DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The double patenting rejection of claims 1-2, 5-13 over claims 1-22 of copending U.S. Pat. App. No. 18/511,209 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240268647 A1) have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 08/06/2026. U.S. Pat. App. No. 18/511,209 does not recite determining, from the fluorescent images of the sequence and based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting, the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal; and producing one or more images displaying the determined local distributions of the two or more different fluorescent dyes separately. Furthermore, these recitations are not obvious in view of the prior art of record.
Applicant’s arguments in Applicant’s responses filed 08/06/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and the rejection of claims 2 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections are made in view of newly found prior art Hoenes, et al., US 20130003043 A1.
Specifically, Hoenes, et al., US 20130003043 A1 teaches a measuring system for determining blood glucose, the system including a photometric measuring unit with a light source and a detector, and an analytical test element, to which a body fluid sample can be applied, and which can be placed in a beam path between the light source and the detector for optical detection of an analyte. The light source includes a first emitter that can be actuated in a first wavelength range to emit pulsating alternating light and a second emitter that can be excited in a second wavelength range to emit fluorescent light (abstract). The alternating light has a pulse duration, the fluorescent light decays with a fluorescence life cycle, and the fluorescence life cycle is multiple times greater than the pulse duration. By this means it is possible to use different life cycles or decay periods within the various wavelength ranges for the electronic selection instead of an elaborate wavelength selection through filters or the like, according to [0006].
Therefore, the teachings of Hoenes, et al., US 20130003043 A1 has been combined with the teachings of Fengler, et al., US 20170209050 A1 to arrive at the claimed invention.
Examiner notes that the use of excitation light in a plurality of non-overlapping excitation wavebands as disclosed in Fengler, et al., US 20170209050 A1 does not preclude alternating lighting protocol used in Hoenes, et al., US 20130003043 A1 because Fengler admits use of minimally overlapping or partially overlapping wavebands.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The objections made to claim 14 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 08/06/2026.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Pursuant of Applicant’s amendments filed 08/06/2026, the rejections made to claims 4, and 9-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 10, and 14, “the respective local distributions of two or more different dyes” should be amended to recite --respective local distributions of two or more different dyes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fengler, et al., US 20170209050 A1 in view of Hoenes, et al., US 20130003043 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Fengler teaches a method of medical multi-dye fluorescence imaging ([0007] discloses fluorescence imaging methods), the method comprising:
capturing fluorescent images of an operating field in which two or more different fluorescent dyes are present ([0062] describes imaging regions of interest using fluorescent imaging agents) in successive sequences of images with a surgical or diagnostic imaging device ([0065] discloses the method may comprise administration of a fluorescence imaging agent or other imaging agent to the subject, and generation or acquisition of the time series of fluorescence images prior to processing the image data),
each sequence of images alternating through different modes of excitation lighting adapted for at least one each of two or more of the two or more different dyes ([0129]-[0130] describe different illumination modes, including a combination mode, indicating that the visible light output and the fluorescence light output are pulsed so that different wavebands are illuminating the area to be imaged at different times, with [0007] discloses that the imaging system may include an excitation light provider that emits excitation light in a plurality of non-overlapping excitation wavebands for causing the object to emit fluorescent light), and
processing the captured images of each successive sequence of images in combination with each other ([0014] discloses processing the received image signals to generate images from the received image signals), the processing comprising:
determining, from the fluorescent images of the sequence [0065], the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes ([0071]-[0072] disclose lymphatic mapping where locations of lymph nodes are mapped or detected using fluorescent dyes) causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence ([0074] disclose localization of lymph nodes in lymphatic mapping using the responses from different fluorophores stating that The NIR fluorescent positive LNs (e.g., using ICG) may be represented as a black and white NIR fluorescence image(s) for example and/or as a full or partial color (white light) image, full or partial desaturated white light image, an enhanced colored image, an overlay (e.g., fluorescence with any other image), a composite image (e.g., fluorescence incorporated into another image) which may have various colors, various levels of desaturation or various ranges of a color to highlight/visualize certain features of interest); and
producing one or more images displaying the determined local distributions of the two or more different fluorescent dyes separately ([0170] describe displaying the white light images and the fluorescence images, indicating that the fluorescence images can then be individually or collectively combined with the full color, visible (white) light image for display. In another variation, the intensity of the fluorescence signal in a fluorescence image can be normalized by scaling the brightness (luma) of each of the fluorescence images with the co-registered reflected red light image signal (i.e., the red portion of the full visible (white) light image), and then displayed with a color map selected to emphasize specific ranges of fluorescence intensity).
Fengler does not teach that the determining the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence is based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting and by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Hoenes teaches a measuring system for determining blood glucose, the system including a photometric measuring unit with a light source and a detector, and an analytical test element, to which a body fluid sample can be applied, and which can be placed in a beam path between the light source and the detector for optical detection of an analyte. The light source includes a first emitter that can be actuated in a first wavelength range to emit pulsating alternating light and a second emitter that can be excited in a second wavelength range to emit fluorescent light (abstract, [0005]). The alternating light has a pulse duration, the fluorescent light decays with a fluorescence life cycle, and the fluorescence life cycle is multiple times greater than the pulse duration. By this means it is possible to use different life cycles or decay periods within the various wavelength ranges for the electronic selection instead of an elaborate wavelength selection through filters or the like, according to [0006]. Hoenes further teaches determining, from the fluorescent images of the sequence and based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting ([0026] states “Because it is possible to differentiate between the continuous light component and the pulsing light component during the detection, it is possible to measure the different light components emitted by the two emitters 26, 28 separately and without the use of wavelength filters or the like”), the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal [0024] disclose a dual-wavelength measurement of fluorescence using a detector 24 according to [0025]. [0025] further notes, with respect to the separation of contributions of fluorescence dyes that an integrating amplifier 48 for the integrated detection of a composite signal generated by the alternating light and the fluorescent light is located in the second amplifying stage. A subsequent signal processor 50 allows for the subtraction of the alternating light signal component from the composite signal and thereby the separate detection of the fluorescent light, or continuous light, signal component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Fengler, for determining, from the fluorescent images of the sequence and based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting, the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal, as taught by Hoenes, as such modification would improve the quality and precision of the measuring processes, wherein, with limited expenditure, an efficient and compact system is achieved according to [0005]-[0006], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Fengler proposes the system to be a simple, less cumbersome multi-mode system [0005]-[0006] that can operate in different illumination patterns with respect to the fluorophore being examined [0126].
Regarding claim 3, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein the processing further comprising using linear combinations of the two or more fluorescent images with regard to their respective brightness distributions ([0074] discloses that the NIR fluorescent positive LNs (e.g., using ICG) may be represented as a black and white NIR fluorescence image(s) for example and/or as a full or partial color (white light) image, full or partial desaturated white light image, an enhanced colored image, an overlay (e.g., fluorescence with any other image), a composite image (e.g., fluorescence incorporated into another image) which may have various colors, various levels of desaturation or various ranges of a color to highlight/visualize certain features of interest),
the linear combinations being performed with weighting factors determined from known or measured relative fluorescence response strengths (see figs. 3A and 3B) of the two or more different fluorescent dyes at the two or more different modes of excitation, the weighting factors chosen such as to separate the responses of the two or more fluorescent dyes from each other ([0170] states that “the intensity of the fluorescence signal in a fluorescence image can be normalized by scaling the brightness (luma) of each of the fluorescence images with the co-registered reflected red light image signal (i.e., the red portion of the full visible (white) light image), and then displayed with a color map selected to emphasize specific ranges of fluorescence intensity”).
Regarding claim 4, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 3 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein, in each linear combination, the contribution of a specific one of the two or more fluorescent dyes is left, whereas the contributions of the other one or more fluorescent dye or dyes is or are eliminated ([0074] discloses that the NIR fluorescent positive LNs (e.g., using ICG) may be represented as a black and white NIR fluorescence image(s) for example and/or as a full or partial color (white light) image, full or partial desaturated white light image, an enhanced colored image, an overlay (e.g., fluorescence with any other image), a composite image (e.g., fluorescence incorporated into another image) which may have various colors, various levels of desaturation or various ranges of a color to highlight/visualize certain features of interest. Meaning the contributions of certain dyes are highlighted with respect to other dyes).
Regarding claim 5, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein each of the different modes of excitation lighting comprises activating a different set of one or more fluorescence excitation lighting sources that are each adapted to produce fluorescence excitation lighting for a different one of the two or more different dyes ([0086] The excitation light provider may include one or more light sources (e.g., 214a-214d) that emit light in multiple wavebands for fluorescence excitation. The multiple wavebands are preferably non-overlapping or sufficiently separated from each other such that a single multi-band fluorescence excitation blocking filter can be used).
Regarding claim 6, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 5 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein at least one of the fluorescence excitation lighting sources is activated or kept activated continuously ([0130] discloses continuous illumination modes for the various types of fluorescence illumination modes).
Regarding claim 7, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Fengler further teaches comprising, in each sequence of images, additionally capturing at least one white light image under white light illumination ([0107] discloses that the first sensor 1220 may be configured to detect NIR-I and/or NIR-II light for the fluorescence image and second sensor 1230 may be a color image sensor with a CFA or a monochrome image sensor configured to detect visible light for the white light image), and producing a composite image of the at least one white light image with an overlay of the determined distribution or distributions of at least one of the two or more different fluorescent dyes ([0074] discloses that “The NIR fluorescent positive LNs (e.g., using ICG) may be represented as a black and white NIR fluorescence image(s) for example and/or as a full or partial color (white light) image, full or partial desaturated white light image, an enhanced colored image, an overlay (e.g., fluorescence with any other image), a composite image (e.g., fluorescence incorporated into another image) which may have various colors, various levels of desaturation or various ranges of a color to highlight/visualize certain features of interest”).
Regarding claim 8, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein the white light illumination is activated continuously ([0130] discloses that continuous illumination modes for the various types of white light illumination modes).
Regarding claim 9, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein the overlay is performed using a false color representation having a different color for each of the different fluorescent dyes ([0128] discloses that the displayed and/or recorded fluorescence emission image data may be monochrome (e.g., black and white or grayscale) or pseudo-colored (e.g., via a color map based on intensity or some other signal parameter) and may be displayed and/or recorded in a monochrome or pseudo-colored fashion at high definition (HD) or ultra-high definition (UHD or 4K) resolution (or other suitable resolution).
Regarding claim 10, Fengler teaches a system for medical multi-dye fluorescence imaging (the abstract discloses “A fluorescence imaging system for imaging an object, the system includes a white light provider that emits white light, an excitation light provider that emits excitation light in a plurality of excitation wavebands for causing the object to emit fluorescent light”), the system comprising:
a controller comprising hardware ([0014] discloses at least one controller and image processor),
a plurality of light sources controlled by the controller ([0014] discloses that the controller controls the light sources), the plurality of light sources comprising two or more fluorescence excitation illumination light sources configured to provide excitation illumination ([0009] discloses at least four excitation light sources),
wherein each of the two or more fluorescence excitation illumination light sources is configured to generate a different excitation lighting ([0017] disclose excitation light source emissions at different wavelengths) adapted to a different one of two or more different pre-selected fluorescence dyes ([0046] FIG. 3A is a table summarizing exemplary fluorescence excitation/emission wavebands and exemplary fluorophores (imaging agents). FIG. 3B is a plot of absorption and emission spectra for selected fluorophores described in FIG. 3A),
at least one imaging unit comprising a first image sensor sensitive for fluorescence light from the two or more different pre-selected fluorescence dyes ([0008] discloses an image sensor assembly that receives the transmitted reflected white light and the fluorescent light), the controller being configured to:
control the plurality of fluorescence excitation illumination light sources by activating the two or more different fluorescence excitation illumination light sources in successive sequences of activations, each sequence of activations alternating through different modes of excitation lighting adapted for at least one each of two or more of the two or more different dyes ([0129]-[0130] describe different illumination modes, including a combination mode, indicating that the visible light output and the fluorescence light output are pulsed so that different wavebands are illuminating the area to be imaged at different times, with [0007] discloses that the imaging system may include an excitation light provider that emits excitation light in a plurality of non-overlapping excitation wavebands for causing the object to emit fluorescent light. Further, [0129] describes pulsing schemes for the visible light and fluorescent light sources including illuminating the sources at different times),
receive first image data from the first image sensor in synchronization with the successive sequences of activations of the two or more different fluorescence excitation illumination light sources, process the first image data of each successive sequence of images in combination with each other ([0014] discloses the system may include at least one image processor that receives image signals from the image sensor assembly and processes the received image signals to generate images from the received image signals, with [0065] disclosing that the method may comprise administration of a fluorescence imaging agent or other imaging agent to the subject, and generation or acquisition of the time series of fluorescence images prior to processing the image data. [0130] discloses an image processing scheme that matches the pulsing sequence in the illumination module to enable the separation of the image signals),
the processing comprising determining the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes ([0071], [0074] disclose localization of lymph nodes in lymphatic mapping using the responses from the fluorophores) causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence and produce one or more images displaying the determined local distributions of the two or more different fluorescent dyes separately ([0170] describe displaying the white light images and the fluorescence images, indicating that the fluorescence images can then be individually or collectively combined with the full color, visible (white) light image for display. In another variation, the intensity of the fluorescence signal in a fluorescence image can be normalized by scaling the brightness (luma) of each of the fluorescence images with the co-registered reflected red light image signal (i.e., the red portion of the full visible (white) light image), and then displayed with a color map selected to emphasize specific ranges of fluorescence intensity).
Regarding claim 11, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein the plurality of light sources further comprising a white illumination light source configured to provide white light illumination ([0014] discloses that the controller may cause the white light provider to emit white light and the image processor may generate a white light image based on image signals associated with the reflected white light from the object),
the imaging unit further comprising a second image sensor sensitive in a visible light spectrum ([0107] discloses that the first sensor 1220 may be configured to detect NIR-I and/or NIR-II light for the fluorescence image and second sensor 1230 may be a color image sensor with a CFA or a monochrome image sensor configured to detect visible light for the white light image), wherein the controller is further configured to:
control the white illumination light source by activating the white illumination light source such as to, within each successive sequence of activations, alternating through different modes of excitation lighting as well as white light illumination ([0129]-[0130] describe different illumination modes including pulsing the excitation lights to output different wavebands such that the illumination modes are separated by time. Meaning the illumination of the different wavebands are pulsed at different times during the combination mode of illumination and [0007] states that The imaging system may include an excitation light provider that emits excitation light in a plurality of non-overlapping excitation wavebands for causing the object to emit fluorescent light. The illumination mode is also for white light source),
receive second image data from the second image sensor in synchronization with the successive activations of the white illumination light source ([0014] discloses that the image processor may separate image signals from the image sensor assembly into a first set of image signals associated with the reflected white light), and
produce a composite image by overlaying the one or more images displaying the determined local distributions of the two or more different fluorescent dyes over a white light illumination image derived from the second image data ([0074] discloses that “The NIR fluorescent positive LNs (e.g., using ICG) may be represented as a black and white NIR fluorescence image(s) for example and/or as a full or partial color (white light) image, full or partial desaturated white light image, an enhanced colored image, an overlay (e.g., fluorescence with any other image), a composite image (e.g., fluorescence incorporated into another image) which may have various colors, various levels of desaturation or various ranges of a color to highlight/visualize certain features of interest”).
Regarding claim 13, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Fengler further teaches wherein the controller is configured to use linear combinations of the two or more fluorescent images with regard to their respective brightness distributions ([0074] discloses that the NIR fluorescent positive LNs (e.g., using ICG) may be represented as a black and white NIR fluorescence image(s) for example and/or as a full or partial color (white light) image, full or partial desaturated white light image, an enhanced colored image, an overlay (e.g., fluorescence with any other image), a composite image (e.g., fluorescence incorporated into another image) which may have various colors, various levels of desaturation or various ranges of a color to highlight/visualize certain features of interest), the linear combinations being done with weighting factors determined from known or measured relative fluorescence response strengths of the two or more different fluorescent dyes at the two or more different modes of excitation (see fig. 3A for the table summarizing exemplary fluorescence excitation/emission wavebands and exemplary fluorophores (imaging agents) and fig. 3B for the plot of absorption and emission spectra for selected fluorophores described in FIG. 3A and [0170] indicating that the fluorescence images can then be individually or collectively combined with the full color, visible (white) light image for display. In another variation, the intensity of the fluorescence signal in a fluorescence image can be normalized by scaling the brightness (luma) of each of the fluorescence images with the co-registered reflected red light image signal (i.e., the red portion of the full visible (white) light image), and then displayed with a color map selected to emphasize specific ranges of fluorescence intensity), the weighting factors chosen such as to separate the responses of the two or more fluorescent dyes from each other ([0170] states that “the intensity of the fluorescence signal in a fluorescence image can be normalized by scaling the brightness (luma) of each of the fluorescence images with the co-registered reflected red light image signal (i.e., the red portion of the full visible (white) light image), and then displayed with a color map selected to emphasize specific ranges of fluorescence intensity”).
Regarding claim 14, Fengler teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions ([0125] discloses a recorder 140b (e.g., hard disk, flash memory, other tangible non-transitory computer readable medium, etc.) that cause a computer ([0114] discloses computer and processor) to at least perform:
capturing fluorescent images of an operating field in which two or more different fluorescent dyes are present ([0062] describes imaging regions of interest using fluorescent imaging agents) in successive sequences of images with a surgical or diagnostic imaging device ([0065] discloses the method may comprise administration of a fluorescence imaging agent or other imaging agent to the subject, and generation or acquisition of the time series of fluorescence images prior to processing the image data),
each sequence of images alternating through different modes of excitation lighting adapted for at least one each of two or more of the two or more different dyes ([0129]-[0130] describe different illumination modes, including a combination mode, indicating that the visible light output and the fluorescence light output are pulsed so that different wavebands are illuminating the area to be imaged at different times, with [0007] discloses that the imaging system may include an excitation light provider that emits excitation light in a plurality of non-overlapping excitation wavebands for causing the object to emit fluorescent light. Further, [0129] describes pulsing schemes for the visible light and fluorescent light sources including illuminating the sources at different times), and
processing the captured images of each successive sequence of images in combination with each other ([0014] discloses processing the received image signals to generate images from the received image signals), the processing comprising:
determining the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence ([0071]-[0071], and [0074] disclose localization of lymph nodes in lymphatic mapping using the responses from the fluorophores); and
producing one or more images displaying the determined local distributions of the two or more different fluorescent dyes separately ([0170] describe displaying the white light images and the fluorescence images, indicating that the fluorescence images can then be individually or collectively combined with the full color, visible (white) light image for display. In another variation, the intensity of the fluorescence signal in a fluorescence image can be normalized by scaling the brightness (luma) of each of the fluorescence images with the co-registered reflected red light image signal (i.e., the red portion of the full visible (white) light image), and then displayed with a color map selected to emphasize specific ranges of fluorescence intensity).
Fengler does not teach that the determining the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence is based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting and by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Hoenes teaches a measuring system for determining blood glucose, the system including a photometric measuring unit with a light source and a detector, and an analytical test element, to which a body fluid sample can be applied, and which can be placed in a beam path between the light source and the detector for optical detection of an analyte. The light source includes a first emitter that can be actuated in a first wavelength range to emit pulsating alternating light and a second emitter that can be excited in a second wavelength range to emit fluorescent light (abstract, [0005]). The alternating light has a pulse duration, the fluorescent light decays with a fluorescence life cycle, and the fluorescence life cycle is multiple times greater than the pulse duration. By this means it is possible to use different life cycles or decay periods within the various wavelength ranges for the electronic selection instead of an elaborate wavelength selection through filters or the like, according to [0006]. Hoenes further teaches determining, from the fluorescent images of the sequence and based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting ([0026] states “Because it is possible to differentiate between the continuous light component and the pulsing light component during the detection, it is possible to measure the different light components emitted by the two emitters 26, 28 separately and without the use of wavelength filters or the like”), the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal [0024] disclose a dual-wavelength measurement of fluorescence using a detector 24 according to [0025]. [0025] further notes, with respect to the separation of contributions of fluorescence dyes that an integrating amplifier 48 for the integrated detection of a composite signal generated by the alternating light and the fluorescent light is located in the second amplifying stage. A subsequent signal processor 50 allows for the subtraction of the alternating light signal component from the composite signal and thereby the separate detection of the fluorescent light, or continuous light, signal component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Fengler, for determining, from the fluorescent images of the sequence and based on differences in fluorescence response of the two or more fluorescent dyes to the different modes of excitation lighting, the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes causing the observed different distributions of brightness in the two or more different fluorescent images of the sequence by separating contributions of the two or more fluorescent dyes to a captured fluorescence signal, as taught by Hoenes, as such modification would improve the quality and precision of the measuring processes, wherein, with limited expenditure, an efficient and compact system is achieved according to [0005]-[0006], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Fengler proposes the system to be a simple, less cumbersome multi-mode system [0005]-[0006] that can operate in different illumination patterns with respect to the fluorophore being examined [0126].
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fengler, et al., US 20170209050 A1 in view of Hoenes, et al., US 20130003043 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 10, respectively above, and further in view of Valdes, et al., US 20160278678 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Fengler in view of Hoenes teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Fengler in view of Hoenes does not teach wherein the processing further comprising inputting the fluorescent images of the sequence of images into at least one artificial intelligence model trained to perform the determination of the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes, or into several artificial intelligence models that have each been trained on at least one of several different dyes.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Valdes teaches hyperspectral imaging for quantifying fluorophore emissions (abstract), wherein the processing further comprising inputting the fluorescent images of the sequence of images into at least one artificial intelligence model trained to perform the determination of the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes, or into several artificial intelligence models that have each been trained on at least one of several different dyes ([0193] The optical properties of tissue at each pixel as determined in Operation in Spatial-Frequency-Modulated Reflectance Mode, the hemoglobin, oxyhemoglobin, and deoxyhemoglobin concentrations as determined above under Operation in Hyperspectral Reflectance Imaging Mode, the surface fluorophore concentrations as determined by qFI as describe above, the depth and quantity-at-depth information as determined in the section entitled Operation in Quantitative Depth-Resolved Imaging qDFI Mode above for each pixel are all provided to a trainable classifier such as a neural network classifier, kNN classifier, or in an alternative embodiment an SVM classifier; the classifier is implemented as classification routines in memory 178 and executed on the processor. The classifier is trained to provide a classification indicative of a probability that tumor exists at a location in tissue corresponding to that pixel. Classification results for each pixel are entered into a tissue classification map that is then displayed to the surgeon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Fengler, wherein the processing further comprising inputting the fluorescent images of the sequence of images into at least one artificial intelligence model trained to perform the determination of the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes, or into several artificial intelligence models that have each been trained on at least one of several different dyes, as taught by Valdes, for accurately resolving regions of interest in fluorescence imaging ([0167], [0178]) for improved tumor localization ([0023]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Fengler also indicates improved detection of features of interest due to high signal to background ratio of tumor detection [0077].
Regarding claim 12, Fengler teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Fengler does not teach wherein the controller is configured to run at least one artificial intelligence model trained to perform the determination of the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes, or the controller is configured to run several artificial intelligence models that have each been trained on at least one of several different fluorescence dyes, to which the fluorescent images of the sequence of images are input.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Valdes teaches hyperspectral imaging for quantifying fluorophore emissions (abstract), wherein the controller is configured to run at least one artificial intelligence model trained to perform the determination of the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes, or the controller is configured to run several artificial intelligence models that have each been trained on at least one of several different fluorescence dyes, to which the fluorescent images of the sequence of images are input ([0193] The optical properties of tissue at each pixel as determined in Operation in Spatial-Frequency-Modulated Reflectance Mode, the hemoglobin, oxyhemoglobin, and deoxyhemoglobin concentrations as determined above under Operation in Hyperspectral Reflectance Imaging Mode, the surface fluorophore concentrations as determined by qFI as describe above, the depth and quantity-at-depth information as determined in the section entitled Operation in Quantitative Depth-Resolved Imaging qDFI Mode above for each pixel are all provided to a trainable classifier such as a neural network classifier, kNN classifier, or in an alternative embodiment an SVM classifier; the classifier is implemented as classification routines in memory 178 and executed on the processor. The classifier is trained to provide a classification indicative of a probability that tumor exists at a location in tissue corresponding to that pixel. Classification results for each pixel are entered into a tissue classification map that is then displayed to the surgeon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Fengler, wherein the controller is configured to run at least one artificial intelligence model trained to perform the determination of the respective local distributions of the two or more different fluorescence dyes, or into several artificial intelligence models that have each been trained on at least one of several different dyes, to which the fluorescent images of the sequence of images are input, as taught by Valdes, for accurately resolving regions of interest in fluorescence imaging ([0167], [0178]) for improved tumor localization ([0023]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Fengler also indicates improved detection of features of interest due to high signal to background ratio of tumor detection [0077].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250189428 A1 discloses calibration for fluorescence imaging that includes spectral unmixing, where the spectral response (sometimes referred to as a fluorophore's emissions or fingerprint or signature or pattern) of a given fluorophore is distinguished from potentially overlapping sets of fluorophores used in the same set of experiments.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAROUK A BRUCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797