DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is required to insert the Patent No. 12,247,296 into the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, it has been held that the recitation that an element is "capable of" performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138, 33 CCPA 879 (1946). MPEP 706.03(c). <The determination that is needed to be made here is whether the element by itself as disclosed in the specification is capable of performing the function without any adaptation or not. If it does then the term "capable of" is given weight>.
Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. (The following are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim: (a) statements of intended use or field of use, (b) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses, (c) "wherein" clauses, or (d) "whereby" clauses. This list of examples is not intended to be exhaustive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,347,296. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both patent and application having similar limitations of monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility; analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors; and determining, from the sound signatures, an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The Double-Patenting is shown belows:
Patent No. 12,347,296
Present Invention 19/180,694
1. A computer-implemented method to manage an industrial plant facility, the method comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility;
analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors, comprising:
training a model configured to predict an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility based on the sound signatures from the plurality of microsound collectors; and
determining, from the sound signatures, the operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the plurality of microsound collectors positioned in the area, comprising:
applying the model to sound signatures received from microsound collectors different from the plurality of microsound collector involved in training the model.
1. A computer-implemented method to manage an industrial plant facility, the method comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility;
analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors; and
determining, from the sound signatures, an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting recordings obtained by the plurality of microsound collectors to the server computer.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting recordings obtained by the plurality of microsound collectors to the server computer.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein said analyzing further comprises: comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct locations at the industrial plant facility.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein said analyzing further comprises: comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct locations at the industrial plant facility.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein said analyzing further comprises: analyzing at least one harmonic component in each of the respective spectra.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein said analyzing further comprises: analyzing at least one harmonic component in each of the respective spectra.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component in the sound signatures.
6.The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein said analyzing further comprises: training a model capable of predicting the operation status based on the sound signatures from the plurality of microsound collectors, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component in the sound signatures.
7. A computer system comprising:
a network of sensors comprising a plurality of microsound collectors located at an industrial plant facility;
a processor; and
at least one memory,
wherein at least one memory comprises software instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations to manage an industrial plant facility, the operations comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from the network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility;
analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors, comprising:
training a model configured to predict an operation status based on the sound signatures from the plurality of microsound collectors, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component in the sound signatures; and
determining, from the sound signatures, an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area, comprising:
applying the model to sound signatures received from microsound collectors different from the plurality of microsound collector involved in training the model.
8. A computer system comprising:
a network of sensors comprising a plurality of microsound collectors located at an industrial plant facility;
a processor; and
at least one memory, wherein at least one memory comprises software instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations to manage an industrial plant facility, the operations comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility;
analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors; and
determining, from the sound signatures, an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area.
8. The computer system of claim 7, the operations further comprising: transmitting recordings obtained by the plurality of microsound collectors to the server computer.
9. The computer system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: transmitting recordings obtained by the plurality of microsound collectors to the server computer.
9. The computer system of claim 8, wherein said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
10. The computer system of claim 9, wherein said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
10. The computer system of claim 9, wherein said analyzing further comprises: comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct locations at the industrial plant facility.
11. The computer system of claim 10, wherein said analyzing further comprises:
comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct locations at the industrial plant facility.
11. The computer system of claim 9, wherein said analyzing further comprises: analyzing at least one harmonic component in each of the respective spectra.
12. The computer system of claim 10, wherein said analyzing further comprises:
analyzing at least one harmonic component in each of the respective spectra.
12. The computer system of claim 7, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component in the sound signatures.
13. The computer system of claim 8, wherein said analyzing further comprises:
training a model capable of predicting the operation status based on the sound signatures from the plurality of microsound collectors, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component in the sound signatures.
13. A non-volatile computer readable medium comprising software instructions, which, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to perform operations to manage an industrial plant facility, the operations comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility;
analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors, comprising:
training a model configured to predict an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility based on the sound signatures from the plurality of microsound collectors; and
determining, from the sound signatures, the operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area, comprising:
applying the model to sound signatures received from microsound collectors different from the plurality of microsound collector involved in training the model.
15. A non-volatile computer readable medium comprising software instructions, which, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to perform operations to manage an industrial plant facility, the operations comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility;
analyzing, by a server computer, the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors; and
determining, from the sound signatures, an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area.
14. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 13, the operations further comprising: transmitting recordings obtained by the plurality of microsound collectors to the server computer.
15. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
17. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
16. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein said analyzing further comprises: comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct locations at the industrial plant facility.
18. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein said analyzing further comprises: comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct locations at the industrial plant facility.
17. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein said analyzing further comprises: analyzing at least one harmonic component in each of the respective spectra.
19.The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein said analyzing further comprises: analyzing at least one harmonic component in each of the respective spectra.
18. The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component of the sound signatures.
20.The non-volatile computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein said analyzing further comprises: training a model capable of predicting the operation status based on the sound signatures from the plurality of microsound collectors, wherein the model accounts for at least one harmonic component of the sound signatures, wherein said determining further comprises: applying the model to sound signatures received from microsound collectors different from the plurality of microsound collectors involved in training the model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1029(a)(10 as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 201721389148).
As per claim 8, Zhang et al. disclose a computer system (10, figures 1-s) comprising:
a network of sensors (a plurality of sensors (14, 15) comprising a plurality of microsound collectors (acoustic sensors) located at an industrial plant facility (industrial machine, 12);
a processor (22); and
at least one memory (20),
wherein at least one memory comprises software instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations to manage an industrial plant facility, the operations comprising:
monitoring multiple streams of input data from a network of sensors at the industrial plant facility, wherein the network of sensors includes a plurality of microsound collectors positioned in an area of the industrial plant facility (figures 1-2);
analyzing, by a server computer (service platform, 24), the input data, wherein the input data comprise sound signatures captured by the plurality of microsound collectors; and
determining, from the sound signatures (noise characteristics), an operation status in the area of the industrial plant facility, wherein the sound signatures originate from the microsound collectors positioned in the area (see abstract and description of figures 1-2).
As per claim 9, Zhang et al. disclose the operations further comprising: transmitting recordings obtained by the plurality of microsound collectors to the server computer (see description of figures 1-2).
As per claim 10, Zhang et al. disclose said analyzing comprises: analyzing respective spectra (spectral characteristics) of the recordings from the plurality of microsound collectors.
As per claim 11, Zhang et al. disclose said analyzing further comprises:
comparing the respective spectra from microsound collectors positioned at distinct
locations at the industrial plant facility (read solutions 9 and 15 and description of figure 4).
As per claim 12, Zhang et al. disclose said analyzing further comprises:
analyzing at least one harmonic component (frequency spectrum) in each of the respective spectra (see solution 13).
As per claims 1-5 and 15-19, refer to claims 8-12 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 July 15, 2026