DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objection
Claim 1, “a coil a portion” is grammatically incorrect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11, 13, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 111769808).
As to claim 1, Zhang et al.’s figure 14 shows an electronic component comprising: a glass substrate (200 - paragraph 13 in the Background section or last paragraph in the Specific implementation examples section in the attached translation paper teaches that “In the device of the invention, preferably, the substrate is high-resistance silicon, glass, BT resin or flexible substrate”) having a first surface and a second surface that are on opposite sides from each other; a coil a portion (213, 207 and/or 210) of which is embedded in the glass substrate and which is wound about an axis (see figure 15); and a capacitor (203-205) at the glass substrate, electrically connected to the coil (the abstract teaches that “the capacitor and the inductor are connected in series”), and having a first electrode (203) and a second electrode (205) that face each other, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode overlap the coil in a direction perpendicular to the axis.
As to claim 2, figure 14 shows that the capacitor is inside the coil.
As to claim 3, figure 14 shows that a main surface of the first electrode and a main surface of the second electrode are parallel to the axis of the coil (at in the middle section of figure 14).
As to claim 5, figure 14 shows that the capacitor includes a dielectric film between the first electrode and the second electrode, the coil includes a through conductor penetrating the glass substrate from the first surface toward the second surface, the through conductor is connected to the first electrode of the capacitor, and the through conductor and the dielectric film are separated from each other when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface.
As to claim 6, figures 14 and 15 show that the coil includes a first end and a second end, and the capacitor is connected to the first end and is closer to a side of the first end than a side of the second end (Zhang et al. teaches that “the capacitance inner electrode 208 and the inductance electrode 210 are connected in series”).
As to claim 7, figure 14 shows that a number of turns of the coil is less than one turn, and the coil includes a first through conductor (207) penetrating the glass substrate from the second surface toward the first surface, a first coil conductor (213) connected to the first through conductor and on the glass substrate, and a second through conductor (210) connected to the first coil conductor and penetrating the glass substrate from the first surface toward the second surface, and the capacitor is on the second surface of the glass substrate and is connected to the first through conductor.
As to claim 11, figure 15 shows a plurality of at least one of the coil and the capacitor.
As to claim 13, figure 14 shows that the first electrode and the second electrode are embedded in the glass substrate, and a crystallized portion (HfO2) is at least partially between the first electrode and the second electrode.
As to claim 15, the figures show that a main surface of the first electrode and a main surface of the second electrode are parallel to the axis of the coil.
As to claim 17, the figures show that the capacitor includes a dielectric film (204) between the first electrode and the second electrode, the coil includes a through conductor (207 or 210) penetrating the glass substrate from the first surface toward the second surface, the through conductor is connected to the first electrode of the capacitor, and the through conductor and the dielectric film are separated from each other when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface.
As to claim 18, the figures show the coil includes a first end and a second end, and the capacitor is connected to the first end and is closer to a side of the first end than a side of the second end (Zhang et al. teaches that “the capacitance inner electrode 208 and the inductance electrode 210 are connected in series”).
As to claim 19, figure 14 shows that a number of turns of the coil is less than one turn, and the coil includes a first through conductor (210) penetrating the glass substrate from the second surface toward the first surface, a first coil conductor (213) connected to the first through conductor and on the glass substrate, and a second through conductor (207) connected to the first coil conductor and penetrating the glass substrate from the first surface toward the second surface, and the capacitor is on the second surface of the glass substrate and is connected to the first through conductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-10, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 111769808) in view of Moon et al. (US 20160307686).
As to claim 4, Zhang et al.’s figure 15 shows capacitor (208-209) is connected to an external terminal. The figure fails to show that the external terminal on a side of the second surface of the glass substrate. However, Moon et al.’s figures 1 and 8A shows a similar device that comprises external terminals (81, 82) arranged on a side of a surface of substrate 50. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange Zhang et al.’s external terminal(s) as claimed for the purpose of saving space and communicating with external devices.
As to claim 8, the modified Zhang et al.’s figures 14 and 15 show a protective layer (Moon et al.’s 61 or 62, figure 3 or 8) on the second surface and covering the capacitor; and a first external terminal and a second external terminal on the protective layer, wherein the first external terminal and the coil are connected via a first via conductor penetrating the protective layer, the second external terminal and the capacitor are connected via a second via conductor penetrating the protective layer, and the capacitor is closer to a side of the second external terminal than a side of the first external terminal (Zhang et al. teaches that “the capacitance inner electrode 208 and the inductance electrode 210 are connected in series”).
As to claim 9, the modified Zhang et al.’s figures show that the first via conductor includes a pad portion connected to the first through conductor and a via portion connected to the pad portion and the first external terminal, and the first through conductor and the via portion are separated from each other when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface (Moon et al.’s figure 8A).
As to claim 10, the modified Zhang et al.’s figures show a first protective layer (Moon et al.’s 61) covering a first surface of the glass substrate; and a second protective layer (Moon et al.’s 62) covering a second surface of the glass substrate, wherein the first protective layer is inside an outer periphery of the first surface of the glass substrate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface, and the second protective layer is inside an outer periphery of the second surface of the glass substrate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the second surface.
As to claim 16, the modified Zhang et al.’s figures show an external terminal on a side of the second surface of the glass substrate, wherein the capacitor is on the second surface of the glass substrate and is electrically connected to the external terminal (see the rejection of claim 4).
As to claim 20, the modified Zhang et al.’s figures a first protective layer (Moon et al.’s 61) covering a first surface of the glass substrate; and a second protective layer (Moon et al.’s 62) covering a second surface of the glass substrate, wherein the first protective layer is inside an outer periphery of the first surface of the glass substrate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface, and the second protective layer is inside an outer periphery of the second surface of the glass substrate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the second surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/QUAN TRA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2843