DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 8 are pending.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent 12,283,896 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to substantially the same subject matter involving a modular computer power supply assembly having separate AC/DC and DC/DC power conversion modules, wherein the AC/DC module converts incoming AC power into DC power, and the DC/DC module further converts and distributes the DC power to various computer components.
Instant Application 19/181,196
U.S. Patent 12,283,896 B2
1. A method of manufacturing a computer power supply assembly comprising the steps of: providing an AC/DC power supply in a first housing; providing a DC/DC power converter module in a second housing; sensing at least one current or voltage supplied from the DC/DC power converter module; displaying the current or voltage sensed by the sensor on a display of the DC/DC power converter module; connecting a DC power output of the AC/DC power supply unit to a DC power input of the DC/DC power converter module; and converting DC input received at the DC power input to a plurality of DC outputs and providing the DC outputs to a plurality of DC power connectors.
1. A computer power supply assembly, comprising: an AC/DC power supply unit comprising a first planar circuit board adapted to convert input AC power to output DC power; a DC/DC power converter module comprising a second planar circuit board; and a power conductor connecting at least one DC power output of the AC/DC power supply to at least a DC power input of the DC/DC power converter; wherein the power conductor is a rigid conducting bridge that conducts current between the AC/DC power supply unit and the DC/DC power converter and mechanically connects the AC/DC power supply unit to the DC/DC power converter; and rigidly holds the AC/DC power supply unit first planar circuit board in fixed relation to and perpendicular to the DC/DC power converter second planar circuit board; wherein the DC/DC power converter receives the 5V DC power input and the 12V DC power input from the AC/DC power supply unit and converts the 5V DC and the 12V DC power input signals to a plurality of DC outputs and provides the plurality of DC outputs to a plurality of DC power connectors; wherein the DC/DC power converter module comprises a first DC/DC converter and a second DC/DC converter, first and second current/voltage sensors, a control and protection circuit, and a 24-pin P1 connector; wherein the first and second DC/DC converters each output DC signals to the respective first and second current/voltage sensors, to the control and protection circuit, and to the 24-pin P1 connector; wherein the power conductor comprises a plurality of teeth that electrically connect the power conductor to holes of the AC/DC power supply unit first planar circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 20050219882 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method of manufacturing a computer power supply assembly comprising [Figs. 5 and 9] the steps of:
providing an AC/DC power supply in a first housing [AC/DC conversion circuit 22];
providing a DC/DC power converter module in a second housing [DC/DC conversion circuit 61];
sensing at least one current or voltage supplied from the DC/DC power converter module [resistor network and processor 58] [0035: A microprocessor 58 is coupled, via any known interface, to the resistor network 63 to detect the voltage level. The microprocessor 58 decodes and calculates to generate a signal to control the liquid crystal display device 57 to display the voltage level thereof as well as other electrical parameters];
displaying the current or voltage sensed by the sensor on a display of the DC/DC power converter module [0035: the liquid crystal display device 57 to display the voltage level thereof as well as other electrical parameters];
connecting a DC power output of the AC/DC power supply unit to a DC power input of the DC/DC power converter module [DC power output of AC/DC 22 to DC/DC 61]; and
converting DC input received at the DC power input to a plurality of DC outputs and providing the DC outputs to a plurality of DC power connectors [plurality of DC output at output socket 12].
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of connecting the DC power output of the AC/DC power supply unit to the DC power input of the DC/DC power converter module comprises connecting a conductive cable with a connector between the AC/DC power supply and the DC/DC power converter module [Figs 5 and 9: show the connection between AC/DC and DC/DC].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Publication 20050219882 A1) and in view of Bonardi (US Patent 5786984).
Regarding claim 2, Wu only discloses about the connector but does not explicitly disclose further comprising the step of providing any of (a) 12 volt DC power output to an 8-pin auxiliary motherboard connector, (b) a DC power output to a Molex 4-pin connector, (c) a DC power output to four SATA connectors, (d) a DC power output to two 6-pin plus 2-pin +12 volt PCle x16 connectors.
Bonardi discloses the step of providing any of (a) 12 volt DC power output to an 8-pin auxiliary motherboard connector, (b) a DC power output to a Molex 4-pin connector, (c) a DC power output to four SATA connectors, (d) a DC power output to two 6-pin plus 2-pin +12 volt PCle x16 connectors [Col. 7 lines 37-58: Since the AC to DC converter 126 provides the requisite power for the external flexible bay 116, the AC to DC converter 126 is connected to the external flexible bay 116 either directly or by way of the port replicator 104 as illustrated in FIG. 1. As discussed above, the AC to DC converter 126 may be connected to a power port 132, for example, an 8-pin connector 150 on the external flexible bay 116, or alternatively, as shown in FIG. 1 or as discussed above. When the AC to DC converter 126 is connected either directly to the external flexible bay 116 or by way of the port replicator 104 and the cable 136 (FIG. 1)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wu and Bonardi together because they both directed to supply DC electrical power to electronic devices. Bonardi’s teaching of the 8-pin connector and other connector would allow Wu to modify the DC/DC power converter to provide the capability with standard computer components, facilitate distribution of DC power to multiple electrical loads, and increase the versatility of the power supply assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Bonardi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the DC/DC power converter module housing in an internal drive bay [Col. 6 lines 40 – Col. 7 lines 32].
Regarding claim 4, Bonardi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the DC/DC power converter module housing in a SSD drive bay [Col. 6 lines 40 – Col. 7 lines 32].
Regarding claim 5, Bonardi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the DC/DC power converter module housing in a railed bracket system [Col. 6 lines 40 – Col. 7 lines 32].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Publication 20050219882 A1) and in view of Wang1 (US 2004/0243826).
Regarding claim 6, Wu does not disclose wherein the DC/DC power converter module is ATX v2 compliant.
Wang discloses the DC/DC power converter module is ATX v2 compliant [0004: ATX type power supply].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu and Wang together because they directed to use the power supply to convert input power for plurality of computer components. Wang’s disclosing the DC/DC power converter module is ATX v2 compliant would allow Wu to increase the system’s flexibility and portability to include the ATX v2 power supply type.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Publication 20050219882 A1) in view of Imperial (US 20100038974)2.
Regarding claim 8, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector is a twist connector.
However, Imperial discloses the computer power supply assembly comprises a twist connector [0027: FIG. 4A, for example, shows a power supply unit 120 of a portable power supply system 100 with an L5-20 twist lock connector 128B' and a stagepin connector 128B''].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu and Imperial together because they all directed to use the power supply to convert input power for plurality of computer components. Imperial’s disclosing of the computer power supply assembly comprises the twist connector would allow Wu to increase the companion and portability by modifying the connector to be the twist connector.
Conclusion
/PHIL K NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176
1 Wang was cited in the IDS.
2 Imperial was cited in the IDS.