Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 6 and 10 recite the limitation of “the suction lumen” which should each read “a suction lumen”. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species Group 2 in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Due to the amendment of claims 17-20 to depend from claim 1, the restriction requirement between inventive groups I and II is withdrawn and the claims are rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Parke et al. (US 2022/0183807 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Parke discloses a dental retractor for use during a dental procedure (Abstract), the dental retractor (intra-oral appliance 10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a tongue holder (Figs. 1 and 6 element 30) including:
a tongue holder body (body of tongue crib 30 includes body of u-shaped channel 45, and back end 34, Fig. 6) comprising a first half (leftmost portion/half of tongue crib 30, ending at the fourth/ middle aperture 62, Fig. 6) and a second half (right-most portion/half of tongue crib 30, ending at the fourth/middle aperture 62, Fig. 6) configured to receive a tongue of a patient (second half of tongue crib 30 configured to contact a tongue, Fig. 6),
a first arm extending from a first side of the tongue holder body (arm 50 or 55 extending from a first side of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6), and
a second arm extending from a second side of the tongue holder body opposite the first side (arm 50 or 55 opposite of first arm above extending from a second side of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6);
a first mouth retractor and a second mouth retractor (Fig. 7 elements either of 110 and 120), wherein the first mouth retractor is connectable to the first arm of the tongue holder (Figs. 6-10 element 50 to attach to element 120 in figured 9 via element 200 from figure 10 via slots at 113 in figure 9 paragraph [0055] all ) and the second mouth retractor is connectable to the second arm of the tongue holder (Figs. 6-10 element 55 to attach to element 120 in figured 9 via element 200 from figure 10 via slots at 113 in figure 9 paragraph [0055] all); and
a dental bar connectable to the first mouth retractor and the second mouth retractor (Figs.7-9, 16-18, element 140, Fig. 20 element 552. );
wherein the first half and the second half define one or more suction lumens (tubing 60 within u-shaped channel 45, Para. [0031]; Fig. 6; tubing 60 used for suction, Para. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 2, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claim 1, wherein the first half is configured to be connected to a suction system for removing fluid from a patient's mouth (tubing 60 can be connected to a vacuum source, Para. [0040]; tubing 60 shown exiting first half of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claim 1, wherein the first and second arms of the tongue holder each comprise a medial portion extending from the tongue holder body (portion of arms 55 and 50 at first ends 56 and 51 respectively, Fig. 6) and a tubing connection (interior of end 56 that receive tubing 60, Fig. 6), which is defined by the first half (end 56 abuts at first half of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6), laterally connectable to a corresponding medial portion (end 56 is laterally connectable to a corresponding medial portion of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claim 1, wherein the tongue holder body comprises a slot defined by the first half and the second half that is fluidly connected to the one or more suction lumens (fourth/middle aperture 62 is connected to tubing 60 and defined between the first and second halves of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claim 1, wherein the tongue holder comprises one or more ports (apertures 62, Fig. 6), each port in fluid communication with a suction lumen of the first or second arms (apertures 62 in communication with tubing 60 that travels through arms 50, 55, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claim 6, wherein the one or more ports are disposed on an external surface of the tongue holder body (apertures 62 exposed on external surface of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 8, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claim 7, wherein the one or more ports are defined by where the first half and the second half about each other (fourth/middle aperture 62 is connected to tubing 60 and defined between the first and second halves of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Parke further discloses the dental retractor of claim 1 for use during a dental procedure, the dental retractor comprising wherein:
the first/second mouth retractor comprises a first/second cheek retractor (Fig. 9 one of elements 110 and 120);
a first/second connection slot defined by the first/second cheek retractor (Fig. 9 wide center openings of slots on element 113 on each of 110/120);
and a first/second flexion slot defined by the first/second cheek retractor (Fig. 9 undercut of slots 113 to receive legs of elements 200 from figs. 10-12),
and the dental bar selectively connectable to the first/second mouth retractor(Figs. 8-9 showing element 140 selectively attachable to elements 110/120 by tab on elements 111 and 121).
Regarding claim 19, Parke further discloses wherein the first connection slot extends into a groove defined by the first mouth retractor (fig. 9 opening of element 113 extends into a groove that would receive flex elements 212 of Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parke et al. (US 2022/0183807) in view of Mantovani et al. (US 20200288958 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claims 3, including the first and second arms of the tongue holder of each comprising the one or more suction lumens providing fluid communication between the tubing connection and the tongue holder body (tubing 60 travels through both arms 50, 55, first end 56, and tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Park fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder.
However, Mantovani discloses a surgical mouth gags (Abstract) and teaches wherein a second half is received by a first half (shell 126b is received by the outer groove of shell 126a, Fig. 19) to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder (by arranging shell 126b within shell 126a, elongate elements 132a and 132b are assembled, Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke with wherein the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder of Mantovani for the purpose of allowing the dental retractor to be assembled within a patient's mouth as taught by Mantovani (paragraph [0089] lines 27-30) and for easy adjusting and adapting to a patient’s particular tongue shape (paragraph [0053] all).
Regarding Claim 9, Parke discloses a dental retractor for use during a dental procedure (Abstract), the dental retractor (intra-oral appliance 10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a tongue holder (tongue crib 30, Figs. 1 and 6) configured to remove fluid from a patient's mouth during a dental procedure (apertures 62 of tongue crib 30 suction debris, Para. [0077]), the tongue holder comprising:
a tongue holder body (body of tongue crib 30 includes body of u-shaped channel 45, and back end 34, Fig. 6) configured to receive a tongue of a patient (tongue crib 30 configured to receive a tongue of a patient, Fig. 6) defined by a first half that defines one or more apertures (leftmost portion/half of tongue crib 30, ending at the fourth/middle aperture 62, including three apertures 62, Fig. 6) and
a second half configured to be in contact with the first half (right-most portion/half of tongue crib 30, ending at the fourth/middle aperture 62, Fig. 6),
a first arm extending from a first side of the tongue holder body (arm 55 extending from a first side of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6); and
a second arm extending from a second side of the tongue holder body opposite the first side (arm 50 extending from a second side of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6);
wherein the tongue holder has one or more suction lumens defined by the first half and the second half (tubing 60 within u-shaped channel 45, Para. [0031]; Fig. 6; tubing 60 used for suction, Para. [0077]).
Parke discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second half is configured to be received by the first half.
However, Mantovani discloses a surgical mouth gags (Abstract) and teaches wherein a second half is received by a first half (shell 126b is received by the outer groove of shell 126a, Fig. 19) to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder (by arranging shell 126b within shell 126a, elongate elements 132a and 132b are assembled, Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke with wherein the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder of Mantovani for the purpose of allowing the dental retractor to be assembled within a patient's mouth as taught by Mantovani (paragraph [0089] lines 27-30) and for easy adjusting and adapting to a patient’s particular tongue shape (paragraph [0053] all).
Regarding claim 10, Parke/Mantovani as combined discloses the dental retractor of claim 9 and Parke further teaches wherein the tongue holder comprises one or more ports (apertures 62, Fig. 6), each port in fluid communication with a suction lumen of the first or second arms (apertures 62 in communication with tubing 60 that travels through arms 50, 55, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Parke/Mantovani as combined disclose structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first half comprises one or more anterior keys, wherein the one or more anterior keys are configured to maintain a connection between an anterior end of the first half with an anterior end of the second half.
Montovani further teaches wherein the first half comprises one or more anterior keys (shell 126a includes a right-most screw that travels through hole 201, Fig. 19), wherein the one or more anterior keys are configured to maintain a connection between an anterior end of the first half with an anterior end of the second half (right-most screw that travels through hole 201 maintains a connection between the anterior ends of shells 126a and 126b, Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke/Mantovani with the first half comprises one or more anterior keys, wherein the one or more anterior keys are configured to maintain a connection between an anterior end of the first half with an anterior end of the second half of Mantovani for the purpose of allowing the dental retractor to ends to be fixed together for use at taught by Mantovani (paragraph [0089] lines 13-15).
Regarding Claim 12, Parke/Mantovani as combined disclose structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first half comprises one or more posterior keys, wherein the one or more posterior keys are configured to maintain a connection between a posterior end of the first half with a posterior end of the second half.
Mantovani further discloses wherein the first half comprises one or more posterior keys (shell 126a includes a left-most screw that travels through hole 201, Fig. 19), wherein the one or more posterior keys are configured to maintain a connection between a posterior end of the first half with a posterior end of the second half (left-most screw that travels through hole 201 maintains a connection between the posterior ends of shells 126a and 126b, Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke/ Mantovani with wherein the first half comprises one or more posterior keys, wherein the one or more posterior keys are configured to maintain a connection between a posterior end of the first half with a posterior end of the second half of Mantovani for the purpose of allowing the dental retractor to ends to be fixed together for use at taught by Mantovani (paragraph [0089] lines 13-15).
Regarding Claim 13, Parke/Mantovani as combined disclose structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second half comprises one or more pins configured to be received by the one or more apertures.
Mantovani further discloses wherein the second half comprises one or more pins (longitudinal groove 127b of shell 126b receives nut 203, Fig. 19) configured to be received by the one or more apertures (nut 203 is received by hole 200 of tongue spatula 122, Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke/Mantovani with the second half comprising one or more pins configured to be received by the one or more apertures of Mantovani for the purpose of allowing the dental retractor to ends to be fixed together for use at taught by Mantovani (paragraph [0089] lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 14, Parke/Mantovani as combined provide for the pin being connected to the one or more apertures (Fig. 19 of Mantovani showing the pin the claim recites the limitation of the pin as being "ultrasonically welded". This limitation is being viewed as a product by process claim of merely reciting a process to make the product as discussed above, the presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. In re Stephens 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965).
Claims 4, 9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parke et al. (US 2022/0183807) in view of Lin et al. (US 2021/0361471 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Parke discloses the dental retractor of claims 3, including the first and second arms of the tongue holder of each comprising the one or more suction lumens providing fluid communication between the tubing connection and the tongue holder body (tubing 60 travels through both arms 50, 55, first end 56, and tongue crib 30, Fig. 6).
Park fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder.
However, Lin discloses a tongue positioner (title and abstract) with a tongue holder configured to remove fluid from a patient’s mouth (Fig. 1 element 22 suction via element 80) having a first arm and second arm attached tot eh holder (Fig. 1 element 10 having two side arms), and the tongue holder having one or more suction lumens defined by a first half and a second half (Fig. 3 , first half element 22/222 and second half element 23, lumens fig. 4 elements 231) the first half defining one or more apertures (Fig. 6 inside of element 22 being an aperture).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke with wherein the first half defining one or more apertures and the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder of Lin for the purpose of allowing the tongue holder to having a different inner half that would be more comfortable as taught by Lin (paragraph [0084] lines 1-9).
Regarding Claim 9, Parke discloses a dental retractor for use during a dental procedure (Abstract), the dental retractor (intra-oral appliance 10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a tongue holder (tongue crib 30, Figs. 1 and 6) configured to remove fluid from a patient's mouth during a dental procedure (apertures 62 of tongue crib 30 suction debris, Para. [0077]), the tongue holder comprising:
a tongue holder body (body of tongue crib 30 includes body of u-shaped channel 45, and back end 34, Fig. 6) configured to receive a tongue of a patient (tongue crib 30 configured to receive a tongue of a patient, Fig. 6) defined by a first half that defines one or more apertures (leftmost portion/half of tongue crib 30, ending at the fourth/middle aperture 62, including three apertures 62, Fig. 6) and
a second half configured to be in contact with the first half (right-most portion/half of tongue crib 30, ending at the fourth/middle aperture 62, Fig. 6),
a first arm extending from a first side of the tongue holder body (arm 55 extending from a first side of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6); and
a second arm extending from a second side of the tongue holder body opposite the first side (arm 50 extending from a second side of tongue crib 30, Fig. 6);
wherein the tongue holder has one or more suction lumens defined by the first half and the second half (tubing 60 within u-shaped channel 45, Para. [0031]; Fig. 6; tubing 60 used for suction, Para. [0077]).
Park fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder.
However, Lin discloses a tongue positioner (title and abstract) with a tongue holder configured to remove fluid from a patient’s mouth (Fig. 1 element 22 suction via element 80) having a first arm and second arm attached tot eh holder (Fig. 1 element 10 having two side arms), and the tongue holder having one or more suction lumens defined by a first half and a second half (Fig. 3 , first half element 22/222 and second half element 23, lumens fig. 4 elements 231) the first half defining one or more apertures (Fig. 6 inside of element 22 being an aperture).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke with wherein the first half defining one or more apertures and the second half is received by the first half to form the first and second arms of the tongue holder of Lin for the purpose of allowing the tongue holder to having a different inner half that would be more comfortable as taught by Lin (paragraph [0084] lines 1-9).
Regarding Claim 13, Parke/Lin as combined disclose structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second half comprises one or more pins configured to be received by the one or more apertures.
Lin further discloses wherein the second half comprises one or more pins (Fig. 6 elements 232) configured to be received by the one or more apertures (Fig. 6 elements 232 received inside aperture of 22).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke/Lin with the second half comprising one or more pins configured to be received by the one or more apertures of Lin for the purpose of allowing for gaps that allow fluid communication as taught by Lin (paragraph [0084] lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 14, Parke/Lin as combined provide for the pin being connected to the one or more apertures in a solid manner (paragraph [0084] lines 40-45 of Lin disclosing the inner half and thus pins being fixed to the first half. The claim recites the limitation of the pin as being "ultrasonically welded". This limitation is being viewed as a product by process claim of merely reciting a process to make the product as discussed above, the presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. In re Stephens 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 15, Park/Lin as combined would provide for the pins to extend from the inner surface the second half and extend through a portion of the one or more suction lumens (fig. 6 pines 232 extend from the inner surface of the second half and at least extend partly through a portion the suction lumen of element 22).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parke et al. (US 2022/0183807) in view of Mantovani et al. (US 20200288958 A1) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Weber et al. (DE 102014015163 A1, machine translation cited).
Regarding Claim 16, Parke/Mantovani as combined disclose structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first arm and the second are constructed from a material exhibiting a SHORE D HARDNESS value of about 70 to about 95.
Weber discloses an oral cavity vacuum devices (Abstract; see machine translation) and teaches wherein the first arm and the second are constructed from a material exhibiting a SHORE D HARDNESS value of about 70 to about 95 (holding rail 23 has a value of 86 - 89 Shore as measured by the Shore hardness test D, Claim 9; Para. [0022]; holding rail 23 has left and right halves surrounding the left and right halves of the mouth, making up a first and second arm, Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Parke/Mantovani with the first arm and the second constructed from a material exhibiting a SHORE D HARDNESS value of about 70 to about 95 of Weber for the purpose of ensuring that the dental retractor for comfort as taught by Weber (translation page 10 lines 1-4)and has enough stability and flexibility to sustain movements of the teeth.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parke et al. (US 2022/0183807) in view of Meyer et al. (US 2018/0228359 A1).
Parke discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the first flexion slot and third flexion slot flank the first connection slot allowing a first edge and a second edge to flex.
However, Meyer disclose a dental retractor (title and abstract) having cheek retractors connected by two flexion slots flanking a connection slot (fig. 1d showing a connection slot that receives 113 that is flanked on both sides by flex slots on either side of element 115) which allows a first and second edge to flex (the two edges of 115 flex).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of the flanking slots and connection slot as taught by Meyer into the flex and connection slots as taught by Parke for the purpose of providing for a cheek retractor that could adjust with width with a latch mechanism as taught by Meyer (paragraph [0060]-[0063] disclosing the flexing of 115 allows for selectable adjustment of width).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/M.P.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772 10/13/2026
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772