DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 were filed with the amendment dated 10/04/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/04/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regard to claims 1-5, 7-14, and 16-19.
Applicant argues that the rejection over U.S. Pat. No. 3,920,050 (“Nichol”) is improper because Nichol does not disclose that the interior space of the tubular body has a volume of at least one liter and it would not be obvious to make the tubular body have a volume of at least one liter (see Remarks at page 12-13). Applicant contends that because the tubular body of Nichol is designed to transport fluid, there would be no appreciable reason for having a volume of at least one liter (see Remarks at page 13). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Nichol specifically states that “the coil 4 may occupy any desired portion of the total length of the hose, and the hose may be of any desired length” (col. 2, lines 23-25). Thus, Nichol teaches that the size of the hose can by any desired amount, which would result in any desired amount of volume.
Applicant further argues that the length and volume of the tubular body are not matters of obvious design choice because the Specification provides a purpose for the dimensions (see Remarks at pages 13-15). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The tubular body (4) of Nichol appears to show in the Figures (Figs 1 and 3 particularly) that the length is at least fifty times the diameter. Furthermore, Nichol supports any modification of length (which would vary the ratio of diameter to length and the volume) by stating that “the hose may be of any desired length” (col. 2, lines 23-25).
Applicant argues that Nichol does not disclose that the element comprises a sidewall or closed end with perforations (see Remarks at pages 15-16). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The coils (10, 12) form a sidewall around the tubular body, and any spacing between the wires create openings. Perforations are openings. Even if the spacing openings in the wires are reduced or closed by compression, Nichol still meets the claimed limitations. Claim 2 does not require that the perforations are permanent. Additionally, closed end 14 also includes a perforation that is the opening at 36 (see Figs 1 and 2).
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 7 and 8 are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Nichol does not disclose that the container housing is configured to be opened and closed to permit access to an interior space of the container element (see Remarks at page 18). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The container housing (8) can be opened to permit access to an interior space of the container element (8/10/12/14/16) by the removal of screws (42) to remove 14/16 halves (18A, 18B). The removal of the halves (18A, 18B) exposes the interior of the container element (8) left open at end the end where 16/18B is removed. Similarly, with regard to claim 8, the container housing (8) comprises a lid (portions 18A, 18B) at end (14) and is configured to permit access to an interior by removing of screws (42) to disconnect the halves (18A, 18B) which exposes coils 10/12 and the interior of coils 10, 12 (see also col. 3, lines 1-45).
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 6 (and, therefore, similarly claim 15) are found to be persuasive and the rejections of claims 6 and 15 are withdrawn.
The rejection is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 3,920,050 (“Nichol”).
With regard to claim 1, Nichol discloses a compressed air storage device (Fig. 1) configured to be connected to an air output of an air compressor (“compressed air” col. 1, line 21), the compressed air storage device comprising an air storage element (hose 2/4; col. 2, line 18-20) and a container element (shroud 8; col. 2, line 39-40), wherein the air storage element (2/4) includes a tubular body (hose, see Fig 1) having a tube first end (bottom of 2 in Fig 1) and a tube second end (top of 2 in Fig 1) opposite the tube first end, the tubular body (2) having a diameter (diameter is inherent and shown in Figs) and a length (“the hose may be of any desired length” col. 2, lines 24-25), where the length is equal to the distance between the tube first end and the tube second end (see Fig 1) when the tubular body (2) is arranged parallel to a line (see annotated Fig 1), the tubular body (2) includes a reinforced tube wall (“reinforced tube wall” is a broad recitation and met by the thickened wall of 2 shown in Fig 3), the container element (shroud 8) comprises a container housing that is shaped and sized to receive the air storage element therein (shroud 8 includes ends 14, 16 and side wall along 10/12).
Nichol discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that the length is at least fifty times the diameter or that the tubular body has an interior space having a volume of at least one liter for storing compressed air.
Nichol does disclose that the “the hose may be of any desired length” (see col. 2, lines 24-25). The drawings of Nichol appear to show that the length is more than 50 times the diameter, but it is not explicitly disclosed.
Applicant has not disclosed that having the length being at least fifty times the diameter solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Rather, the specification merely provides several options for the length (see para [00048] of the application). Furthermore, it appears that the length of the tubular body would work equally well for a variety of different relative size amounts. The specification also states that the volume can be achieved by extending the length of the tubular body (see paras [0003] [0005]).
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of the tubular body of Nichol be any suitable amount relative to the diameter, such as more than fifty times the diameter or to achieve a desired volume, such as one liter, because the length to diameter ratio of the tubular body does not appear to provide any unexpected results nor does the volume of the tubular body.
With regard to claim 2, Nichol discloses that the container element (shroud 8) comprises a sidewall that encircles the air storage element and a closed end at one end of the sidewall (shroud 8 includes side wall along 10/12 and closed end 14), and at least one of the sidewall and the closed end includes perforations (perforations between coils 10 and 12, see Fig 1).
With regard to claim 4, Nichol discloses the container element (shroud 8) comprises a sidewall that encircles the air storage element and a closed end at one end of the sidewall (shroud 8 includes side wall along 10/12 and closed end 14, see Fig 1).
Nichol discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that at least one of the sidewall and the closed end is formed of plastic.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make at least one of the sidewall and closed end of Nichole made of any suitable material, such as plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (See MPEP 2144.07).
With regard to claim 5, Nichol discloses the container element (shroud 8) comprises a sidewall that encircles the air storage element and a closed end at one end of the sidewall (shroud 8 includes side wall along 10/12 and closed end 14, see Fig 1), and at least one of the sidewall and the closed end is formed of a pliable material (portion 38 of end wall 14 is made of “soft rubber”; see Nichol at col. 3, lines 31-32).
With regard to claim 7, Nichol discloses that the container housing (shroud 8) is configured to be selectively opened and closed to permit access to an interior space of the container element (halves 18A and 18B of closed end 14 of container element 8 is releasable to allow for access to interior: “secured releasably” col. 3, lines 35-39).
With regard to claim 8, Nichol discloses that the container housing (shroud 8) comprises a lid (portions 18a, 18b) that is configured to permit access to an interior space of the container element (halves 18A and 18B of closed end 14 of container element 8 is releasable to allow for access to interior: “secured releasably” col. 3, lines 35-39).
With regard to claim 9, Nichol discloses an air compressor system (Fig. 1) comprising: an air compressor (“compressed air” inherently requires an air compressor; see col. 1, line 21) having an air output (output of air compressor is inherent), and a compressed air storage device (shown in Fig 1), the compressed air storage device comprising an air storage element (hose 2/4; col. 2, line 18-20) and a container element (shroud 8; col. 2, line 39-40), wherein the air storage element includes a tubular body (tube 2) having a tube first end (bottom of 2 in Fig 1) operably connected to the air output and configured to store compressed air, and a tube second end opposite the tube first end (col. 2, lines 35-39: “In most cases, the hose is provided at each end with a coupling 6, one for coupling to a fluid source or sources, and one for coupling to a dental instrument or the like”), the tubular body (2/4) having a diameter (diameter is inherent and shown in Figs) and a length (“the hose may be of any desired length” col. 2, lines 24-25), where the length is equal to the distance between the tube first end (bottom end) and the tube second end (top end; see Fig 1) when the tubular body (2) is arranged parallel to a line (see Fig 1), the tubular body (2) includes a reinforced tube wall (“reinforced tube wall” is a broad recitation and met by the thickened wall of 2 shown in Fig 3), the container element (shroud 8) comprises a container housing that is shaped and sized to receive the air storage element therein (shroud 8 includes ends 14, 16 and side wall along 10/12).
Nichol discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that the length is at least fifty times the diameter or that the tubular body has an interior space having a volume of at least one liter for storing compressed air.
Nichol does disclose that the “the hose may be of any desired length” (see col. 2, lines 24-25). The drawings of Nichol appear to show that the length is more than 50 times the diameter, but it is not explicitly disclosed.
Applicant has not disclosed that having the length being at least fifty times the diameter solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Rather, the specification merely provides several options for the length (see para [00048] of the application). Furthermore, it appears that the length of the tubular body would work equally well for a variety of different relative size amounts. The specification also states that the volume can be achieved by extending the length of the tubular body (see paras [0003] [0005]).
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of the tubular body of Nichol be any suitable amount relative to the diameter, such as more than fifty times the diameter or to achieve a desired volume, such as one liter, because the length to diameter ratio of the tubular body does not appear to provide any unexpected results nor does the volume of the tubular body.
With regard to claim 10, Nichol discloses an air driven tool (“dental instrument”; col. 1, line20-21; col. 2, lines 36-39) including a tool coupling (6), wherein the tube second end (top end of 2) is operably connected to the tool coupling (coupling 6).
With regard to claim 11, Nichol discloses that the container element (shroud 8) comprises a sidewall that encircles the air storage element (2/4) and a closed end at one end of the sidewall (shroud 8 includes side wall along 10/12 and closed end 14), and at least one of the sidewall and the closed end includes perforations (perforations between coils 10 and 12, see Fig 1).
With regard to claim 13, Nichol discloses the container element (shroud 8) comprises a sidewall that encircles the air storage element and a closed end at one end of the sidewall (shroud 8 includes side wall along 10/12 and closed end 14, Fig 1).
Nichol discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that at least one of the sidewall and the closed end is formed of plastic.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make at least one of the sidewall and closed end of Nichole made of any suitable material, such as plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (See MPEP 2144.07).
With regard to claim 14, Nichol discloses the container element (shroud 8) comprises a sidewall that encircles the air storage element and a closed end at one end of the sidewall (shroud 8 includes side wall along 10/12 and closed end 14, see Fig 1), and at least one of the sidewall and the closed end is formed of a pliable material (portion 38 of end wall 14 is made of “soft rubber”; see Nichol at col. 3, lines 31-32).
With regard to claim 16, Nichol discloses that the container housing (shroud 8) is configured to be selectively opened and closed to permit access to an interior space of the container element (halves 18A and 18B of closed end 14 of container element 8 is releasable to allow for access to interior: “secured releasably” col. 3, lines 35-39).
With regard to claim 17, Nichol discloses that the container housing (shroud 8) comprises a lid (portions 18a, 18b) that is configured to permit access to an interior space of the container element (halves 18A and 18B of closed end 14 of container element 8 is releasable to allow for access to interior: “secured releasably” col. 3, lines 35-39).
With regard to claims 18 and 19, Nichol discloses that the air storage element (hose 2/4) is configured to be selected stowed in and fully removed from the container element (at 8/10/12) (removal of screws 42 disconnects halves (18A, 18B) and then removing retaining ring 24 to remove 8/10/12, see Figs 1 and 2, and see also col. 3, lines 1-5).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 3,920,050 (“Nichol”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0135119 (“Tonooka”).
With regard to claim 3, Nichol discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that at least one of the sidewall and the closed end is formed of a woven material.
Tonooka discloses a container element (310) that is a housing sized and shape to receive elongated tubular members therein (see 20), and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a container housing to include at least one of a sidewall that is formed of a woven material (“sleeve assembly 310 is woven” para [0036]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the sidewall of the container housing out of any suitable material, such as a woven material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (See MPEP 2144.07).
With regard to claim 12, Nichol discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that at least one of the sidewall and the closed end is formed of a woven material.
Tonooka discloses a container element (310) that is a housing sized and shape to receive elongated tubular members therein (see 20), and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a container housing to include at least one of a sidewall that is formed of a woven material (“sleeve assembly 310 is woven” para [0036]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the sidewall of the container housing out of any suitable material, such as a woven material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (See MPEP 2144.07).
Tonooka discloses a container element (310) that is a housing sized and shape to receive elongated tubular members therein (see 20), and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a container housing to include a structural support frame (“support member 314” para [0037]) and a woven fabric covering that encloses the support frame (314) (“sleeve assembly 310 is woven” para [0036], see Fig 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a container element with a side wall comprising a structural support frame and a woven fabric covering that encloses the support frame as taught by Tonooka in place of the container housing sidewall of Nichol, since the containers are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753