DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 -13 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “evaluation unit” recited in L5 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (evaluation). Para. [0015] of the specification teaches “the evaluation unit comprises an integration unit, a shaping unit, a comparator unit, a counter unit and a storage unit as described in paragraphs [0041] to [0050] of US patent application No. 18/642,373”. A review of the specification of US patent application No. 18/642,373 reveals that: a corresponding structure for an integration unit is an amplifier as described in para. [0079], a corresponding structure for a storage unit is a shift register as described in para. [0048].
A review of the specification of US patent application No. 18/642,373 reveals that the corresponding structures for a shaping unit, a comparator unit, and a counter unit are missing. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “evaluation unit”. However, the corresponding structures are missing in the specification.
Claims 2-13 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1 for dependency reasons.
Claim limitation “evaluation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to “evaluation unit” is no present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-13 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1 for dependency reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini et al. (WO 2023/062568 A1; pub. Apr. 20, 2023) in view of Dierickx (US 2012/0305786 A1; pub. Dec. 6, 2012).
Regarding claim 1, Fiorini et al. disclose: A semiconductor detection module (fig.5) comprising:
at least one semiconductor body (fig.5 items 22);
a plurality of read-out electrodes assigned to the at least one semiconductor body and configured to provide one raw detector signal per read-out electrode (pg.9 L15-28).
Fiorini et al. are silent about: a plurality of evaluation units, each evaluation unit configured to process the raw detector signal, which comprises a sequence of signal peaks, by assigning the signal peaks to at least one region of interest and to provide a number of counts in each region of interest as an output signal, wherein each evaluation unit is assigned to exactly one read-out electrode.
In a similar field of endeavor Dierickx discloses: a plurality of evaluation units (fig.2 items 21 & 22), each evaluation unit configured to process the raw detector signal, which comprises a sequence of signal peaks (para. [0021]-[0022]), by assigning the signal peaks to at least one region of interest and to provide a number of counts in each region of interest as an output signal (para. [0021]-[0023]), wherein each evaluation unit is assigned to exactly one read-out electrode (para. [0091]) motivated by the benefits for a noise free radiation detector (Dierickx para. [0068]).
In light of the benefits for a noise free radiation detector as taught by Dierickx, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. with the teachings of Dierickx.
Regarding claim 2, Fiorini et al. disclose: the at least one semiconductor body is a plurality of semiconductor bodies, and wherein at least one read-out electrode is assigned to each semiconductor body (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Fiorini et al. disclose: a number of semiconductor bodies equals a number of read-out electrodes so that each semiconductor body is assigned to exactly one read-out electrode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Dierickx discloses: a processor unit configured to process the output signals and to provide a single processed data signal (para. [0097]) motivated by the benefits for a noise free radiation detector (Dierickx para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 5, Dierickx discloses: the processor unit is configured to perform at least one of the following operations:
arithmetically processing the number of counts of similar regions of interest of different output signals;
monitoring a variation of the number of counts corresponding to the regions of interest of at least one output signal;
detecting and processing charge sharing events;
adapting a number and/or energy interval of at least one region of interest of each evaluation unit (para. [0023], [0086], [0097]) motivated by the benefits for a noise free radiation detector (Dierickx para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Fiorini et al. and Dierickx disclose: the processor unit is configured to control the evaluation units and/or at least one detector element, each detector element comprising at least one semiconductor body and one of the read-out electrodes (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 4).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini et al. (WO 2023/062568 A1; pub. Apr. 20, 2023) in view of Dierickx (US 2012/0305786 A1; pub. Dec. 6, 2012) and further in view of Tumer et al. (US 5,696,458; pub. Dec. 9, 1997).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: each of the evaluation units is integrated in an individual electronic component.
In a similar field of endeavor Tumer et al. disclose: each of the evaluation units is integrated in an individual electronic component (col.5 L21-33) motivated by the benefits for minimizing cross talk and noise (Tumer et al. col.5 L31-33).
In light of the benefits for minimizing cross talk and noise as taught by Tumer et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Tumer et al.
Regarding claim 8, the combined references are silent about: at least some parts of a number of evaluation units are integrated in a common electronic component.
In a similar field of endeavor Tumer et al. disclose: at least some parts of a number of evaluation units are integrated in a common electronic component (col.5 L21-33) motivated by the benefits for minimizing cross talk and noise (Tumer et al. col.5 L31-33).
In light of the benefits for minimizing cross talk and noise as taught by Tumer et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Tumer et al.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini et al. (WO 2023/062568 A1; pub. Apr. 20, 2023) in view of Dierickx (US 2012/0305786 A1; pub. Dec. 6, 2012) and further in view of Ishitsu et al. (US 2024/0023912 A1; pub. Jan. 25, 2024).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: a plurality of collimators, wherein each collimator is assigned to exactly one read-out electrode.
In a similar field of endeavor Ishitsu et al. disclose: a plurality of collimators (fig.2 item 11), wherein each collimator is assigned to exactly one read-out electrode (fig.2 item 13) motivated by the benefits for improved detection accuracy.
In light of the benefits for improved detection accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Ishitsu et al.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini et al. (WO 2023/062568 A1; pub. Apr. 20, 2023) in view of Dierickx (US 2012/0305786 A1; pub. Dec. 6, 2012) and further in view of Fujii et al. (US 2015/0380457 A1; pub. Dec. 31, 2015).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx disclose: each detector element, comprising at least one semiconductor body and one of the read-out electrodes, is configured to receive radiation from a detection area (see rejection of claim 1). However, the combined references are silent about: detection areas of all detector elements at least partially overlap.
In a similar field of endeavor Fujii et al. disclose: detection areas of all detector elements at least partially overlap (para. [0340]) motivated by the benefits for increased detection area.
In light of the benefits for improved increased detection area., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Fujii et al.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini et al. (WO 2023/062568 A1; pub. Apr. 20, 2023) in view of Dierickx (US 2012/0305786 A1; pub. Dec. 6, 2012) and further in view of Scoullar et al. (US 2019/0212273 A1; pub. Jul. 11, 2019).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references are silent about: A sorting machine comprising: the semiconductor detection module according to claim 1.
In a similar field of endeavor Scoullar et al. disclose: A sorting machine comprising: the semiconductor detection module according to claim 1 (para. [0666]) motivated by the benefits for high throughput, accuracy, resolution, elemental sensitivity, safety and operating cost (Scoullar et al. para. [0004]).
In light of the benefits for high throughput, accuracy, resolution, elemental sensitivity, safety and operating cost as taught by Scoullar et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Scoullar et al.
Regarding claim 12, the combined references are silent about: A spectrometer using X-ray fluorescence and comprising: the semiconductor detection module according to claim 1.
In a similar field of endeavor Scoullar et al. disclose: A spectrometer using X-ray fluorescence and comprising: the semiconductor detection module according to claim 1 (para. [0019], [0050]) motivated by the benefits for high throughput, accuracy, resolution, elemental sensitivity, safety and operating cost (Scoullar et al. para. [0004]).
In light of the benefits for high throughput, accuracy, resolution, elemental sensitivity, safety and operating cost as taught by Scoullar et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Scoullar et al.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini et al. (WO 2023/062568 A1; pub. Apr. 20, 2023) in view of Dierickx (US 2012/0305786 A1; pub. Dec. 6, 2012) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0314349 A1; pub. Oct. 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references are silent about: A synchrotron comprising: the semiconductor detection module according to claim 1.
In a similar field of endeavor Zhang et al. disclose: A synchrotron comprising: the semiconductor detection module according to claim 1 (para. [0090]-[0091], [0128], [0120]) motivated by the benefits for a high energy resolution, high count rates, low electronic noise detector.
In light of the benefits for a high energy resolution, high count rates, low electronic noise detector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fiorini et al. and Dierickx with the teachings of Zhang et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884