DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner notes that certain claims limitations are recited conditionally, including limitations introduced by “when.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, such contingent limitations do not require the condition to occur in every performance of the claimed method unless the claim language affirmatively requires occurrence of the condition. See MPEP 2111.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by VDA-143 et al. (US20210407143A1), hereinafter referred to as VDA-143.
Regarding claim 1, VDA-143 discloses method for decoding, applied to a decoder (See ¶ [0008]]), the method comprising:
determining first parameter information of a current node (See ¶¶ [0109]-[0111]);
determining context indication information of the current node according to the first parameter information (See ¶¶ [0120]-[0123]);
determining a context model according to the context indication information (See ¶¶ [0027] and [0120]-[0123]); and
decoding a bitstream based on the context model to determine plane position information of the current node in a preset direction (See ¶¶ [0008], [0026] and [0120]-[0123]).
Regarding claim 2, VDA-143 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, VDA-143 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first parameter information of the current node comprises:
determining decoding parameter information required by the current node in a decoding process, wherein the decoding parameter information comprises at least one of: plane information of decoded nodes, or occupancy information of an adjacent node (See ¶¶ [0109]-[0111] and [0118]-[0123]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method for decoding of claims 1 and 2, since they claim analogous subject matter in the form of a method for encoding for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
The Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: an encoder and a decoder. The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claim 1, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of an apparatus (decoder) for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Furthermore, VDA-143 discloses decoder, comprising: a processor; and
a memory, configured to store a computer program executable by the processor (See ¶¶ [0286]-[0288])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VDA-143, in view of VDA-143 et al. (US20220108492A1), hereinafter referred to as VDA-492, and further, in view of Pham Van (US20230342987A1), hereinafter referred to as Pham Van.
Regarding claim 3, VDA-143 disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 2, wherein determining the context indication information of the current node according to the first parameter information comprises: determining first enable identifier information and second enable identifier information; determining first context indication information of the current node according to the first enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information; and determining second context indication information of the current node according to the second enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information, wherein the first enable identifier information indicates whether an octree adjacent child node is enabled, and the second enable identifier information indicates whether an octree planar buffer is disabled..
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the second enable identifier information (See ¶¶ [0100]-[0104] and [0125]).
determining second context indication information of the current node according to the second enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information (See ¶¶ [0125] and [0130]-[0133])
the second enable identifier information indicates whether an octree planar buffer is disabled (See ¶¶ [0100] and [0125])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by VDA-143 to add the teachings of VDA-492 as above, in order to reduced complexity of the context derivation process and the size of the buffer (VDA-492, [0004]).
Moreover, Pham Van from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses determining first enable identifier information (See ¶¶ [0135]-[0138]).;
determining first context indication information of the current node according to the first enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information (See ¶¶ [0114]-[0127] and [0135]-0143])
wherein the first enable identifier information indicates whether an octree adjacent child node is enabled (See ¶¶ [0135]-[0143])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by VDA-143 and VDA-492 to add the teachings of Pham Van as above, in order to improving coding efficiency when arithmetic coding occupancy related syntax elements (e.g., occupancy bits) (Pham Van, [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 3, wherein determining the decoding parameter information required by the current node in the decoding process comprises:
determining plane information of a sibling node of the current node among the decoded nodes, plane information of a decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node, and occupancy information of an adjacent node situated along the preset direction of the current node.
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the decoding parameter information required by the current node in the decoding process comprises:
determining plane information of a sibling node of the current node among the decoded nodes (See ¶¶ [0093]-[0095]), plane information of a decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node (See ¶¶ [0100]-[0104]), and occupancy information of an adjacent node situated along the preset direction of the current node (See ¶ [0131]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 5, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 4, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein determining the first context indication information of the current node according to the first enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information comprises:
when the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is not enabled, determining the first context indication information by calculating according to the occupancy information of the adjacent node situated along the preset direction of the current node and the plane information of the sibling node of the current node; or
when the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is enabled, determining the first context indication information by calculating according to the plane information of the decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the determining the first context indication information by calculating according to the occupancy information of the adjacent node situated along the preset direction of the current node and the plane information of the sibling node of the current node (See ¶ [0093]-[0095] and [0131]-[0133]).
Moreover, Pham Van from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 4, wherein determining the first context indication information of the current node according to the first enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information comprises: when the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is not enabled, determining the first context indication information by calculating according to the occupancy information of the adjacent node situated along the preset direction of the current node and the plane information of the sibling node of the current node; or
when the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is enabled (See ¶¶ [0114]-[0127], [0131] and [0138])
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 6, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising:
determining, according to the decoding parameter information, first plane information and second plane information of the decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node; and when the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is enabled, determine the first context indication information by calculating according to the first plane information and the second plane information of the decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining, according to the decoding parameter information, first plane information and second plane information of the decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node; and, determine the first context indication information by calculating according to the first plane information and the second plane information of the decoded node situated along the preset direction of the current node (See ¶ [0131]).
Moreover, Pham Van from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the when the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is enabled (See ¶¶ [0135] and [0138]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 7, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 3, wherein determining the first enable identifier information comprises: decoding the bitstream to determine a value of the first enable identifier information; wherein the method further comprises: when the value of the first enable identifier information is a first value, determining that the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is not enabled; and when the value of the first enable identifier information is a second value, determining that the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is enabled.
However, Pham Van from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the first enable identifier information comprises:
decoding the bitstream to determine a value of the first enable identifier information; wherein the method further comprises: when the value of the first enable identifier information is a first value, determining that the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is not enabled; and when the value of the first enable identifier information is a second value, determining that the first enable identifier information indicates that the octree adjacent child node is enabled (See ¶¶ [0135] and [0138]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 12, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, VDA-143 discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the second enable identifier information comprises: decoding the bitstream to determine a value of the second enable identifier information; wherein the method further comprises: when the value of the second enable identifier information is a first value, determining that the octree planar buffer is not disabled; and when the value of the second enable identifier information is a second value, determining that the octree planar buffer is disable (¶¶ [0130]-[0142])
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the (See ¶ [0131]).
Moreover, Pham Van from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the (See ¶ [0131]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 13, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, VDA-143 discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the context model according to the context indication information comprises: determining a model index value by calculating according to the preset direction (¶¶ [0120]-[0123]),
determining the context model according to the model index value (¶ [0027]).
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the first context indication information, and the second context indication information; and
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the second context indication information (See ¶¶ [0125] and [0133]).
Moreover, Pham Van from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the first context indication information (See ¶¶ [0114]-[0127] and [0135]-[0138]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 14, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, VDA-143 discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is not disabled (See ¶ [0141])
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose storing the plane position information of the current node in the preset direction to a preset plane position variable, wherein the preset plane position variable represents plane position information of a previous node located in a preset plane perpendicular to the preset direction and meeting a condition of single-plane occupancy.
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses storing the plane position information of the current node in the preset direction to a preset plane position variable, wherein the preset plane position variable represents plane position information of a previous node located in a preset plane perpendicular to the preset direction and meeting a condition of single-plane occupancy (See ¶¶ [0102]-[0111]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claims 17-19, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method for decoding of claims 3-5, since they claim analogous subject matter in the form of a method for encoding for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
The Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: an encoder and a decoder. The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream
Claims 8 -11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VDA-143, in view of VDA-492 and Pham Van, and further, in view of Lasserre (US10693492B1), hereinafter referred to as Lasserre.
Regarding claim 8, VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 3, wherein determining the decoding parameter information required by the current node in the decoding process comprises: determining plane information of an adjacent node in a plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node and closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node.
However, Lasserre from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses method of claim 3, wherein determining the decoding parameter information required by the current node in the decoding process comprises: determining plane information of an adjacent node in a plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node (See Col. 15, ll. 8-20) and closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node (See Col. 16, ll. 8-20)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by VDA-143, VDA-492 and Pham Van to add the teachings of Lasserre as above, in order to saving in storage requirements (memory) through improved compression, or savings in bandwidth for transmission of compressed data, thereby resulting in improved operation of 3D vision systems, such as for automotive applications, or improved speed of operation and rendering of virtual reality systems, (Lasserre, Col. 1, ll.42-47]).
Regarding claim 9, VDA-143, VDA-492, Pham Van and Lasserre disclose all the limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein determining the second context indication information of the current node according to the second enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information comprises: when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is not disabled, determining the second context indication information by calculating according to the closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node; or when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is disabled, determining the second context indication information by calculating according to the plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node.
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the second context indication information of the current node according to the second enable identifier information and the decoding parameter information comprises: when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is not disabled, determining the second context indication information by calculating according to the closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node; or when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is disabled (See ¶¶[0124], [0125] and [0133])
Moreover, Lasserre from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses determining the second context indication information by calculating according to the plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node (See Col. 15, ll. 8-20).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492, Pham Van and Lasserre Van has been discussed in connection with claims 3 and 8, above.
Regarding claim 10, VDA-143, VDA-492, Pham Van and Lasserre disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining, according to the decoding parameter information, third plane information and fourth plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node; and when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is disabled, determining the second context indication information by calculating according to the third plane information and the fourth plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node.
However, Lasserre from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: determining, according to the decoding parameter information, third plane information and fourth plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node; and when the second enable identifier information indicates that the octree planar buffer is disabled, determining the second context indication information by calculating according to the third plane information and the fourth plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node (¶¶[0131]-[0133])
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492, Pham Van and Lasserre Van has been discussed in connection with claims 3 and 8, above.
Regarding claim 11, VDA-143, VDA-492, Pham Van and Lasserre disclose all the limitations of claim 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
VDA-143 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein determining the closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node comprises: determining target plane position information of a previous node located in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction and meeting a condition of single-plane occupancy; and determining the closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node by calculating according to the third plane information and the fourth plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node and the target plane position information.
However, VDA-492 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 10, wherein determining the closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node comprises: determining target plane position information of a previous node located in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction and meeting a condition of single-plane occupancy; and determining the closest plane position information in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node by calculating according to the third plane information and the fourth plane information of the adjacent node in the plane perpendicular to the preset direction of the current node and the target plane position information (¶¶[0102]-[0104] and [0131]-0133]).
The motivation for combining VDA-143, VDA-492, Pham Van and Lasserre Van has been discussed in connection with claims 3 and 8, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references.
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486