DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 is missing a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Battles (US 2017/0369244 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Battles teaches a system, comprising: a communication interface; and a processor coupled to the communication interface and configured to: receive sensor data via the communication interface, the sensor data including data associated with an item present in a workspace [(see at least paragraphs 25,44) As in 25 “FIG. 2 illustrates a singulation station 200, according to an implementation. The singulation station includes a tote receiving area 220, a first robotic unit 202, a singulation table 205, a pick conveyor 214, a pick area 215, and a second robotic unit 204. One or more imaging elements 216-1, 216-2 may also be included at or near the singulation station 200 and be configured to obtain images of items as the items migrate through the singulation station 200. The imaging elements 216-1, 216-2, along with the first robotic unit 202, second robotic unit 204, singulation table 205, and pick conveyor 214 may communicate with and be controlled by the singulation controller 222.” As in 44 “As discussed further below, one or more imaging elements 216-2 (e.g., cameras) may be positioned so that the pick area is within a field of view of the imaging element 216-2. The camera may obtain images of the pick area that are processed by a singulation controller 222 to determine whether an item is present in the pick area. ”]; determine an initial plan to move and place the item at a corresponding destination location, wherein the initial plan is determined based at least in part on (i) an attribute of the item determined based at least in part on the sensor data [(see at least paragraphs 25,80) As in 80 “Based on the determined shape and pick point, instructions are sent that cause a second robotic unit with an astrictive end effector to pick the item from the pick area by positioning the astrictive end effector on the item at the determined pick point, as in 808. The picked item is then transitioned by the second robotic unit from the singulation station, as in 810. The item may be transitioned anywhere from the singulation station. For example, if the singulation station is incorporated into a sorting station of a materials handling facility, the picked item may be transitioned to an item identification station at which the item is uniquely identified. In other implementations, the item may be transitioned to another conveyor, into another tote, etc.”] and (ii) a determination of a probability that the identifier or label will be successfully scanned by one or more sensors [(see at least paragraphs 16,48) As in 48 “For example, if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item. In other implementations, the second robotic unit may transition the picked item from the singulation station into another tote, onto another conveyor, to shipping operations, and/or any other location or station to which the picked item is to be transitioned.”]; and use the initial plan to operate the robotic structure to grasp and begin to move the item along an initially planned trajectory to the corresponding destination location, wherein the initially planned trajectory is determined based at least in part on one or more is attributes associated with the item. [(see at least paragraph 17) “As another example, the singulation station may be utilized at a sorting station to singulate picked items so they can be routed to different packing stations according to the orders to which those items are associated. For example, an agent may pick multiple different items, of the same or different types, into a same tote. Some or all of those items may be associated with different orders. When the tote of items arrives at the sorting station, the items may be transitioned to the singulation station, singulated, and autonomously transitioned from the singulation station and routed according to the orders with which each item is associated.”]
Regarding claim 2, Battles teaches wherein the attribute of the item comprises a location of an identifier or label on at least one side of the item. [(see at least paragraphs 16, 48) As in 16 “For example, if the items include one or more visual tags (e.g., barcodes, bokodes, etc.) and/or active or passive tags (e.g., Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tags), the singulated items may be autonomously passed through a tag identification system that detects and identifies the items based on the tags.” As in 48 “if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item.”]
Regarding claim 3, Battles teaches wherein: the robotic structure comprises a robotic arm having an end effector; and the one or more sensors are disposed on one or more of the robotic arm and the end effector. [(see at least paragraphs 68-70) As in 70 “The astrictive end effector 610 also includes a distance determining element 613 that is oriented downward with respect to the suction cups 612 and the astrictive end effector 610. The distance determining element 613 may be used to determine a distance between the suction cups 612 and the item to be picked by the astrictive end effector 610. The distance determining element may be any type of element capable of determining a distance between the element and an object. For example, the distance determining element may be a time of flight sensor, an infrared sensor, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, a sound navigation and ranging (SONAR) sensor, etc.”]
Regarding claim 4, Battles teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a multi-axis array of sensors mounted at fixed locations in the workspace. [(see at least Fig.2, paragraphs 49-51) As in 51 “One or more item detection components 319-1, 319-2 may be positioned along the pick conveyor to detect a presence of an item on the pick conveyor. The item detection component may be, for example, a photoelectric sensor (aka photo eye), pressure sensor, imaging element, and/or other component that can be used to detect a presence or absence of an item on the pick conveyor. In some implementations, the overhead camera 316 may be used as the item detection component.”]
Regarding claim 5, Battles teaches wherein the probability that the identifier or label will be successfully scanned is based at least in part on a location of the one or more sensors, and a planned trajectory of the item from the workspace to the corresponding destination location. [(see at least paragraphs 47-49) As in 48 “Upon picking of the item, the item is transitioned by the second robotic unit 204 from the singulation station. For example, if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item. In other implementations, the second robotic unit may transition the picked item from the singulation station into another tote, onto another conveyor, to shipping operations, and/or any other location or station to which the picked item is to be transitioned.”]
Regarding claim 6, Battles teaches wherein the initial plan comprises a plan to autonomously operate the robotic structure to move and place the item at the corresponding destination location comprises determining a grasping strategy [(see at least paragraphs 43-49) As in 43 “The pick conveyor conveys singulated items from the singulation table to a pick area 215. The pick area may be a portion of the pick conveyor that is within reach of the second robotic unit 204 so that the second robotic unit 204, also referred to herein as a picking robotic unit, can pick items from the pick conveyor that are in the pick area 215.” As in 45 “The singulation controller processes the image and determines coordinates within the pick area from which the item is to be picked. For example, the pick area may be segmented into a series of coordinates (e.g., x-coordinates, and y-coordinates) and the overhead camera may be at a fixed position and calibrated such that pixels of the images formed by the camera correspond to the coordinates of the pick area. When an item is conveyed into the pick area, an image is obtained and processed to determine a position of the item within the image. For example, one or more image processing algorithms, such as an edge detection algorithm, object detection algorithm, grey-scale algorithm, or the like may be used to process the image and determine a boundary shape of the object positioned within the pick area 215.”] and a corresponding trajectory to move the item to the corresponding destination location based at least in part on: a probability that an identifier or label on at least one side of the item will be successfully scanned by one or more sensors; and a probability that the moving and placing the item singly in the corresponding destination location will be successful. [(see at least paragraphs 47-49) As in 48 “Upon picking of the item, the item is transitioned by the second robotic unit 204 from the singulation station. For example, if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item. In other implementations, the second robotic unit may transition the picked item from the singulation station into another tote, onto another conveyor, to shipping operations, and/or any other location or station to which the picked item is to be transitioned.”]
Regarding claim 7, Battles teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: during implementation of the initial plan, receive current sensor data via the communication interface, the sensor data including image data; determine a workspace context based at least in part on the current sensor data [(see at least paragraph 50) “Adjacent the transition section is a pick conveyor 314 configured to convey singulated items from the transition section 310 to the pick area 315. Positioned overhead and above the pick area is an imaging element 316. The imaging element 316 is oriented so that the pick area 315 is within a field of view of the imaging element 316. In some implementations, the pick area 315 includes an illuminated surface or backlight 317 that illuminates toward the imaging element 316. When an item is positioned in the pick area and the backlight 317 is illuminated, the image obtained by the imaging element will have a greater contrast between the light areas, or portions of the pick area that do not include an item, and dark areas, or portions of the pick area that do include an item. The separation between the light and dark areas can be utilized to quickly process the images to determine a shape of the object and select a pick point.”]; determine an updated plan to move and place the item at corresponding destination location based at least in part on the workspace context, wherein the updated plan includes an updated trajectory along which the item is to be moved, and the updated trajectory along which the item is to be moved is determined to improve a probability of success for placing the item; operate the robotic structure according to the updated plan to move and place the item at the corresponding destination location. [(see at least paragraphs 55-58) As in 56 “Transition of the items from the tote to the receiving area may be controlled by a rate of rotation of the tote 403 by the robotic unit 402. For example, in some implementations, the robotic unit 402 may receive instructions that cause the first robotic unit 402 to slowly rotate the tote so that different items are transitioned out of the tote and onto the receiving area 406 at different times. Likewise, in some implementations, the position of the tote may be moved with respect to the receiving area 406 as the tote is being rotated so that items are transitioned from the tote 403 onto different portions of the receiving area 406 of the receiving table 405. Likewise, in implementations in which the receiving area 406 includes multiple different portions with different surface types, different items may be transitioned to different portions of the transition section based on the different surface area types of the receiving area 406.”]
Regarding claim 8, Battles teaches wherein to determine the updated plan comprises selecting a new destination location at which to place the item grasped by the robotic structure. [(see at least paragraph 22) “As totes are filled with picked items, the totes are routed to a sorting station 150 for sorting into their respective orders or shipment sets. Items may arrive at the sorting station in any order and the sorting station 150 will sort the items into corresponding shipment sets. Picked items may be delivered to one or more stations in the materials handling facility for sorting operations 150 into their respective shipment sets and then transferred to one or more packing stations 160 at which the items of a shipment set are packed into containers. The routing operations 165 may sort packed orders to shipping operations 170 for shipping of the packed items to a customer. Alternatively, or in addition thereto, sorted items may be routed to other processing stations within the materials handling facility, routed to other materials handling facilities, etc.”]
Regarding claim 9, Battles teaches wherein the updated plan is determined based at least in part on: determining that the movement of the item while grasped by the robotic structure is different from an expected movement based on implementation of the initial plan [(see at least paragraph 66) “In some implementations, after the picking robotic until 504 has executed the picking of the item, a second image of the picking area 515 may be obtained by the overhead imaging element 516, and processed by the singulation controller to determine that the item is no longer in the pick area. Such a confirmation provides a positive indication that the pick of the item was successful. In comparison, if the item is detected in the second image, it is determined that the pick was not successful and an updated pick point may be determined. For example, if the item moved but remains in the pick area, an updated pick point may be determined based on a new position of the item.”]; and in response to the determination that the movement of the item is different from the expected movement, determining to generate the updated plan to implement operating the robotic structure to move and place the item at the corresponding destination location, wherein the updated plan is determined in response to a determination to generate the updated plan. [(see at least paragraph 68) “Information indicating each pick, pick position, pick attempt, successful pick, unsuccessful pick, and determined non-pickable item may be provided to the singulation controller and the singulation controller may utilize that information to develop pick points for the same or similar types of items. For example, if it is determined that an item pick is successful for an item when it has a pick point that is offset approximately twenty millimeters from a center point on the item, when the same or similar type of item arrives in the pick area at a subsequent time, rather than attempting to pick the item from a central pick point, the singulation controller may initially instruct the picking robotic unit to pick the item from a pick point that is offset by approximately twenty millimeters.”]
Regarding claim 10, Battles teaches wherein the updated plan is determined based at least in part on: determining the attribute of the item while grasped by the robotic structure is different from an expected movement based on implementation of the initial plan; and determining to generate the updated plan to implement operating the robotic structure to move and place the item at the corresponding destination location, wherein the determination to generate the updated plan is based at least in part on the attribute of the item. [(see at least paragraphs 45-52, 60-68) As in 48 “Upon picking of the item, the item is transitioned by the second robotic unit 204 from the singulation station. For example, if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item. In other implementations, the second robotic unit may transition the picked item from the singulation station into another tote, onto another conveyor, to shipping operations, and/or any other location or station to which the picked item is to be transitioned.” As in 61 “For a plurality of items of different item types (e.g., having different item characteristics) different singulation patterns may be performed in an alternating manner to optimize singulation of the items. Alternatively, images of the items may be processed and different singulation patterns activated based on the current migration and singulation of the plurality of different items along the singulation table.” As in 66 “In some implementations, after the picking robotic until 504 has executed the picking of the item, a second image of the picking area 515 may be obtained by the overhead imaging element 516, and processed by the singulation controller to determine that the item is no longer in the pick area. Such a confirmation provides a positive indication that the pick of the item was successful. In comparison, if the item is detected in the second image, it is determined that the pick was not successful and an updated pick point may be determined.”]
Regarding claim 11, Battles teaches wherein the attribute of the item comprises a weight of the item. [(see at least paragraph 46) “Based on the shape of the object, a pick point is determined. The pick point may be a central coordinate space within the determined shape of the object. In other implementations, a weight distribution or other feature of the object may be considered and included as a factor for selecting a pick point for picking the item from the pick area.”]
Regarding claim 12, Battles teaches wherein: the processor is configured to: determine a size of the item based on the sensor data [(see at least Fig.3, paragraphs 41,49) As in 41 “one or more imaging elements 216-1 (e.g., cameras) may be positioned adjacent the singulation table 205 to obtain images of the items as they are singulated by the singulation table and migrate along the singulation table 205.” As in 49 “As illustrated, the singulation station 300 includes a first robotic unit 302, a singulation table 305, that includes a receiving area 306, a junction section 308, and a transition section 310. In this example, the first robotic unit 302 has transitioned a plurality of items 307 having different sizes and shapes onto the singulation table 305. In response to movement of the singulation table 305, the items are migrating and separating away from one another.”]; and estimate the weight of the item before the item is grasped by the robotic structure, the weight being estimated based at least in part on the size of the item; and the initial plan to autonomously operate the robotic structure is determined based at least in part on the weight of the item. [(see at least paragraphs 44-47) As in 46 “Based on the shape of the object, a pick point is determined. The pick point may be a central coordinate space within the determined shape of the object. In other implementations, a weight distribution or other feature of the object may be considered and included as a factor for selecting a pick point for picking the item from the pick area.”]
Regarding claim 13, Battles teaches wherein: the processor is configured to: receive current sensor data while the item is grasped by the robotic structure [(see at least Fig.3, paragraphs 41,49) As in 41 “one or more imaging elements 216-1 (e.g., cameras) may be positioned adjacent the singulation table 205 to obtain images of the items as they are singulated by the singulation table and migrate along the singulation table 205.” As in 49 “As illustrated, the singulation station 300 includes a first robotic unit 302, a singulation table 305, that includes a receiving area 306, a junction section 308, and a transition section 310. In this example, the first robotic unit 302 has transitioned a plurality of items 307 having different sizes and shapes onto the singulation table 305. In response to movement of the singulation table 305, the items are migrating and separating away from one another.”]; determine the weight of the item while the item is grasped by the robotic structure, the weight being determined based at least in part on a size of the current sensor data [(see at least paragraphs 44-46) As in 44 “As discussed further below, one or more imaging elements 216-2 (e.g., cameras) may be positioned so that the pick area is within a field of view of the imaging element 216-2. The camera may obtain images of the pick area that are processed by a singulation controller 222 to determine whether an item is present in the pick area. Likewise, the images may be processed to determine a shape and/or pick point on the item indicating a position at which the item is to be picked by the second robotic unit 204.” As in 46 “Based on the shape of the object, a pick point is determined. The pick point may be a central coordinate space within the determined shape of the object. In other implementations, a weight distribution or other feature of the object may be considered and included as a factor for selecting a pick point for picking the item from the pick area.”]; and use the weight of the item to update and implement the initial plan to autonomously operate the robotic structure to move and place the item at the corresponding destination location. [(see at least paragraphs 79) “The obtained image is processed to determine an item shape and an item pick point, as in 806. For example, one or more edge detection algorithms, object detection algorithms, etc., may be utilized to determine a perimeter shape of the item. In some implementations, the image may also be processed to determine an item type and/or to determine the item. For example, a character recognition algorithm, object detection algorithm and/or other processing algorithm may be utilized to detect a type of the object. In some implementations, the item or item type may be determined based simply on the shape of the item. For example, all the different types of the plurality of items currently located at the singulation station may be known based on the items that were transitioned from the tote onto the singulation station. Dimension information may likewise be maintained for those items. Accordingly, an item or item type may be determined based on the shapes of the potential items known to be on the singulation station and the determined shape of the item in the pick area. Such information may be used to update or determine a pick point for the item.”]
Regarding claim 14, Battles teaches wherein the initial plan includes an indication of a speed at which the item is to be moved by the robotic structure in connection with singulation, the speed being determined based at least in part on the attribute of the item. [(see at least paragraphs 57-58) As in 58 “Likewise, the shape, angle and/or orientation of the sections of the singulation table may vary. In addition, as discussed above, one or more of the sections of the singulation table 405 may be active such that the surface of the section of the singulation station moves in response to an actuator operating according to a singulation pattern. Singulation patterns may specify any direction, speed, amplitude, frequency, etc. of movement for the surface area of the table. The movement of the sections of the singulation table may be any form of variable movement, including but not limited to, up, down, side-to-side, ovoidal, circular, angular, or any other pattern and/or combination of patterns.”]
Regarding claim 16, Battles teaches wherein: the robotic structure comprises a plurality of end effectors [(see at least Fig.2, paragraph 25) “One or more imaging elements 216-1, 216-2 may also be included at or near the singulation station 200 and be configured to obtain images of items as the items migrate through the singulation station 200. The imaging elements 216-1, 216-2, along with the first robotic unit 202, second robotic unit 204, singulation table 205, and pick conveyor 214 may communicate with and be controlled by the singulation controller 222.”]; the plurality of end effectors comprise a plurality of suction cups; and operating the robotic structure in accordance with the initial plan comprises: releasing suction from a first subset of the plurality of suction cups before releasing suction from a second subset of the plurality of suction cups. [(see at least paragraph 69) “FIG. 6 illustrates a detail view of an astrictive end effector 610 of the picking robotic unit illustrated in FIG. 5, according to an implementation. As illustrated, the astrictive end effector 610 includes a plurality of section cups 612-1, 612-2, 612-3, and 612-4 that are coupled to a suction line 611 such that the suction line 611 can generate negative suction through the suction cups to secure the cups to an item. In the illustrated example, the astrictive end effector 610 includes four suction cups 612 arranged in a square pattern. In other implementations, the astrictive end effector 610 may include additional or fewer suction cups and the suction cups may be positioned on the astrictive end effector 610 in any configuration. For example, in some implementations, a suction cup may be positioned on a side of the end effector 610 and oriented at approximately ninety degrees to the illustrated suction cups 612. In such a configuration, the suction cup positioned on the side of the end effector 610 may be used to pick an item from the side and pull, push, or otherwise move the item from the pick area.”]
Regarding claim 18, Battles teaches wherein the processor is configured to: use the sensor data to identify a tray at a point in a singulation process at which the tray is expected to be empty; and in response to identifying the tray, use the sensor data pertaining to the tray to train the system to determine a tray that is empty based at least in part on one or more attributes corresponding to an empty tray. [(see at least paragraphs 80-82) As in 81 “After the second robotic unit has picked the item and begun or completed a transition of the item from the singulation station, a second image of the pick area is obtained, as in 812. The second image is processed to determine if the item has been removed from the pick area. As such, a determination is made as to whether the item pick was successful, as in 814. An item pick is determined to be successful if the item is no longer detected in the pick area. In contrast, if the item is determined to still be in the pick area, the item pick is determined to be unsuccessful.”]
Regarding claim 19, Battles teaches a method, comprising: receiving sensor data via a communication interface, the sensor data including data associated with an item present in a workspace [(see at least paragraphs 25,44) As in 25 “FIG. 2 illustrates a singulation station 200, according to an implementation. The singulation station includes a tote receiving area 220, a first robotic unit 202, a singulation table 205, a pick conveyor 214, a pick area 215, and a second robotic unit 204. One or more imaging elements 216-1, 216-2 may also be included at or near the singulation station 200 and be configured to obtain images of items as the items migrate through the singulation station 200. The imaging elements 216-1, 216-2, along with the first robotic unit 202, second robotic unit 204, singulation table 205, and pick conveyor 214 may communicate with and be controlled by the singulation controller 222.” As in 44 “As discussed further below, one or more imaging elements 216-2 (e.g., cameras) may be positioned so that the pick area is within a field of view of the imaging element 216-2. The camera may obtain images of the pick area that are processed by a singulation controller 222 to determine whether an item is present in the pick area. ”]; and determining an initial plan to move and place the item at a corresponding destination location, wherein the initial plan is determined based at least in part on (i) an attribute of the item determined based at least in part on the sensor data [(see at least paragraphs 25,80) As in 80 “Based on the determined shape and pick point, instructions are sent that cause a second robotic unit with an astrictive end effector to pick the item from the pick area by positioning the astrictive end effector on the item at the determined pick point, as in 808. The picked item is then transitioned by the second robotic unit from the singulation station, as in 810. The item may be transitioned anywhere from the singulation station. For example, if the singulation station is incorporated into a sorting station of a materials handling facility, the picked item may be transitioned to an item identification station at which the item is uniquely identified. In other implementations, the item may be transitioned to another conveyor, into another tote, etc.”] and (ii) a determination of a probability that the identifier or label will be successfully scanned by one or more sensors [(see at least paragraphs 16,48) As in 48 “For example, if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item. In other implementations, the second robotic unit may transition the picked item from the singulation station into another tote, onto another conveyor, to shipping operations, and/or any other location or station to which the picked item is to be transitioned.”]; using the initial plan to operate the robotic structure to grasp and begin to move the item along an initially planned trajectory to the corresponding destination location, wherein the initially planned trajectory is determined based at least in part on is determined based at least in part on one or more attributes associated with the item. [(see at least paragraph 17) “As another example, the singulation station may be utilized at a sorting station to singulate picked items so they can be routed to different packing stations according to the orders to which those items are associated. For example, an agent may pick multiple different items, of the same or different types, into a same tote. Some or all of those items may be associated with different orders. When the tote of items arrives at the sorting station, the items may be transitioned to the singulation station, singulated, and autonomously transitioned from the singulation station and routed according to the orders with which each item is associated.”]
Regarding claim 20, Battles teaches a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising computer instructions for: receiving sensor data via a communication interface, the sensor data including data associated with an item present in a workspace [(see at least paragraphs 25,44,88) As in 25 “FIG. 2 illustrates a singulation station 200, according to an implementation. The singulation station includes a tote receiving area 220, a first robotic unit 202, a singulation table 205, a pick conveyor 214, a pick area 215, and a second robotic unit 204. One or more imaging elements 216-1, 216-2 may also be included at or near the singulation station 200 and be configured to obtain images of items as the items migrate through the singulation station 200. The imaging elements 216-1, 216-2, along with the first robotic unit 202, second robotic unit 204, singulation table 205, and pick conveyor 214 may communicate with and be controlled by the singulation controller 222.” As in 44 “As discussed further below, one or more imaging elements 216-2 (e.g., cameras) may be positioned so that the pick area is within a field of view of the imaging element 216-2. The camera may obtain images of the pick area that are processed by a singulation controller 222 to determine whether an item is present in the pick area. ”]; and determining an initial plan to move and place the item at a corresponding destination location, wherein the initial plan is determined based at least in part on (i) an attribute of the item determined based at least in part on the sensor data [(see at least paragraphs 25,80) As in 80 “Based on the determined shape and pick point, instructions are sent that cause a second robotic unit with an astrictive end effector to pick the item from the pick area by positioning the astrictive end effector on the item at the determined pick point, as in 808. The picked item is then transitioned by the second robotic unit from the singulation station, as in 810. The item may be transitioned anywhere from the singulation station. For example, if the singulation station is incorporated into a sorting station of a materials handling facility, the picked item may be transitioned to an item identification station at which the item is uniquely identified. In other implementations, the item may be transitioned to another conveyor, into another tote, etc.”] and (ii) a determination of a probability that the identifier or label will be successfully scanned by one or more sensors [(see at least paragraphs 16,48) As in 48 “For example, if the singulation station is included as part of the sorting station 150 (FIG. 1), it may be adjacent to an item identification station that includes a conveyor 218 and an item identification component 219 that scans and identifies the item. In other implementations, the second robotic unit may transition the picked item from the singulation station into another tote, onto another conveyor, to shipping operations, and/or any other location or station to which the picked item is to be transitioned.”]; using the initial plan to operate the robotic structure to grasp and begin to move the item along an initially planned trajectory to the corresponding destination location, wherein the initially planned trajectory is determined based at least in part on one or more attributes associated with the item. [(see at least paragraph 17) “As another example, the singulation station may be utilized at a sorting station to singulate picked items so they can be routed to different packing stations according to the orders to which those items are associated. For example, an agent may pick multiple different items, of the same or different types, into a same tote. Some or all of those items may be associated with different orders. When the tote of items arrives at the sorting station, the items may be transitioned to the singulation station, singulated, and autonomously transitioned from the singulation station and routed according to the orders with which each item is associated.”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battles in view of Ogawa (US 2021/0394364 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Battles has all of the elements of claim 14 as discussed above.
Battles does not explicitly teach wherein: the robotic structure comprises a robotic arm, the robotic arm having a plurality of end effectors disposed at a distal end of the robotic arm; and the initial plan indicates a manner in which the robotic arm or at least one end effector is to be controlled to dampen a swing of the item while the item is being moved by the robotic structure.
However, Ogawa teaches wherein: the robotic structure comprises a robotic arm, the robotic arm having a plurality of end effectors disposed at a distal end of the robotic arm; and the initial plan indicates a manner in which the robotic arm or at least one end effector is to be controlled to dampen a swing of the item while the item is being moved by the robotic structure. [(see at least paragraph 170) “the management system 30 gives an instruction to the robot 21 selected at S37 to perform a given process for the target article 14 under more reliable control than in the normal operation. The robot 21 receiving such an instruction handles the target article 14 and performs a given process in the stable operation mode. For example, the robot 21 receiving such an instruction performs a given process, for example, in a slower motion than in the normal operation. For example, the robot 21 may perform a process so as not to destroy or deform the target article 14 by lowering a determination threshold value for force control, compared with in the normal operation. For example, the robot 21 may increase the number of times an image of the target article 14 is captured during a process, compared with in the normal operation.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Battles to incorporate the teachings of Ogawa of the robotic structure comprises a robotic arm, the robotic arm having a plurality of end effectors disposed at a distal end of the robotic arm; and the initial plan indicates a manner in which the robotic arm or at least one end effector is to be controlled to dampen a swing of the item while the item is being moved by the robotic structure in order to as not to destroy or deform the target article/item. [(Ogawa 170)]
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battles in view of Lukka (US 2021/0061588 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Battles teaches wherein the releasing suction from the first subset of the plurality of suction cups before releasing suction from the second subset of the plurality of suction cups comprises to: release suction from the first subset of the plurality of suction cups [(see at least paragraph 69) “the astrictive end effector 610 includes a plurality of section cups 612-1, 612-2, 612-3, and 612-4 that are coupled to a suction line 611 such that the suction line 611 can generate negative suction through the suction cups to secure the cups to an item. In the illustrated example, the astrictive end effector 610 includes four suction cups 612 arranged in a square pattern. In other implementations, the astrictive end effector 610 may include additional or fewer suction cups and the suction cups may be positioned on the astrictive end effector 610 in any configuration. For example, in some implementations, a suction cup may be positioned on a side of the end effector 610 and oriented at approximately ninety degrees to the illustrated suction cups 612. In such a configuration, the suction cup positioned on the side of the end effector 610 may be used to pick an item from the side and pull, push, or otherwise move the item from the pick area.”]
Battles does not explicitly teach to blow air from the first subset of the plurality of suction cups contemporaneously with releasing suction from the second subset of the plurality of suction cups.
However, Lukka teaches to blow air from the first subset of the plurality of suction cups contemporaneously with releasing suction from the second subset of the plurality of suction cups. [(see at least paragraph 120) “The suction gripper 132 comprises a suction component 602 which is the same as the suction gripper 132 arrangement as shown in FIGS. 5, 7, 8. Accordingly, the suction component 602 will not be described in any further detail. The suction gripper 132 also comprises a blow component 600. The suction cup 400, the blow component 600 and the suction component 602 are indicated by the dotted lines perpendicular to the axis B-B. The blow component 600 is the essentially the same as the suction component 602 but reversed in orientation to generate a positive air pressure rather than a negative air pressure. In some embodiments, the suction component 602 is optimized for maximum gripping/suction force. In other embodiments, the blow component 600 is additionally and/or alternatively be optimized for maximum ability to remove blockages.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Battles to incorporate the teachings of Lukka of blowing air from the first subset of the plurality of suction cups contemporaneously with releasing suction from the second subset of the plurality of suction cups in order for the force of the positive air flow to push the object/item out from the suction cup. [(Lukka 126)]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2020/0238519 A1) Diankov - ROBOTIC SYSTEM CONTROL METHOD AND CONTROLLER
(US 2020/0017317 A1) Yap - ROBOTIC SYSTEM FOR PICKING, SORTING, AND PLACING A PLURALITY OF RANDOM AND NOVEL OBJECTS
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656