DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This office action is submitted in response to the amendment filed on 8/6/26.
Examiner notes that this application is a continuation of 18674867 (now US Patent No. 12307481), 18225135 (now US Patent No. 12026742), 17590880 (now US Patent No. 11756073), and provisional application 63228050.
Examiner further notes Applicant’s priority date of 7/31/21, which stems from the aforementioned parent applications.
Examiner further notes Applicant’s IDS submissions on 4/16/25, 8/27/25, 11/10/25, 2/1/26, 4/6/26, 5/18/26, and 8/7/26.
Examiner further notes Applicant’s terminal disclaimer, which was filed and approved on 8/6/26.
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 19 have been amended, and claim 11 has been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-10 and 12-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7, 14, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites "an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign" in the limitation adaptively adjusting, by the server, the active contact list according to the active engagement rules of based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign, and claim 1, from which claim 3 depends through claim 2, already recites "an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign." It appears "the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign" is intended. Claim 3 further recites "according to the active engagement rules of based on." It appears "according to the active engagement rules based on" is intended.
Claim 7 recites "the sense web activity." It appears "the sensed web activity" is intended.
Claim 14 recites "a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients are removed from the initial contact list." It appears either "a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients," consistent with claim 15, or "a number of recipients of the initial contact list after the unengaged recipients are removed from the initial contact list" is intended. For purposes of examination, the limitation is treated as reciting the number of recipients remaining on the initial contact list after the unengaged recipients are removed.
Claim 19 recites "by the active engagement rules" in the limitation identify engaged recipients of the electronic message campaign of the active contact list over a predetermined period of time by the active engagement rules, before any active engagement rules have been introduced, and then recites "according to active engagement rules" in the following limitation. It appears "by active engagement rules" is intended in the identify limitation and "according to the active engagement rules" is intended in the adjust limitation. Claim 19 further recites "and electronically sending a present electronic message campaign to recipients of an active contact list" followed by additional limitations. It appears the "and" preceding "electronically sending" should be deleted.
Claim 20 recites identify engaged recipients of the electronic message campaign of the active contact list over a predetermined period of time by the active engagement rules and adaptively adjust the active contact list according to active engagement rules based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign comprising adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign, which repeat limitations already recited in claim 19, as amended, from which claim 20 depends. It appears these repeated limitations should be deleted. Claim 20 also recites "an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign" in the limitation adaptively adjust the active contact list according to active engagement rules of based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign, which claim 19 already introduces. It appears "the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign" is intended. Claim 20 further recites "according to active engagement rules of based on." It appears "according to the active engagement rules based on" is intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations include: a campaign success engine (claims 1, 3, 6, and 19). Since an "engine" can be a generic substitute means for accomplishing a recited function, the term "engine" is a generic placeholder having no specific structural meaning. The recited placeholder is coupled with functional language (e.g., determining, by a campaign success engine, a level of engagement of the recipient based on the tracked sensed actions) without reciting sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions. With respect to method claims 1, 3, and 6, the recitations of determining, by a campaign success engine and further determining, by the campaign success engine likewise invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as the claimed steps are performed by the engine placeholder coupled with functional language rather than by recited structure or specific acts. Thus, Applicant appears to have effectively invoked 112(f).
Next, MPEP 2181 requires that the corresponding structure(s) must be disclosed in the specification in a way that one skilled in the art will understand what structure is performing the recited function. See Atmel Corp. v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1381, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1230 (Fed. Cir. 1999). A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the claim limitations: the server 101 and/or the website manager 140, at which the processing illustrated by the figurative campaign success engine 420 occurs (Paragraph 62; Figure 4).
Finally, MPEP 2181 requires that the specification disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function. See Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. Verisign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2008) and In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d 1293, 1297, 99 USPQ2d 1936, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2011). Generic processes such as receiving data or storing data represent generic functions that do not require an algorithm to convert a general-purpose computer into a special purpose computer. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The specification discloses the following algorithms corresponding to the respective claim limitations: for determining the level of engagement of the recipient (claims 1, 6, and 19), receiving, as inputs for the present electronic message campaign, the recipients' online actions, the recipients' sensed motion and location actions, the associations between recipients, and the recipient values, and using one or more of the inputs, or a weighted combination of the inputs, to determine the level of engagement of each recipient and whether each recipient is engaged (Paragraphs 70-74; Figure 4); and for determining the success score of the electronic messages (claim 3), forming a weighted combination of the inputs and determining success when the weighted combination exceeds a preselected threshold (Paragraph 74; Figure 4). Therefore, because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method, which constitutes a process. Claim 19 recites a system, comprising: a server electronically networked with a plurality of computing devices of a plurality of recipients of an electronic mail campaign, which constitutes a machine. Claims 2-10 and 12-18 depend from claim 1, and claim 20 depends from claim 19. Accordingly, claims 1-10 and 12-18 fall within the statutory category of a process, and claims 19 and 20 fall within the statutory category of a machine. See MPEP § 2106.03.
Step 2A, Prong One: Independent claims 1 and 19, in part, describe an invention comprising: analyzing a success of an electronic message campaign, comprising sensing actions of the recipients in response to electronically receiving electronic messages of the electronic message campaign; identifying and tracking sensed actions; determining a level of engagement of the recipient based on the tracked sensed actions; identifying engaged recipients of the electronic message campaign of an active contact list over a predetermined period of time by active engagement rules; adaptively adjusting the active contact list according to the active engagement rules based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign, comprising adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign, wherein the active contact list adaptively updates as frequently as every time the electronic message campaign is electronically sent; and controlling a visual content for each of the recipients of the present electronic message based on the level of engagement of the recipient. As such, the invention is directed to the abstract idea of evaluating recipient engagement with an electronic message campaign, curating the campaign's recipient list according to that engagement, and tailoring the campaign's visual content to each recipient based on that engagement, which, pursuant to MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), is aptly categorized as a method of organizing human activity (advertising and marketing). Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Next, the aforementioned claims recite additional elements that are associated with the judicial exception, including: receiving an electronic message (claims 1 and 19); electronically sending a present electronic message campaign to recipients of an active contact list (claims 1 and 19); controlling movement of messages on the displays based on the level of engagement of the recipient (claims 1 and 19); obtaining an initial contact list (claims 2 and 20); and electronically sending the electronic message campaign to recipients of the active contact list (claims 2 and 20). The Examiner understands these limitations to be insignificant extra-solution activity. See Accenture Global Servs., GmbH v. Guidewire Software, Inc., 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Cf. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-192 (1981) ("[I]nsignificant post-solution activity will not transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process.").
The aforementioned claims also recite additional elements including: a "server" for networking with the computing devices of the recipients and performing the recited operations (claims 2, 3, 19, and 20); "computing devices" of the recipients for receiving the electronic messages (claims 1 and 19); "at least one sensor" of the computing device for sensing actions of the recipient (claims 1 and 19); "displays" of the computing devices for displaying the visual content and messages (claims 1, 5, and 19); a "location sensor" and "motion sensors" of the computing device for sensing location and motion (claim 4); and "another computing device" of another recipient for sensing that recipient's location and motion (claim 5). The claims further recite an "application" loaded on the computing device for controlling sensing, identifying and tracking sensed actions, determining device interaction, and sensing web activity (claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 19); and a "campaign success engine" for determining the level of engagement and the success score (claims 1, 3, 6, and 19), which are software functions operating on the generic hardware identified above. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and appear to be nothing more than generic computer components used to apply the abstract idea. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 223 (2014), 110 USPQ2d 1977, 1983 (2014).
The aforementioned claims further recite an application loaded on the computing device controlling sensing of at least one sensor of the computing device based on reception of the electronic message (claims 1 and 19), and recite that the application loaded on the computing device controls sensing of a location sensor and motion sensors of the computing device based on the reception of the electronic message (claim 4). These limitations amount to instructions to use the generic sensor hardware identified above to gather data for the abstract idea, and are therefore "apply it" limitations. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Looking at the elements individually and in combination, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they fail to: improve the functioning of a computer or a technical field; apply the judicial exception in the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease; apply the judicial exception with a particular machine; effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; or apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Rather, the claims merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (e.g., generic computing devices, sensors, and servers connected to a network for distributing electronic messages). Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and the analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology, and their collective functions are merely facilitated by generic computer implementation.
Additionally, pursuant to the requirement under Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the following citations are provided to demonstrate that the additional elements, identified above, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Receiving or transmitting data over a network. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2016); OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Displaying or presenting data. Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715-16, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755 (Fed. Cir. 2014); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Thus, taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception, and claims 1-10 and 12-20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Next, claims 2-10 and 12-18 depend from claim 1 and include all limitations contained therein, and claim 20 depends from claim 19 and includes all limitations contained therein. These claims do not recite any additional elements sufficient to transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. Specifically:
Claims 2 and 20 further recite checking, by the server, the initial contact list to determine that the initial contact list satisfies an initial set of engagement rules and generating, by the server, the active contact list comprising modifying the initial contact list when the initial contact list does not satisfy the initial set of engagement rules (and the corresponding limitations of claim 20). These limitations apply additional rules for curating the contact list, further defining the contours of the abstract idea without meaningfully limiting it. The obtaining and electronically sending steps of these claims are insignificant extra-solution activity addressed above. Claim 20 further recites the success score and list adjustment limitations addressed with respect to claim 3 below.
Claim 3 further recites determining, by a campaign success engine, a success score of the electronic messages based on the tracked sensed actions and reducing a number of recipients of the active contact list by eliminating non-engaged recipients based on the determined success score of the electronic messages of the electronically sent campaign. These limitations add a scoring step and a list-reduction rule to the data analysis without meaningfully limiting the abstract idea.
Claims 4 and 9 further specify the data collected and used to determine the level of engagement. Claim 4 recites that the application loaded on the computing device identifies and tracks sensed locations of the location sensor of the computing device, and sensed motion of motion sensors of the computing device, and wherein determining the level of engagement of the recipient is based on the tracked locations, and the sensed motion. Claim 9 recites sensing at least one of hand motions, direction of eyesight, and orientations of the computing device that indicate product interaction of the recipient and wherein the level of engagement of the recipient is further based on the indicated product interaction. The location sensor and motion sensors of claim 4 are generic hardware components addressed above, and neither claim recites any improvement to computer functionality or any other technical field.
Claim 5 further recites determining, by the application loaded on the computing device, whether the computing device of the recipient interacts with another computing device of another recipient based on the sensed location and motion of the computing device, and sensed location and motion of another computing device of the other recipient and further controlling the visual content of displays of computing devices of each of the recipients of the present electronic message based on the determined influence of the recipient. These limitations add further analysis and targeting criteria to the abstract idea without meaningfully limiting it.
Claims 6 and 7 further recite identifying patterns of location visits of the computing device of the recipient used in further determining, by the campaign success engine, the level of engagement of the recipient, based on the identified patterns of location visits (claim 6), and sensing, by the application loaded on the computing device, web activity of the one or more recipients; wherein the level of engagement of the recipient is further based on the sense web activity (claim 7). These limitations specify additional categories of data collected and analyzed to determine the level of engagement, further defining the contours of the abstract idea.
Claims 8 and 10 further recite a plurality of predetermined periods of time, wherein qualification of whether a recipient is an engaged recipient is different for different of the predetermined periods of time (claim 8), and wherein the predetermined period of time increases when the evaluated success indicates the electronically sent campaign is determined to be successful, and wherein the predetermined period of time decreases when the evaluated success indicates the electronically sent campaign is determined to be unsuccessful (claim 10). These limitations specify timing parameters of the engagement rules, which are part of the abstract idea, and do not add significantly more.
Claims 12-15 further recite determining whether a number of recipients of the initial contact list is greater than a first contact number threshold (claim 12); modifying the initial contact list by reducing the number of recipients to below the first contact threshold (claim 13); identifying a number of unengaged recipients of the initial contact list; comparing the number of recipients of the initial contact list with a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients are removed from the initial contact list (claim 14); and eliminating the unengaged recipients if the compared number of recipients of the initial contact list with a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients is greater than a threshold percentage (claim 15). These limitations recite threshold comparisons and list-reduction rules that further define the contours of the abstract idea without meaningfully limiting it.
Claims 16-18 further recite determining an open rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that opened the campaign (claim 16); determining a click through rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that selected a link within the campaign (claim 17); and determining a conversion rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that are determined to have performed an action based on the campaign (claim 18). These limitations specify the metrics by which the success of the campaign is analyzed and do not recite any improvement to computer functionality or any other technical field.
Therefore, claims 1-10 and 12-20 are not drawn to eligible subject matter, as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati et al. (US 2022/0027946 A1) in view of Logan et al. (US 2016/0088144 A1), and in further view of Bennah et al. (US 2021/0051122 A1) and SparkPost, "When sending to Gmail subscribers I see this error: 'We've found that lots of messages from sparkpostmail.com are spam,'" SparkPost Support Center (last updated February 2020).
Claim 1: Pisupati discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
analyzing a success of an electronic message campaign, comprising sensing actions of the recipients in response to electronically receiving electronic messages of the electronic message campaign, wherein analyzing the success comprises (Paragraphs 0058-0061. The campaign platform monitors the distribution of campaigns to the recipients on the recipient list and the recipients' interactions with those campaigns, such as opening a campaign email, clicking a link in a message, or scrolling past or clicking on a campaign, to determine each recipient's engagement.);
a computing device of one or more of the recipients receiving an electronic message (Paragraphs 0048, 0060-0061. The recipient computing devices receive the marketing campaigns, including campaign emails that the recipients open.);
determining, by a campaign success engine, a level of engagement of the recipient (Paragraphs 0062-0072. For each recipient, the campaign platform computes a recency value from the number of days since the recipient last opened a campaign and a frequency value from the number of times the recipient opened campaigns in a predetermined period of observation, and from these values and the recipient's response rate determines a fatigue status of under-saturated, unsaturated, or saturated, which is a level of engagement of the recipient.);
electronically sending a present electronic message campaign to recipients of an active contact list (Paragraphs 0053, 0076. The campaign platform sends campaign messages to the intended recipients on its list of recipients 113, which the platform modifies by adding and removing recipients, and recipients in the normal state are kept on the list and are sent campaign messages regularly.);
identifying engaged recipients of the electronic message campaign of the active contact list over a predetermined period of time by active engagement rules (Paragraphs 0064, 0067-0072. A recipient who has opened campaigns within the predetermined period of observation, such as the previous 60 days or the previous 30 days, without a detected decrease in engagement is classified as unsaturated, while a recipient who was sent campaigns within the period of observation but did not open them is classified as saturated.);
adaptively adjusting the active contact list according to the active engagement rules based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign (Paragraphs 0077-0079, 0084-0088. Saturated recipients are ranked by a fatigue score, and the most send-fatigued recipients are removed from the list of recipients and placed in a rest state; after the rest state, they are added back to the list in a safe state and are either returned to the normal state or returned to the rest state based on their measured engagement with the campaigns sent during the safe state period.);
wherein the active contact list adaptively updates as frequently as every time the electronic message campaign is electronically sent (Paragraphs 0059, 0076. The campaign platform continually monitors the campaigns that have been sent and the recipients' interactions with them, and for recipients kept on the list, campaign messages are sent regularly while the monitoring and fatigue segmentation continue, with the process returning to step 210, so the list is updated on an ongoing basis as campaigns are sent.); and
computing devices of each of the recipients of the present electronic message (Paragraphs 0046-0048, 0076. The campaign platform sends the campaign messages to the recipient computing devices 120a-n, such as smartphones and tablets, of the recipients kept on the list of recipients.).
Pisupati does not appear to explicitly disclose an application loaded on the computing device controlling sensing of at least one sensor of the computing device based on reception of the electronic message, the application loaded on the computing device identifying and tracking sensed actions of the computing device, or a level of engagement of the recipient based on the tracked sensed actions.
Logan, however, discloses an application loaded on the computing device controlling sensing of at least one sensor of the computing device based on reception of the electronic message (Paragraphs 0019, 0034, 0036, 0043-0044. When a message is received by the text message application on the recipient's phone, the application turns on the phone's user-facing camera and activates algorithms that track the recipient's eyes, or monitors the phone's accelerometers to detect the phone being moved to a position at which the recipient can view the screen; the phone may be a smartphone or smart watch, and the message may instead be an email.); the application loaded on the computing device identifying and tracking sensed actions of the computing device (Paragraphs 0038, 0043, 0046. The application uses the phone's accelerometers to detect the phone moving from its resting place and stabilizing at a reading angle, matches the recipient's tracked eye position to the text of the received message, and observes the recipient's face through the phone's camera as the message is read to capture the recipient's reaction.); and a level of engagement of the recipient based on the tracked sensed actions (Paragraph 0054. The types and numbers of reactions received from each recipient, and how they change over time, are summarized for the sender.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pisupati so that an application on each recipient's computing device activates a sensor of the device upon receipt of a campaign message and identifies and tracks the recipient's sensed actions, and the level of engagement of the recipient is determined from those tracked actions, as taught by Logan. One would have been motivated to do this in order to determine when a received message is actually being read by the recipient.
The combination of Pisupati and Logan does not appear to explicitly disclose controlling a visual content of displays of computing devices based on the level of engagement of the recipient, wherein controlling the visual content comprises controlling movement of messages on the displays based on the level of engagement of the recipient.
Bennah, however, discloses controlling a visual content of displays of computing devices based on the level of engagement of the recipient (Paragraphs 0003, 0038, 0059-0061, 0113-0114, 0118-0120. The system monitors the level of engagement of the user with an application on the user's device and, based on that level of engagement, inserts a push content item, which may include advertising, promotions, and offers, into a region of the current output on the device's display; the type of push content selected is further based on the user's level of engagement and on which types of push content the user watches, clicks on, closes, or skips, so that the user is presented with push content in a format to which the user is more receptive.); and wherein controlling the visual content comprises controlling movement of messages on the displays based on the level of engagement of the recipient (Paragraphs 0113, 0118-0120, 0151, 0153. The system selects an animated push content item of a type with which the user has tended to positively engage and moves the item's animated graphic element on the display.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati and Logan so that the visual content presented on the display of each recipient's computing device, including moving content, is selected based on that recipient's level of engagement, as taught by Bennah. One would have been motivated to do this in order to present content to each recipient in a format to which that recipient is more receptive.
The combination of Pisupati, Logan, and Bennah does not appear to explicitly disclose adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign.
SparkPost, however, discloses adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign ("Steps Towards Resolution," 2nd bullet. Sending is limited to subscribers who opened or clicked in the past 30 days until messages stop going to the spam folder; the engagement period is then lengthened by doubling the engagement days to 60 and then 120 once messages reach the inbox, and is shortened to 15 days if inbox placement is not achieved after 45 days.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, and Bennah so that the predetermined period over which engaged recipients are identified is adjusted based on the evaluated inbox placement of the sent campaign, as taught by SparkPost. One would have been motivated to do this in order to restore inbox placement of the campaign messages while adding recipients back to the active contact list at a steady rate.
Claim 2: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses obtaining, by a server, an initial contact list (Paragraphs 0047, 0053. The campaign platform, which can comprise server computers, maintains a list of recipients 113 of the intended recipients that are to receive campaign messages.); checking, by the server, the initial contact list to determine that the initial contact list satisfies an initial set of engagement rules (Paragraphs 0062-0072. The campaign platform evaluates each recipient on the list against recency, frequency, and response-rate rules to determine the recipient's fatigue status.); generating, by the server, the active contact list comprising modifying the initial contact list when the initial contact list does not satisfy the initial set of engagement rules (Paragraphs 0077-0079. Recipients determined to be saturated are sub-segmented, and the most send-fatigued are removed from the list of recipients.); and electronically sending, by the server, the electronic message campaign to recipients of the active contact list (Paragraphs 0076, 0084. Campaign messages are sent to the recipients kept on, or added back to, the list of recipients.).
Claim 3: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses determining, by a campaign success engine, a success score of the electronic messages (Paragraph 0078. The campaign platform calculates a fatigue score for each saturated recipient based on the degree of reduction in the recipient's engagement rate, the degree of increase in sends to the recipient, and the degree to which send volume caused the reduction in engagement.); and adaptively adjusting, by the server, the active contact list according to the active engagement rules of based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign comprising reducing a number of recipients of the active contact list by eliminating non-engaged recipients based on the determined success score of the electronic messages of the electronically sent campaign (Paragraphs 0077-0079. The saturated recipients are sorted and partitioned by fatigue score, and a predetermined number of the most send-fatigued sub-segments are removed from the list of recipients, reducing the number of recipients on the list.).
Logan further discloses based on the tracked sensed actions (Paragraph 0054. The types and numbers of reactions captured from each recipient, and how they change over time, are summarized.).
The rationale for combining Logan with Pisupati, Bennah, and SparkPost is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 7: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Bennah further discloses sensing, by the application loaded on the computing device, web activity of the one or more recipients (Paragraphs 0047-0048, 0058-0061, 0133-0134, 0185. The application on the user's device tracks the user's actions, such as scrolling, pausing, and other inputs, within an application, and the application may be an internet browser presenting web pages, the features of the described embodiments being combinable.); and wherein the level of engagement of the recipient is further based on the sense web activity (Paragraphs 0036, 0059-0061, 0114. The user's level of engagement with the application, active or passive, is determined from the tracked scrolling and interaction.).
The rationale for combining Bennah with Pisupati, Logan, and SparkPost is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 8: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses a plurality of predetermined periods of time, wherein qualification of whether a recipient is an engaged recipient is different for different of the predetermined periods of time (Paragraphs 0064, 0067-0070. Engagement is evaluated over a predetermined period of observation, a separate predetermined time frame that need not be the same length as the period of observation, and a consecutive period over which a decrease in engagement is detected, and the criteria differ for each period: opens counted within the period of observation, the absence of opens within the predetermined time frame, and a decrease in response rate over the consecutive period.).
Claim 10: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
SparkPost further discloses wherein the predetermined period of time increases when the evaluated success indicates the electronically sent campaign is determined to be successful, and wherein the predetermined period of time decreases when the evaluated success indicates the electronically sent campaign is determined to be unsuccessful ("Steps Towards Resolution," 2nd bullet. Once the messages sent to the 30-day engaged subscribers stop going to the spam folder, the engagement days are doubled to 60 and then 120, and if the subscribers still cannot be placed in the inbox after 45 days, the engagement period is reduced to 15 days.).
The rationale for combining SparkPost with Pisupati, Logan, and Bennah is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 19: Pisupati discloses a system, comprising:
a server electronically networked with a plurality of computing devices of a plurality of recipients of an electronic mail campaign, the server operating to (Paragraphs 0046-0048, 0061. The campaign platform 110, which can comprise one or more server computers, communicates over the Internet, cellular communication, and other networks with a plurality of recipient computing devices 120a-n, such as smartphones and tablets, to which it sends marketing campaigns, and the illustrative campaign is an email campaign.);
analyze a success of an electronic message campaign, comprising sensing actions of the recipients in response to electronically receiving electronic messages of the electronic message campaign, wherein analyzing the success comprises (Paragraphs 0058-0061. The campaign platform monitors the distribution of campaigns to the recipients on the recipient list and the recipients' interactions with those campaigns, such as opening a campaign email, clicking a link in a message, or scrolling past or clicking on a campaign, to determine each recipient's engagement.);
a computing device of one or more of the recipients receiving an electronic message (Paragraphs 0048, 0060-0061. The recipient computing devices receive the marketing campaigns, including campaign emails that the recipients open.);
determining, by a campaign success engine, a level of engagement of the recipient (Paragraphs 0062-0072. For each recipient, the campaign platform computes a recency value from the number of days since the recipient last opened a campaign and a frequency value from the number of times the recipient opened campaigns in a predetermined period of observation, and from these values and the recipient's response rate determines a fatigue status of under-saturated, unsaturated, or saturated, which is a level of engagement of the recipient.);
electronically sending a present electronic message campaign to recipients of an active contact list (Paragraphs 0053, 0076. The campaign platform sends campaign messages to the intended recipients on its list of recipients 113, which the platform modifies by adding and removing recipients, and recipients in the normal state are kept on the list and are sent campaign messages regularly.);
identify engaged recipients of the electronic message campaign of the active contact list over a predetermined period of time by the active engagement rules (Paragraphs 0064, 0067-0072. A recipient who has opened campaigns within the predetermined period of observation, such as the previous 60 days or the previous 30 days, without a detected decrease in engagement is classified as unsaturated, while a recipient who was sent campaigns within the period of observation but did not open them is classified as saturated.);
adaptively adjust the active contact list according to active engagement rules based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign (Paragraphs 0077-0079, 0084-0088. Saturated recipients are ranked by a fatigue score, and the most send-fatigued recipients are removed from the list of recipients and placed in a rest state; after the rest state, they are added back to the list in a safe state and are either returned to the normal state or returned to the rest state based on their measured engagement with the campaigns sent during the safe state period.);
wherein the active contact list adaptively updates as frequently as every time the electronic message campaign is electronically sent (Paragraphs 0059, 0076. The campaign platform continually monitors the campaigns that have been sent and the recipients' interactions with them, and for recipients kept on the list, campaign messages are sent regularly while the monitoring and fatigue segmentation continue, with the process returning to step 210, so the list is updated on an ongoing basis as campaigns are sent.); and
computing devices of each of the recipients of the present electronic message (Paragraphs 0046-0048, 0076. The campaign platform sends the campaign messages to the recipient computing devices 120a-n, such as smartphones and tablets, of the recipients kept on the list of recipients.).
Pisupati does not appear to explicitly disclose an application loaded on the computing device controlling sensing of at least one sensor of the computing device based on reception of the electronic message, the application loaded on the computing device identifying and tracking sensed actions of the computing device, or a level of engagement of the recipient based on the tracked sensed actions.
Logan, however, discloses an application loaded on the computing device controlling sensing of at least one sensor of the computing device based on reception of the electronic message (Paragraphs 0019, 0034, 0036, 0043-0044. When a message is received by the text message application on the recipient's phone, the application turns on the phone's user-facing camera and activates algorithms that track the recipient's eyes, or monitors the phone's accelerometers to detect the phone being moved to a position at which the recipient can view the screen; the phone may be a smartphone or smart watch, and the message may instead be an email.); the application loaded on the computing device identifying and tracking sensed actions of the computing device (Paragraphs 0038, 0043, 0046. The application uses the phone's accelerometers to detect the phone moving from its resting place and stabilizing at a reading angle, matches the recipient's tracked eye position to the text of the received message, and observes the recipient's face through the phone's camera as the message is read to capture the recipient's reaction.); and a level of engagement of the recipient based on the tracked sensed actions (Paragraph 0054. The types and numbers of reactions received from each recipient, and how they change over time, are summarized for the sender.).
The rationale for combining Logan with Pisupati is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
The combination of Pisupati and Logan does not appear to explicitly disclose controlling a visual content of displays of computing devices based on the level of engagement of the recipient, wherein controlling the visual content comprises controlling movement of messages on the displays based on the level of engagement of the recipient.
Bennah, however, discloses controlling a visual content of displays of computing devices based on the level of engagement of the recipient (Paragraphs 0003, 0038, 0059-0061, 0113-0114, 0118-0120. The system monitors the level of engagement of the user with an application on the user's device and, based on that level of engagement, inserts a push content item, which may include advertising, promotions, and offers, into a region of the current output on the device's display; the type of push content selected is further based on the user's level of engagement and on which types of push content the user watches, clicks on, closes, or skips, so that the user is presented with push content in a format to which the user is more receptive.); and wherein controlling the visual content comprises controlling movement of messages on the displays based on the level of engagement of the recipient (Paragraphs 0113, 0118-0120, 0151, 0153. The system selects an animated push content item of a type with which the user has tended to positively engage and moves the item's animated graphic element on the display.).
The rationale for combining Bennah with Pisupati and Logan is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
The combination of Pisupati, Logan, and Bennah does not appear to explicitly disclose adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign.
SparkPost, however, discloses adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign ("Steps Towards Resolution," 2nd bullet. Sending is limited to subscribers who opened or clicked in the past 30 days until messages stop going to the spam folder; the engagement period is then lengthened by doubling the engagement days to 60 and then 120 once messages reach the inbox, and is shortened to 15 days if inbox placement is not achieved after 45 days.).
The rationale for combining SparkPost with Pisupati, Logan, and Bennah is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 20: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses obtain an initial contact list (Paragraphs 0047, 0053. The campaign platform maintains a list of recipients 113 of the intended recipients that are to receive campaign messages.); check the initial contact list to determine that the initial contact list satisfies an initial set of engagement rules (Paragraphs 0062-0072. Each recipient on the list is evaluated against recency, frequency, and response-rate rules to determine the recipient's fatigue status.); generate the active contact list comprising modifying the initial contact list when the initial contact list does not satisfy the initial set of engagement rules (Paragraphs 0077-0079. The most send-fatigued saturated recipients are removed from the list.); electronically send the electronic message campaign to recipients of the active contact list (Paragraphs 0076, 0084. Campaign messages are sent to the recipients kept on, or added back to, the list.); determine a success score of the electronic messages (Paragraph 0078. A fatigue score is calculated from the reduction in the recipient's engagement rate, the increase in sends, and the degree to which send volume caused the reduction.); adaptively adjust the active contact list according to active engagement rules of based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign comprising reducing a number of recipients of the active contact list by eliminating non-engaged recipients based on the determined success score of the electronic messages of the electronically sent campaign (Paragraphs 0077-0079. A predetermined number of the most send-fatigued sub-segments are removed from the list, reducing the number of recipients.); identify engaged recipients of the electronic message campaign of the active contact list over a predetermined period of time by the active engagement rules (Paragraphs 0064, 0067-0072. A recipient who opened campaigns within the predetermined period of observation without a detected decrease in engagement is classified as unsaturated.); and adaptively adjust the active contact list according to active engagement rules based on an evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign (Paragraphs 0077-0079, 0084-0088. Recipients are removed from and added back to the list based on their measured engagement with the campaigns sent.).
Logan further discloses based on the tracked sensed actions (Paragraph 0054. The types and numbers of reactions captured from each recipient, and how they change over time, are summarized.).
SparkPost further discloses adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the electronically sent campaign ("Steps Towards Resolution," 2nd bullet. The 30-day engagement period is doubled to 60 and then 120 days once messages reach the inbox and is reduced to 15 days if inbox placement is not achieved after 45 days.).
The rationale for combining Logan and SparkPost with Pisupati and Bennah is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost in view of Lau et al. (US 2013/0102283 A1).
Claim 4: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Logan further discloses wherein the application loaded on the computing device controls sensing of motion sensors of the computing device based on the reception of the electronic message (Paragraph 0043. When a message arrives, the receiver's text software monitors the phone's accelerometers to detect the movement of the phone to a position at which the recipient can view the screen.).
The combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost does not appear to explicitly disclose the application loaded on the computing device controls sensing of a location sensor, wherein the application loaded on the computing device identifies and tracks sensed locations of the location sensor of the computing device, and sensed motion of motion sensors of the computing device, and wherein determining the level of engagement of the recipient is based on the tracked locations, and the sensed motion.
Lau, however, discloses wherein the application loaded on the computing device controls sensing of a location sensor and motion sensors of the computing device (Paragraphs 0025, 0027, 0047, 0052, 0097-0098. The user's mobile device includes a location sensing system such as GPS and motion sensors such as an accelerometer, gyroscope, and compass; the client running on the mobile device collects and uploads the sensor data, including GPS samples and motion, along with the client's GPS ON/OFF state transitions, with processing performed at the mobile device.); wherein the application loaded on the computing device identifies and tracks sensed locations of the location sensor of the computing device, and sensed motion of motion sensors of the computing device (Paragraphs 0017, 0027, 0029, 0045-0048. The location, motion, and time information of the mobile device are monitored and tracked, including the user's stays at points of interest and the motion patterns associated with the user's travel and activities.); and wherein determining the level of engagement of the recipient is based on the tracked locations, and the sensed motion (Paragraphs 0017, 0033, 0038, 0094. The tracked location and motion information is used to create a user profile, from which a likelihood of confirmation of targeted advertising is estimated and the conversion of targeted advertising is measured, and visits to a merchant are monitored to determine whether a user shown an advertisement has been to the merchant.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost so that the application on each recipient's mobile device, upon receipt of the campaign message, controls sensing of the location sensor as well as the motion sensors and tracks the device's locations and motion, and the recipient's level of engagement is determined from the tracked locations and motion, as taught by Lau. One would have been motivated to do this in order to determine whether a recipient who was shown an advertisement visited the merchant.
Claim 6: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost/Lau combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Lau further discloses identifying patterns of location visits of the computing device of the recipient (Paragraph 0029. The user profile includes location behavior patterns learned from the tracked visits, such as which points of interest the user visits often, at what time of day and day of week, and the user's transitions between points of interest.); and further determining, by the campaign success engine, the level of engagement of the recipient, based on the identified patterns of location visits (Paragraphs 0033, 0038, 0094. A likelihood of confirmation of targeted advertising is estimated from the user profile, the conversion of targeted advertising is measured based on the user profile, and the advertiser determines whether a user shown an advertisement has been to the merchant.).
The rationale for combining Lau with Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2018/0189295 A1).
The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above, but does not appear to explicitly disclose determining, by the application loaded on the computing device, whether the computing device of the recipient interacts with another computing device of another recipient based on the sensed location and motion of the computing device, and sensed location and motion of another computing device of the other recipient; and further controlling the visual content of displays of computing devices of each of the recipients of the present electronic message based on the determined influence of the recipient.
Suzuki, however, discloses determining, by the application loaded on the computing device, whether the computing device of the recipient interacts with another computing device of another recipient based on the sensed location and motion of the computing device, and sensed location and motion of another computing device of the other recipient (Paragraphs 0043, 0049-0050, 0091, 0094. Each terminal device acquires its position by GPS, the position information including the moving direction and acceleration, and terminal devices that exist within a predetermined distance of one another for a predetermined time are determined to move together as a group; the terminal device itself may exchange position information with nearby terminal devices, form the group, and calculate the leader points of the terminal devices in the group.); and further controlling the visual content of displays of computing devices of each of the recipients of the present electronic message based on the determined influence of the recipient (Paragraphs 0041, 0056, 0058, 0078, 0090, 0093. The system calculates for each user a leader point estimating the user's influence in the group from the time series of position information, selects the items to be presented, such as stores, products, and digital content, by prioritizing users having high leader points, and transmits the selected item information to the terminal devices, which display it.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost so that the application on each recipient's device determines from the sensed location and motion of the devices whether the recipient's device moves together with another recipient's device, estimates the recipient's influence, and controls the campaign content displayed based on that influence, as taught by Suzuki. One would have been motivated to do this in order to provide content that accounts for the members of a group who most influence the group's decisions.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0063525 A1).
The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above, but does not appear to explicitly disclose sensing at least one of hand motions, direction of eyesight, and orientations of the computing device that indicate product interaction of the recipient; and wherein the level of engagement of the recipient is further based on the indicated product interaction.
Kim, however, discloses sensing at least one of hand motions, direction of eyesight, and orientations of the computing device that indicate product interaction of the recipient (Paragraphs 0060-0061, 0068-0069. The motion sensing unit of the smart watch, which includes a gyro sensor or angular speed sensor, senses the motions of the user wearing the watch while the user checks a specific article in a store, including how long the user checks the article, and the watch acquires information about the product when the user picks the product up.); and wherein the level of engagement of the recipient is further based on the indicated product interaction (Paragraphs 0073-0074, 0079, 0096. The watch acquires the user's preference information from the sensed motions, estimating a higher preference when the user checks a product for a long time, and provides marketing information, including product advertisement data, when the user's preference for a product exceeds a predetermined level, enabling target marketing based on customer preference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost so that the recipient's hand motions indicating that the recipient picked up and checked a product are sensed and the recipient's level of engagement is further based on that product interaction, as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do this in order to perform target marketing based on the recipient's preference for the product.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost in view of Crites (US 2003/0110119 A1).
Claim 12: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses wherein checking the initial contact list to determine that the initial contact list satisfies the initial set of engagement rules comprises (Paragraphs 0062-0072. Each recipient on the list is evaluated against recency, frequency, and response-rate rules to determine the recipient's fatigue status.).
The combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost does not appear to explicitly disclose determining whether a number of recipients of the initial contact list is greater than a first contact number threshold.
Crites, however, discloses determining whether a number of recipients of the initial contact list is greater than a first contact number threshold (Paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0073-0074. Maximum capacity constraints limit the number of customers who receive an offer, such as a limit of 10,000 units of an offer, which may be sent by email; offers are first assigned to customers without regard to the limit, and the list of customers assigned each offer is then held to the number of available units, with the customers beyond that number truncated from the list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost so that checking the initial contact list determines whether the number of recipients on the list exceeds a contact number threshold, as taught by Crites. One would have been motivated to do this in order to keep the number of recipients of the campaign within a limit on the number of recipients while retaining the most valuable recipients.
Claim 13: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost/Crites combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses wherein generating the active contact list comprises (Paragraphs 0077-0079. The list of recipients is modified by removing the most send-fatigued saturated recipients.).
Crites further discloses modifying the initial contact list by reducing the number of recipients to below the first contact threshold (Paragraphs 0073-0074, 0076. The customers assigned an offer are sorted by expected profit and the least profitable customers are truncated from the list, and the user may truncate the list at 7,000 or 5,000 units instead of at the 10,000-unit limit.).
The rationale for combining Crites with Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost in view of Terreri, "Inactive Emails Can Lower Your Results by 40%," DealerRefresh (June 10, 2014, updated October 25, 2019).
The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses wherein checking the initial contact list to determine that the initial contact list satisfies the initial set of engagement rules comprises (Paragraphs 0062-0072. Each recipient on the list is evaluated against recency, frequency, and response-rate rules to determine the recipient's fatigue status.).
The combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost does not appear to explicitly disclose identifying a number of unengaged recipients of the initial contact list; comparing the number of recipients of the initial contact list with a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients are removed from the initial contact list.
Terreri, however, discloses identifying a number of unengaged recipients of the initial contact list (10th paragraph. A list analysis of a newsletter client's database of about 13,000 contacts found that almost a third of the list were prospects whose open rate was very low.); and comparing the number of recipients of the initial contact list with a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients are removed from the initial contact list (12th-13th paragraphs. The 13,178 newsletters emailed to the initial list, which had a 15% open rate, are compared with the 9,548 newsletters emailed after the inactive prospects were removed, which had a 26% open rate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost so that checking the initial contact list identifies the number of unengaged recipients and compares the size of the list with the size of the list without those recipients, as taught by Terreri. One would have been motivated to do this in order to raise the open rate of the campaign.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost/Terreri in view of Hori, "Is It Time to Clean Your Email List?," Campaigns & Elections (June 1, 2018).
The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost/Terreri combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Pisupati further discloses wherein generating the active contact list comprises (Paragraphs 0077-0079. The list of recipients is modified by removing the most send-fatigued saturated recipients.).
The combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, SparkPost, and Terreri does not appear to explicitly disclose eliminating the unengaged recipients if the compared number of recipients of the initial contact list with a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients is greater than a threshold percentage.
Hori, however, discloses eliminating the unengaged recipients if the compared number of recipients of the initial contact list with a number of recipients of the initial contact list minus the unengaged recipients is greater than a threshold percentage (4th paragraph, 2nd bullet; 9th-10th paragraphs. An open rate of less than 10 percent, the share of the list that opened, is identified as an indicator that the list must be cleaned, and where open rates are low, sending is limited to those who have opened an email over a specified period of time, with the rest relegated to a separate list and no longer sent to; for programs sending multiple times a day, those who have not opened an email in the past 30 days are segmented out.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, SparkPost, and Terreri so that the unengaged recipients are eliminated from the active contact list when the comparison of the list with and without them crosses a threshold percentage, as taught by Hori. One would have been motivated to do this in order to stop sending campaign messages to recipients who no longer open them.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost in view of Mayala et al. (US 2016/0294765 A1).
Claim 16: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost combination discloses those limitations cited above, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein analyzing the success of the electronic message campaign comprises determining an open rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that opened the campaign.
Mayala, however, discloses wherein analyzing the success of the electronic message campaign comprises determining an open rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that opened the campaign (Paragraphs 0043, 0087, 0092, 0104. After the digital messages of a message campaign are sent to the targeted recipients, response events are tracked, including the open rate, which is the percentage of the sent messages that were opened by the targeted recipients, calculated as the number of opens divided by the number of sent messages, and the open rate percentages are tabulated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost so that analyzing the success of the campaign includes determining the open rate of the campaign as the percentage of the messages sent to the recipients that were opened, as taught by Mayala. One would have been motivated to do this in order to identify which version of the campaign best achieves the goal of the campaign.
Claim 17: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost/Mayala combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Mayala further discloses wherein analyzing the success of the electronic message campaign comprises determining a click through rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that selected a link within the campaign (Paragraphs 0038, 0043, 0079, 0087, 0092, 0104. The digital messages include clickable hyperlinks, and the click through rate is tracked as the percentage of the sent messages in which the targeted recipients clicked, calculated as the number of clicks divided by the number of sent messages.).
The rationale for combining Mayala with Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Claim 18: The Pisupati/Logan/Bennah/SparkPost/Mayala combination discloses those limitations cited above.
Mayala further discloses wherein analyzing the success of the electronic message campaign comprises determining a conversion rate of the campaign, including determining a percentage of recipients that are determined to have performed an action based on the campaign (Paragraphs 0043, 0092, 0104. The conversion rate and purchase rate of the message campaign are tracked, the conversion rate being calculated as the number of conversions divided by the number of sent messages, and the conversion rate percentages are tabulated.).
The rationale for combining Mayala with Pisupati, Logan, Bennah, and SparkPost is articulated above and reincorporated herein by reference.
Other Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
O'Brien et al. (US 2018/0219819 A1) discloses processing a new sender's list of recipients with a quality scoring algorithm based on message engagement events, setting aside recipients that score below a threshold during a new sender introduction phase, and sending messages only to the recipients not set aside (Paragraph 0029).
Furlong et al. (US 2014/0025763 A1) discloses a maximum number of recipients per batch email send, with messages having more than that number of recipients broken up into smaller batches (Paragraph 0122).
Chestnut et al. (US 2014/0372363 A1) discloses predicting a hard bounce rate for the list of email addresses of an email campaign and, when the predicted rate falls within a range of a threshold, sending the email to less than all of the addresses on the list (Abstract).
Moore (US 2014/0157193 A1) discloses monitoring a user's inputs to displayed animations and displaying a subsequent animation having a different visual appearance based on the monitored inputs (Paragraph 0004).
Gangloff et al. (US 2019/0114679 A1) discloses generating candidate animations for a computerized graphical advertisement display and selecting an animation based on candidate animation scores (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting:
Applicant's terminal disclaimer has been reviewed and approved. Accordingly, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1-10 and 12-20 over U.S. Patent Nos. 12,307,481, 12,026,742, and 11,756,073 are withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicant argues that claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea because it recites a specific technical implementation in which an application loaded on a client terminal actively controls the sensing operations of a physical device sensor based on the reception of an electronic message, and that, as in Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the claims focus on an improvement to computer functionality by dictating how a mobile application alters client hardware operation upon network message reception. These arguments are not persuasive.
The claims in Enfish were directed to a specific improvement in the way computers operate, a self-referential table that improved how a computer stores and retrieves data in memory. Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1335-36. Claim 1, by contrast, recites an application loaded on the computing device controlling sensing of at least one sensor of the computing device based on reception of the electronic message without specifying how the sensing is controlled or reciting any improvement to the operation of the sensor or the computing device. The sensor is used in its ordinary capacity to collect data about the recipient's actions, which the claims then analyze to determine a level of engagement. The specification describes the sensors as the ordinary components of the recipients' mobile devices, such as global positioning system location monitoring devices and motion detection devices including accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetic sensors, which an application on the mobile device utilizes to sense location and motion (Paragraphs 39 and 47). Using generic sensors as a tool to gather data for an abstract analysis is an instruction to apply the abstract idea on generic computer components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). The improvement Applicant identifies is an improvement in determining the engagement of campaign recipients, which is an improvement in the abstract idea itself rather than an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II). Further, Applicant's arguments concerning whether the claims can practically be performed in the human mind do not address the rejection, which identifies the abstract idea as a certain method of organizing human activity, not a mental process.
Applicant also argues that amended claim 1 improves an existing technological process, citing Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175 (1981), by controlling the visual content of displays based on a level of engagement and a determined influence of the recipient determined by an application loaded on the recipient's computing device. These arguments are not persuasive. Claim 1 does not recite a determined influence of the recipient; that feature appears only in dependent claim 5, and arguments directed to features not recited in a claim do not establish the eligibility of that claim. The claims in Diehr used a mathematical formula to improve an industrial process for molding rubber. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 177-79, 187. Here, controlling the visual content presented to campaign recipients based on their level of engagement improves the effectiveness of a marketing campaign, which is a commercial process within the abstract idea, not a technological process. See MPEP § 2106.05(a).
Applicant further argues that, as in McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc., 837 F.3d 1299 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the claims use specific interaction feedback metrics to dynamically scale temporal evaluation baselines to drive automated layout transformations. These arguments are not persuasive.
The rules in McRO improved a technological process, the automated animation of lip synchronization and facial expressions of three-dimensional characters. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1313-16. The rules recited here, identifying engaged recipients over a predetermined period of time, adjusting the active contact list and the predetermined period based on the evaluated success of the campaign, and updating the list as frequently as every time the campaign is sent, are rules for selecting the recipients of a marketing campaign, and they are part of the abstract idea identified in the rejection. An improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II). Moreover, the claims do not recite any particular layout transformation; they recite controlling a visual content of displays of computing devices of each of the recipients of the present electronic message based on the level of engagement of the recipient and controlling movement of messages on the displays based on the level of engagement of the recipient at a high level of generality.
Applicant argues that, as in Core Wireless Licensing S.A.R.L. v. LG Electronics, Inc., 880 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the final step of the independent claims dictates automated alterations of client-side display layouts that provide an improved user interface. These arguments are not persuasive. The claims in Core Wireless recited a specific manner of displaying a limited set of information to the user in a summary window reachable from a menu, which improved the efficiency of using electronic devices with small screens. Core Wireless, 880 F.3d at 1362-63. The present claims recite the result of controlling the visual content and the movement of messages based on the recipient's level of engagement, without reciting any particular manner of display, arrangement, or interface structure. Selecting the content presented to each recipient based on that recipient's engagement is part of the abstract idea identified in the rejection, and controlling the movement of the messages on the displays is the displaying of the selected content, which is insignificant extra-solution activity as set forth in the rejection.
Applicant argues that the claims do not merely apply the abstract idea on a generic computer because they define a closed technical system bounding network behavior, sensor state tracking, and interface graphics configuration. These arguments are not persuasive. The server, the recipients' computing devices, the at least one sensor, the displays, the application, and the campaign success engine are recited at a high level of generality and perform their ordinary functions of sending and receiving messages, sensing, processing data, and displaying content. Combining generic components to carry out the abstract idea does not render the claims eligible. See MPEP § 2106.05(f); Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225-26 (2014).
Applicant argues that the rejection's reliance on OIP Technologies, Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2015), Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018), is misplaced because the claims operate at a distinct technical layer that reconfigures the physical sensing behavior of the endpoint computing device and drives automated layout alterations. These arguments are not persuasive. OIP Technologies and Symantec are cited in the rejection as court decisions establishing that receiving and transmitting data over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, which is a proper basis for that finding. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). The rejection does not equate the present claims with the claims of those cases. Applicant's arguments regarding the sensor feedback loop and the alteration of the display are addressed above.
Applicant further argues under Berkheimer that the claims recite an unconventional combination in which a baseline temporal evaluation window is proportionally expanded or contracted based on live campaign success scores, which is absent from the prior art and increases interface efficiency. These arguments are not persuasive. Adjusting the period of time over which engaged recipients are identified based on the success of the campaign is part of the abstract idea, and the abstract idea itself cannot supply the inventive concept that renders a claim significantly more than the judicial exception. See BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1290 (Fed. Cir. 2018); MPEP § 2106.05(I). Whether a limitation is novel or nonobvious over the prior art is a separate inquiry from eligibility. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(I). Further, claim 1 recites adjusting the predetermined period of time based on the evaluated success of the campaign without reciting the direction of the adjustment; the expansion and contraction Applicant describes is recited only in claim 10. In Berkheimer, dependent claims 4-7 survived summary judgment because their limitations, directed to storing parsed data without substantial redundancy to improve system efficiency and reduce storage requirements, raised a genuine issue of material fact as to whether they were well-understood, routine, and conventional. Berkheimer, 881 F.3d at 1370-71. The present claims recite no comparable improvement to the computer; their asserted benefit is improved campaign engagement.
Finally, Applicant argues that claim 1 is analogous to claim 1 of Example 37 of the USPTO's Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, and that claim 1 integrates the abstract idea into a practical application by reciting a specific manner of controlling the visual content of displays based on the level of engagement and a determined influence of the recipient, resulting in improved engagement and reducing the number of recipients to save computing processing and memory. These arguments are not persuasive. Claim 1 of Example 37 was found eligible because it recited a specific manner of automatically displaying icons to the user based on usage, automatically moving the most used icons to a position on the graphical user interface closest to the start icon, which provided a specific improvement over prior systems in the operation of the user interface. Claim 1 of the present application recites controlling the visual content and the movement of messages based on the recipient's level of engagement without specifying any particular manner of movement or any position on the display. The specification describes the varied display of campaign messages, including the movement of an electronic message across the display, as a way to induce recipients who have not engaged to engage with the campaign (Paragraphs 77 and 79). Varying the presentation of marketing messages to increase engagement serves a commercial objective; it does not improve the functioning of the user interface. As noted above, claim 1 does not recite a determined influence of the recipient. Any reduction in processing resulting from sending campaigns to fewer recipients follows from the abstract rule for curating the contact list, not from any improvement in how the computer operates. See MPEP § 2106.05(a).
Accordingly, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-10 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is therefore maintained.
35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant's arguments with respect to the adjusting of the predetermined period of time recited in claims 1 and 19, the controlling of movement of messages recited in claims 1 and 19, and claims 5, 9, 10, and 12-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Pisupati does not teach that the active contact list adaptively updates as frequently as every time the electronic message campaign is electronically sent because Pisupati's state machine transitions recipients based on independent time blocks in a batch, time-delayed evaluation routine that is not synchronized to the dispatch cycle, whereas the claim requires a tight operational binding in which the list is recalculated in lockstep with each transmission to prevent stale entries from being included in the next transmission. These arguments are not persuasive.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, updating the list as frequently as every time the electronic message campaign is electronically sent sets the maximum frequency at which the list updates; the claim does not require that each update be triggered by or synchronized with a particular send. See MPEP § 2111. The lockstep binding and the prevention of stale entries in the next transmission on which Applicant relies are not recited in the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 1184 (Fed. Cir. 1993); MPEP § 2145(VI). Pisupati continually monitors the campaigns that have been sent and the recipients' interactions with them (Paragraph 0059), sends campaign messages regularly to the recipients kept on the list while the monitoring and fatigue segmentation continue (Paragraph 0076), and removes recipients from and adds them back to the list as their states change (Paragraphs 0079, 0084), so the list is updated on an ongoing basis as the campaign is sent.
Applicant argues that the rejection of claims 4 and 6 relies on a piecemeal, hindsight reconstruction, that Lau uses location and motion data for localized profiling, and that there is no reasonable expectation of success or motivation to import device-level sensor routines into a server-driven campaign success engine. These arguments are not persuasive. Any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge that was within the level of ordinary skill at the time of the invention and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395 (CCPA 1971); MPEP § 2145(X)(A). The motivation to combine is drawn from Lau itself, which uses the tracked location and motion information to estimate the likelihood of confirmation of targeted advertising, to measure the conversion of targeted advertising, and to determine whether a user shown an advertisement has been to the merchant (Paragraphs 0033, 0038, 0094), purposes directly pertinent to evaluating the success of a marketing campaign. Further, the reason to combine need not be the same as Applicant's. See MPEP § 2144(IV). To the extent Applicant argues that Lau does not control display-level visual content, that feature is supplied by Bennah in the combination, and nonobviousness cannot be shown by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. See MPEP § 2145(IV). As to the expectation of success, Lau's client application running on the mobile device collects the global positioning system and motion sensor data and uploads it to the server for analysis (Paragraphs 0097-0098), the same division between device-level sensing and server-side analysis that the combination employs, and Pisupati's campaign platform already receives read receipts and other indications of the recipients' interactions transmitted back to it (Paragraphs 0060-0061). Only a reasonable expectation of success is required. See MPEP § 2143.02.
Accordingly, Applicant's remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as set forth above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C BUSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3621