DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species E in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species E and F are combinations and that claims 1,11 and 17 are generic. This is not found persuasive because there is indication in the specifications that state the two inventions can be used together and how they are used together because there are complications on how the two inventions would even work together. See annotated figures below of the applicant’s adapter’s top part and the two ribs that protrude from the top surface how does that close on the compartment 106 bottom surface there is no groove or anything under 106 that would permit that be on the adapter. How do the two parts work together? Specification does not go into that at all, specs do not share which invention the adapter is compatible with because there’s other bottles not just the one in species E. In 197 of the specification it recites “In one embodiment, the nipple adapter's threaded neck is operable to be scaled to virtually any size, allowing compatibility with a wide variety of nipple sizes and shapes currently available in the market.” How is the adapter achieving that? How can it scale to virtually any size? Its not a flexible bag, can it be applied to a baby bottle and then can it also be applied to bottles used horse bottle feeder? Or can it be applied to a Stanley cup? Applicant also says claim 1,11 and 17 are generic, this is not true because claim 1 and 17 require a “nipple adapter” where 11 does not since it recites “wherein a lower portion of the baby bottle nipple compartment is configured to removably attach to an upper portion of the baby bottle or removably attach to a nipple adapter connected to the upper portion of the baby bottle” there is no nipple adapter positively claimed. One it has “configured to” language making it not positively recited and two it has “or” limitation where you do not even need the nipple adapter. Applicant’s elected species E only reads on claims 11-16 where the adapter is not claimed. Therefore, only claim 11-16 that read on species E will be examined. It is also noted positively claiming the “nipple adapter” in the amendments after this action will most likely trigger “election by original presentation”.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein a lower portion of the baby bottle nipple compartment is configured to removably attach to an upper portion of the baby bottle or removably attach to a nipple adapter connected to the upper portion of the baby bottle” in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mason (US5361918A)
Regarding claim 11, Mason teaches a device for preparing a baby bottle comprising (fig.1 shows
the device for preparing a baby bottle):
a powdered formula storage compartment (fig.2 shows compartment 16 for formula
storage);
a baby bottle nipple compartment (fig.1 shows compartment 20 for bottle nipple storage); and
a ring plug (fig.2 shows the ring plug 36);
wherein an upper portion of the baby bottle nipple compartment is connected to a lower portion of the powdered formula storage compartment (fig.2 shows the two compartments 20 and 16 are connected);
wherein a lower portion of the baby bottle nipple compartment is configured to removably attach to an upper portion of the baby bottle or removably attach to a nipple adapter connected to the upper portion of the baby bottle (fig.1 shows the lower portion of the compartment 20 is capable of being removed from the upper portion of the bottle 10 OR it is capable of attaching to a nipple adapter to the upper portion of the bottle);
wherein the ring plug is configured to close and/or seal the powdered formula storage compartment by frictionally engaging an orifice of an upper portion of the powdered formula storage compartment (fig.2 the plug 36 is capable of closing the compartment 16 by engaging the orifice 32 of compartment 16);
wherein the powdered formula storage compartment is configured to store powdered formula wherein the baby bottle nipple compartment is configured to house a baby bottle nipple extending upwardly from the upper portion of the baby bottle or from the nipple adapter (fig.2 the compartment 16 is capable of storing powdered formula and the compartment 16 is capable of housing baby bottle nipple).
Regarding claim 12, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitation substantially claimed. Mason further teaches wherein the powdered formula storage compartment and the baby bottle nipple compartment are integrally formed (fig.2 shows the compartments 16 and 20 are integrally formed).
Regarding claim 13, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitation substantially claimed. Mason further teaches wherein the powdered formula storage compartment includes smooth interior walls and/or wherein the powdered formula storage compartment does not include acute corners (fig.2 shows the compartment 16
which has smooth interior walls).
Regarding claim 14, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitation substantially claimed. Mason further teaches wherein the powdered formula storage compartment includes interior concave walls that are upward and increasingly concave from the interior of the lower portion of the powdered formula storage compartment to the upper portion of the powdered formula storage compartment (fig.1 and 2 shows the compartment 16 with concaved interior walls that are upward and increasingly concave from the
interior of the lower portion of the storage 20).
Regarding claim 16, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. * further teaches or * as modified in claim* further teaches or * as modified in claim * does not teach wherein the baby bottle nipple compartment includes a hollow half spherical nipple housing protrusion extending downwardly from a bottom surface of the baby bottle nipple compartment, which is sized and shaped to grip the baby bottle nipple to compress the baby bottle nipple and pull the baby bottle nipple to erect the baby bottle nipple.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over refences as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Mendenhall (US20060273059A2).
Regarding claim 16, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitation substantially claimed. Mason does not teach wherein the baby bottle nipple compartment includes a hollow half spherical nipple housing protrusion extending downwardly from a bottom surface of the baby bottle nipple compartment, which is sized and shaped to grip the baby bottle nipple to compress the baby bottle nipple and pull the baby bottle nipple to erect the baby bottle nipple.
Mendenhall does teach wherein the baby bottle nipple compartment includes a hollow half spherical nipple housing protrusion extending downwardly from a bottom surface of the baby bottle nipple compartment, which is sized and shaped to grip the baby bottle nipple to compress the baby bottle nipple and pull the baby bottle nipple to erect the baby bottle nipple (fig.6 shows the compartment 18 that has a nipple housing 82 that extends downwardly from the bottom surface of the compartment and is capable of compressing and erect the nipple and cap be pull the nipple to erect it). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom compartment disclosed by Mason by adding the teaching of the nipple housing as disclosed by Mendenhall in order to control any liquid that might discharge though the nipple and dropping it back into the reservoir and reduce waste. “Drip container 78 is a cylinder-shaped side wall terminating at an annular rim 82 sized to mate with a tip 84 of nipple 54 and surround liquid-discharge opening 58 formed in nipple tip 84 as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. When the bottle is inverted, any liquid droplets discharged through liquid-discharge opening 58 will pass into a liquid reservoir 86 formed in drip container 78.” (0027, Mendenhall)
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735