DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopez de Cardenas et al. (US 2022/0074289, hereafter Lopez).
With regards to claim 16, Lopez discloses a perforating gun (perforation gun 20; Fig. 17; para 41), comprising: a gun assembly (loading tube 70 and the components within 70 define a gun assembly; Fig. 17; para 41, 47, 50), comprising a charge tube (loading tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50, 53) comprising at least one shaped charge (shaped charge 32; Fig. 17); and a gun barrel (gun carrier 24 defines a gun barrel; Fig. 17; para 41); wherein the gun assembly is situated within and is configured to self- orient inside the gun barrel (the gun assembly 70, including the components within 70, is situated within the gun barrel 24 and self-orients by way of weight 72; Fig. 17; para 50).
With regards to claim 17, Lopez discloses the charge tube comprises at least one weight attached to an outer surface thereof (asymmetrical weight 72 is attached to an outer surface of loading, or charge tube, 70; Fig. 17; para 50).
With regards to claim 18, Lopez discloses the weight attached to the outer surface of the charge tube has substantially no contact with an inside surface of the gun barrel when the charge tube is installed therein (the weight 72 attached to the outer surface of charge tube 20 has substantially no contact with an inside surface of gun barrel 24 since the weight 72 freely rotates within inside surface of the gun barrel 24 to orient the charge tube, wherein the term "substantially" is interpreted as allowing for any amount of contact that allows free motion of the weight 72 within the gun barrel; Fig. 17; para 50, 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight et al. (US 11215041, hereafter Knight).
With regards to claim 1, Lopez discloses a perforating gun (perforation gun 20; Fig. 17; para 41), comprising: a gun assembly (loading tube 70 and the components within 70 define a gun assembly; Fig. 17; para 41, 47, 50), comprising a charge tube (loading tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50, 53) comprising at least one shaped charge (shaped charge 32; Fig. 17); a pin contact assembly operably attached to a first end of the charge tube (rotating pin 74, grounding pin 76, transfer pin 78 and a detonator define a pin contact assembly attached to a first end, defined by the right end of charge tube 70 in Fig. 17; Fig. 17; para 51), the pin contact assembly comprising a through pin configured to provide electrical communication between perforating guns (rotating pin 74 defines a through pin that provides electrical communication between the perforating gun 20 and an upwell gun; Fig. 17; para 51); a second end of the charge tube (second end of charge tube 70 defined by the left end of the charge tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50), a detonator (detonator present, but not shown in Fig. 17; para 51); and a gun barrel (gun carrier 24 defines a gun barrel; Fig. 17; para 41); wherein the gun assembly is situated within and is configured to self- orient inside the gun barrel (the gun assembly 70, including the components within 70, is situated within the gun barrel 24 and self-orients by way of weight 72; Fig. 17; para 50). Lopez fails to disclose the pin contact assembly includes a contact spacer and an addressable switch assembly attached to a second end of the charge tube, the addressable switch assembly comprising an addressable switch. Knight discloses a perforating gun which includes an addressable switch (switch assembly 48, 290; Fig. 2, 10, 11; col. 7:25-36, 11:1-26), and a contact spacer (element 270; Fig. 14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the contact spacer and addressable switch disclosed in Knight with the perforating gun taught in Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done because it is common practice in the downhole arts to have an addressable switch for different downhole tool activation and provide spacers so things are not prematurely powered or energized with a short circuit.
With regards to claim 2, Lopez discloses the perforating gun of claim 1. Modified Lopez further teaches wherein the through pin is configured to freely rotate (through pin 74 is a rotating pin that provides an axis of rotation and is capable of freely rotating with respect to the charge tube 70; Fig. 17; para 51). Lopez fails to disclose wherein the through pin is configured to freely rotate while the pin contact spacer remains stationary. Lopez teaches an internal adapter that is stationary with respect to the through pin configured to freely rotate with respect to charge tube 70 (internal adapter 80 is stationary with respect to through pin 74; Fig. 17; para 51). Knight teaches wherein the pin contact spacer remains stationary (contact spacer 270 is fastened to the end of the charge tube 242 and therefore stationary; Fig. 15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stationary contact spacer disclosed in Knight with the through pin taught in Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to provide the predictable result of orienting the charge tube while maintaining good electrical communication between the through pin and the pin contact spacer.
With regards to claim 3, Lopez discloses the charge tube comprises at least one weight attached to an outer surface thereof (asymmetrical weight 72 is attached to an outer surface of charge tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50).
With regards to claim 19, Lopez shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it does not teach further comprising at least one grounding spring extending from the charge tube, wherein the at least one grounding spring contacts an inner surface of the gun barrel when the charge tube is installed in the gun barrel. Knight discloses at least one grounding spring (spring 249; Fig. 11) extending from the charge tube (242; Fig. 11), wherein the at least one grounding spring contacts an inner surface of the gun barrel (carrier 202; Fig. 7; col. 16:28-43) when the charge tube is installed in the gun barrel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ground spring disclosed in Knight with the perforating gun taught in Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done in order to provide the predictable result of preventing equipment damage and a low-resistance path for excess electricity.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight et al. (US 2024/0003200, hereafter Knight ‘200).
With regards to claim 20, Lopez shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to disclose the charge tube comprises a plurality of first cutouts, each of the plurality of first cutouts being configured to receive a respective shaped charge, and a plurality of second cutouts distributed along a length of the charge tube, wherein the plurality of second cutouts are located on a top side of the charge tube thereby reducing an amount of material on the top side of the charge tube. Knight ‘200 discloses a perforating gun with a charge tube (Fig. 23), which has a first set of cutouts for retaining shaped charges (865; Fig. 27), and a plurality of second cutouts distributed along a length of the charge tube, wherein the plurality of second cutouts (unnumbered cutouts flanking the cutouts 865; Fig. 23) are located on a top side of the charge tube thereby reducing an amount of material on the top side of the charge tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutouts disclosed in Knight ‘200 with the charge tube taught in Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to reduce the weight of the charge tube for ease of loading.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sloan et al. (US 2003/0102162, hereafter Sloan).
With regards to claim 5, Lopez in view of Knight shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to disclose the at least one weight is secured to the charge tube with a rivet. Sloan discloses the at least one weight is secured to the charge tube with a rivet (weight 40 is attached to gun tube 20 by fasteners 42 which are rivets; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the rivet disclosed in Sloan with the gun taught in Lopez in view of Knight with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to provide the predictable result of securing the weight to the charge tube with a known, proven method.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Knight ‘200.
With regards to claim 6 and 7, Lopez in view of Knight shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to disclose the charge tube comprises a plurality of cutout sections on a top side thereof, and wherein the cutout sections are not cutout sections for receiving the shaped charges. Knight ‘200 discloses a perforating gun with a charge tube (Fig. 23), which has a first set of cutouts for retaining shaped charges (865; Fig. 27), and a plurality of second cutouts distributed along a length of the charge tube, wherein the plurality of second cutouts (unnumbered cutouts flanking the cutouts 865; Fig. 23) are located on a top side of the charge tube thereby reducing an amount of material on the top side of the charge tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutouts disclosed in Knight ‘200 with the charge tube taught in Lopez in view of Knight with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to reduce the weight of the charge tube for ease of loading.
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell et al. (US 2024/0003229, hereafter Prisbell).
With regards to claim 8, Lopez discloses a perforating gun (perforation gun 20; Fig. 17; para 41), comprising: a gun assembly (loading tube 70 and the components within 70 define a gun assembly; Fig. 17; para 41, 47, 50), comprising a charge tube (loading tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50, 53) comprising at least one shaped charge (shaped charge 32; Fig. 17); a pin contact assembly operably attached to a first end of the charge tube (rotating pin 74, grounding pin 76, transfer pin 78 and a detonator define a pin contact assembly attached to a first end, defined by the right end of charge tube 70 in Fig. 17; Fig. 17; para 51), the pin contact assembly comprising a through pin configured to provide electrical communication between perforating guns (rotating pin 74 defines a through pin that provides electrical communication between the perforating gun 20 and an upwell gun; Fig. 17; para 51); a second end of the charge tube (second end of charge tube 70 defined by the left end of the charge tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50), a detonator (detonator present, but not shown in Fig. 17; para 51); and a gun barrel (gun carrier 24 defines a gun barrel; Fig. 17; para 41); wherein the gun assembly is situated within and is configured to self- orient inside the gun barrel (the gun assembly 70, including the components within 70, is situated within the gun barrel 24 and self-orients by way of weight 72; Fig. 17; para 50). Lopez fails to disclose the pin contact assembly includes a contact spacer which includes a roller bearing where the through pin is operably associated with the roller bearing such that the through pin can freely rotate along an axis of the gun assembly and an addressable switch assembly attached to a second end of the charge tube, the addressable switch assembly comprising an addressable switch.
Knight discloses a perforating gun which includes an addressable switch (switch assembly 48, 290; Fig. 2, 10, 11; col. 7:25-36, 11:1-26), and a contact spacer (element 270; Fig. 14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the contact spacer and addressable switch disclosed in Knight with the perforating gun taught in Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done because it is common practice in the downhole arts to have an addressable switch for different downhole tool activation and provide spacers so things are not prematurely powered or energized with a short circuit.
Prisbell discloses a perforating gun which a through contact pin (550; Fig. 5) where the through pin is operably associated with a roller bearing (518; Fig. 5) such that the through pin can freely rotate along an axis of the gun assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the roller bearing disclosed in Prisbell with the perforating gun of modified Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to allow free rotation of the contact pin.
With regards to claim 9, Lopez discloses the charge tube comprises at least one weight attached to an outer surface thereof (asymmetrical weight 72 is attached to an outer surface of charge tube 70; Fig. 17; para 50).
With regards to claim 14, Lopez shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it does not teach further comprising at least one grounding spring extending from the charge tube, wherein the at least one grounding spring contacts an inner surface of the gun barrel when the charge tube is installed in the gun barrel. Knight discloses at least one grounding spring (spring 249; Fig. 11) extending from the charge tube (242; Fig. 11), wherein the at least one grounding spring contacts an inner surface of the gun barrel (carrier 202; Fig. 7; col. 16:28-43) when the charge tube is installed in the gun barrel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ground spring disclosed in Knight with the perforating gun taught in Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done in order to provide the predictable result of preventing equipment damage and a low-resistance path for excess electricity.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Sloan.
With regards to claim 11, Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to disclose the at least one weight is secured to the charge tube with a rivet. Sloan discloses the at least one weight is secured to the charge tube with a rivet (weight 40 is attached to gun tube 20 by fasteners 42 which are rivets; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the rivet disclosed in Sloan with the gun taught in Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to provide the predictable result of securing the weight to the charge tube with a known, proven method.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Knight ‘200.
With regards to claim 12, Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to disclose the charge tube comprises a plurality of cutout sections on a top side thereof, and wherein the cutout sections are not cutout sections for receiving the shaped charges. Knight ‘200 discloses a perforating gun with a charge tube (Fig. 23), which has a first set of cutouts for retaining shaped charges (865; Fig. 27), and a plurality of second cutouts distributed along a length of the charge tube, wherein the plurality of second cutouts (unnumbered cutouts flanking the cutouts 865; Fig. 23) are located on a top side of the charge tube thereby reducing an amount of material on the top side of the charge tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutouts disclosed in Knight ‘200 with the charge tube taught in Lopez in view of Knight and Prisbell with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to reduce the weight of the charge tube for ease of loading.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited all show similar features to those of the claimed invention.
/DANIEL P STEPHENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676