DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are original. Therefore, claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the extinguishing agent of the protective device being different from the extinguishing agent of the second protective device'' in lines 12-13 of claim 10. However, it is suggested to amend to - wherein the extinguishing agent of the protective device is different from the extinguishing agent of the second protective device -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to release said at extinguishing agent” in lines 4-5 of claim 1. It is not clear if the applicant intends this to read “to release said extinguishing agent” or to read “to release said at least one extinguishing agent” as described in Para. 0006 of applicant’s specification.
Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1, therefore claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “when installed in the aircraft, a thickness equal to a center-to-center distance between two consecutive frames between which the protective device is installed” in lines 1-3 of claim 3, however “the aircraft” and “two consecutive frames” are NOT positively recited and thus the metes and bounds of the structural limitation cannot be ascertained. The examiner will interpret this limitation as an intended use limitation. Additionally, the limitation “the protective device” has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the protective device according to claim 1" in line 4 of claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will interpret this limitation as “the device according to claim 1.”
Claims 9-10 depend on claim 1, therefore claims 9-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the external envelope of the protective device has, when installed in the aircraft, a thickness equal to a center-to-center distance between two consecutive annular frames between which the protective device is installed” in lines 1-4 of claim 9. However, it is not clear in what condition (filled or unfilled); nor is it clear as to what center the center-to-center distance is referring to.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the protective device" in line 5 of claim 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 depend on claim 9, therefore claim 10 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “an external envelope delimiting an internal volume” in line 5 of claim 10, but claim * recites the limitation “an external envelope delimiting an internal volume” in line 2 of claim 1. It is unclear if there are separate “external envelopes delimiting a different internal volume,” separate “external envelopes delimiting a same internal volume, or if these are the same “external envelope delimiting an internal volume”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “an extinguishing agent in said internal volume” in line 6 of claim 10 but claim 10 recites the limitation “an extinguishing agent in said internal volume” in line 3 of claim 1. It is unclear if there are separate “extinguishing agents in said internal volume” or if these are the same “extinguishing agent in said internal volume”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein the external envelope is provided with at least one pressure relief valve to release said at extinguishing agent when a pressure prevailing in the internal volume is greater than a threshold value” in lines 7-9 of claim 10, but claim * recites the limitation “wherein the external envelope is provided with at least one pressure relief valve to release said at extinguishing agent when a pressure prevailing in the internal volume is greater than a threshold value” in lines 4-6 of claim 1. It is unclear if there are separate pressure relief valves/threshold values or if these are the same pressure relief valve/threshold value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mader (DE 10245831 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mader discloses a device for protecting a hydrogen tank, the device comprising:
an external envelope (Fig. 1 & 4, Shell (26) of instance of 20 located in the lower left corner of Figs 1 & 4) described in para 0026) delimiting an internal volume; and
an extinguishing agent (Fig. 4, 21; Para. 0014) in said internal volume,
wherein the external envelope is provided with at least one pressure relief valve (Fig. 3, 24; Para. 0024) to release said at extinguishing agent when a pressure prevailing in the internal volume is greater than a threshold value (Para. 0024 – “predetermined pressure level”), and
wherein the external envelope is shaped to be installed in a fuselage of an aircraft (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Mader discloses the device according to claim 1, and further wherein the external envelope comprises a curved portion (Fig. 4, Portion of 20 closest to 11) configured to be placed against a lower portion of the fuselage of the aircraft and to follow a contour thereof.
Regarding claim 3, the device according to claim 1, wherein the external envelope has, when installed in the aircraft, a thickness (Annotated Fig. 4) equal to a center-to-center distance (The examiner is interpreting the limitation as any dimension capable of fitting between two consecutive frames as shown in Fig. 2 of applicant’s specification.) between two consecutive frames between which the protective device is installed (This limitation is interpreted as an intended use limitation. See 112(b).).
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding claim 4, Mader discloses the device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the external envelope comprises at least one filling port (Fig. 3, 23; Para. 0011) for extinguishing agent.
Regarding claim 7, Mader discloses the device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the external envelope is made of deformable material (Para. 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Note 1: cross-out limitations in this office action indicates the lack of explicit teaching in the primary reference; the limitation is addressed by the teaching reference(s) below).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mader.
Regarding claim 5, Mader discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the threshold pressure is between 2.5*105 Pa and 5*105 Pa.
However, Mader teaches the threshold pressure is a results effective variable (Para. 0024). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the threshold pressure is between 2.5*105 Pa and 5*105 Pa, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Please note that in the instant application, Para. 0014 & 0046, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Mader discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein said extinguishing agent is at a pressure between 105 Pa and 2* 105 Pa.
However, Mader teaches the pressure of said extinguishing agent is a results effective variable (Para. 0024 – “the pressure of the extinguishing agent 21 can be adjusted to the ambient pressure which depends on the flight altitude of the aircraft 10”). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said extinguishing agent is at a pressure between 105 Pa and 2* 105 Pa, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Please note that in the instant application, Para. 0014 & 0046, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mader in view of Goodworth (US 6,915,861) and Linde (US 2022/0411092).
Regarding claim 8, Mader discloses an aircraft (Fig. 1 & 4, 10) comprising
a fuselage (Fig. 1 & 4, 11) having a structure provided with an annular frame (Underline to emphasize difference from applicants claimed language; Fig. 1& 4, frame around 14)
the protective device according to claim 1
However, Goodworth teaches a prior art comparable fuselage (Fig. 2A, 40) having a structure (Fig. 2A-2B, 44 & 42) provided with a plurality of annular frames (Fig. 2A-2B, 42),
at least one fuel tank (Col. 3: Ln. 11-12; Underline to emphasize difference from applicants claimed language); and
a protective device (Fig. 2B, 10; Underline to emphasize difference from applicants claimed language) arranged beneath said at least one fuel tank (Underline to emphasize difference from applicants claimed language), when the fuselage is in a horizontal position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a fuselage having a structure provided with a plurality of annular frames, at least one fuel tank taught by Goodworth into the fuselage disclosed by Mader by known methods of assembling because in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (The fuselage taught by Goodworth supports the aircraft and the protective device according to claim 1 suppresses a fire.), and the results of the combination were predictable.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the protective device disclosed by Mader beneath said at least one fuel tank when the fuselage is in a horizontal position, because Mader discloses that “the device can be used for all enclosed spaces that are unguarded, inaccessible, or difficult to access” (Para. 0026) such as the space between the annular frames, and Goodworth teaches that locating the locating a protective device between the annular frames requires “no additional structure, attachment, or framing are required to support the fire suppression material” (Col. 3: Ln. 60-62) and thus makes installation of the protective device easier.
Mader in view of Goodworth does not teach wherein the at least one fuel tank is a hydrogen tank.
However, Linde teaches teach wherein at least one fuel tank is a hydrogen tank.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate at least one hydrogen tank (Fig. 1, 36) taught by Linde by utilizing it as the fuel tank taught by Mader in view of Goodworth to provide a hydrogen aircraft that is in principle considered a good option to completely remove carbon emissions (Para. 0003).
Regarding claim 9, Mader in view of Goodworth and Linde teaches the aircraft according to claim 8.
Goodworth further teaches wherein an external envelope of the protective device (Fig. 2A-2B, 10) has, when installed in the aircraft, a thickness (Fig. 2B, thickness of 10 between 42 parallel to 44) equal to a center-to-center distance between two consecutive annular frames (Fig. 2B, distance between 42 parallel to 44; The examiner is interpreting the limitation as any dimension capable of fitting between the two consecutive annular frames as shown in Fig. 2 of applicant’s specification.) between which the protective device is installed, and
wherein the external envelope of the protective device has a curved portion (Fig. 2B shows 44 and therefore 10 which is curved) which rests on at least one of the annular frames of the fuselage portion (Fig. 2A, 2B).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mader in view of Goodworth, Linde, and Jacobs (DE 102004061157 B4).
Regarding claim 10, Mader in view of Goodworth and Linde teaches the aircraft according to claim 9.
Mader further discloses a second protective device
the second protective device comprising an external envelope (Fig. 1 & 4, Shell (26) of instance of 20 located in the lower right corner of Figs 1 & 4) described in para 0026) delimiting an internal volume; and
an extinguishing agent (Fig. 4, 21; Para. 0014) in said internal volume,
wherein the external envelope is provided with at least one pressure relief valve (Fig. 3, 24; Para. 0024) to release said at extinguishing agent when a pressure prevailing in the internal volume is greater than a threshold value (Para. 0024 – “predetermined pressure level”), and
wherein the external envelope is shaped to be installed in the fuselage of the aircraft (),
Mader in view of Goodworth and Linde teaches wherein the second protective device arranged under the at least one hydrogen tank, when the fuselage is in the horizontal position because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the second protective device disclosed by Mader beneath said at least one fuel tank when the fuselage is in a horizontal position, because Mader discloses that “the device can be used for all enclosed spaces that are unguarded, inaccessible, or difficult to access” (Para. 0026) such as the space between the annular frames, and Goodworth teaches that locating the locating a protective device between the annular frames requires “no additional structure, attachment, or framing are required to support the fire suppression material” (Col. 3: Ln. 60-62) and thus makes installation of the protective device easier.
Mader in view of Goodworth and Linde does not teach wherein the extinguishing agent of the protective device being different from the extinguishing agent of the second protective device.
However, Jacobs teaches a prior art comparable fire extinguishing system comprising different extinguishing agents (Para. 0007 – “nitrogen and argon”.)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide the protective device with Nitrogen and the second protective device with Argon and therefore provide wherein the extinguishing agent of the protective device being different from the extinguishing agent of the second protective device because Mader discloses that Nitrogen or Argon (Para. 0014) can be used and Jacobs teaches that it is advantageous to adapt the gas or gas mixture for different conditions (Para. 0003), and therefore the Examiner finds that there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 31, 2026
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752