DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 21-25 have been added. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 21-25 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 21-25are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heldman et al. (US 20240196316 A1) in view of Krishnamoorthi et al. (US 20250081093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heldman teaches a method (method of Figs. 9-10) comprising:
sending, by a wireless device, a request message comprising: one or more identifiers for one or more requested network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
a capability indication that the wireless device supports a feature of partial network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]).
receiving, by the wireless device, a response message comprising: a partial network slice mode indicator set to indicate a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN as per current procedures and includes the list of RRSG per S-NSSAI, [0203]; AMF may also indicate in the Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI Inclusion Mode that the UE is to indicate the RRSG of the S-NSSAIs during the RRC Connection Establishment, [0172]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN as per current procedures and includes the list of RRSG per S-NSSAI (in the example only the S-NSSAI-2 of the Configured NSSAI of the serving network e.g., PLMN is associated to an RRSG-B), [0203]); wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the mode (From a 5GC perspective all cells of a tracking area support the same S-NSSAI(s) and the S-NSSAI(s) of the Allowed NSSAI are supported by all tracking areas in a registration area, [0227]).
However, Heldman dos does not teach a response message comprising a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice.
In an analogous art, Krishnamoorthi teaches a response message comprising a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice (This can be achieved by adding, in addition to or instead of the Allowed NSSAI, an optional IE, e.g., “Allowed NSSAI Per TA” (to the registration accept message, or other similar NAS message) that contains a set of S-NSSAI where each S-NSSAI is associated with one or more TA Information (TAIs) in the current RA in which the S-NSSAIs is allowed, Krishnamoorthi [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 2, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device sends the request message to a mobility management node (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 3, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the mobility management node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 4, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the wireless device receives the response message from the mobility management node (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN, Heldman [0213]).
Regarding claim 5, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the mobility management node determines the setting of the partial network slice mode indicator (The AMF may check the RRSG, i.e., if S-NSSAIs provided to the UE are configured to be associated to some RRSG then the UE is required to support the RRSG functionality, Heldman [0212]).
Regarding claim 8, Heldman teaches a wireless device (device 1100 of Figs. 9-11) comprising one or more processors (processor 1104) and memory (memory 1106) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
send a request message (registration request, step 11 of Fig. 10) comprising:
one or more identifiers for one or more requested network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
a capability indication that the wireless device supports a feature of partial network (slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
receive a response message comprising: a partial network slice mode indicator set to indicate a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN as per current procedures and includes the list of RRSG per S-NSSAI, [0203]; AMF may also indicate in the Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI Inclusion Mode that the UE is to indicate the RRSG of the S-NSSAIs during the RRC Connection Establishment, [0172]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN as per current procedures and includes the list of RRSG per S-NSSAI (in the example only the S-NSSAI-2 of the Configured NSSAI of the serving network e.g., PLMN is associated to an RRSG-B), [0203]); wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the mode (From a 5GC perspective all cells of a tracking area support the same S-NSSAI(s) and the S-NSSAI(s) of the Allowed NSSAI are supported by all tracking areas in a registration area, [0227]).
However, Heldman dos does not teach a response message comprising a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice.
In an analogous art, Krishnamoorthi teaches a response message comprising a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice (This can be achieved by adding, in addition to or instead of the Allowed NSSAI, an optional IE, e.g., “Allowed NSSAI Per TA” (to the registration accept message, or other similar NAS message) that contains a set of S-NSSAI where each S-NSSAI is associated with one or more TA Information (TAIs) in the current RA in which the S-NSSAIs is allowed, Krishnamoorthi [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 9, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the wireless device sends the request message to a mobility management node (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 10, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the mobility management node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]]).
Regarding claim 11, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the wireless device receives the response message from the mobility management node (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN, Heldman [0213]).
Regarding claim 12, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the mobility management node determines the setting of the partial network slice mode indicator (The AMF may check the RRSG, i.e., if S-NSSAIs provided to the UE are configured to be associated to some RRSG then the UE is required to support the RRSG functionality, Heldman [0212]).
Regarding claim 15, Heldman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium(device 1100 of Figs. 9-11) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to:
send a request message (registration request, step 11 of Fig. 10) comprising:
one or more identifiers for one or more requested network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
a capability indication that the wireless device supports a feature of partial network slices (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2, [0208]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); and
receive a response message comprising: a partial network slice mode indicator set to indicate a mode among a partially allowed network slice mode and a partially rejected network slice mode (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN as per current procedures and includes the list of RRSG per S-NSSAI, [0203]; AMF may also indicate in the Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI Inclusion Mode that the UE is to indicate the RRSG of the S-NSSAIs during the RRC Connection Establishment, [0172]; the support for non-uniform slice availability is achieved by supporting Radio resource Slice Groups (RRSGs). A RRSG is a group of slices identified by their S-NSSAI, which is only supported in parts of the RA assigned to the UE, [0101]); a slice identifier of a network slice among the one or more requested network slices (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN as per current procedures and includes the list of RRSG per S-NSSAI (in the example only the S-NSSAI-2 of the Configured NSSAI of the serving network e.g., PLMN is associated to an RRSG-B), [0203]); wherein the network slice is accepted or rejected in the one or more tracking areas based on the mode (From a 5GC perspective all cells of a tracking area support the same S-NSSAI(s) and the S-NSSAI(s) of the Allowed NSSAI are supported by all tracking areas in a registration area, [0227]).
However, Heldman dos does not teach a response message comprising a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice.
In an analogous art, Krishnamoorthi teaches a response message comprising a tracking area list of one or more tracking areas for the network slice (This can be achieved by adding, in addition to or instead of the Allowed NSSAI, an optional IE, e.g., “Allowed NSSAI Per TA” (to the registration accept message, or other similar NAS message) that contains a set of S-NSSAI where each S-NSSAI is associated with one or more TA Information (TAIs) in the current RA in which the S-NSSAIs is allowed, Krishnamoorthi [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 16, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the wireless device sends the request message to a mobility management node (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 17, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the mobility management node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (UE sends a Registration Request indicating that the UE supports RRSG functionality and a Requested NSSAI with S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2. [0209] 12. The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message to the selected AMF, Heldman [0208]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 18, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the wireless device receives the response message from the mobility management node (The AMF sends the Registration Accept to the UE via NG-RAN, Heldman [0213]).
Regarding claim 19, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the mobility management node determines the setting of the partial network slice mode indicator (The AMF may check the RRSG, i.e., if S-NSSAIs provided to the UE are configured to be associated to some RRSG then the UE is required to support the RRSG functionality, Heldman [0212]).
Regarding claim 21, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the wireless device sends a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message in a tracking area supporting a partially allowed network slice (Details Related to Controlling UE Behavior when Slice Support is not Homogenous…UE may access the cell and request a PDU session on the slice, if it is not able to connect to another cell that supports the slice, Heldman [0112]-[0116]); and Krishnamoorthi further teaches the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice (Whenever the UE finds that it is in a new TA within the same RA, the UE assumes that the slice that was rejected in the previous TA is available in the current TA and can attempt to use the slice either for new PDU sessions, or earlier PDU sessions can be reallocated to the newly allocated slice by the core, Krishnamoorthi [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 22, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network slice is: accepted in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially allowed network slice mode (AMF may check such that the list of the RRSG of the current cell used by the UE are aligned with the list of RRSG associated to the S-NSSAIs of the Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0165]); and rejected in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially rejected network slice mode (AMF checks whether the list of RRSG provided by the NG-RAN includes RRSG-B. If the check fails, and “supported” logic is used, the AMF may reject the UE request with an appropriate error cause, or (if “served” logic is used, the AMF may invoke procedures as if the UE didn't support the RRSG functionality e.g., let NG-RAN redirect the UE to appropriate cell by indicating Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0176]).
Regarding claim 23, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein: the wireless device sends a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message in a tracking area supporting a partially allowed network slice (Details Related to Controlling UE Behavior when Slice Support is not Homogenous…UE may access the cell and request a PDU session on the slice, if it is not able to connect to another cell that supports the slice, Heldman [0112]-[0116]); and the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice (Whenever the UE finds that it is in a new TA within the same RA, the UE assumes that the slice that was rejected in the previous TA is available in the current TA and can attempt to use the slice either for new PDU sessions, or earlier PDU sessions can be reallocated to the newly allocated slice by the core, Krishnamoorthi [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013].
Regarding claim 24, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the network slice is: accepted in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially allowed network slice mode(AMF may check such that the list of the RRSG of the current cell used by the UE are aligned with the list of RRSG associated to the S-NSSAIs of the Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0165]); and rejected in the one or more tracking areas in response to the mode being the partially rejected network slice mode (AMF checks whether the list of RRSG provided by the NG-RAN includes RRSG-B. If the check fails, and “supported” logic is used, the AMF may reject the UE request with an appropriate error cause, or (if “served” logic is used, the AMF may invoke procedures as if the UE didn't support the RRSG functionality e.g., let NG-RAN redirect the UE to appropriate cell by indicating Allowed NSSAI, Heldman [0176]).
Regarding claim 25, Heldman as modified by Krishnamoorthi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the wireless device sends a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message in a tracking area supporting a partially allowed network slice (Details Related to Controlling UE Behavior when Slice Support is not Homogenous…UE may access the cell and request a PDU session on the slice, if it is not able to connect to another cell that supports the slice, Heldman [0112]-[0116]); and the wireless device sends a registration request message in a tracking area supporting a partially rejected network slice (Whenever the UE finds that it is in a new TA within the same RA, the UE assumes that the slice that was rejected in the previous TA is available in the current TA and can attempt to use the slice either for new PDU sessions, or earlier PDU sessions can be reallocated to the newly allocated slice by the core, Krishnamoorthi [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slice information of teaching the slice parameters of Heldman with the Tai list of Krishnamoorthi to provide a method to for improving the cellular operator's ability to serve other industries, e.g., by offering connectivity services with different network characteristics such as performance, security, robustness, and complexity as suggested, Krishnamoorthi [0013]..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishii et al. (US 20250039819 A1): A wireless terminal which supports one or more network slices comprises receiver circuitry and processor circuitry. The receiver circuitry is configured to receive: (1) in a first registration area, a mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups for the first registration area; and (2) in a second registration area, neighboring cell information. The neighboring cell information comprises an identity of a neighboring cell; network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell and including at least one network slice group index; and mapping configuration referencing information referencing information referring to a corresponding mapping configuration to be used for the network slice support information.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641