DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 16 April 2025, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al (WO 2024/010160 A1, hereinafter Shin; Examiner notes wherein for purposes of Examination, related and corresponding application US 2025/0332720 A1, is being utilized herein as an English translation equivalent to the referenced WIPO application, and is referenced as such in the below rejection of the claims.).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a lifting device for manipulating a load (Figures 1-3, heavy object D), the lifting device comprising a multiaxial kinematic mechanism (Figures 1-3, gantry 9) on which at least one manipulator arm (Figures 2 & 5, robot 3) is mounted, the manipulator arm being configured to move about or along multiple axes of movement and having a holding means (Figure 5, gripper 1) for the load (Figures 1-5; at least as in paragraphs 0087 and 0091-0097, specifically as in at least paragraph 0087 wherein “a heavy object precision assembly device of the present disclosure includes: a gripper 1 configured to grip a heavy object D to be assembled; a cooperative robot 3 configured to adjust a position and an angle of the gripper 1; a balancer 5 configured to supplement loading weight of the cooperative robot 3 and to support the gripper 1; a loader arm 7 configured to support the balancer 5 and the cooperative robot 3; and a servo gantry 9 configured to support the loader arm 7 at an upper side of an assembly object with which the heavy object D is to be assembled and to allow a planar movement of the loader arm 7 in a horizontal direction”),
wherein a positioning unit (Figures 1, 2 & 5-7, loader arm 7) acting on the multiaxial kinematic mechanism and serving to move the manipulator arm and a weight compensation unit (Figures 5 & 8, balancer 5) for compensating for the weight force (Fc) of the load are associated with at least one of the axes of movement (Figures 1-5; at least as in paragraphs 0087 and 0091-0097, specifically as in at least paragraph 0087 wherein “a heavy object precision assembly device of the present disclosure includes: a gripper 1 configured to grip a heavy object D to be assembled; a cooperative robot 3 configured to adjust a position and an angle of the gripper 1; a balancer 5 configured to supplement loading weight of the cooperative robot 3 and to support the gripper 1; a loader arm 7 configured to support the balancer 5 and the cooperative robot 3; and a servo gantry 9 configured to support the loader arm 7 at an upper side of an assembly object with which the heavy object D is to be assembled and to allow a planar movement of the loader arm 7 in a horizontal direction”).
Regarding claim 2, Shin further teaches wherein the weight compensation unit or the positioning unit are configured to be driven electrically or pneumatically (Figures 1-4 & 6-9; at least as in paragraphs 0087, 0093-0094 and 0096-0101).
Regarding claim 3, Shin further teaches wherein the electrical or pneumatic drive of the weight compensation unit or of the positioning unit is configured in such a manner that the drive meets the requirements of collaborative robotics (Figures 1-4 & 6-9; at least as in paragraphs 0087, 0093-0094 and 0096-0101).
Regarding claim 4, Shin further teaches wherein the lifting device comprises a controller (Figure 5, controller 19) configured to control the movement of the manipulator arm as a function of the weight force (Fc,) of the load or of the position of the load or of the trajectory of the manipulator arm (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101 and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 5, Shin further teaches wherein the controller is configured to dynamically compensate for the weight force (Fo) of the load (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101 and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 6, Shin further teaches wherein the lifting device comprises a position sensor system, a speed sensor system, an acceleration sensor system, a time sensor system, a path sensor system or a weight sensor system (Figure 8, encoder 25; at least as in paragraphs 0087-0088 and 0099-0104).
Regarding claim 8, Shin further teaches wherein the multiaxial kinematic mechanism has a pivot joint associated with the manipulator arm, the pivot joint having a vertical axis of movement, about which the manipulator arm is pivotable, the manipulator arm being mounted in a fixed place by means of the associated pivot joint (Figures 5-8; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 10, Shin further teaches wherein a control module operable by a user is disposed in the area of the holding means for the load (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101 and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 11, Shin further teaches wherein the lifting device comprises a guide allowing the weight compensation unit to be shifted perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the weight compensation unit (Figure 8; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0106).
Regarding claim 12, Shin further teaches wherein the holding means for the load is attached to a free end of the manipulator arm by means of a vertical arm and an additional pivot joint having an axis of movement, which is a pivot axis, the holding means being configured to pivot freely, about the additional pivot joint (Figures 5-8; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 13, Shin teaches a method for manipulating a load (Figures 1-3, heavy object D) by means of at least one lifting device, the method comprising the following steps:
fixing the load to a holding means (Figure 5, gripper 1; at least paragraph 0087, wherein “a gripper 1 configured to grip a heavy object D…”),
lifting or holding the load at least by means of a weight compensation unit (Figures 5 & 8, balancer 5; at least paragraph 0087, wherein “a balancer 5 configured to supplement loading weight of the cooperative robot 3 and to support the gripper 1.”), and
positioning the load by manual force or by means of a positioning unit (Figures 1, 2 & 5-7, loader arm 7; at least as in paragraph 0087, wherein “a loader arm 7 configured to support the balancer 5 and the cooperative robot 3; and a servo gantry 9 configured to support the loader arm 7 at an upper side of an assembly object with which the heavy object D is to be assembled and to allow a planar movement of the loader arm 7 in a horizontal direction”),
wherein the positioning of the load about at least one axis of movement or along at least one axis of movement is supported by a positioning unit (Figures 1, 2 & 5-7, loader arm 7) associated with the at least one axis of movement and by a weight compensation unit (Figures 5 & 8, balancer 5) associated with the at least one axis of movement (Figures 1-7; at least as in paragraphs 0087-0089 and 0093-0096, specifically as in at least paragraph 0087, wherein “a loader arm 7 configured to support the balancer 5 and the cooperative robot 3; and a servo gantry 9 configured to support the loader arm 7 at an upper side of an assembly object with which the heavy object D is to be assembled and to allow a planar movement of the loader arm 7 in a horizontal direction”, and further as in paragraph 0093, wherein “FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 are views illustrating the servo gantry 9 viewed from above. Furthermore, a first movement part 13 is capable of being moved in a first direction X, and a second movement part 15 is capable of being moved in a second direction Y with respect to the first movement part 13, so that the loader arm 7 connected to a lower side of the second movement part 15 is capable of performing the planar movement in the horizontal direction from above the heavy object D and the assembly object B.”).
Regarding claim 14, Shin further teaches wherein the weight compensation unit is controlled in such a manner that relatively low drive forces, which minimize or exclude bodily injury, have to be exerted in order to position the load by means of the positioning unit (Figures 1, 5 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0117 and 0138).
Regarding claim 15, Shin further teaches wherein the weight compensation unit is controlled in such a manner that the force having to be exerted in order to position the load remains constant irrespective of the weight force (FG) and of the position of the load (Figures 1-4 & 6-9; at least as in paragraphs 0087, 0093-0094 and 0096-0101).
Regarding claim 16, Shin further teaches wherein, with the weight force (Fa) of the load known, the lifting of the load takes place at a higher speed than the positioning of the load (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101 and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 17, Shin further teaches wherein the weight force (Fo) of the load is determined, and a set of control data for controlling the positioning unit or the weight compensation unit as a function of the weight force (FG) of the load is created (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0101 and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 18, Shin further teaches wherein measurement values of a position sensor system, a speed sensor system, an acceleration sensor system, a time sensor system, a path sensor system or a weight sensor system are acquired, and the measurement values are stored in a database (102), or a set of control data (101) is created as a function of the measurement values (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0087-0088, 0095-0104 and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 19, Shin further teaches wherein sets of control data (101) and measurement values are stored in the database (102) in a linked manner, and a statistical model is created on the basis of the stored measurement values and of the stored sets of control data (101), and a new set of control data (101) is determined by inference with the statistical model (Figures 5-8 & 12; at least as in paragraphs 0095-0104, 0115-0117 and 0138).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (WO 2024/010160 A1, hereinafter Shin) in view of Zambelli (US 2021/0395047 A1).
The teachings of Shin have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 7, Shin is silent regarding, however Zambelli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the weight compensation unit comprises a fall arrester (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0036-0042 and 0056-0060). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Shin, to include Zambelli’s teaching of a control valve (i.e. fall arrester) for an electro-pneumatic assembly of a weight balancing device, since Zambelli teaches wherein such an arrangement provides enhanced handling capability for carrying/transporting a load with a weight balancing device, thereby providing a more robust lifting device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (WO 2024/010160 A1, hereinafter Shin) in view of Abdallah et al (US 2016/0039093 A1, hereinafter Abdallah).
The teachings of Shin have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, Shin is silent regarding, however Abdallah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the manipulator arm is formed by vertically pivoting parallelogram arms disposed one above the other in the direction of the weight force (Figures 2 & 3; at least as in paragraphs 0029-0031 and 0034-0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Shin, to include Abdallah’s teaching of a manipulator arm formed by pivoting parallelogram arms, since Abdallah teaches wherein such a configuration provides a lightweight design that enhances the strength of the arm for lifting one or more loads/objects, thereby providing a more cost-effective arm arrangement with enhanced strength for lifting one or more loads/objects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention and also reads on several of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2017/0182661 A1, issued to Nakamoto, which is directed towards a manipulator for holding a load and moving said load from one location to another, wherein said manipulator includes a weight compensation mechanism capable of cancelling the wight of the manipulator itself with a mechanical structure.
US 8,788,086 B2, issued to Franz, which is directed towards a mechanical linkage system for handling one or more objects that includes a counterbalance weight to compensate for the weight of said one or more objects.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657