DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 19, 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 14, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293 anticipates instant claim 1, as explained below.
For example, please see the table below for a limitation-by-limitation mapping of claim 1.
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293 (incorporating claims 1 and 2)
A testing system comprising:
(Claim 1) A testing system comprising:
a test device including a test area including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance;
a test device including a test area including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance;
a user device including a camera, a processor, a display, and memory storing program instructions, wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor:
a user device including a camera, a processor, a display, and memory storing program instructions, wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor:
receives an image of the test device from the camera, the image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line;
receives an image of the test device from the camera, the image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line;
determines a numerical test-line value and a numerical control-line value based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively;
determines a numerical test-line value and a numerical control-line value based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively;
calculates a T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value;
calculates a T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value;
translates the T/C ratio into a quantitative level of an analyte in the tested substance;
analyzes data points, wherein the data points include the T/C ratio, a quantitative level of an analyte corresponding to the T/C ratio, one or more T/C ratios of the analyte from previous test devices, additional T/C ratios, or additional quantitative levels of other analytes corresponding to the additional T/C ratios;
analyzes data points, wherein the data points include the T/C ratio and/or quantitative level of the analyte and additional T/C ratios and/or additional quantitative levels of other analytes;
presents a prediction of a fertility window, peak predicted fertility days, or period days.
(Claim 1) presents information indicative of the data points, wherein the information includes a calendar and/or a graph including an ovulation cycle and/or hormone changes.
(Claim 3) The system of claim 2, wherein the information comprises a prediction of a fertility window, peak predicted fertility days, or period days.
Claim 2 of instant application corresponds to claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293.
Claim 4 of instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293.
Claim 19 of instant application corresponds to claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293.
Claim 22 of instant application corresponds to claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites the “prediction includes the fertility window, the peak predicted fertility days, and the period days”. Claim 1 already recited this limitation.
Claim 26 recites similar limitations as claim 8. Therefore, the same correction as claim 8 is required.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 19-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 11, 20, 29 recite “the information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 5, 7, 21, 23, 25 recite “the peak predicted fertility dates”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13, 31 recite “the background of the test area”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites “the program instructions” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites “the memory” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 20, 22, 24-26, 28-35, depend on at least claim 19. Therefore, the claims 20, 22, 24-35 are rejected for at least the same reason as claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 10, 14-16, 19, 22, 27, 28, 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160080548) in view of Busa et al. (U.S. Patent 10,823,746) and further in view of Martinez Hurtado (U.S. Patent Application 20190307432).
In regards to claim 1, Erickson teaches a testing system [e.g. system for obtaining quantitative, colorimetric-based measurements of target analytes, 0126] comprising:
a test device [Fig. 17A; e.g. test strip, 0177] including a test area [e.g. test region, 0142] including a visually identifiable test-line [e.g. test line, 0178-0180] and a visually identifiable control-line [e.g. control line, 0178-0180] formed in response to exposure to a tested substance [e.g. sweat, saliva, urine, or blood, 0016]; and
a user device [Fig. 9C; e.g. smartphone such as iPhone 4, 0130] including a camera [Fig. 9C; e.g. camera, 0130], a processor [e.g. the smartphone inherently comprises a processor, 0014], a display [e.g. screen, 0145], and memory [e.g. the smartphone inherently comprises a memory, 0014] storing program instructions [e.g. programmed application, 0019], wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor:
receives an image of the test device from the camera [e.g. capturing an image by the smartphone camera, 0174, 0178], the image including the test area [e.g. test region, 0142], the visually identifiable test-line [e.g. test line, 0178-0180], and the visually identifiable control-line [e.g. control line, 0178-0180];
determines a numerical test-line value [Fig. 18A, 18B; e.g. local minima of test line, 0179-0180] and a numerical control-line value [Fig. 18A, 18B; e.g. local minima of control line, 0179-0180] based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line [Fig. 18A, 18B; e.g. based on the test and control lines, 0179-0180], respectively;
calculates a T/C ratio [Fig. 19; e.g. T/C ratio, 0182] defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value [e.g. relative magnitude of the test and control lines, 0182];
Erickson does not explicitly teach
analyzes data points, wherein the data points include the T/C ratio, a quantitative level of an analyte corresponding to the T/C ratio, one or more T/C ratios of the analyte from previous test devices, additional T/C ratios, or additional quantitative levels of other analytes corresponding to the additional T/C ratios; and
presents a prediction of a fertility window, peak predicted fertility days, or period days.
However, Busa teaches
analyzes data points [e.g. calculating ratios of peak areas associated with test lines of the test device to a control line of the test device, c.13 L.51-63], wherein the data points include the T/C ratio [e.g. ratio associated with test line of the test device to the control line of the test device, c.13 L.51-63] or additional T/C ratios [e.g. other ratios associated with test lines of the test device to the control lines of the test device, c.13 L.51-63].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Erickson’s testing system with the features of
analyzes data points, wherein the data points include the T/C ratio or additional T/C ratios; and
in the same conventional manner as taught by Busa because Busa provides a method for visualizing the data in order to spot trends in the biological data [c.16 L.13-c.17 L.16].
Erickson as modified by Busa does not explicitly teach
presents a prediction of a fertility window, peak predicted fertility days, or period days.
However, Martinez Hurtado teaches
presents a prediction of a fertility window [e.g. fertile window, 0064], peak predicted fertility days [e.g. most fertile days, 0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa with the features of presents a prediction of a fertility window, peak predicted fertility days in the same conventional manner as taught by Martinez Hurtado because predicting a fertility window and peak predicted fertility days is well known and commonly used in the art of pregnancy testing systems.
In regards to claim 4, Erickson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to translate the T/C ratio into the quantitative level [e.g. quantitative data, 0180] of the analyte in the tested substance [e.g. analyte concentration, 0180].
In regards to claim 9, Erickson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the memory stores a data structure [e.g. storing in at least one of a readable file in the smartphone, 0053-0055] that relates the T/C ratio [Fig. 19; e.g. T/C ratio, 0182] to the quantitative level [e.g. quantitative data, 0180] of the analyte [e.g. analyte concentration, 0180].
In regards to claim 10, Erickson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the characteristic being tested is the presence of one or more of a luteinizing hormone [e.g. luteinizing hormone, 0127, Table 1 located below 0190], a human chorionic gonadotropin [e.g. human chorionic gonadotropin, 0176], and estrogen [e.g. estrogen, 0127, Table 1 located below 0190] in the tested substance.
In regards to claim 14, Erickson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the test device is one of an ovulation [e.g. ovulation, 0127, Table 1 located below 0190], pregnancy [e.g. pregnancy test, 0176], estrogen [e.g. estrogen, 0127, Table 1 located below 0190] test device.
In regards to claim 15, Erickson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the tested substance is one of urine, blood, and saliva [e.g. sweat, saliva, urine, or blood, 0016].
In regards to claim 16, Erickson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor selects the image from a stream of images received from the camera [e.g. selecting an array of pixels in each of the color images of the test region containing the analyte and the calibration region, 0028].
In regards to claim 19, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 1, but with the addition of a camera, including an image capture mechanism and a camera communication interface; a processor, including an image processing mechanism and a processor communication interface in communication with the camera communication interface; and a display controlled by the processor. Furthermore, Erickson teaches a camera [e.g. smartphone’s camera, 0113], including an image capture mechanism [e.g. image recording, 0126] and a camera communication interface [e.g. app, 0109]; a processor [e.g. a smartphone must inherently have at least one processor, 0109], including an image processing mechanism [e.g. image processing algorithm, 0124] and a processor communication interface [e.g. app, 0109] in communication with the camera communication interface; and a display [e.g. smartphone screen, 0171] controlled by the processor. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 1 is applied.
In regards to claim 22, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 4. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 4 is applied.
In regards to claim 27, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 9. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 9 is applied.
In regards to claim 28, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 10. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 10 is applied.
In regards to claim 32, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 14. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 14 is applied.
In regards to claim 33, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 15. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 15 is applied.
In regards to claim 34, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 16. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 16 is applied.
Claim(s) 2, 11, 20, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160080548) in view of Busa et al. (U.S. Patent 10,823,746) and further in view of Martinez Hurtado (U.S. Patent Application 20190307432) as applied to claims 1, 19 above, and further in view of Divaraniya et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20210264604).
In regards to claim 2, Erickson as modified by Busa and Martinez Hurtado does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the information further includes the ovulation cycle and/or the hormone changes over a plurality of months.
However, Divaraniya teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the information further includes the ovulation cycle [e.g. a summary report of her current cycle or cycles over a plurality of months, 0175] and/or the hormone changes over a plurality of months [e.g. data on her menstrual cycles over a plurality of months includes changes in her hormones such as LH, estradiol, and/or progesterone, 0174-0175, also see 0148].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa and Martinez Hurtado with the features of wherein the information further includes the ovulation cycle and/or the hormone changes over a plurality of months in the same conventional manner as taught by Divaraniya because Divaraniya provides a method that accurately forecasts ovulation for a user [0172].
In regards to claim 11, Erickson as modified by Busa and Martinez Hurtado does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of test devices, each test device including a test area including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a plurality of images of the test devices from the camera, each image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line;
determine a numerical test-line value and a numerical control-line value based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively, for each image;
calculate a T/C ratio for each image, the T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value; and
present the information comprising the prediction.
However, Divaraniya teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of test devices [e.g. two more lateral flow devices, 0008], each test device [e.g. each lateral flow device, 0008] including a test area [e.g. detection region, 0446] including a visually identifiable test-line [e.g. test area with an embedded test line, 0446, also see 0112] and a visually identifiable control-line [e.g. control area with an embedded control line, 0446, also see 0112] formed in response to exposure to a tested substance [e.g. biological sample fluid, such as urine, blood, serum, or saliva, 0109, 0111-0112], wherein the processor [e.g. processor, 0005] is configured to:
receive a plurality of images of the test devices from the camera [e.g. each test scanned with the camera of a smartphone, 0130, 0422], each image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line [e.g. each image includes a detection region comprising a test area with an embedded test line and a control area with an embedded control line, 0165, also see 0446];
determine a numerical test-line value [e.g. quantitative test line intensity result, 0257] and a numerical control-line value [e.g. control line (CL) values, 0082] based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively, for each image;
calculate a T/C ratio for each image, the T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value [e.g. Comparing pixel intensities of the test area and the control area of a lateral flow device. The comparing can comprise normalizing pixel intensities between the test area and the control area, thereby quantifying the analyte, 0163]; and
present the information comprising the prediction [e.g. predict the fertile window of women and ovulation, 0138, 0140, 0147].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa and Martinez Hurtado with the features of a plurality of test devices, each test device including a test area including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a plurality of images of the test devices from the camera, each image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line;
determine a numerical test-line value and a numerical control-line value based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively, for each image;
calculate a T/C ratio for each image, the T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value; and
present the information comprising the prediction;
in the same conventional manner as taught by Divaraniya because Divaraniya provides a method that accurately predicts a woman’s fertile days forecasts ovulation for a user [0138, 0172].
In regards to claim 20, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 2. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 2 is applied.
In regards to claim 29, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 11. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 11 is applied.
Claim(s) 8, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160080548) in view of Busa et al. (U.S. Patent 10,823,746) and further in view of Martinez Hurtado (U.S. Patent Application 20190307432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lafon et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20200000441).
In regards to claim 8, Erickson as modified by Busa does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the prediction includes the fertility window, the peak predicted fertility days, and the period days.
However, Martinez Hurtado teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the prediction includes the fertility window [e.g. fertile window, 0064], the peak predicted fertility days [e.g. most fertile days, 0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa with the features of wherein the prediction includes the fertility window, the peak predicted fertility in the same conventional manner as taught by Martinez Hurtado because predicting a fertility window and peak predicted fertility days is well known and commonly used in the art of pregnancy testing systems.
Erickson as modified by Busa and Martinez Hurtado does not explicitly teach wherein the prediction includes the period days.
However, Lafon teaches wherein the prediction includes the period days [e.g. A calendar with the likely start date of the menses, and the most likely date of ovulation as well as the fertile window. The view can also indicate predicted times or dates for future menstruation based on the prediction values, 0021-0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa and Martinez Hurtado with the features of wherein the prediction includes the period days in the same conventional manner as taught by Lafon because predicting the period days is well known and commonly used in the art of pregnancy testing systems.
In regards to claim 26, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 8. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 8 is applied.
Claim(s) 17, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160080548) in view of Busa et al. (U.S. Patent 10,823,746) and further in view of Martinez Hurtado (U.S. Patent Application 20190307432) as applied to claims 1, 19 above, and further in view of Pulitzer et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190384890).
In regards to claim 17, Erickson as modified by Busa and Martinez Hurtado does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the image includes a visually identifiable portion of the test device, further wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor identifies a model of the test device based on the visually identifiable portion of the test device. However, Pulitzer teaches the system [e.g. system, 0103] of claim 1, wherein the image [Fig. 22; e.g. image, 0102] includes a visually identifiable portion [e.g. test function indicators, 0102] of the test device [e.g. testing device, 0102], further wherein, in response to executing the program instructions [e.g. mobile application, 0102], the processor [e.g. mobile device inherently has a processor, 0102] identifies a model of the test device [e.g. identify the types of test for which the testing device is configured, 0102] based on the visually identifiable portion of the test device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa and Martinez Hurtado with the features of wherein the image includes a visually identifiable portion of the test device, further wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor identifies a model of the test device based on the visually identifiable portion of the test device in the same conventional manner as taught by Pulitzer because Pulitzer provides a method for potential early identification of pregnancy and risk of morbidity, allowing for medical attention to be sought much more quickly [0083].
In regards to claim 35, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 17. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 17 is applied.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160080548) in view of Busa et al. (U.S. Patent 10,823,746) and further in view of Martinez Hurtado (U.S. Patent Application 20190307432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Polwart et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140154789).
In regards to claim 18, Erickson as modified by Busa and Martinez Hurtado does not explicitly teach the system of claim 17, wherein the processor identifies the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line by identifying a location, edges, and line width within a test area that correspond to a defined test-line and a defined control-line for the identified model of the test device. However, Polwart teaches the system [e.g. testing apparatus, Abstract] of claim 17, wherein the processor [e.g. processor, Abstract] identifies the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line [e.g. identify the presence/absence of the control line, 0069] by identifying a location [e.g. identify the expected location of the test line, 0069], edges [e.g. identify the location of the result region which includes edges, 0069], and line width [e.g. magnitude of the test and control lines, 0069] within a test area [e.g. result region, 0069] that corresponds to a defined test-line and a defined control-line [e.g. quantified test or control lines, 0032] for the identified model of the test device [e.g. testing apparatus configured for performing a lateral flow immunoassay, 0014]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Erickson’s testing system and the teachings of Busa and Martinez Hurtado with the features of wherein the processor identifies the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line by identifying a location, edges, and line width within a test area that corresponds to a defined test-line and a defined control-line for the identified model of the test device in the same conventional manner as taught by Polwart because Polwart provides a method that differs from known methods in that it uses only the inbuilt hardware of the device requiring no external hardware or modifications to the electronics or infrastructure of the device. A key development is the inclusion of the image processing on the device, enabling the device to be operated stand alone without internet or phone connection if desired and also for "real time" feedback to the user on the position, orientation, and image quality SO that the operator can quickly capture an image of adequate quality, before any window of opportunity for a valid test result may have elapsed. Processing directly on the device enables the maximum image quality to be used. "Pre-filters" can be applied to discard irrelevant portions of the image such that processing time is minimized [0050].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 5, 7, 12, 13, 21, 23-25, 30, 31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the system of claim 1, wherein the data points comprise a plurality of T/C ratios measured over a plurality of menstrual cycles, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine an indication of an ovulation time based on the data points; and
determine a predicted ovulation time for subsequent menstrual cycles, wherein the prediction of the fertility window, the peak predicted fertility dates, or period days includes the ovulation time for subsequent menstrual cycles.
In regards to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the system of claim 4, wherein the data points comprise a plurality of quantitative levels of the analyte measured over a plurality of menstrual cycles, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine an indication of an ovulation time based on the data points; and
determine a predicted ovulation time for subsequent menstrual cycles, wherein the prediction of the fertility window, the peak predicted fertility dates, or period days includes the ovulation time for subsequent menstrual cycles.
In regards to claim 6, the claim depends on at least claim 5. Therefore, the claim is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 5 if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine hormone and/or ovulation patterns based on the data points;
determine peak hormone days based on the hormone and/or ovulation patterns; and
display predicted peak hormone days of subsequent menstrual cycles, wherein the prediction of the fertility window, the peak predicted fertility dates, or period days includes the predicted peak hormone days.
In regards to claim 12, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the system of claim 11, wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor further:
creates, for each image, a test-line greyscale representation of the visually identifiable test-line and a control-line greyscale representation of the visually identifiable control-line;
determines, for each image, a numerical test-line value based on a test-line darkness value of the test-line greyscale representation of the visually identifiable test-line; and
determines, for each image, a numerical control-line value based on a test-line darkness value of the test-line greyscale representation of the visually identifiable test-line.
In regards to claim 13, the claim depends on at least claim 12. Therefore, claim 13 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 12 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 21, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 3. Therefore, claim 21 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 3 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 23, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 5. Therefore, claim 23 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 5 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 24, the claim depends on at least claim 23. Therefore, the claim is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 23 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 25, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 7. Therefore, claim 25 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 7 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 30, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 12. Therefore, claim 30 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 12 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 31, the claim depends on at least claim 30. Therefore, claim 31 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 30 if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SHIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612