DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, 22 and 24 have been amended. Claims 21-25 have been added. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 21-25 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heldman et al. (US 20240196316 A1) in view of Velev (US 20250220616 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heldman teaches a method (method of Figs. 9-10) comprising:
sending, by a wireless device, a request message comprising: one or more identifiers for one or more requested network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
a capability indication that the wireless device supports a feature of partial network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]).
However, Heldman dos does not teach receiving a response message comprising: a field set to a value indicating a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode; a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices; and a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice, wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the value of the field.
In an analogous art, Velev teaches receiving a response message comprising: a field set to a value indicating a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode; a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices; and a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice, wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the value of the field (The AMF 135 sends to the UE a NAS registration accept message (i.e., the mobility management message). The NAS registration accept message may contain either (1) a single allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI #1 allowed in the whole RA and the partially/locally allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2), with an additional information that S-NSSAI #2 is locally allowed and the list of TAs where it is supported or (2) one parameter of allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI #1 allowed in the whole RA and one parameter of partially/locally allowed NSSAI. The partially/locally allowed NSSAI includes the S-NSSAIs (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) which are allowed in some TAs of the RA and includes an associated list of one or more TAIs where the partially allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) is supported. Alternatively, the list may provide one or more TAIs where the partially allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) is not allowed, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the response of Velev to provide a method for a mobile network core to only register the UE for network slices that are available across the entire registration area as suggested, Velev [0004].
Regarding claim 2, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device sends the request message to a mobility management node (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 3, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the mobility management node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 4, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the wireless device receives the response message from the mobility management node (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN, Heldman [0213]).
Regarding claim 5, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the mobility management node determines the setting of the partial network slice mode indicator (The AMF may check the RRSG, i.e., if S-NSSAIs provided to the UE are configured to be associated to some RRSG then the UE is required to support the RRSG functionality, Heldman [0212]).
Regarding claim 8, Heldman teaches a wireless device (device 1100 of Figs. 9-11) comprising one or more processors (processor 1104) and memory (memory 1106) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
send a request message (registration request, step 11 of Fig. 10) comprising:
one or more identifiers for one or more requested network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
a capability indication that the wireless device supports a feature of partial network (slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]).
However, Heldman dos does not teach receive a response message comprising: field set to a value indicating a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode; a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices; and a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice, wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the value of the field.
In an analogous art, Velev teaches receive a response message comprising: field set to a value indicating a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode; a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices; and a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice, wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the value of the field (The AMF 135 sends to the UE a NAS registration accept message (i.e., the mobility management message). The NAS registration accept message may contain either (1) a single allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI #1 allowed in the whole RA and the partially/locally allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2), with an additional information that S-NSSAI #2 is locally allowed and the list of TAs where it is supported or (2) one parameter of allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI #1 allowed in the whole RA and one parameter of partially/locally allowed NSSAI. The partially/locally allowed NSSAI includes the S-NSSAIs (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) which are allowed in some TAs of the RA and includes an associated list of one or more TAIs where the partially allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) is supported. Alternatively, the list may provide one or more TAIs where the partially allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) is not allowed, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the response of Velev to provide a method for a mobile network core to only register the UE for network slices that are available across the entire registration area as suggested, Velev [0004].
Regarding claim 9, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the wireless device sends the request message to a mobility management node (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 10, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the mobility management node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]]).
Regarding claim 11, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the wireless device receives the response message from the mobility management node (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN, Heldman [0213]).
Regarding claim 12, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the mobility management node determines the setting of the partial network slice mode indicator (The AMF may check the RRSG, i.e., if S-NSSAIs provided to the UE are configured to be associated to some RRSG then the UE is required to support the RRSG functionality, Heldman [0212]).
Regarding claim 15, Heldman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium(device 1100 of Figs. 9-11) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to:
send a request message (registration request, step 11 of Fig. 10) comprising:
one or more identifiers for one or more requested network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
a capability indication that the wireless device supports a feature of partial network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]).
However, Heldman dos does not teach receive a response message comprising: field set to a value indicating a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode; a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices; and a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice, wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the value of the field.
In an analogous art, Velev teaches receive a response message comprising: field set to a value indicating a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode; a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices; and a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice, wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the value of the field (The AMF 135 sends to the UE a NAS registration accept message (i.e., the mobility management message). The NAS registration accept message may contain either (1) a single allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI #1 allowed in the whole RA and the partially/locally allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2), with an additional information that S-NSSAI #2 is locally allowed and the list of TAs where it is supported or (2) one parameter of allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI #1 allowed in the whole RA and one parameter of partially/locally allowed NSSAI. The partially/locally allowed NSSAI includes the S-NSSAIs (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) which are allowed in some TAs of the RA and includes an associated list of one or more TAIs where the partially allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) is supported. Alternatively, the list may provide one or more TAIs where the partially allowed S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI #2) is not allowed, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the response of Velev to provide a method for a mobile network core to only register the UE for network slices that are available across the entire registration area as suggested, Velev [0004].
Regarding claim 16, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the wireless device sends the request message to a mobility management node (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 17, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the mobility management node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 18, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the wireless device receives the response message from the mobility management node (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN, Heldman [0213]).
Regarding claim 19, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the mobility management node determines the setting of the partial network slice mode indicator (The AMF may check the RRSG, i.e., if S-NSSAIs provided to the UE are configured to be associated to some RRSG then the UE is required to support the RRSG functionality, Heldman [0212]).
Regarding claim 22, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network slice is: accepted in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially allowed network slice mode (AMF may check such that the list of the RRSG of the current cell used by the UE are aligned with the list of RRSG associated to the S-NSSAIs of the Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0165]); and rejected in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially rejected network slice mode (AMF checks whether the list of RRSG provided by the NG-RAN includes RRSG-B. If the check fails, and “supported” logic is used, the AMF may reject the UE request with an appropriate error cause, or (if “served” logic is used, the AMF may invoke procedures as if the UE didn't support the RRSG functionality e.g., let NG-RAN redirect the UE to appropriate cell by indicating Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0176]).
Regarding claim 24, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the network slice is: accepted in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially allowed network slice mode(AMF may check such that the list of the RRSG of the current cell used by the UE are aligned with the list of RRSG associated to the S-NSSAIs of the Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0165]); and rejected in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially rejected network slice mode (AMF checks whether the list of RRSG provided by the NG-RAN includes RRSG-B. If the check fails, and “supported” logic is used, the AMF may reject the UE request with an appropriate error cause, or (if “served” logic is used, the AMF may invoke procedures as if the UE didn't support the RRSG functionality e.g., let NG-RAN redirect the UE to appropriate cell by indicating Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0176]).
Claims 21, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heldman et al. (US 20240196316 A1) in view of Velev (US 20250220616 A1) and further in view of Krishnamoorthi et al. (US 20250081093 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the wireless device sends a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message in a tracking area supporting a partially allowed network slice (Details Related to Controlling UE Behavior when Slice Support is not Homogenous…UE may access the cell and request a PDU session on the slice, if it is not able to connect to another cell that supports the slice, Heldman [0112]-[0116]).
However, Heldman and Velev do not teach the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice.
In an analogous art, Krishnamoorthi further teaches the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice (Whenever the UE finds that it is in a new TA within the same RA, the UE assumes that the slice that was rejected in the previous TA is available in the current TA and can attempt to use the slice either for new PDU sessions, or earlier PDU sessions can be reallocated to the newly allocated slice by the core, Krishnamoorthi [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman and Velev with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 23, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein: the wireless device sends a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message in a tracking area supporting a partially allowed network slice (Details Related to Controlling UE Behavior when Slice Support is not Homogenous…UE may access the cell and request a PDU session on the slice, if it is not able to connect to another cell that supports the slice, Heldman [0112]-[0116]).
However, Heldman and Velev do not teach the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice.
In an analogous art, Krishnamoorthi further teaches the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice (Whenever the UE finds that it is in a new TA within the same RA, the UE assumes that the slice that was rejected in the previous TA is available in the current TA and can attempt to use the slice either for new PDU sessions, or earlier PDU sessions can be reallocated to the newly allocated slice by the core, Krishnamoorthi [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman and Velev with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 25, Heldman as modified by Velev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the wireless device sends a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message in a tracking area supporting a partially allowed network slice (Details Related to Controlling UE Behavior when Slice Support is not Homogenous…UE may access the cell and request a PDU session on the slice, if it is not able to connect to another cell that supports the slice, Heldman [0112]-[0116]).
However, Heldman and Velev do not teach the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice.
In an analogous art, Krishnamoorthi further teaches the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice (Whenever the UE finds that it is in a new TA within the same RA, the UE assumes that the slice that was rejected in the previous TA is available in the current TA and can attempt to use the slice either for new PDU sessions, or earlier PDU sessions can be reallocated to the newly allocated slice by the core, Krishnamoorthi [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman and Velev with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wafta et al. (US 20210099945 A1): Certain aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques for network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) signaling. A method that may be performed by a user equipment (UE) includes receiving a first message comprising one or more fields, each field indicating a network slice identifier via a plurality of bits. The method generally includes sending and/or receiving at least a second message referencing at least one field of the first message to indicate the network slice identifier via a reduced number of bits.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641