DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “112” has been used to designate both first set of channels and second set of channels for Fig. 7B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “forming plurality of conductive strips” should be “forming a plurality of conductive strips”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second removing step" in line 1, “the portions of the second laminated layer” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, claim 1 recites a sheet while claim 3 recites a layer. For purposes of examination, claim 3 is interpreted as further comprising removing portions of a second laminated sheet by applying a laser to melt the portions of the second laminated sheet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0003773) in view of Pellerite (US 2014/0332254).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method of forming plurality of conductive strips ([0079] - forming conductive film 110), the method comprising: providing a first laminated sheet including a first non-conductive layer (50; [0051] – made of acrylic resin), a second non-conductive layer (32; [0059] – made of various resin), and a first conductive layer sandwiched therebetween (40; [0073] – conductive layer 40), and removing portions of the first laminated sheet to define a first plurality of channels (Fig. 5F) to form the plurality of conductive strips extending in a first direction ([0083-0087] – conductive layer 40a is an electrode extending in a first direction) by applying a laser ([0076]).
Kim fails to expressly teach that applying the laser melts the portions of the first laminated sheet. Pellerite teaches removing portions of a laminated sheet to define a plurality of channels by applying a laser to melt portions of the sheet ([0043] – conductive areas may be an array of lines; [0072] – irradiated film melts). It would have been obvious to modify Kim with Pellerite as it would result in similar, and thus predictable results.
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the removing step includes etching the first non-conductive layer ([0076], Fig. 5F).
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the second removing step includes applying a laser to portions of a second laminated sheet (10b; Fig. 7) in the same way as the first ([0083-87]), while Pellerite teaches the application of a laser to melt, as stated previously.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,722 in view of Kim (US 2017/0003773) and Pellerite (US 2014/0332254).
As to claims 1-3, the ‘722 patent recites “the plurality of conductive strips extending in a first direction” defined by “a first plurality of channels”. Kim and Pellerite teach the non-recited limitations, as noted in the prior art rejection, and would have been obvious to modify in combination with the claims of the ‘722 patent for the same reasons.
CHRISTIAN JANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTIAN JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 10/5/26