DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending for examination in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2025 and 03/02/2026 is
in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The applicant is claiming foreign priority based on foreign applications
KR10-2022-0136663, filed on 10/21/2022, and KR10-2022-0133124, filed on 10/17/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by KIM et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0166641 A1), hereinafter “Kim”.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a first node in a wireless communication system (Kim,
[0088], illustrated is a data transceiving operation of a transmitting apparatus corresponding to a base station having a PDCP entity transferring UP data, and a receiving apparatus corresponding to another base station receiving the UP data and transmitting feedback of a reception state.).,
identify a maximum transmission period of a downlink data delivery status (DDDS) (Kim, [0109], the receiving apparatus may transmit the maximum delivery status PDU interval IE (maximum_delivery_status_PDU_interval) to the transmitting apparatus so that the transmitting apparatus can utilize the information to manage information on data loss.). [0098], Table 6 below shows an example in which the maximum delivery status PDU interval IE among the Extended_IEs.).
transmitting, to a second node, a first DDDS including information on a first desired buffer size (DBS) (Kim, [Table 2, 0083], Table 2 shows an example of a format of a downlink data delivery status PDU (PDU_TYPE_1) for requesting retransmission of the data packet in which a loss occurs. [Table 8, 0122], Desired Buffer siz).
and receiving, from the second node, first downlink data identified based on the first DBS (Kim, [0090], The transmitting apparatus corresponding to the eNB or gNB may determine whether to transmit a data received from the SGW (or the core network) to the receiving apparatus corresponding to the eNB or the gNB (S710). [0083, Table 2].).
and wherein the first DBS is identified based on at least one of the maximum transmission period or a size of an empty buffer of the first node (Kim, [0092], When the transmitting apparatus determines to transmit the data to the receiving apparatus, it may be determined whether it is necessary to change a maximum delivery status PDU interval during which the transmitting apparatus desires to receive feedback information indicating whether or not the data transmitted by the transmitting apparatus is normally received at the receiving apparatus.[0093], When it is determined to be necessary to change the maximum delivery status PDU interval, the maximum delivery status PDU interval may be changed by reflecting information indicating the change of the maximum delivery status PDU interval to the Extended_IE of the downlink user data PDU (PDU_type_0) (S720).).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses based on the maximum transmission period elapsing,
transmitting, to the first node, a second DDDS including information on a second DBS (Kim, [0119], whether a missed data exists or not by identifying the sequence number, and accordingly, the receiving apparatus may update feedback information (S840). When a missed data is not identified, the receiving apparatus may activate a next feedback transmission timer (S850-1). When the next feedback transmission timer expires or the feedback is triggered by the transmitting apparatus, the receiving apparatus may transmit a new delivery status PDU after stopping the next feedback transmission timer (S860-1).).;
and receiving, from the second node, second downlink data identified based on the second DBS (Kim, [0106], transmitting apparatus may stop the ACK feedback waiting timer for the data related to the ACK, and delete the corresponding data in the buffer (S760).). [0120], When a missed data is identified, the receiving apparatus may activate a discard timer for the missed data (S850-2).).
wherein the second DBS is identified based on at least one of the maximum transmission period or a size of an empty buffer of the first node after the maximum transmission period elapses (Kim, [0118], On the other hand, when the identified Extended_IE is a maximum delivery status PDU interval IE (maximum delivery status PDU interval), the receiving apparatus may update a maximum allowable feedback time.).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the second node includes a master node including a
packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer (Kim, [0003], the DC is a technique for increasing transmission efficiency for a terminal by simultaneously using radio resources provided by a master base station (e.g., a master eNodeB (MeNB)) and a secondary base station (e.g., a secondary eNodeB (SeNB)).
wherein the first node includes a secondary node including a radio link control (RLC) layer (Kim, [0070], data of the spilt bearer may be transmitted from the SGW (not shown) to the SeNB 420 after passing through a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) of the MeNB 410.). [0075], a bearer may be classified into a MN terminated bearer and a SN terminated bearer according to whether a user plane (UP) connection with a core network is connected through the MN or the SN (i.e., depending on whether a PDCP entity is in the MN or the SN).). [0079], An interface in the UP may be referred to as a ‘F1-U’, and may be defined for user data transfers between a PDCP entity of the CU and a radio link control (RLC) entity of the DU.).
and wherein the first downlink data and the second downlink data include a PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) (Kim, [0058], Also, data may also refer to a packet, a data packet, or a protocol data unit (PDU). [0083, Table. 1].
As to claim 4, Kim discloses the maximum transmission period is identified based on at
least one of a status of a buffer of the first node or a speed of a router included in a path between the first node and the second node (Kim, [0092], When the transmitting apparatus determines to transmit the data to the receiving apparatus, it may be determined whether it is necessary to change a maximum delivery status PDU interval during which the transmitting apparatus desires to receive feedback information indicating whether or not the data transmitted by the transmitting apparatus is normally received at the receiving apparatus. [0084], data requested to be retransmitted to the receiving base station based on a configured maximum retransmission count and a delivery status feedback cycle, or the like.).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses a method performed by a second node in a wireless
communication system (Kim, [0088], data transceiving operation of a transmitting apparatus corresponding to a base station having a PDCP entity transferring UP data, and a receiving apparatus corresponding to another base station receiving the UP data and transmitting a feedback of a reception state.).
the method comprising: receiving, from a first node, a first downlink data delivery status (DDDS) including information on a first desired buffer size (DBS) (Kim, [0101], the transmitting apparatus may receive from the receiving apparatus feedback information indicating whether the data transmitted by the transmitting apparatus is normally received or not (S750). The feedback information may be transmitted to the transmitting apparatus as included in the above-described data delivery status PDU. [0084, Table. 2], Desired buffer size for the data radio bearer).;
and transmitting, to the first node, first downlink data corresponding to the first DBS, wherein the first DBS is identified based on at least one of a maximum transmission period of the first DDDS or a size of an empty buffer of the first node (Kim, [0090], The transmitting apparatus corresponding to the eNB or gNB may determine whether to transmit a data received from the SGW (or the core network) to the receiving apparatus corresponding to the eNB or the gNB (S710). (Kim, [0084, Table. 2] Desired buffer size for the data radio bearer).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses based on the maximum transmission period elapsing,
receiving a second DDDS including information on a second DBS from the first node (Kim, [0119], When the next feedback transmission timer expires or the feedback is triggered by the transmitting apparatus, the receiving apparatus may transmit a new delivery status PDU after stopping the next feedback transmission timer (S860-1).).;
and transmitting second downlink data corresponding to the second DBS to the first node, wherein the second DBS is identified based on at least one of the maximum transmission period or a size of an empty buffer of the first node after the maximum transmission period elapses (Kim, [0070], downlink data may be directly transmitted from a serving gateway (SGW) to the SeNB 420. In the case of the split bearer, data of the spilt bearer may be transmitted from the SGW (not shown) to the SeNB 420 after passing through a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) of the MeNB 410. Here, when the MeNB 410 transfers the data to the SeNB 420, the MeNB 410 may buffer the data transmitted to the SeNB 420 against data loss, and provide retransmission when it is necessary to retransmit the data. [0118], On the other hand, when the identified Extended_IE is a maximum delivery status PDU interval IE (maximum delivery status PDU interval), the receiving apparatus may update a maximum allowable feedback time. [0119-0120], When a missed data is not identified, the receiving apparatus may activate a next feedback transmission timer (S850-1). the receiving apparatus may activate a discard timer for the missed data (S850-2). Then, when the discard timer expires, the receiving apparatus may delete the corresponding NACK feedback information (S850-3). The receiving apparatus may transmit a delivery status PDU including NACK feedback information to the transmitting information (S860-2).).
As to claim 7, Kim discloses the second node includes a master node including a packet
data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer (Kim, [0003], the DC is a technique for increasing transmission efficiency for a terminal by simultaneously using radio resources provided by a master base station (e.g., a master eNodeB (MeNB)) and a secondary base station (e.g., a secondary eNodeB (SeNB)).
wherein the first node includes a secondary node including a radio link control (RLC) layer (Kim, [0070], data of the spilt bearer may be transmitted from the SGW (not shown) to the SeNB 420 after passing through a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) of the MeNB 410.). [0075], a bearer may be classified into a MN terminated bearer and a SN terminated bearer according to whether a user plane (UP) connection with a core network is connected through the MN or the SN (i.e., depending on whether a PDCP entity is in the MN or the SN).). [0079], An interface in the UP may be referred to as a ‘F1-U’, and may be defined for user data transfers between a PDCP entity of the CU and a radio link control (RLC) entity of the DU.).
and wherein the first downlink data and the second downlink data include a PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) (Kim, [0118], On the other hand, when the identified Extended_IE is a maximum delivery status PDU interval IE (maximum delivery status PDU interval), the receiving apparatus may update a maximum allowable feedback time.).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses the maximum transmission period is identified based on at
least one of a status of a buffer of the first node or a speed of a router included in a path between the first node and the second node (Kim, [0092], When the transmitting apparatus determines to transmit the data to the receiving apparatus, it may be determined whether it is necessary to change a maximum delivery status PDU interval during which the transmitting apparatus desires to receive feedback information indicating whether or not the data transmitted by the transmitting apparatus is normally received at the receiving apparatus. [0084], data requested to be retransmitted to the receiving base station based on a configured maximum retransmission count and a delivery status feedback cycle, or the like.).
As to claim 9, As to claim 1, Kim discloses a first node in a wireless communication
system (Kim, [0088], illustrated is a data transceiving operation of a transmitting apparatus corresponding to a base station having a PDCP entity transferring UP data, and a receiving apparatus corresponding to another base station receiving the UP data and transmitting feedback of a reception state.).,
the first node comprising: a transceiver (Kim, [0026], at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor, and a transceiver controlled by the at least one processor.).;
a processor coupled with the transceiver (Kim, [0050], For example, the processor 210 may be connected to at least one of the memory 220, the transceiver 230, the input interface device 240, the output interface device 250, and the storage device 260 via a dedicated interface.).;
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the first node device to: identify a maximum transmission period of a downlink data delivery status (DDDS) (Kim, [0109], the receiving apparatus may transmit the maximum delivery status PDU interval IE (maximum_delivery_status_PDU_interval) to the transmitting apparatus so that the transmitting apparatus can utilize the information to manage information on data loss.). [0098], Table 6 below shows an example in which the maximum delivery status PDU interval IE among the Extended_IEs.).
transmit a first DDDS including information on a first desired buffer size 0 (DBS) to a second node (Kim, [0083], Table 2 shows an example of a format of a downlink data delivery status PDU (PDU_TYPE_1) for requesting retransmission of the data packet in which a loss occurs. [0121-0122, Table. 8].
and receive first downlink data identified based on the first DBS from the second node (Kim, [0090], The transmitting apparatus corresponding to the eNB or gNB may determine whether to transmit a data received from the SGW (or the core network) to the receiving apparatus corresponding to the eNB or the gNB (S710). [0084, Table. 2], Desired buffer size for the data radio bearer.).
and wherein the first DBS is identified based on at least one of the maximum transmission period or a size of an empty buffer of the first node (Kim, [0092], When the transmitting apparatus determines to transmit the data to the receiving apparatus, it may be determined whether it is necessary to change a maximum delivery status PDU interval during which the transmitting apparatus desires to receive feedback information indicating whether or not the data transmitted by the transmitting apparatus is normally received at the receiving apparatus.[0093], When it is determined to be necessary to change the maximum delivery status PDU interval, the maximum delivery status PDU interval may be changed by reflecting information indicating the change of the maximum delivery status PDU interval to the Extended_IE of the downlink user data PDU (PDU_type_0) (S720).).
Claims 10-16 (wireless communication, [0088]) are rejected as same rationale claim 1-9 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
HA et. al. (WO 2024085484 A1) is one of the persistent arts discloses the present disclosure describes a method and device for avoiding packet loss due to network speed difference in a wireless communication system. In particular, an operation method of a first node in a wireless communication system according to various embodiments disclosed herein comprises the steps of: determining the maximum transmission interval for a downlink data transfer state; transmitting a first DDRS including information about a first DBS to the second node; and receiving, from the second node, first downlink data determined on the basis of the first DBS.
HASSAN et. al. (US 20200228194 A1) is one of the persistent arts discloses a system including a gateway, a non-terrestrial node, a terrestrial node and at least a user equipment and a HARQ controller, the gateway being configured to forward a data packet, the data packet to be transmitted to the user equipment, to the non-terrestrial node, the non-terrestrial node being configured to forward the received data packet to the user equipment using a signal, the user equipment being configured to analyze the received data packet regarding a transmission error and/or to analyze the signal from the non-terrestrial node regarding a signal quality and to generate a negative acknowledgment command or an acknowledgement command dependent on the transmission error or to generate another signal indicating the reception signal quality dependent on the reception signal quality, the user equipment being configured to transmit the acknowledgement command and the non-acknowledgement command or the other signal to the terrestrial node communicating with the non-terrestrial node.
/M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458