DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wherein the connection between the connection socket and the connector can be made by moving the connector linearly along a direction which runs substantially perpendicularly to the front wall or rear wall (claim 14), wherein the connection between the connection socket and the connector can be separated by moving the connector linearly along a direction which runs substantially perpendicularly to the front wall or rear wall (claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, the phrase "like" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "designed in such a way that I can be placed” renders the claim indefinite as the limitation is claimed a result to be achieved without the necessary steps or structure to achieve the claimed goal. MPEP 2173.05(g).
Claims 14 and 15 recite how the connector and connector socket assemble in a motion perpendicular to the front and rear wall, this is unclear as FIG 4 shows connector (30) and connector socket (37) but no space to move perpendicular to the surface of the front and rear wall, only parallel to the front and rear wall. Further the claimed direction is not specific if it is referring to the plane of the front and rear wall, the longitudinal axis, or the lateral axis.
Claims 3-14 depend from claims 1 and 2 above and therefore inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al (US 20110139816) in view of Morad et al (US 7509705 B1).
Claim 1, Kessler discloses a flat housing (FIG 20) with a front wall and a rear wall (FIG 7), and is designed in such a way that it can be placed, like a plate, in a plate holder in the interior of the dishwasher (FIG 18; [0060]), wherein the front wall or rear wall of the housing has at least one first channel-like recess which begins at a base of the housing (108; FIG 20; [0243]),
But is silent on wherein a depth of the first recess decreases starting from the base of the housing in the direction of an upper end of the first recess.
Morad teaches wherein a depth of the first recess decreases starting from the base and continues in the direction of an upper end of the first recess (Col 2, lines 51 to 53; 22; FIG 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kessler with depth of recess as taught by Morad in order to provide a channel that can align with and slide onto a channel.
Claim 2, Kessler discloses wherein the front wall or rear wall of the housing has a second channel-like recess (108; FIG 20), which is at a distance from the first recess and runs parallel to the first recess (FIG 20).
Claim 3, Kessler discloses the claimed invention except for the depth of the first recess is constant in a bottommost or lower third and decreases continuously in an upper third. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the depth of the recess in order to best fit and align with the struts of the rack in order to prevent lateral slippage, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claim 4, Kessler discloses wherein the course of a groove bottom of the first recess has an inflection point (a change of direction of the bottom surface of the groove is an inherent feature of the type shown in FIG 20).
Claim 5, Kessler discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the distance between the first recess and the second recess is 6 to 12 cm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the distance between recess in order to best fit and align with the struts of the rack in order to prevent lateral slippage, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claim 6, Kessler discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a width of the first recess is 2 to 4 cm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the width of the recess in order to best fit and align with the struts of the rack in order to prevent lateral slippage, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claim 7, Kessler discloses wherein the housing has a height of 200 to 280 mm ([0061]).
Claim 8, Kessler discloses wherein the housing has a width of 200 to 280 mm ([0060] – [0061]).
Claim 9, Kessler discloses wherein the housing has a maximum thickness of between 20 and 28 mm ([0060] – [0061]; [0237]).
Claim 10, Kessler discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a thickness of the housing decreases from the base in the direction of an upper housing edge of the housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the maximum depth of the recess in order to best fit in the rack and align with the struts of the rack in order to prevent lateral slippage, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claim 11, Kessler discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a maximum depth of the first recess is between 5 and 15 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the maximum depth of the recess in order to best fit and align with the struts of the rack in order to prevent lateral slippage, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claim 12, Kessler discloses wherein the dispensing system has at least one dispensing valve (19a-c) and a dispensing opening (22a-c) associated with the dispensing valve, wherein the dispensing valve and the dispensing opening are arranged near the base (2; FIG 8-10).
Claim 13, Kessler discloses wherein the dispensing system has at least two dispensing valves (19a-c), between which the first recess is arranged (108; FIG 19).
Claim 14, Kessler discloses wherein the dispensing system has a container (3a-c) with at least one connector (15) and a connection socket (16, 23; FIG 8-9) in which the connector is inserted when the container is in the inserted state, wherein the connection between the connection socket and the connector can be made by moving the connector linearly along a direction which runs substantially perpendicularly to the front wall or rear wall (see 112 above).
Claim 15, Kessler discloses wherein the connection between the connection socket and the connector can be separated by moving the connector linearly along a direction which runs substantially perpendicularly to the front wall or rear wall (15, 16, 23; FIG 8-9).
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754