DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,703,173; Claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 8,998,538; and Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,292,152. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are all drawn to an expander that receives a cable gripper therein, the expander also receiving a cutter and a hammer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tjader (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0048091).
As to Claim 1, Tjader discloses a pipe replacement device, comprising:
An expander (108);
A lateral (“Lateral” is relative to the position of the viewer) insertion pocket (406) in the expander (108);
A towing cable anchor (200; Paragraph 0024: “A collet 200 is shown at an end 202 of the cable 106. In another example, the collet 200 is placed at a point along a length of cable 106, for instance between a winch at one end of a pipe to be split and a spool of cable at the other end of the pipe. The collet 200 is sized and shaped to grasp the cable 106. As further described below, the collet 200 securely grasps the cable when the collet engages against an interior surface of the expander 108”) adapted to fit (at 408) within the lateral insertion pocket (406), wherein the towing cable anchor is adapted to grip a side surface (via 502) of a bare end of a towing cable (106; Paragraph 0037: “Optionally, the jaws 500 include a roughened interior surface 502 (e.g., serrations, knurling, projections and the like) configured to grasp the cable 106 and substantially prevent movement of the collet 200 along the cable 106, as described below”), and is removable from the towing cable (106); and
A jointed cutter (102) that abuts a front end of the expander (108).
As to Claim 2, Tjader discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Tjader also discloses wherein the towing cable anchor (200) includes a tapered wedge tightener.
As to Claim 3, Tjader discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Tjader also discloses wherein the tapered wedge tightener includes a threaded fitting (502) to actuate tightening.
As to Claim 4, Tjader discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Tjader also discloses further including a jack screw (204) to push the towing cable anchor out laterally from the lateral insertion pocket.
As to Claim 5, Tjader discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Tjader also discloses wherein the towing cable anchor (200) includes an outer surface that matches a tapered surface on the expander.
As to Claim 6, Tjader discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Tjader also discloses wherein the jointed cutter (102) abuts the front end of the expander using a ball joint (302).
As to Claim 7, Tjader discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Tjader also discloses further including at least one replaceable blade (104. The are capable of being replaced by cutting off an old blade and welding a new one in the same space) on the jointed cutter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tjader (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0048091) in view of Tjader (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0036613) “Tjader 613”.
As to Claim 8, Tjader discloses a pipe replacement device, comprising:
A head unit (108);
A lateral (“Lateral” is relative to the position of the viewer) insertion pocket (406) in the head unit (108);
A towing cable anchor (200; Paragraph 0024: “A collet 200 is shown at an end 202 of the cable 106. In another example, the collet 200 is placed at a point along a length of cable 106, for instance between a winch at one end of a pipe to be split and a spool of cable at the other end of the pipe. The collet 200 is sized and shaped to grasp the cable 106. As further described below, the collet 200 securely grasps the cable when the collet engages against an interior surface of the expander 108”) adapted to fit (at 408) within the lateral insertion pocket (406), wherein the towing cable anchor (200) is adapted to grip a side surface (via 502) of a bare end of a towing cable (106; Paragraph 0037: “Optionally, the jaws 500 include a roughened interior surface 502 (e.g., serrations, knurling, projections and the like) configured to grasp the cable 106 and substantially prevent movement of the collet 200 along the cable 106, as described below”), wherein the towing cable anchor (200) is removable from a towing cable (106); and
A jointed cutter (102) that abuts a front end of the head unit (108).
However, Tjader is silent about the head unit for a reciprocating hammer. Tjader 613 discloses a reciprocating hammer (130) received in a head unit (120). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reciprocating hammer in the head unit. The motivation would have been to assist in the penetration of the cutter.
As to Claim 9, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the head unit includes a male thread (120) for coupling to a female thread (Thread inside 121) of a reciprocating hammer.
As to Claim 10, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches further including a jack screw (204) to push the towing cable anchor out laterally from the lateral insertion pocket (406).
As to Claim 11, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches further including an adapter component (314) to bridge a diameter between a first diameter of the jointed cutter (102) and a starting diameter of the head unit (108).
As to Claim 12, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the towing cable anchor includes an outer surface (Figure 5) that matches a tapered surface (408) on the head unit.
As to Claim 13, Tjader discloses a pipe replacement device, comprising:
A leading tapered head (108);
A lateral (“Lateral” is relative to the position of the viewer) insertion pocket (406) in the leading tapered head (108);
A towing cable anchor (200; Paragraph 0024: “A collet 200 is shown at an end 202 of the cable 106. In another example, the collet 200 is placed at a point along a length of cable 106, for instance between a winch at one end of a pipe to be split and a spool of cable at the other end of the pipe. The collet 200 is sized and shaped to grasp the cable 106. As further described below, the collet 200 securely grasps the cable when the collet engages against an interior surface of the expander 108”) adapted to fit (at 408) within the lateral insertion pocket (406), wherein the towing cable anchor (200) is adapted to grip a side surface (via 502) of a bare end of a towing cable (106; Paragraph 0037: “Optionally, the jaws 500 include a roughened interior surface 502 (e.g., serrations, knurling, projections and the like) configured to grasp the cable 106 and substantially prevent movement of the collet 200 along the cable 106, as described below”), and is removable from the towing cable (106); and
A jointed cutter (102) that abuts a front end of the leading tapered head (108).
However, Tjader is silent about a reciprocating hammer in the leading tapered head. Tjader 613 discloses a reciprocating hammer (130) received in a leading tapered head (120). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reciprocating hammer in the leading tapered head. The motivation would have been to assist in the penetration of the cutter.
As to Claim 14, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the towing cable anchor (200) includes a tapered wedge tightener (Figure 5).
As to Claim 15, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the tapered wedge tightener (Figure 5) includes a threaded fitting (502) to actuate tightening.
As to Claim 16, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the towing cable anchor (200) includes an outer surface that matches a tapered surface (408) on the leading tapered head (108).
As to Claim 17, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the towing cable anchor (200) includes a lateral cross section that substantially matches a lateral cross section (Figure 4B) of the lateral insertion pocket (406).
As to Claim 18, Tjader as modified teaches the invention of Claim 17 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Tjader as modified also teaches wherein the lateral cross section is substantially rectangular (Figure 4B).
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678