DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/16/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it fails to satisfy the requirements as listed in MPEP 609.01(B). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 15 recites the limitation "detailed alarm system data" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mysore et al. [US 20210029298].
As to claim 1. Mysore discloses A method of remotely controlling an alarm system, said method comprising:
simultaneously communicating, via a data-only modem over a communications network, [fig. 1, 0057] via a network interface 160 that is implemented using a router over the internet as the network, a router requires a modem to connect to the internet; [0076] that implements a voice over internet (VoIP) protocol, (i) voice data from a user of the alarm system and (ii) alarm system data from the alarm system with a monitoring service, [fig. 2A, 0070] server system 164 receives audio data and metadata from smart devices 204 inside a monitored home environment 100;
receiving, via the data-only modem, at least one of a query signal, [fig. 5, 0156] event processor 505 of the server system 164 sends a request for additional data, and a control signal for a control panel of the alarm system, [0060, 0064] server system sends command to control operation of the smart devices through the hub 180; and
communicating, via the data-only modem, [fig. 2A, 0058] the hub 180 is communicatively coupled to network 162 via the network interface 160, the at least one of the query signal, [0156], and the control signal with the control panel, [0060, 0064], to enable an operator of the monitoring service to access additional alarm system data and/or control the control panel of the alarm system, [0060, 0087] server 164 sends command to control operation of the smart home environment; [0064] wherein the command can be initiated by a user.
As to claim 2. Mysore fails to disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein receiving at least one of a query signal and a control signal includes receiving a control signal that, when received by the control panel, causes the control panel to turn the alarm system to an OFF state, [0058] the hub device 180 is controlled by a remote user by sending a command via the server 164, [0060] to control operation of the smart home environment, [0087] and modify operation mode of the devices in the smart home 100; [0046] wherein the alarm system can be set to armed and disarmed state.
As to claim 3. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein communicating, via the data-only modem, voice data includes communicating a session-initiated protocol (SIP) or voice over Internet protocol (VoIP) data, [0076].
As to claim 4. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising communicating additional alarm system data in response to communicating a query signal to the control panel, [0156].
As to claim 5. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 4, wherein communicating detailed alarm system data includes communicating sensor data indicative of each sensor being monitored by the control panel of the alarm system, [0058] a user can view status of the hub device and coupled smart devices.
As to claim 6. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein communicating, by the data-only modem, the alarm system data includes communicating data indicative of a specific sensor that triggered the alarm system, [0156, 0166] receive data from sensor that detected the event, and additional data from the sensor that detected the event.
As to claim 7. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising communicating an identifier associated with the control panel to enable a physical location of the alarm system to be presented to the operator at the monitoring service, [0093, 0094, 0099] user account associated with hub device identification and physical location stored in a database.
As to claim 8. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 7, further comprising querying the identifier in a data repository to access the physical location of the alarm system, querying a database to retrieve data that is already available in the database is the main implementation reason of said database.
As to claim 9. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 8, further comprising accessing additional information associated with the identifier in the data repository to enable the operator at the monitoring service to have access thereto, [0071, 0074] server identifies user accounts linked to multiple smart homes.
As to claim 10. Mysore discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein communicating voice data and alarm system data includes communicating the voice data and alarm system data directly with the monitoring service, [fig. 2A, 0070] server system 164 receives audio data and metadata from smart devices 204 inside a monitored home environment 100.
As to claim 11. Mysore discloses An alarm system, comprising:
a control panel, [fig. 2A, 0058] hub device 180, configured to control the alarm system, [0060] the hub device as the smart home controller; and
a data-only modem [fig. 1, 0057] via a network interface 160 that is implemented using a router over the internet as the network, a router requires a modem to connect to the internet; [0076] that implements a voice over internet (VoIP) protocol, in communication with the control panel, [fig. 2A, 0058] the hub 180 is communicatively coupled to network 162 via the network interface 160, and configured to: implement the steps as claimed in claim 1, and are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claims 12-20 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 2-10, respectively.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688