DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 04/06/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 7-18 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection presented in the previous office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 04/06/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohara Tomoko (JP 2019220287A) (hereinafter referred to as “Ohara”), cited by the applicant.
Re claim 1: Ohara discloses a lighting device comprising:
a light guide (32) on which a light is incident and that includes an emitting surface (32b);
a light emitter (5) including an incident surface (50) on which the light emitted from the emitting surface of the light guide is incident, and emits light using the light incident from the incident surface; and
a base material (2) including a light guide-side support that supports the light guide (a portion of the housing frame 2 where the light bar 32 is arranged) and a light emitter-side support that supports the light emitter (a portion of the housing frame 2 for holding the light guide plate 5);
wherein the light guide (32), the light emitter (5) and the base material (2) are integrally formed, and the emitting surface of the light guide, which extends along a length of the light guide, and the incident surface of the light emitter, which extends along a side surface of the light emitter, are spaced apart from each other so as to face each other with an air layer interposed between the emitting surface and the incident surface. (See figs. 1-4).
Re claim 2, Ohara further discloses wherein the light emitter-side support has a frame formed along a peripheral edge of a rear surface of the light emitter (paras. 0034-0035; figs. 3-4).
Re claim 3, Ohara further discloses wherein the base material includes a connecter that connects the light guide- side support and the light emitter-side support, and when viewed in a direction facing a front surface of the light emitter, the connecter is located not to overlap the air layer (fig. 3).
Re claim 4, Ohara further discloses wherein the first light guide and the light emitter are made of the same material (paras. 0016 and 0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohara in view of Tanaka Kenji (JP 2020203590A) (hereinafter referred to as Tanaka), cited by the applicant. The teachings of Ohara have been discussed above.
Re claim 5, Ohara fails to teach wherein a decorative layer decorates the light emitter is provided on a rear surface of the light emitter.
Tanaka discloses a vehicular illuminating device comprising a decorative layer (30) that decorates a light emitter (40) is provided on a rear surface of the light emitter (40) (figs. 2-3; paras. 0030-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Ohara and Tanaka in order to project an image rich in design.
Re claim 6, Ohara as modified by Tanaka discloses wherein the light emitter-side support has a frame shape formed along a peripheral edge of the rear surface of the light emitter, and the light emitter-side support and the light emitter sandwich the decorative layer between the light emitter-side support and the light emitter (Ohara, Ohara; and Tanaka, figs. 2-3; paras. 0030-0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, in conjunction with other claim limitations, a second light guide, wherein the first light guide and the second light guide are disposed to sandwich the light emitter between the first light guide and the second light guide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 03/04/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876