DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta et al. (“Towards Generating Ultara-High Resolution Talking-Face Videos with Lip synchronization”, 2023 IEEE/CVF; hereinafter “Gupta-IEEE”, presented on IDS 07/28/2025).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Gupta-IEEE teaches a computer device (computing devices on the deep networks) (with corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium), comprising:
a memory and a processor, the memory and the processor communicating with each other, the memory having computer instructions stored therein, and the processor (these elements are inherent in all the computing devices of the neural networks) being configured to execute the computer instructions to:
acquire target audio data and first video data of a target object (input speech and input face, Fig. 3: Overall Inference pipeline column);
acquire second video data, the second video data being obtained by performing mask processing on a lip area in video data of the target object (masked face, Fig. 3: Overall Inference pipeline column);
perform feature processing on the target audio data based on a target multimodal model to obtain a target audio feature, the target multimodal model being obtained based on performing synchronization alignment training of a sample audio feature and a sample video feature on paired sample audio and sample video;
perform feature extraction on the first video data and the second video data to obtain a feature to be processed; and predict a lip area in the second video data based on the target audio feature and the feature to be processed, to determine a target video corresponding to the target audio data (Stage 2, Fig. 3: Overall Inference pipeline: post-processing).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Gupta-IEEE teaches wherein the target multimodal model is determined by:
acquiring positive sample data and negative sample data, the positive sample data comprising synchronous first sample audio and first sample video, and the negative sample data comprising asynchronous second sample audio and second sample video; and performing synchronization alignment training of the sample audio feature and the sample video feature on a preset multimodal model based on the positive sample data and the negative sample data, to obtain the target multimodal model (Section 3.1” For training the lip-sync expert, we sample video-speech pairs from the same time step (in-sync, i.e., positive pairs) and random pairs from different time-steps (out-of-sync, i.e., negative pairs)”).
Regarding claim 3, 10 and 17, Gupta-IEEE teaches wherein predicting the lip area in the second video data based on the target audio feature and the feature to be processed, to determine the target video corresponding to the target audio data comprises:
inputting the target audio feature and the feature to be processed into a target image generation model, and predicting the lip area in the second video data to obtain target feature data, the target image generation model being obtained based on performing parameter update of a sample audio feature output by the target multimodal model and a video feature of a sample video of a sample object; and decoding the target feature data to obtain the target video (target video generation and lip synchronization for model audio updates in Fig. 3: Overall Inference pipeline).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Gupta-IEEE teaches wherein acquiring the target audio data comprises:
acquiring a target text and a target timbre; and converting the target text into the target audio data based on the target timbre (“Our model works for any in-the-wild unseen identities, languages”, page 5200).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gupta et al. (hereinafter ‘Gupta’, Patent No. 12,505,863).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Gupta teaches computer device (210, Fig. 2) (with corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium), comprising:
a memory and a processor, the memory and the processor communicating with each other (215 and memory, Fig. 2; col. 4 lines 9-32), the memory having computer instructions stored therein, and the processor being configured to execute the computer instructions to:
acquire target audio data and first video data of a target object (102a and 102b, Fig. 1; col. 1 line 63 to col. 2 line 8);
acquire second video data, the second video data being obtained by performing mask processing on a lip area in video data of the target object (viseme clips of the lips are obtained based on the target, dubbed audio, col. 2 line 40) ;
perform feature processing on the target audio data based on a target multimodal model to obtain a target audio feature, the target multimodal model being obtained based on performing synchronization alignment training of a sample audio feature and a sample video feature on paired sample audio and sample video (based on the target audio, language features, phoneme; multiple corresponding visemes are identified, including viseme features such as matrix of coordinates for facial landmarks, lines and vertices, col. 2 lines 21-40);
perform feature extraction on the first video data and the second video data to obtain a feature to be processed (source video and audio are analyzed to determine lip poses of the speaker, and based on phonemes of the source audio, lip pose that share indices with the source visemes are compared, col. 2 line 41-67) ; and
predict a lip area in the second video data based on the target audio feature and the feature to be processed, to determine a target video corresponding to the target audio data (col. 2 line 57 to col. 3 line 16, where the best matching visemes are predicted) .
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Gupta teaches wherein the target multimodal model is determined by:
acquiring positive sample data and negative sample data, the positive sample data comprising synchronous first sample audio and first sample video (machine learning is used to determine how lip poses and visemes positively sync through error), col. 2 line 52 to col. 3 line 16; col. 6 line 25 to col. 7 line 4), and the negative sample data comprising asynchronous second sample audio and second sample video (when negative synchronization or de-synchronization is detected based on lip pose-viseme distance is over a threshold value, further modification is performed for improve alignment, col. 7 lines 5-28); and
performing synchronization alignment training of the sample audio feature and the sample video feature on a preset multimodal model based on the positive sample data and the negative sample data, to obtain the target multimodal model (col. 2 line 52 to col. 3 line 16; col. 6 line 25 to col. 7 line 4; col. 7 lines 5-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/OMAR S PARRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421