DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on April 17, 2025.
Status of claims: claims 7-10 are withdrawn; claims 1-6 are hereby examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed August 7, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 pertaining to Group I in the reply filed on July 7, 2026 is acknowledged. Thus, claims 7-10 have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-3 and 5 – shouldn’t “depending” from “depending leg portions” be deleted?
Claims 2-6, line 1 – shouldn’t “A tower” be replaced with “The tower” for antecedent issues?
Claim 2, line 2 – shouldn’t “said depending leg portions” be amended to “said pair of depending leg portions”?
Claim 3, line 2 – shouldn’t “respective of said depending leg portions” be amended to “respective pair of depending leg portions”?
Claim 5, lines 1-2 – shouldn’t “said depending leg portions” be amended to “said pair of depending leg portions”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: “a top portion” recited in the claims isn’t identified in the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3486579 to Blomgren in view of US 2255270 to Pimm.
Blomgren discloses a tower assembly for use in a platform system, said tower assembly comprising:
a plurality of tower units 10 stacked one on top of the other, (see figures below) each of the tower units having an inverted generally U-shaped configuration with a top portion and pair of depending leg portions. (see annotated figures below)
Blomgren fails to disclose adjacent tower units being interconnected via a pair of removable side brackets.
Pimm teaches of leg portions P,P’ of a tower assembly being interconnected via a removable side bracket S, S’, C. (see FIG. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to interconnect adjacent tower assemblies of Blomgren with a pair of removable side brackets, as taught by Pimm with a reasonable expectation of success in order to “insure a strong and stable structure” (see lines 10 and 11 of Pimm) and further strengthen the connection between leg portions of adjacent tower assemblies. (claim 1)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Top portion)][AltContent: textbox (Leg portions)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (At least one cross-support)]
Blomgren, as applied above, further discloses wherein each of said tower units comprises at least one cross-support extending between said depending leg portions. (see figures above) (claim 2)
Blomgren, as applied above, further discloses first and second removable base fittings 26 attached to respective of said depending leg portions of a lowermost tower unit of said plurality of tower units. (see figures above) (claim 3)
Blomgren, as applied above, further discloses a separate top piece 19 located above the top portion of an uppermost tower unit of said plurality of tower units. (see figures above) (claim 4)
Blomgren, as applied above, further discloses wherein said plurality of tower units comprises at least three of said tower units.(see figures above) (claim 6)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomgren in view of Pimm, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 5385215 to Williams et al. (hereinafter “Williams”).
Blomgren, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein said top portion and said depending leg portions of said tower units are formed of rectangular tubing.
Williams teaches of a similar device with rectangular tubing. (see FIG. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the Blomgren top portion and depending leg portions into rectangular tubing, as taught by Williams with a reasonable expectation of success for aesthetic reasons, to provide a flat surface for objects to be placed thereon, such as floor boards, as well as since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. (claim 5)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634