DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of”, “arranged to”, “intended to”, "so as" or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of”, “arranged to”, “intended to”, "so as" or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of”, “arranged to”, “intended to”, "so as" or “operable to”.
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“retaining elements and constraining elements” in the claims; Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Drawings Objections
MATERIAL NOT SHOWN
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a transmission, pre launcher, rotor, a vertical bar, the elastic element is located in the tie rod or the rocker arms, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The above are only examples of such informalities. The Applicant is required to review the entire drawings and correct all such informalities.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “being” are not positive limitations inasmuch as the terms including the word "being" are passive and thus do not serve to clearly limit the structure in an active sense. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: (characterized). Appropriate correction is required to conform to the US practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The above identified claims will be examined as best understood.
Re claim 1 the claim recites "can be" is indirect, suggests optionally, and passive which renders any recitation claimed after not being patentable weight. Appropriate correction is required. Claims should be amended to recite "is" or "will be".
Re claim 1 the phrase "rotor" is improper claim language rendering the claim vague and indefinite for examination. It is unclear what is the "rotor" recited in the claim refers to.+
Re claim 1 the phrase "a vertical bar" is improper claim language rendering the claim vague and indefinite for examination. It is unclear what is "a vertical bar" recited in the claim refers to.
Re claim 1 the phrases "the other end”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Also It is unclear what is the "the other end” refers to.
Re claim 1 the phrase "a high angle of attack” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "a high angle of attack” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Re claims 1-7 the term “rotor” is improper claim language rendering the claim vague and indefinite for examination. It is unclear whether it is the same “Gyroplane take-off rotor” recited in claim 1 or different.
Re claim 3 the phrases "the rotor head”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Also It is unclear what is the "the rotor head” refers to.
Re claim 7 the term “A gyroplane” is improper claim language rendering the claim vague and indefinite for examination. It is unclear whether it is the same “a gyroplane” recited in claim 1 or different.
Reference of prior art
Foote. (GB 1258505, ROTARY WING SYSTEM).
Briggi. (US 20240375771, COMPLIANT HELICOPTER ROTOR PITCH LINK).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and further in view of Briggi.
Re claim 1 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Foote discloses:
Gyroplane (10) take-off rotor for shortening the take-off run of a gyroplane (fig. 1, figs. 1-5), wherein the gyroplane comprises two blades (96, 97), two blade holders (102), for coupling the blades (96, 97) to the rotor, and a pre launcher device linked to the rotor via a transmission (38); and
wherein the rotor comprises a mechanism which can be coupled to the transmission with the pre launcher and is operable by said pre launcher (130, 38);
the rotor being characterized in that the mechanism comprises:
a linear actuator (166), linked to and operable by the pre launcher (166 via the structural components);
a vertical bar (132), linked at one lower end to the other end of the tie rod (via cable 166);
a rocker arm (146-148) hinged at an upper end of the vertical bar (1132);
two rods (158, 159) hingedly linked to the respective ends of the rocker arm (146-148) and extending downwards; and
a elastic element (136) for holding the blade holders (102) and the blades (96, 97) in a flying position with a high angle of attack (by adjusting the blade angles of attack);
wherein the rotor allows a temporary reduction of the angle of attack of the blades (1) to shorten the take-off stroke (by adjusting the blade angles of attack).
However Foote fails to teach as disclosed by Briggi: a tie rod (4), linked at one end to the linear actuator (3) (¶ 0027, 0028, items 40 and to plunger 42 that is construed as a linear actuator, and to connect items 40 to Foote the linear actuator item 166 instead);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the Briggi teachings of a tie rod (4), linked at one end to the linear actuator into the Foote, to enable smooth movement and provide flexibility.
Re claim Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description Foote, as modified above, fails to teach: the linear actuator (3) is a pneumatic cylinder.
The Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art that the linear actuator (3) is a pneumatic cylinder.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gronstedt, as modified above, to comprise of the linear actuator (3) is a pneumatic cylinder as it is old and well known and it would have achieved the predictable result of using a faster change of the angle of attack of the blades.
Re claim 3 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Foote, as modified above, discloses: Rotor according to claim 1 wherein the vertical bar (5) passes through the rotor head (see figs. 5, item 132).
Re claim 4 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Foote, as modified above, discloses: Rotor according to claim 1 wherein the elastic element (8) is a spring coaxial to the upper end of the vertical bar (5) (see figs. 5, item 136).
Re claim 5 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Foote, as modified above, discloses: Rotor according to claim 1 wherein the elastic element (8) is located in the tie rod (4).
Re claim 6 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Foote, as modified above, discloses: Rotor according to claim 1 wherein the elastic element (8) is located in the rocker arms (6) (item 136 is located between items 146-148).
Re claim 7 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Foote, as modified above, discloses: A gyroplane comprising the rotor according claim 1 (see figs. 1-3, item 10).
Conclusion
The following prior art are pertinent to the claims or the disclosure of the instant application: US 11851172 discloses a structural components close to the instant application with a tie rod; US 12049305 discloses a torque-activated mechanism within the rotor hub, coupled to the set of rotor blades, configured to adjust the collective angle of incidence; US 2163893 discloses Autogiro Rotor Hub; US 20170341733 discloses rotor head is provided and includes a non-rotating frame.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEDHAT BADAWI whose telephone number is (571)270-5983. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri during office hours. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JOSHUA MICHENER can be reached on 571-272-1467. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEDHAT BADAWI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642