DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the steel strip forming a closed rectangular shape and having a metallic plate on each minor face of the block per claims 4 and 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-4, the recitation “a respective metallic plate” appears that it should be amended to have proper antecedent basis (it is recommended to recite “at least one metallic plate” in claim 1, the following claims then recite “one of the at least one metallic plate”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,809,732 to Farmer Sr. et al. (Farmer).
Regarding claim 1, Farmer discloses a support component for use in a composite support pack which comprises a cementitious block (10, Fig.1A) of parallelepiped form with six faces (top, bottom, and 4 sidewalls of 10, Fig.1A) and a respective metallic plate (12, Fig.1A; 24, 26, 34) on at least two of the faces.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the cementitious block has two major faces (top and bottom faces) and four minor faces (sidewalls of the block 10), wherein each minor face has a surface area which is smaller than the surface area of each major face (Fig.1A), and a respective metallic plate (12) is on at least two of the minor faces (24, 26, 34).
Regarding claim 3, wherein a respective metallic plate is on three of the minor faces (24, 26, 34).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,257,001 to Davis.
Regarding claim 7, Davis discloses a method of making a support component for a support pack which includes the steps of forming a square or rectangular frame (Fig.8, 16) from an elongate metallic strip (2), and casting a settable cementitious material (Column 4, lines 9-19; Column 6, lines 3-24) into the frame, which acts as a mould and which remains engaged with the cementitious material once the cementitious material has set (Fig.16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,809,732 to Farmer Sr. et al. (Farmer) in view of US 2,257,001 to Davis.
Regarding claim 4, Farmer discloses providing the metallic plate on three of the minor faces but does not disclose wherein an elongate steel strip is bent into a rectangular shape which is closed so that the strip, in use, forms a continuous rectangular boundary around the cementitious block which then has a respective metallic plate on each minor face.
Davis discloses wherein the elongate steel strip (2) is bent into a rectangular shape which is closed so that the strip, in use, forms a continuous rectangular boundary around the cementitious block (Column 4, lines 9-19; Column 6, lines 3-24) which then has a respective metallic plate on each minor face (Fig.8, 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the metallic plates on each of the four minor faces of the block of Farmer as taught by Davis so to provide protection to all minor faces of the block as well as provide each surface of the block with better holding strength and fastener retention.
Regarding claim 7, Farmer discloses a method of making a support component for a support pack which includes the steps of forming a frame from an elongate metallic strip (12), and casting a settable cementitious material into the frame (Fig. 4, 6, 7), which acts as a mould and which remains engaged with the cementitious material once the cementitious material has set (Fig.1A).
Farmer does not disclose a square or rectangular frame.
Davis discloses a rectangular frame (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the metallic plates on each of the four minor faces of the block of Farmer as taught by Davis so to provide protection to all minor faces of the block as well as provide each surface of the block with better holding strength and fastener retention.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2005/045193 A2 to Riley in view of US 5,809,732 to Farmer Sr. et al. (Farmer).
Regarding claim 5, Riley discloses a support pack (Fig.8 and 9) which comprises a plurality of layers of support components (blocks of Fig.8 and 9) which are successively stacked vertically to overlie one another (Fig.8 and 9), wherein each layer includes at least two support components (blocks of Fig.8 and 9) each of which is a support component comprising a cementitious block (blocks of Fig. 8 and 9) of parallelepiped form with six faces (top, bottom, and four sidewalls) wherein the cementitious block has two major faces (top and bottom surfaces) and four minor faces (four side walls), wherein each minor face has a surface area which is smaller than the surface area of each major face (blocks of Fig. 8 and 9).
Riley does not disclose a respective metallic plate on three of the minor faces.
Farmer discloses providing a metal plate (12, 24, 26, 34) on three minor faces of a cementitious block (side walls of 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided metallic plates to the side walls of the block of Riley as taught by Farmer so to provide protective surfaces to the blocks as well as increased strength for fasteners, thereby enabling the support pack to be without the larger, heavier wooden supports on the exterior. The metallic plates will increase tensile strength, fastener pull out strength and reduce the weight of the overall structure.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2005/045193 A2 to Riley in view of US 5,809,732 to Farmer Sr. et al. (Farmer) in view of GB 2 137 256 A to Holder.
Regarding claim 6, Riley discloses wherein each layer includes four of the support components (Fig. 8 and 9) and in plan is of a square configuration with a central hollow (76).
Riley does not disclose an elongate support prop is positioned.
Holder discloses an elongate support prop (10) in the hollow of the square configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a support prop within the hollow of Riley as taught by Holder so to provide support to an overhanging ceiling and thereby to provide support until the support pack is assembled in place.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635