DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on July 24, 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward et al. US 2023/0109232 A1 [hereinafter Ward] in view of Zee et al. US 2021/0266161 A1 [hereinafter Zee].
As per claim 1 Ward teaches a logic circuit comprising:
an interface to communicate with a host [figures 1-3];
a processor [figures 1-3]; and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to:
in response to a first start session command without having previously derived a shared key with the host, communicate with the host through a pairing channel where communications are authenticated using a session key derived from a pairing base key, to derive the shared key [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049]; and
in response to the first start session command and after having derived the shared key, communicate with the host through a nominal channel where communications are authenticated using a session key derived from the shared key [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
In the same field of endeavor, Zee teaches a secure communication system comprising: in response to a first start session command, when not having previously derived shared key with a host, generating a shared key [paragraphs 0092, 0094 and 0103]; and in response to the first session command, when having previously derived the shared key with the host, generating a session key from the shared key [paragraphs 0092, 0094 and 0103]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Zee within the system of Ward in order to enhance security of the system by generating keys for secure data transfer.
As per claim 8, Ward teaches a logic circuitry package comprising:
an interface to communicate with a host [figures 1-3];
a logic circuit [figures 1-3]; and
a memory [figures 1-3] storing instructions that when executed by the logic circuit cause the logic circuit to:
process a pairing/nominal start session command from the host [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049];
in response to the pairing/nominal start session command, when not having completed a pairing sequence with the host to derive a shared key, communicate with the host through a pairing channel where communications are authenticated using a session key derived from a pairing base key [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049]; and
in response to the pairing/nominal start session command, when having stored the shared key associated with the host, communicate with the host through a nominal channel where communications are authenticated using a session key derived from the shared key [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
In the same field of endeavor, Zee teaches a secure communication system comprising: in response to a first start session command, when not having previously derived shared key with a host, generating a shared key [paragraphs 0092, 0094 and 0103]; and in response to the first session command, when having previously derived the shared key with the host, generating a session key from the shared key [paragraphs 0092, 0094 and 0103]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Zee within the system of Ward in order to enhance security of the system by generating keys for secure data transfer.
As per claim 2, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the memory stores instructions that when executed by the processor further cause the processor to: in response to a second start session command, communicate with the host through an admin channel where communications are authenticated using a session key received from the host as part of the second start session command, or in response to a third start session command, communicate with the host through a legacy channel where communications are authenticated using a session key derived from a peripheral base key [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 3, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the different channels each enable (i) different functionalities of the logic circuit or (ii) the logic circuit to respond to different commands received from the host [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 9, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the memory stores instructions that when executed by the logic circuit further cause the logic circuit to: process an admin start session command from the host [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049]; and in response to the admin start session command, communicate with the host through an admin channel where communications are authenticated using a session key received from the host as part of the admin start session command [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 10, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the memory stores instructions that when executed by the logic circuit further cause the logic circuit to: in response to receiving an unauthenticated command while no sessions are active within any of said channels, transmit an unauthenticated response [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 11, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the unauthenticated command is not an admin start session command [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 12, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein each of at least two or at least three of the pairing channel, the nominal channel, the admin channel, and the legacy channel enable different functionalities of the logic circuitry package [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 13, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the memory comprises a plurality of partitions and the logic circuit is configured so that read and/or write access to the plurality of partitions is different between the different channels [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 14, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the pairing/nominal start session command includes a host identifier and a first key identifier corresponding to the pairing base key, the admin start session command includes the session key, and/or a legacy start session command includes a second key identifier corresponding to a peripheral base key [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
As per claim 15, Ward further teaches the circuit wherein the host of the pairing channel and the nominal channel comprises a print apparatus logic circuit, the host of the admin channel comprises an administrative processing system to personalize the logic circuitry package, and/or the host of a legacy channel comprises a limited access processing system [paragraphs 0021-0022, 0041-0045 and 0048-0049].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435