DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to an amendment filed on 4/17/2025 in which claims 1-12 were presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Figs. 8-31 in the reply filed on 2/9/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). It is noted that based on an interview with Mr. Coles that Figs. 8-31 are the same embodiment but different point of view. Examiner agreed and therefore species Figs. 8-31 will be examined on the merit.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,313,380. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim the same subject matter of a protective mantle and accessory hub, having a primary yoke comprising a one-piece element configured to cover the thorax of the wearer and providing for a gap delimiting an opening delimited by respective front sides of the yoke; and wherein the primary yoke retains one or more accessories.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cole et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0196203 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cole et al. “Cole” discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub (Fig. 12 identifier 22), comprising:
a primary yoke (See annotated Fig. A above) comprising a one-piece element (As shown in Fig. A having a one-piece element or structure) configured (capable) to over the thorax of the wearer (when worn) and providing for a gap delimiting an opening delimited by respective front sides of the yoke (See Fig. A);
wherein the primary yoke (See Fig. A) is configured (capable) to retain a one or more accessories (For example 24, 26 described in para. 0052).
Regarding claim 2, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the accessories include a throat guard (24), a deltoid guard (46), a collar (26), or combinations thereof (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the deltoid guard (46) removably attached to a shoulder area of the primary yoke (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the deltoid guard (46) is removably attached to the shoulder area of the primary yoke by an expandable element (Fig. 5 illustrates a strap 48 which was considered as the expandable element).
Regarding claim 5, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub including a bicep guard attached to the deltoid guard such that the bicep guard can articulate with respect to the deltoid guard (Fig. 1 the portion under 48 is considered as the bicep guard).
Regarding claim 6, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the throat guard (24) is removably attached to the collar of the primary yoke (See Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the throat guard (24) is removably received in one or more openings of the primary yoke (See Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein at least one of the one or more openings is located on the collar of the primary yoke (See Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein a shoulder suspension member (44) is received by the primary yoke (See Fig. 5), the shoulder suspension member (44) configured (capable) to distribute the weight of the armor carrier disposed over the primary yoke. The recitation “to distribute…yoke” was considered as functional, the device of the prior art discloses substantially al of the claimed structural elements, and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function.
Regarding claim 11, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub comprising a ballistic material (See for example para. 0058, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the ballistic material comprises soft armor (See para. 0011 describing soft armor, and para. 0058 describe a lighter fabric ballistic protective material which was considered as soft armor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0196203 A1) in view of Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 3,981,027).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Cole discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub wherein the upper protector (which was considered as the protective mantel and accessory hub).
Cole does not disclose a lateral expansion feature comprising a resilient elastic material.
Anderson teaches yet another protective mantle and accessory hub (See Fig. 3), having a lateral expansion feature (1) comprising firm rubber, which was considered as a resilient elastic material.
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Cole device with a lateral expansion feature comprising a resilient elastic material as taught by Anderson in order to restrict the shoulder pads from putting pressure on the neck of the wearer when reaching in front of the body or above the head (See Abstract) and to enhance fit of the device on the wearer.
IN AN ALTERNATIVE:
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Storms et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0205708 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Storms discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub (See Fig. 1A identifier 100), comprising:
a primary yoke (See annotated Fig. B above) comprising a one-piece element (See Fig. B clearly illustrating a one-piece element or structure) configured (capable) to cover the thorax of the wearer (when worn) and providing for a gap (See Fig. B) delimiting an opening (See Fig. B) delimited by respective front sides of the yoke (See Fig. B); and
wherein the primary yoke retains one or more accessories (para. 0030 describe exterior pouches, pockets or carriers such as ballistic plate, ammunition, also para. 0046-0047 describe accessories).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beck (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0128577 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Beck discloses a protective mantle and accessory hub (See Fig. 2 identifier 100), comprising:
a primary yoke (See annotated Fig. C above) comprising a one-piece element (Fig. C clearly illustrates a one-piece element or structure) configured (capable) to cover the thorax of the wearer (When worn) and providing for a gap (See Fig. C) delimiting an opening (See Fig. C) delimited by respective front sides of the yoke (See Fig. C); and
wherein the primary yoke (See Fig. C) retains one or more accessories (para. 0036).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered (See PTO-892) pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732