DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
The reference characters in Fig. 1 do not measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height as required by 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3).
Poor line quality has reduced the legibility for the reference character denoting the receding notch in Fig. 3. It is unclear whether this reference character is 151 or 161.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “preform strips” (claims 5-9), the “rim preform fixture” (claim 7), the “prepregs” (claims 7 and 8), the “airbag” (claim 7), the “pre-formed product” (claim 7), the “molding die” (claim 7), the “communication holes” (claims 7 and 10), and the “isolating film” (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the preform strips”.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “a pre-formed product” in step S3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “a pre-formed product” refers to the structure set forth in the previous steps S1 and S2, or if it is distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meggiolan et al. (US 2005/0062337 A1; hereinafter “Meggiolan”).
Regarding claim 1, Meggiolan, in the embodiment of Fig. 9, discloses a carbon fiber bicycle rim 1a, comprising a ring-shaped rim body (Fig. 9), which is integrally formed from carbon fiber (note at least paragraphs [0024-0026] and [0056]), wherein the rim body comprises an outer ring wall 2, an inner ring wall (unlabeled radially inner wall shown in Fig. 9), and two side walls (unlabeled sidewalls shown in Fig. 9) that connect the outer ring wall with the inner ring wall (Fig. 9), the outer ring wall has an outer side that forms a semi-closed tire groove 51 and an inner side that encloses together with the inner ring wall and the side walls to form a closed cavity (unlabeled in Fig. 9; 50 in Fig. 1), connecting portions 35, 36 are arranged in the cavity (Fig. 9), the connecting portions have one end at 31 that is connected to the outer ring wall and the other end at 30 that is connected to the side walls (Fig. 9), and the connecting portions enclose together with the outer ring wall and the side walls to form hollow channels 50a, 50b.
Regarding claim 2, Meggiolan further discloses the connecting portions are connected to and arranged between the two side walls and the outer ring wall (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Meggiolan further discloses the hollow channels are arranged in a shape of a ring along the rim body (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, the method of production limitations (i.e., the hollow channels are pre-formed by preform strips that are pre-embedded in the rim body, and the preform strips have a thermal expansion coefficient of 5x10-4 to 8.0x10-4/°C) are not afforded full patentable weight in a product claim (note MPEP 2113). Nonetheless, Meggiolan further discloses the use of preform strips (inflatable bags 13) that are pre-embedded in the rim body to form the hollow channels (note at least Figs. 2 and 2A; paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Meggiolan further discloses the connecting portions are provided with receding notches (“suitable openings” described in paragraph [0055] for allowing the removal of the inflatable bags used to help form the hollow channels shown in Fig. 9) that are in communication with the cavity and the hollow channels, and the preform strips have end portions that are correspondingly exposed at the receding notches (implicit from paragraph [0055] that the end portions of the inflatable bags would be exposed in the “suitable openings” used to remove the inflatable bags).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan.
Meggiolan fails to expressly disclose the hollow channels have an inner diameter of 2-6 mm.
Nonetheless, inasmuch as Meggiolan teaches the configuration, including the dimensions, of the radially inner region can be varied “provided that it offers a suitable clamping surface for the spokes and provided that the conflicting requirements of sufficient structural stiffness and low weight are adequately satisfied” (paragraph [0003]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of routine optimization, to have formed the hollow channels to have an inner diameter of 2-6 mm based upon the desired structural stiffness and low weight requirements for the intended use of the bicycle rim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art shows other examples of bicycle rims with hollow channels.
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615