DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 7 and 8 depend from 1 and comprise additional . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN (110699194) in view of Souter et al (2016/355767).
CN ‘194 is concerned with stable dispersing of microcapsule essence in laundry liquid composition so that the long lasting perfume effect will not be affected ([0001] and [0003]). CN ‘194 discloses a liquid composition comprising (table 1, Ex4):
ii) from more than 5% to 90% by weight of the composition of an alcohol alkoxylated nonionic surfactant (c12-14 fatty alcohol EO9, 40 wt%; modified long chain fatty alcohol polyoxyethylene ether, 2 wt%);
iii) less than 20% by weight of the composition of polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of from 200 Da to 1000 Da and/or less than 4% by weight of the composition of propylene glycol (PEG 200-1000, 0 wt%; propylene glycol, 0 wt%); iv) from 1 to 50% by weight of the composition of perfume capsules (microcapsule flavor, 5 wt%; page 5, paragraph 1); v) from 1 to 25% by weight of the composition of water (20 wt%); and vi) less than 5% by weight of the composition of anionic surfactant (0 wt%) among other ingredients. CN ‘194 does not disclose a unit-dose article comprising a water-soluble film creating a first compartment and a second compartment.
Souter et al disclose a liquid laundry detergent formulated into a unit dose article (claim 1 and [0020]) divided into two compartments ([0126]), which is fully enclosed by a water soluble film such as PVA ([0130]). Souter discloses a liquid laundry detergent (table 1, composition A-C) comprising: anionic and non-ionic surfactants, enzyme such as protease, free perfumes and organic solvents such as dipropylene glycol, glycerol among other ingredients.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to substitute the single compartment for a multicompartment to isolate ingredients for purposes known in the laundry art and delivery of ingredients as suggested by Souter et al.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baustista Cid et al (10240111) in view of Souter et al (2016/355767).
Baustista Cid et al is concerned with liquid laundry additive composition (claim 1; column 2, lines 4-9) such as scent booster and the corresponding method to wash clothes (column 1, lines 37-42). Baustista Cid et al discloses a liquid composition comprising (Ex1, inventive): polyethylene glycol fatty alcohol ethers (3.2 wt%; claim 17, feature d), polyethylene glycol fatty acid esters (9.6 wt%);
iii) less than 20% by weight of the composition of polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of from 200 Da to 1000 Da and/or less than 4% by weight of the composition of propylene glycol (PEG 200-1000, 0 wt%; propylene glycol, 0 wt%);
iv) from 1 to 50% by weight of the composition of perfume capsules (encapsulated perfume, 3 wt%);
v) from 1 to 25% by weight of the composition of water (0 wt%);
vi) less than 5% by weight of the composition of anionic surfactant (0 wt%); PEG 2000-10K (30 wt%; claim 8) and glycerin (4 wt%) among other products.
The subject-matter of said claim 1 therefore differs from this known liquid laundry detergent in that (ii) the concentration range of alcohol alkoxylated nonionic surfactant falls within 5-90 wt% and the multicompartment unit dose.
It would have been obvious to optimize the alkoxylated nonionic surfactant even outside of the range of 5% given that optimization is within the level of the ordinary skilled artisan. With respect to the compartment, one skilled in the art would have utilized the multicompartment to deliver and isolate the chemicals within the laundry application in a systemic manner consistent with the known process of the art.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761