DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2023/0211537), hereinafter Liao.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 11, Liao discloses a method of manufacturing a reinforced plastic extruded part comprising: (a) providing plastic pellets (see Fig. 1, at the unlabeled hopper), wherein a raw material of the plastic pellets includes 10-99% of long fiber thermoplastic ‘masterbatch’ (par. 0030 – the term “masterbatch” is known in the art to be a pelletized plastic; this can be verified with a quick Google search), and the long fibers are glass or carbon fibers having a length of 6 mm to 25 mm (uses the same language as instant claims 1 and 2 in par. 0030); and
(b) forming the plastic pellets into a reinforced plastic extruded part by a single-screw extrusion operation (see par. 0021-0022; Figs. 1-2 showing the screw 25 within the extruder 20; par. 0042), wherein the single-screw extrusion operation is performed under a screw L/D ratio of 26 (par. 0043) and a screw compression ratio of 2.0-4.0 (par. 0028).
Liao does not explicitly disclose that the amount of long fibers is as required in the claims, or that the screw compression ratio is as claimed, instead describing values that overlap with the claimed values.
However, it has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified that the screw compression ratio is between 3 and 4 instead of the disclosed values of 2 and 4, as well as the amount of fibers present in the long fiber thermoplastic masterbatch.
Regarding claim 6, Liao discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the raw material includes 1-90% by weight of a thermoplastic resin (par. 0030), overlapping with the claimed range of 40-99%.
However, it has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified that the resin is included in a percentage as is required in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Liao discloses the subject matter of claim 6, and further discloses that the thermoplastic polymer is polypropylene, or polyamide (par. 0030).
Regarding claim 10, Liao discloses the subject matter of claim 6, and further discloses that the raw material includes a colorant (par. 0033).
Regarding claims 12-13, Liao discloses the subject matter of claim 11, and these limitations are considered met by the performed steps of claim 1. Additionally, with respect to the length of the tube, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected any length for a given application/use of the extruded product.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 8-9 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US 2023/0211537) as applied to claims 2/7 above, and further in view of Donners et al. (US 2022/0235185), hereinafter Donners.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 8-9, Liao discloses the subject matter of claims 2/7, but does not appear to disclose that the fiber surface includes a sizing agent, or the specific maleic anhydride/ethylene copolymer combination as required in claims 8-9.
However, Donners, as part of a process of producing similar pellets (Donners, par. 0094), where the length of the fiber included is the length of the pellet (end of par. 0094), includes a silane coupling agent (Donners, par. 0029 – as in claims 4-5). Donners further describes the use of an ethylene containing copolymer, used with polypropylene (Donners, par. 0057) and a maleic anhydride (par. 0115) as in claims 8-9. Donners further explains that the coupling agents are used to improve adhesion between the fiber reinforcements and the matrix polymer of the material (Donners, par. 0029). Accordingly, in order to likewise improve adhesion between the fiber and the polymer, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that there is a coupling agent and the polymer combination described in Donners, in the process of Liao above, as is required in the claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742