DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter in claims 5 and 12. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). The specification [0037] describes hashing the PII to be stored in a cache. Other paragraphs, such as [0017] describe associating PII with the token in a storage device, however there is no support in the specification for associating specifically a hash of the PII with the token. If Applicant amends the specification to include the claimed subject matter, the priority of this application would be the filing date of the current application, namely 4/16/2025 instead of 10/10/2023.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,306,989. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the issued patent render obvious the claims in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the terms “suitable format” however this term is relative and the specification does not provide a clear definition for what is “suitable”.
The dependent claims inherit this rejection.
Claims 4 and 11 resolve this ambiguity and therefore they do not inherit the above rejection.
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 14 recite the terms “the corresponding user identifier”. These terms lack antecedent basis therefore they render the claims indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claims 1 and 14 are interpreted as reciting “a corresponding user identifier”.
The dependent claims inherit this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele et al (US Pub.No.2020/0076813) in view of Beck et al (US Patent No.8,447,983) and further in view of Dimmick (US Pub.No. 2021/0256522).
Re Claim 1. Steele discloses a method for secure data processing, comprising: receiving a token, from a storage unit, upon triggering of at least one of a user event and a scheduled event, wherein the token corresponds to user-specific data; retrieving Personally Identifiable Information (PII) data corresponding to the token through an API call to the storage unit (i.e. the transaction provider 100 a may be a first financial institution that allows direct access to transactions of its customers (for example, consumers with DDA accounts at the financial institution) via a secure communication channel that is initiated through use of an API token that has been issued to the account access system 202 by the financial institution. In this way, the transaction provider 100 a maintain security of consumer information by limiting access to the consumer DDA account information to only those with a pre-issued API token. Similarly, communications with transaction providers 100 B and 100 C may be performed with unique API keys or tokens issued from those transaction providers……………….. The data permissioning component 112, with a valid API token issued from a transaction provider ……………….. may initiate communication with the particular transaction provider and access transaction data items of the user with that transaction provider………………a security token is an encrypted way of storing a username and password) [Steele, para.00196-0197, para.0206], (i.e. the triggers database may maintain rules or criteria for transmitting a notification 90 to a user (such as via the user device 50) in response to certain changes in the database record of the user in the item database 70. For example, the user may establish such criteria based on various levels of granularity, so that the user is alerted of only those changes to their database record at the item database 70 of particular interest to the user. For example, a user may indicate that an alert should be sent to the user device 50 in response to addition of a new account data (associated with a grouping of data items) to the user's record in the item database 70. Thus, the trigger database 80 may monitor continuously or periodically, changes to the item database 70, apply trigger rules for each of a plurality of users, and transmit notifications accordingly) [Steele, para.0087]; processing, [without storing the retrieved PII data in a persistent storage], the retrieved PII data in a secure runtime environment for sending (i.e. the account discovery system may generate or estimate the user's credit score based on account information (for example, trade line information) maintained by the account discovery system, such as without requesting credit data from a credit bureau. Additionally, the user profile information may be provided to the user in various formats and levels of detail, such as in user interfaces that are displayed to the user via a mobile application, web browser, text messages, and so forth, and which allow the user to interact with the provided information) [Steele, para.0171] to at least one of a Email Service Provider (ESP) and a Short Message Service (SMS) Provider (SSP) ) (i.e. notification 90 may be a push notification to a mobile application on the user device 50, which may cause an immediate display of the notification information on the user device screen, text message, email, and/or update to an online portal that the user may access to review additional information regarding the users database record with the item database) [Steele, para.0088],
Steele does not explicitly disclose whereas Beck does: without storing the retrieved PII data in a persistent storage device (i.e. external entity A application/service 222, decrypts the response to recover the sensitive data. External entity A application/service 222 then uses the sensitive data without storing it in non-volatile memory at step 718. When external entity A application/service 222 is done with the sensitive data, external entity A application/service 222 discards the sensitive data without storing it in non-volatile memory) [Beck, col.8].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Steele with Beck to ensure that encrypted tokens from other entities are not stored [Beck, col.12].
Steele in view of Beck does not explicitly disclose whereas Dimmick does: wherein the processing comprises: converting the PII data into a suitable format for sharing with the at least one of the ESP and the SSP (i.e. The various messages described below may use any suitable form of communication. In some embodiments, a request or response may be in an electronic message format, such as an e-mail, a short messaging service (SMS) message, a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message, a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) request message, a transmission control protocol (TCP) packet, a web form submission) [Dimmick, para.0071]; transmitting, to the at least one of the ESP and the SSP, the processed retrieved PII data along with a request to at least one of: replace and mask, the PII data with the corresponding user identifier before sending one or more customized messages to the user (i.e. determining, by the transaction processing computer, an authorizing entity identifier based on the resource provider identifier and the transaction identifier; and forwarding, by the transaction processing computer, the request to an authorizing entity computer ………………..while sensitive information such as payment credentials and user 110 information may be stored in the transaction database 160C, the authorizing entity computer 160 may not utilize such information in communications (e.g., authorization response messages and transaction reversal messages), and instead may use the transaction information (e.g., the transaction identifier and the resource provider to identify a transaction. Thus the authorizing entity computer 160 may contain the link between the user account and the transaction information…………… the transaction processing module 130E may provide the transaction information (e.g., the resource provider identifier and the transaction identifier) to the user 110 and/or mobile device 120 via a receipt) [Dimmick, para.0058, 0068, 0051, Fig.5 shows the transaction processing module is part of the authorizing entity],
[Examiner’s Note1: since the policy prevents including sensitive user information this implicitly teaches a request to mask];
Examiner’s Note2: since the transaction information is linked to the user account and can therefore identify the user, it is interpreted as a user identifier];
and automatically removing the PII data from the secure runtime environment after the transmission (i.e. the payment credentials and other sensitive information can be removed from transaction processing entities) [Dimmick, para.0020, Note: it is implied that removal is after transmission otherwise the PII cannot be transmitted].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Steele in view of Beck with Dimmick because by only storing the authorizing entity identifier, the transaction processing computer 750 can avoid saving the payment credentials or any other sensitive user data [Dimmick, para.0114].
Re Claim 2. Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user event comprises at least one of: a user login, a user profile update, a user transaction, and a user interaction with a website or application (i.e. the triggers database may maintain rules or criteria for transmitting a notification 90 to a user (such as via the user device 50) in response to certain changes in the database record of the user in the item database 70. For example, the user may establish such criteria based on various levels of granularity, so that the user is alerted of only those changes to their database record at the item database 70 of particular interest to the user. For example, a user may indicate that an alert should be sent to the user device 50 in response to addition of a new account data (associated with a grouping of data items) to the user's record in the item database) [Steele, para.0087].
Re Claim 3. Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the scheduled event comprises at least one of: a periodic data update (i.e. a third-party may establish rules that periodically identify user records within the item database 70 that each have a predetermined set of characteristics. In this embodiment, the notification 92 may include a list of user information, and/or some or all of the corresponding user records from item database 70, that match the third-party established rules) [Steele, para.0089], a marketing campaign initiation, and a system maintenance operation (i.e. The user may contact the account discovery system in response to an advertisement or other communication offering to help the user increase the user's credit score and/or qualify for a financial account) [Steele, para.0188].
Re Claim 4. Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick discloses the method of claim 1, Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick do not explicitly disclose: wherein converting the PII data into the suitable format comprises encrypting the PII data using an encryption algorithm, however Steele discloses establishing a secure channel for transmitting the PII (i.e. the transaction provider 100 a may be a first financial institution that allows direct access to transactions of its customers (for example, consumers with DDA accounts at the financial institution) via a secure communication channel that is initiated through use of an API token that has been issued to the account access system 202 by the financial institution. In this way, the transaction provider 100 a maintain security of consumer information by limiting access to the consumer DDA account information to only those with a pre-issued API token) [Steel, para.0197]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include encrypting the PII using an encryption algorithm because it is expected that establishing a secure channel for transmitting the PII is achieved by encrypting the PII using an encryption algorithm.
Re Claim 6. Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a confirmation from the at least one of the ESP and the SSP that one or more customized messages have been sent to the user (i.e. The chargeback processing module 150J may further be able to send notifications about completed chargebacks to the resource provider computer 130, the mobile device 120, and any other suitable entity……………………………… The notifications may comprise a message indicating the successful completion of the chargeback, as well as any other suitable information surrounding the returns process. In some embodiments, each notification may include the transaction identifier, resource provider identifier, timestamp, and/or any other suitable transaction information) [Dimmick, para.0063, 0118]; and storing a record of the confirmation in association with the token (i.e. The transaction processing module 150E may comprise code that causes the processor 150A to process transactions. For example, the transaction processing module 150E may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze transaction risk, and to forward, authorize, or reject authorization request messages for payment transactions. The transaction processing module 150E may also be able to store transaction records in the transaction database 150C. For example, the transaction database 150C may include a record of each completed transaction that includes transaction information (e.g., resource provider identifier, transaction identifier, timestamp, items purchased, amount, geo-location information), an issuer identifier (e.g., BIN), and/or any other suitable information. In some embodiments, the transaction database 150C may not include sensitive information, such as payment credentials) [Dimmick, para.0059, 0068].
The same motivation to modify with Dimmick, as in claim 1, applies.
Re Claim 7. Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick discloses the method of claim 1, Dimmick further teaches wherein the user identifier is a pseudonymous identifier (i.e. entities within the transaction processing system that store transaction records may identify transaction records based on the resource provider identifier and transaction identifier. Accordingly, communications and transaction records can omit sensitive information formerly used to identify transactions,) [Dimmick, para.0019] that allows the at least one of the ESP and the SSP to send one or more customized messages without directly accessing the PII data (i.e. each notification may include the transaction identifier, the resource provider identifier and/or any other suitable information, but not any sensitive information (e.g., payment credentials)) [Dimmick, para.0098].
The same motivation to modify with Dimmick, as in claim 1, applies.
Re Claims 8-11 and 13-14. These claims recite features similar to those in claims 1-7, respectively, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick and further in view of Fox et al (US Pub.No. 2018/0013565)
Re Claim 5. Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick discloses the method of claim 1, Steele in view of Beck and Dimmick does not explicitly disclose whereas Fox does: further comprising: generating a hash of the transmitted processed retrieved PII data; and storing the hash in association with the token (i.e. server 110 may apply a one-way cryptographic function (i.e., a hash function) to sensitive information collected at step 602……………….. Along with the hashed information, client server 110 may also submit a transaction identification such as the transaction ID token received by client server 110 at step 622. Client server 110 may also submit a token or other indication of which forms of sensitive information are included in the hashed information. authentication server 108 may identify sensitive information associated with the transaction. The sensitive information may be identified by matching a transaction ID token received with the hash information with a token saved in customer identity database 414 associating the transaction with user 101. Authentication server 108 may retrieve corresponding information from customer identity database) [Fox, para.0065-0067].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Steele-Beck-Dimmick with Fox because it allows verifying an identity of a user without having to exchange personally identifiable information [Fox, para.0020].
Re Claim 12. This claim recites features similar to those in claim 5, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Prior art made of record, however not relied upon includes:
Hockey et al (US Pub.No.2017/0070500) teaches A permissions management system is disclosed for enabling a user to securely authorize a third-party system to access user account data and initiate transactions related to a user account, without disclosing to the third-party system account credentials. The system enables the user to also securely de-authorize the third-party system. For example, records may be automatically generated that securely store account information, including one or more permissions related to the account and/or the third-party. A token associated with a record may be shared with the third-party system, but neither the record itself, nor the user account credentials, may be shared with the third-party.
Conclusion
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434