Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/181,227 filed on April 16,2025 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2025,08/08/2025, and 09/26/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Sestok et al (USPGPub 20240012062).
Regarding claim 1, Sestok discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) measurement system (using figs 1-9) to adjust for a change in a direct current (DC) voltage value of an electrochemical cell (battery cell) in an energy storage system (par 37 discloses determining battery characteristics) , the EIS measurement system comprising: a current measurement device (using 216-218 because of the sense resistor), arranged for measuring a current through the electrochemical cell (par 25 discloses measured current of 204 through load 214) ;a voltage measurement device(232 and 236), arranged to be coupled across the electrochemical cell, for measuring a voltage across the electrochemical cell (par 28 discloses 232 receive AC across 205 and 236 receives DC across 205); and processing circuitry (202), coupled to the current measurement device and the voltage measurement device and configured to :determine a representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell (par 40 discloses measuring a DUT for voltage of 204), wherein the representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell indicates that the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell is changing (abstract, par 43, and fig 3 show 310 as changing of voltage); and determine an EIS voltage at a specified EIS frequency using the representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell and the measured voltage across the electrochemical cell (par 47 discloses voltage response at different frequency domains).
Regarding claim 2, Sestok discloses wherein to determine a representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell includes to estimate a rate of change of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell (par 67 discloses using slope of the linear curve fit. Therefore, there is a rate of change and par 70 discloses voltage across the battery).
Regarding claim 3, Sestok discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine an EIS current at the specified EIS frequency using the measured current through the electrochemical cell; and determine an EIS impedance of the electrochemical cell at the specified EIS frequency using the EIS voltage and the EIS current (par 62 discloses determining battery pack impedance based on the frequency).
Regarding claim 4, Sestok discloses wherein: the processing circuitry is configured to determine a representation of the DC current through the electrochemical cell, wherein the representation of the DC current through the electrochemical cell indicates that the DC current through the electrochemical cell is changing (DC current based on the battery); and determining the EIS current at the specified EIS frequency includes using the representation of the DC current and the measured current through the electrochemical cell (claim 9 discloses receiving through or across the device).
Regarding claim 12, Sestok discloses wherein determining a representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell and determining an EIS voltage at the specified EIS frequency includes projecting a time series representation of the voltage across the electrochemical cell onto: (1) a relaxation waveform (linear curve) configured to at least partially account for the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell, and (2) an EIS waveform having the specified EIS frequency (pars 42-48 discloses a specified frequency and determining voltage and claim 8 discloses across the device).
Regarding claim 13, Sestok discloses wherein comprising: an EIS signal source, configured to generate a current signal through the electrochemical cell at a frequency including the specified EIS frequency (pars 30-32 discloses generating a current signal through 204 at a frequency).
Regarding claim 14, Sestok discloses wherein the processing circuitry is distributed among the current measurement device, the voltage measurement device, and a controller, wherein the controller is coupled to the current measurement device and the voltage measurement device (par 24 and 29 discloses processing and coupling 216-218 and 232/236).
Regarding claim 15, Sestok discloses a method for making an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) measurement (using 700), the method comprising (pars 68 and 69 discloses method of spectroscopy): determining an EIS voltage across an electrochemical cell at a specified EIS frequency (par 70 discloses using 704 measuring parameters of the Dut across the battery); determining an EIS current through the electrochemical cell at the specified EIS frequency, wherein at least one of: (1) determining the EIS voltage includes considering a change a DC voltage across the electrochemical cell; or (2) determining the EIS current includes considering a change in a DC current through the electrochemical cell (par 59 discloses determining voltages using time domain provided to the DUT); and determining an impedance of the electrochemical cell at the specified EIS frequency using the EIS voltage and the EIS current (par 62 discloses determining battery impedance based on frequency).
Regarding claim 20, Sestok discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) measurement system (using figs 1-9) to adjust for a change in a direct current (DC) voltage value of an electrochemical cell (battery cell) in an energy storage system(par 37 discloses determining battery characteristics), the EIS measurement system comprising: a current measurement device(using 216-218 because of the sense resistor), arranged for measuring a current through the electrochemical cell (par 25 discloses measured current of 204 through load 214); a voltage measurement device (232 and 236), arranged to be coupled across the electrochemical cell, for measuring a voltage across the electrochemical cell (par 28 discloses 232 receive AC across 205 and 236 receives DC across 205); and processing circuitry (202), coupled to the current measurement device and the voltage measurement device and configured to: determine a representation of the DC current through the electrochemical cell (par 40 discloses measuring a DUT for voltage of 204), wherein the representation of the DC current through the electrochemical cell indicates that the DC current through the electrochemical cell is changing (abstract, par 43, and fig 3 show 310 as changing of voltage); and determine an EIS current at a specified EIS frequency (par 47 discloses voltage response at different frequency domains)
using the representation of the DC current through the electrochemical cell and the measured current through the electrochemical cell (claim 9 discloses either through or across the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sestok et al (USPGPub 20240012062) in view of Tkachenko et al (USPGPub 201703002088).
Regarding claim 19, Sestok does not fully disclose wherein: the EIS measurement is made during charging of the electrochemical cell; and the change in the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell is due at least in part to the charging of the electrochemical cell.
However, Tkachenko discloses wherein: the EIS measurement is made during charging of the electrochemical cell; and the change in the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell is due at least in part to the charging of the electrochemical cell (abstract discloses EIS measurements done during charging).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sestok in view of Tkachenko known to test a battery cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) measurement system to adjust for a change in a direct current (DC) voltage value of an electrochemical cell in an energy storage system, the EIS measurement system comprising: wherein: the voltage measurement device is configured to generate recurring voltage measurements; and the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a plurality of recurring voltage measurements from the voltage measurement device; and determine, using the plurality of recurring voltage measurements: an unadjusted EIS voltage comprising a component of the plurality of recurring voltage measurements at the specified EIS frequency; and the representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 6-11 are also objected to as they depend on claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a method for making an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) measurement, the method comprising: determining an unadjusted EIS voltage across the electrochemical cell at the specified EIS frequency; estimating a rate of change of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell; and wherein determining the EIS voltage across the electrochemical cell at the specified EIS frequency includes adjusting the unadjusted EIS voltage using the estimated rate of change of the DC voltage in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 17 and 18 are also objected to as they depend on claim 16.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Magee et al (USPGPub 20230349979): discloses voltage and current measurement of a electrochemical impedance spectroscopy.
Chang et al (USPGPub 20240094302): discloses mitigating battery effects.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858