Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species II (FIG. 7-9) in the reply filed on 13 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and/or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 May 2026.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 13 May 2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn by the Applicant.
Claims 1-14 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: NO 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cook et al (US 5392514), hereafter referred to as Cook.
Regarding Claim 1, Cook discloses the following:
An airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) for a turbine engine, the airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) comprising:
a composite core (the spar member 22 may be made of a high strength composite, having multiple layers of braided structural fiber, such as graphite, aramid, or fiberglass, Col. 4, lines 40-65; having the same construction as US 5,222,297, see Col. 4, lines 62-65) having a pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) and a suction sidewall (top of 22, FIG. 2-4) each extending between a core leading edge (left side of 20, FIG. 2 of US 5,222,297) and a core trailing edge (right side of 20, FIG. 2 of US 5,222,297); and
a leading edge protective wrap, comprising:
a trailing wrap (22) wrapped around (while Cook only shows the spar schematically, the details of the spar have been incorporated from US 5,222,297 which clearly shows the fiber wrap wrapping around at least the foam portion 20 of the core, as best seen in FIG. 2) the core leading edge (left side of 20, FIG. 2 of US 5,222,297) the core leading edge (left side of 20, FIG. 2 of US 5,222,297) and connected to the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) and the suction sidewall (top of 22, FIG. 2-4) of the composite core (the spar member 22 may be made of a high strength composite, having multiple layers of braided structural fiber, such as graphite, aramid, or fiberglass, Col. 4, lines 40-65; having the same construction as US 5,222,297, see Col. 4, lines 62-65), the trailing wrap (22) having a pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) and a suction sidewall (top of 22, FIG. 2-4);
a leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) having a pressure sidewall (bottom of the 42, FIG. 4) and a suction sidewall (top of 42, FIG. 4); and
a nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) disposed between the trailing wrap (22) and the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4);
wherein the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) is connected at least in part to the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) of the trailing wrap (22) and at least in part to the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15),
wherein the suction sidewall (top of 22, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) is connected at least in part to the suction sidewall (top of 22, FIG. 2-4) of the trailing wrap (22) and at least in part to the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15).
Regarding Claim 2, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 1, further comprising:
a filler (resin that impregnates the fabric layers; see for example Col. 3, lines 30-35) positioned between at least one of:
the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) and the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 42, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4), and
the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) and the suction sidewall (top of 42, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4)(as seen in FIG. 4, the filler 26 is both between the nose laminate and the pressure and suction sides of the leading wrap).
Regarding Claim 4, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 1,
wherein the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) has a leading edge, the trailing wrap (22) has a leading edge, and the leading edge of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) is spaced from the leading edge of the trailing wrap (22).
Regarding Claim 5, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 4,
wherein the leading edge of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) is positioned upstream of the leading edge of the trailing wrap (22).
Regarding Claim 6, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 4,
wherein the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) is disposed between the leading edge of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) and the leading edge of the trailing wrap (22).
Regarding Claim 7, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 6,
wherein the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) includes a first ply and a second ply, wherein the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 42, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) is disposed on the first ply and the suction sidewall (top of 42, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) is disposed on the second ply (the individual plies are disposed on both the pressure and suction sides of the leading wrap).
Regarding Claim 9, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 1,
wherein the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) is disposed between the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 42, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) and the suction sidewall (top of 42, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 1,
wherein the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) forms at least a part of a leading edge radius of the airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 13, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 1,
further comprising filler (resin that impregnates the fabric layers; see for example Col. 3, lines 30-35) disposed between the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4), the trailing wrap (22), and the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15).
Regarding Claim 14, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 13,
wherein the filler (resin that impregnates the fabric layers; see for example Col. 3, lines 30-35) is formed of at least one of a resin, an adhesive, composite tows, a 2D weave, a 3D weave, rolled fibers, and a preform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (US 5392514), hereafter referred to as Cook.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Cook discloses the following:
The airfoil (10, FIG. 1-4) of claim 1,
wherein the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) has at least two plies, (claim 3);
Cook does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein at least one ply of the at least two plies of the nose laminate and the trailing wrap have the same thickness (claim 3); wherein the pressure sidewall of the trailing wrap is thicker than the pressure sidewall of the leading wrap (claim 12);
However the Examiner notes the following:
Cook discloses an airfoil having a nose laminate comprising at least 2 plies, a leading wrap, and a trailing wrap. In other words, Cook discloses the same claimed structure(s) as the Instant Application, except the relative dimensions claimed. The Instant Application has not disclosed the limitation(s) of: wherein at least one ply of the at least two plies of the nose laminate and the trailing wrap have the same thickness (claim 3); wherein the pressure sidewall of the trailing wrap is thicker than the pressure sidewall of the leading wrap (claim 12); provides any criticality. Note that the mere existence of these relative dimensions themselves in the claim cannot impart criticality as composite airfoil could be described in such a way. Therefore without explicit support for the relative dimensions of the claim(s) providing a critical result, it appears Cook would perform equally well with the relative values as claimed by Applicant. Since the courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thicknesses of the leading wrap, trailing wrap, and nose laminate plies, as disclosed by Cook, by utilizing the specific value(s) (relative dimensions) as described above, with the reasonable expectation of successfully specifically selecting specific ply thicknesses. (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Cook as modified teaches in the following:
wherein at least one ply of the at least two plies of the nose laminate (individual fabric plies 42; FIG. 4; Col. 4, lines 15-25, Col. 5, lines 0-15) and the trailing wrap (22) have the same thickness (claim 3); wherein the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) of the trailing wrap (22) is thicker than the pressure sidewall (bottom of the 22, FIG. 2-4) of the leading wrap (continuous portion of 42; FIG. 4) (claim 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claim 8:
wherein the nose laminate forms a butt joint with the leading edge of the trailing wrap;
Regarding Claim 10:
wherein the leading edge radius is formed in part by the nose laminate and in part by the leading wrap, wherein the pressure sidewall of the leading wrap and the suction sidewall of the leading wrap are not contiguous at the leading edge radius of the airfoil;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Cook et al (US 5392514) or Graff et al (US 5222297).
The Examiner notes Cook is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar airfoil arrangements see Pages 1-8.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745