GR2 may be connected to the first and second support parts SUP1 and SUP2 by means of the connection parts CNP, respectively”, par. [0117]), and the rotating members driving the support members to move respectively (par. [0132]), wherein during folding of the foldable support device, a distance between the centers of rotation of the two rotating members which rotate synchronously tends to decrease (“ the first distance DT1 may be greater than the second distance DT2. Thus, the first support part SUP1 and the second support part SUP2, which are connected to the first gear GR1 and the second gear GR2, move so as to be farther from each other when the display module DM is unfolded, and may move so as to be closer to each other when the display module DM is folded.”, par. [0143]), and wherein the foldable support device being configured to support the flexible screen (par. [0143], [0144], [0146]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim disclose wherein during the folding of the foldable support device, the distance between the centers of rotation of the two rotating members which rotate synchronously decreases gradually (DT2 gradually decreases as the device folded, figs 13-14).
Regarding claim 5, Kim disclose wherein the support members are movably connected to the rotating members respectively (par. [0132]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim disclose the foldable support device according to claim 5, further comprising two connecting members (CNP), wherein the support member is movably connected to the rotating member by means of the connecting member (par. [0132]), and the connecting member comprises a first connecting end connected to the rotating member and a second connecting end connected to the support member (par. [0132], figs. 7, 12-14).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a foldable display device, comprising: a flexible screen (DM; “The display module DM may be a flexible display module” par. [0059]), and a foldable support device (HIG), comprising: two rotating members (GR1, GR2), arranged adjacent to each other in a first direction (fig. 12), the two rotating members rotating synchronously (figs 12-14, par. [0124]), and each rotating member having a center of rotation (CP1, CP2); and two support members (SUP1, SUP2), arranged on two sides of the two rotating members in the first direction (fig. 12), the two support members being correspondingly connected to the two rotating members (“The first and second gears GR1 and GR2 may be connected to the first and second support parts SUP1 and SUP2 by means of the connection parts CNP, respectively”, par. [0117]), and the rotating members driving the support members to move respectively (par. [0132]), wherein during folding of the foldable support device, a distance between the centers of rotation of the two rotating members which rotate synchronously tends to decrease (“ the first distance DT1 may be greater than the second distance DT2. Thus, the first support part SUP1 and the second support part SUP2, which are connected to the first gear GR1 and the second gear GR2, move so as to be farther from each other when the display module DM is unfolded, and may move so as to be closer to each other when the display module DM is folded.”, par. [0143]), and wherein the foldable support device being configured to support the flexible screen (par. [0143], [0144], [0146]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Holung et al. (US 20170192467; “Holung” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Chen disclose the wherein each of the rotating members is a gear (rotating members 31 and 32 are gears, fig. 3-4; par. [n0026]), and the two rotating members which rotate synchronously mesh with each other (“The first gear 31 and the second gear 32 mesh and rotate together”, par. [n0026]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the each of the rotating member being an involute gear.
Holung teaches a display device comprising a foldable support that comprises of a gear having an involute profile (par. [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the foldable support device of Chen to substitute the gear of Chen with an involute gear as taught by Holung, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Holung et al. (US 20170192467; “Holung” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Kim disclose the wherein each of the rotating members is a gear (rotating members GR1 and GR2 are gears, fig. 7, 12-14), and the two rotating members which rotate synchronously mesh with each other (figs 7, 1-14, par. [0119], [0124]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the each of the rotating member being an involute gear.
Holung teaches a display device comprising a foldable support that comprises of a gear having an involute profile (par. [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the foldable support device of Kim to substitute the gear of Chen with an involute gear as taught by Holung, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zhou (CN 112901645; “Zhou” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Chen disclose the support device of claim 2.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the foldable support device according to claim 2, further comprising an assembly member, wherein the assembly member is provided with two first sliding channels spaced apart in the first direction, the first sliding channels extending obliquely in a thickness direction of the foldable support device, and the rotating members are each provided with a first sliding block, the first sliding blocks being correspondingly and slidably connected to the first sliding channels.
Zhou teaches a foldable support device comprising an assembly member (10), wherein the assembly member is provided with two first sliding channels (122) spaced apart in the first direction (fig. 1), the first sliding channels extending obliquely in a thickness direction of the foldable support device (fig. 1), and two rotating members (126) are each provided with a first sliding block (rotating shafts 142 and 152 that are connected to the gears 126), the first sliding blocks being correspondingly and slidably connected to the first sliding channels (figs 1-6; par. [n0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the foldable support device of Chen to incorporate an assembly member provided with two first sliding channels spaced apart in the first direction, the first sliding channels extending obliquely in a thickness direction of the foldable support device, and the rotating members are each provided with a first sliding block, the first sliding blocks being correspondingly and slidably connected to the first sliding channels as taught by Holung because such modification further minimizes the bending radius of the foldable support device.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhou (CN 112901645; “Zhou” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Kim disclose the support device of claim 2.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the foldable support device according to claim 2, further comprising an assembly member, wherein the assembly member is provided with two first sliding channels spaced apart in the first direction, the first sliding channels extending obliquely in a thickness direction of the foldable support device, and the rotating members are each provided with a first sliding block, the first sliding blocks being correspondingly and slidably connected to the first sliding channels.
Zhou teaches a foldable support device comprising an assembly member (10), wherein the assembly member is provided with two first sliding channels (122) spaced apart in the first direction (fig. 1), the first sliding channels extending obliquely in a thickness direction of the foldable support device (fig. 1), and two rotating members (126) are each provided with a first sliding block (rotating shafts 142 and 152 that are connected to the gears 126), the first sliding blocks being correspondingly and slidably connected to the first sliding channels (figs 1-6; par. [n0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the foldable support device of Kim to incorporate an assembly member provided with two first sliding channels spaced apart in the first direction, the first sliding channels extending obliquely in a thickness direction of the foldable support device, and the rotating members are each provided with a first sliding block, the first sliding blocks being correspondingly and slidably connected to the first sliding channels as taught by Holung because such modification further minimizes the bending radius of the foldable support device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1, 5 and 6, a combination of limitations that at least one second elastic member, wherein each of the support members is provided with a second sliding channel, the second connecting end is slidably connected to the second sliding channel, and the second elastic member is provided between an inner wall surface of the second sliding channel and the second connecting end. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1, 5 and 6, a combination of limitations that at least one second elastic member, wherein each of the support members is provided with a second sliding channel, the second connecting end is provided with a second sliding block, the second sliding block is slidably connected to the second sliding channel, and the second elastic member is provided between an inner wall surface of the second sliding channel and the second sliding block. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, and a combination of limitations that wherein each of the support members comprises a fixed portion and a movable portion arranged in a thickness direction of the foldable support device, the movable portion being connected to the rotating member, the fixed portion being movably connected to the movable portion, the movable portion being movable relative to the fixed portion, and the movable portion having a support surface on a side facing away from the fixed portion. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 10-19 are objected as being dependent on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841