DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction Requirement filed 07/09/2026. Claims 1-5 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims do not create an undue burden because the claims are not independent and distinct. This is not found persuasive because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stafford (US 2024/0295735).
Consider claim 1, Stafford clearly teaches a near-eye display device, (Fig. 2) comprising:
a frame to receive a corrective lens; (Figs. 2, 4: Left and right prescription lens holders 400 are attached to HMD 200, [0051], [0055].)
a projector to project display light; (Fig. 2: HMD 200 includes a display, [0044], [0051], [0067].)
an optical system to guide the display light to an exit pupil facing the corrective lens; (Fig. 2: Left and right lenses 202, 204, [0051]) and
a receiver (Fig. 1: Network interfaces 20, Bluetooth transceiver 34, NFC 36, [0037], [0040]) to receive a transmission of prescription profile information for the corrective lens, (Fig. 14: Prescription information from an online database is received by HMD 200, [0068].) wherein the near-eye display device is to adjust display settings of at least one of the projector and the optical system based on the prescription profile information. (The prescription information is used to adjust the VR rendering FOV to account for magnification or minification caused by the prescription lens insert, [0069], [0073].)
Consider claim 3, Stafford clearly teaches a controller (Fig. 1: Processor 24, [0037]) to adjust display settings of the projector based on the prescription profile information by shifting a location of pixels displayed at the near-eye display device to compensate for refraction of display light by the corrective lens. (The prescription information is used by a display engine to adjust the VR rendering FOV to account for magnification or minification caused by the prescription lens insert, [0069], [0073].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford (US 2024/0295735) in view of Das et al. (US 2015/0185505), herein Das.
Consider claim 2, Stafford clearly teaches the receiver is to receive the transmission.
However, Stafford does not explicitly teach the receiver is to receive the transmission in response to a user logging into the near-eye display device from an electronic device.
In an analogous art, Das, which discloses a head-mounted system, clearly teaches the receiver is to receive the transmission in response to a user logging into the near-eye display device from an electronic device. (Figs. 7, 9: When a user logs into display device 905 eye prescription information is transmitted to the smart glasses, [0049], [0056], [0071], [0072].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Stafford by the receiver is to receive the transmission in response to a user logging into the near-eye display device from an electronic device, as taught by Das, for the benefit of easily providing the correct prescription information to the head-mounted device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford (US 2024/0295735) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2023/0038781), herein Ryu.
Consider claim 4, Stafford clearly teaches gaze-tracking circuitry; (Fig. 3: HMD 200 includes eye tracking, [0053].) and a controller to based on the prescription profile information to compensate for refraction of display light by the corrective lens. (The prescription information is used by a display engine to adjust the VR rendering FOV to account for magnification or minification caused by the prescription lens insert, [0069], [0073].)
However, Stafford does not explicitly teach a controller to apply an offset to the gaze-tracking circuitry to compensate for refraction of display light by the corrective lens.
In an analogous art, Ryu, which discloses a head-mounted display system, clearly teaches a controller to apply an offset to the gaze-tracking circuitry to compensate for refraction of display light by the corrective lens. (Figs. 6, 7: An offset function is applied to the gaze information to correct distortion of the prescription lens, [0101], [0106]-[0108], [0116], [0117].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Stafford by a controller to apply an offset to the gaze-tracking circuitry to compensate for refraction of display light by the corrective lens, as taught by Ryu, for the benefit of correcting errors in the gaze tracking system caused by the corrective lens.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425