DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2023/0176721; hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 1:
Chung discloses a file processing method, for an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises a screen, and the method comprises:
displaying a first interface of a first application in a first display area of the screen, the first interface comprising file content of a first file (see Fig. 14; the image displayed on the second execution screen 502 corresponds to the claimed “a first interface of a first application in a first display area of the screen”; and the content displayed on the execution screen 502 corresponds to the claimed “file content”; the application displayed in the first display area 502 corresponds to a photo application);
in response to a first control operation, displaying a file identifier of the first file in a second interface displayed in a second display area of the screen, the second interface being an interface of a second application (see Fig. 14; when the display module is changed from unfolding state to folding state, the file identifier (i.e., the image of the dogs) is displayed on the second display area 201; the application displayed in the second display area 201 corresponds to a messaging application); and
in response to a first operation performed on the file identifier in the second interface, performing, on the first file, processing corresponding to the first operation (see Fig. 12 or 14; the user is capable of performing varies first operation on the first file, and the system is capable of performing, on the first file, processing corresponding to the first operation, such as saving the first file or sending the first file in a messaging application).
Regarding claim 2:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the screen comprises a first screen and a second screen, the first display area is located on the first screen, the second display area is located on the second screen, and the first screen is a foldable screen (see Figs. 3E, 3F, and 14 and paragraph [0012]) ; the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area of the screen in response to the first control operation, comprises:
in response to a first control operation that changes the first screen from being in an unfolded state to being in a folded state, displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area (see Fig. 14, the folded state after folding 1226).
Regarding claim 3:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein before displaying the first interface of the first application in the first display area of the screen, the method further comprises:
while the first screen is in the folded state, in response to a second operation for the second application, displaying the second interface of the second application in the second display area (see Fig. 12 or 14; the user is capable of performing operation on the second application and displaying the information on the second display area while the first screen is in the folded state); and
the displaying the first interface of the first application in the first display area of the screen comprises:
after the first screen is changed from being in the folded state to being in the unfolded state, in response to a third operation for the first application, displaying the first interface of the first application in the first display area (see Fig. 12 or 14; when the electronic device is changed from folded state to unfolded state after step 524, the first interface of the first application (i.e., the photo app) is displayed in the first display area).
Regarding claim 9:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the screen comprises a first screen and a second screen (see Fig. 19; a first screen corresponds to display areas 202, 206 and 203; a second screen corresponds to display areas 201 and 204); , the first display area is located on the first screen, the second display area is located on the second screen, and the second screen is a foldable screen (see Figs. 12, 14 and 19);
the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area of the screen in response to the first control operation, comprises:
in response to a first control operation that changes the second screen from being in a folded state to being in an unfolded state, displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area (see Fig. 12; Chung does not disclose deactivating the screen(s) when being folded or unfolded, therefore, when the second screen is being in an unfolded state, the content displayed in screen (i.e., 501) is still being displayed).
Regarding claim 10:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the screen is a foldable screen, the first display area is an entire display area of the screen, and the second display area is a partial display area of the screen (see Fig. 19; the housing structure 220 and 230 correspond to a foldable screen; display 202, 206, and 203 correspond to an entire display area of the screen, and display 201 is a partial display area of the screen);
the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area of the screen in response to the first control operation, comprises:
in response to a first control operation that changes the screen from being in an unfolded state to being in a folded state, displaying the second interface of the second application in the second display area, and displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface (see Fig. 12; after folding (step 1226), the second display displays the second application and the file identifier (i.e., the dogs image) in the second interface).
Regarding claim 11:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein before displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area of the screen in response to the first control operation, the method further comprises:
in response to an editing operation performed on the file content, editing the file content and obtaining an edited first file (see paragraph [0176]; “The electronic device 101 may allocate the first object 511, e.g., an image file, to a third application, e.g., an image editing application. The image editing application may configure a third execution screen 2003 including a tool including the icon for modifying the image file”).
Regarding claim 16:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second interface is a file management interface of a file management application, and the performing, on the first file, the processing corresponding to the first operation in response to the first operation performed on the file identifier in the second interface, comprises: in response to a second drag operation performed on the file identifier in the file management interface, saving the first file to a target folder (see Fig. 5; user performs dragging of the image file 511 to the foldable area 204 in order to save the file to a target folder).
Regarding claim 17:
Chung discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein after displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area of the screen in response to the first control operation, the method further comprises:
in response to a fifth operation performed on the file identifier in the second interface, displaying a preview image of the file content of the first file in the second interface (see Fig. 8; the foldable area 204 displays a preview image of the image file).
Regarding claims 18 and 20:
Claims 18 and 20 each recites similar limitations as in claim 1. Hence, Chung discloses all the features in claims 18 and 20 as discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 recites similar limitations as in claim 2. Hence, claim 19 is rejected under the same reason as discussed above in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Kwon et al. (US 2020/0326900; hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 4:
Chung discloses all the features in claim 1. Chung further discloses the method, wherein the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area, in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, comprises:
in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, controlling the second screen to be in a screen-on state (see Fig. 12 or 14; the second screen is in a screen-on state in order to display the second interface); and
displaying the second interface, based on content displayed on the second screen before getting into the screen-off state, and displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface (see Fig. 12 or 14).
Chung does not disclose the method wherein after the first screen is changed from being in the folded state to being in the unfolded state, the method further comprises:
controlling the second screen to be in a screen-off state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kwon discloses a method, after the first screen is changed from being in the folded state to being in the unfolded state, the method further comprises:
controlling the second screen to be in a screen-off state (see paragraph [0119]); and
the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area, in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, comprises:
in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, controlling the second screen to be in a screen-on state (see Fig. 8B; step 853); and
displaying the second interface, based on content displayed on the second screen before getting into the screen-off state, and displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface (see paragraph [0133]; the activated display is configured to display interface/application based on the history information which includes content displayed on the second screen before getting into the scree-off state).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chung and Kwon such that after the first screen is changed from being in the folded state to being in the unfolded state, the method further comprises: controlling the second screen to be in a screen-off state; and the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area, in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, comprises: in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, controlling the second screen to be in a screen-on state; and displaying the second interface, based on content displayed on the second screen before getting into the screen-off state, and displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface.. The combination would have yielded a predictable result of preventing and/or reducing unnecessary power consumption and improve user experience by providing continuity for a specific application of interest to the user (see Kwon, paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 5:
Chung and Kwon disclose all the features in claim 4. Kwon further discloses the method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the controlling the second screen to be in the screen-off state comprises:
controlling the second screen to be in the screen-off state, and saving a display status of the second screen (see paragraph [0119], [0133], and [0153]); and
the displaying the second interface, based on the content displayed on the second screen before getting into the screen-off state, comprises:
displaying the second interface by controlling the second screen to display, based on the saved display status of the second screen, the content displayed on the second screen before getting into the screen-off state (see paragraph [0133]; the activated display is configured to display interface/application based on the history information which includes content displayed on the second screen before getting into the scree-off state).
The motivation to combine Chung and Kwon is provided above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 7:
Chung and Kwon discloses all the features in claim 5. Kwon further discloses the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the controlling the second screen to be in the screen-on state in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, comprises:
in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, controlling the second screen to be in the screen-on state, controlling the first screen to be in a screen-off state, and saving a display status of the first screen (see Fig. 8B and paragraphs [0125] and [0133]); and the method further comprises:
in response to a second control operation that changes the first screen from being in the folded state to being in the unfolded state, controlling the first screen to display, based on the saved display status of the first screen, content displayed on the first screen before getting into the screen- off state (see Fig. 8B, step 855 and paragraph [0133]).
The motivation to combine Chung and Kwon is provided above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 8:
Chung and Kwon disclose all the features in claim 2. Kwon further discloses the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, comprises:
in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, displaying a third interface comprising an application icon of the second application (see Fig. 11A, step 1103); and
in response to a fourth operation performed on the application icon of the second application, displaying the second interface of the second application in the second display area, and displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface (see Fig. 11A, step 1105; the App C is inherently capable of display the file identifier of the first file in the second interface).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chung and Kwon such that the displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface displayed in the second display area in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, comprises: in response to the first control operation that changes the first screen from being in the unfolded state to being in the folded state, displaying a third interface comprising an application icon of the second application; and in response to a fourth operation performed on the application icon of the second application, displaying the second interface of the second application in the second display area, and displaying the file identifier of the first file in the second interface. The combination would have yielded a predictable result of improving user experience by providing continuity for a specific application of interest to the user as the user switches between different displays.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Cheong et al. (EP3279763A1; hereinafter Cheong).
Regarding claim 12:
Chung discloses all the features in claim 1. However, Chung does not disclose the method, wherein the second interface is a chat interface of a chat application, and the performing, on the first file, the processing corresponding to the first operation in response to the first operation performed on the file identifier in the second interface, comprises: in response to a first drag operation performed on the file identifier in the chat interface, sending the first file.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheong discloses a method, wherein the second interface is a chat interface of a chat application, and the performing, on the first file, the processing corresponding to the first operation in response to the first operation performed on the file identifier in the second interface, comprises:
in response to a first drag operation performed on the file identifier in the chat interface, sending the first file (see Figs. 10D and 10E; once the user drags and release the object 1034 onto the first area 1012, the object 1034 is sent).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chung and Cheung such that the second interface is a chat interface of a chat application, and the performing, on the first file, the processing corresponding to the first operation in response to the first operation performed on the file identifier in the second interface, comprises: in response to a first drag operation performed on the file identifier in the chat interface, sending the first file. The combination would have yielded a predictable result of improving the user experience in sharing files.
Regarding claim 13:
Chung and Cheong disclose all the features in claim 12. Cheong further disclose the method, wherein the sending the first file in response to the first drag operation performed on the file identifier in the chat interface, comprises:
in response to the first drag operation performed on the file identifier in the chat interface, obtaining an end position of the first drag operation (see Figs. 10D, 10E and 19C); and
in response to the end position being located in a first preset area of the chat interface, sending the first file (see paragraph [0180]).
The motivation to combine Chung and Cheong is provided above in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14:
Chung and Cheong disclose all the features in claim 13. Cheong further discloses the method, wherein the first preset area comprises an area where an object identifier of a chat object is located, and the sending the first file in response to the end position being located in the first preset area of the chat interface, comprises:
in response to the end position being located in an area of the chat interface where a target object identifier is located, obtaining a target chat object corresponding to the target object identifier (see Figs. 10D, 10E and 19C); and sending the first file to the target chat object (see paragraph [0180]).
The motivation to combine Chung and Cheong is provided above in claim 12.
Regarding claim 15:
Chung and Cheong disclose all the features in claim 13. Cheong further discloses the method, wherein after obtaining the end position of the first drag operation, the method further comprises: in response to the end position being located in a second preset area of the chat interface, canceling the displaying of the file identifier (see Fig. 19C and paragraph [0180]; the selected object 1942 has to be completely dragged onto the first area 1912 in order to trigger the transmission of the information corresponding to the selected object).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chung and Cheong such that after obtaining the end position of the first drag operation, the method further comprises: in response to the end position being located in a second preset area of the chat interface, canceling the displaying of the file identifier. The combination would have yielded a predictable result of avoiding transmitting the file by incomplete or mistaken command.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 6, none of the reference of record alone or in combination discloses or suggests the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the displaying the first interface of the first application in the first display area in response to the third operation for the first application, comprises: in response to the third operation for the first application, displaying the first interface of the first application in the first display area, and displaying a prompt message in the first interface, wherein the prompt message is used to prompt that the display status of the second screen has been saved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 11,838,435) discloses a foldable electronic device for display multi-window and multi-application interface.
Hasuike (US 2022/0311718) discloses an information processing device for attaching and transmitting file in a message application.
Li (US 2021/0216332) teaches a device for generating and presenting contextual user interfaces on a display with foldable screens.
/LIXI C SIMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625