CTNF 19/182,384 CTNF 90492 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 11, 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Re claims 1, 11, 20, the recitation that “the second power transfer profile provides more optimal power transfer… than the first power transfer profile” is currently phrased in a manner that would appear to be very subjective or overly broad without further context/limitation, since what could potentially be considered more/less optimal can vary wildly without any further context. The current phrasing could potentially raise issues under 35 USC 112 if the scope cannot be clearly determined and/or is not adequately supported by the Specification/Drawings. It is therefore recommended that Applicant amend the claims to at least provide basic definition and/or context for what is presently considered more optimal power transfer and/or the details/manner in which a power transfer profile is more optimal than another. For example, Applicant’s disclosure appears to specifically refer to power transfer profile settings that would result in “a higher power transmission efficiency” as what would be considered more optimal power transfer, and it is recommended that more definite metrics such as efficiency or other metrics be recited to avoid issue. Appropriate correction/explanation is required, and care should be made to avoid raising further issues under 35 USC 112 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US2019/0296591) in view of Usman (EP4016797A1; see attached copy) . Re claim 1 . Park teaches an electronic device (wireless power transmitter <700>, see Park: Figs. 4, 7) comprising: a wireless power transfer coil (primary coil of coil assembly <760>, see Park: [0147-0148], Fig. 7); an inverter (inverter <780>, see Park: [0151], Fig. 7) that is configured to supply alternating-current drive signals to the wireless power transfer coil; and control circuitry (control unit <710>, communication unit <790>, see Park: [0152-0155], Fig. 7) configured to: commence wireless power transfer to an additional electronic device (wireless power reception apparatus) using a first power transfer profile, wherein the first power transfer profile defines a target output characteristic of the wireless power transfer coil (see Park: [0205-0208], [0214-0217], [0221-0225], Figs. 12, 15-16 regarding wireless power transmission during power transfer phase according to a first target power defining output power characteristic from the transmitter); during wireless power transfer to the additional electronic device using the first power transfer profile, receive a first packet (received power packet/RP/RPP, see Park: [0011], [0218] regarding RP/RPP packets indicating power received by receiver) from the additional electronic device that comprises received power information for the additional electronic device (see Park: [0226], [0228-0230], [0233], Figs. 4, 7-8, 15-16 regarding transmitter receiving a received power packet/RP from the receiver during power transfer phase); determine a second power transfer profile, wherein the second power transfer profile provides more optimal power transfer between the electronic device and the additional electronic device than the first power transfer profile (see Park: [0214-0217], [0221-0225], Figs. 15-16 regarding transmitter determining a new target power generally better suited to ambient/changing conditions); and transmit a second packet to the additional electronic device that identifies the second power transfer profile (see Park: [0216-0217], [0226], [0228-0230], [0235-0237], [0245-0253], Figs. 15-17, 19-20, regarding transmitter sending a capability/target power packet indicating the new desired target power as part of renegotiating to the new target power). See Park: [0011], [0147-0155], [0205-0208], [0214-0217], [0221-0230], [0233], [0235-0237], [0245-0253], Figs. 4, 7-8, 12, 15-17, 19-20. Although Park generally discloses determining adjusted power transmission is based on adjusting to current conditions and that the transmitter is generally receiving feedback information such as received power packets (see Park: [0011], [0214-0218], [0221-0225], Figs. 15-16), Park does not explicitly disclose that selection of new power transmission characteristics is based on using the received power information. One of ordinary skill, however, would appreciate that adjustment of power transmitter output characteristics to actively improve/optimize power transmission based on current conditions and received power feedback from the receiver is known in the art in a variety of systems. Usman, for example, teaches that it is known in the art of wireless power transmission system having transmitter receiving received power feedback information and able to adjust power transmitter output characteristics, for the transmitter to use at least the received power information to determine adjusted power output providing more optimal/efficient power transfer than previously (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter using received power information to calculate power transmission efficiency, comparing to efficiency threshold, and then changing transmit power and/or frequency to improve efficiency). One of ordinary skill would appreciate that Usman teaches a known wireless power transmission efficiency improving technique for adjusting transmitter output based on received power feedback information that may be applied to similar wireless power transmission systems and Park with its corresponding communication protocols and sending of second packet for coordinating/notifying the changes in power transmitter output. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park to incorporate the teachings of Usman by having the determining of second power transfer profile use the received power information as recited for purposes of providing a known technique for allowing the transmitter to determine if wireless power transmission efficiency has degraded under current conditions or changes in receiver distance/orientation and allow for power transmitter to adjust output and improve efficiency accordingly (see Park: [0214-0218], [0221-0225], Figs. 15-16; Usman: [0086-0088]). Note, see also the cited prior art of record for further examples of transmitter output characteristic adjustment based on received power feedback to improve efficiency. Re claims 2-3 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein receiving the first packet comprises receiving the first packet using the wireless power transfer coil and wherein transmitting the second packet comprises transmitting the second packet using the wireless power transfer coil; wherein receiving the first packet comprises receiving the first packet using amplitude shift keying (ASK) demodulation and wherein transmitting the second packet comprises transmitting the second packet using frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation (see Park: [0105-0106], [0152-0153], Figs. 4, 7 regarding transmitter using inband communication to receive/transmit data with the receiver by demodulating/modulating transmission through the primary coil, including ASK demodulation to receive data and FSK to send data). Re claim 4 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the received power information comprises a rectifier power level of the additional electronic device (see Park: [0159], Fig. 8 regarding rectifier for providing receiver DC power, and Usman: [0087] regarding received power information being the measured DC power at the receiver). Re claim 5 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein determining the second power transfer profile comprises: determining a wireless power transfer efficiency between the electronic device and the additional electronic device using at least the received rectifier power level (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter using received DC power information to calculate power transmission efficiency) and using the determined wireless power transfer efficiency and the received rectifier power level to determine whether operation of the electronic device falls within a desired efficiency range for the first power transfer profile (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter using calculated power transmission efficiency based on received power to compare to efficiency threshold and/or ranges to determine if above threshold/in range). Re claim 6 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein determining the second power transfer profile comprises: in accordance with determining operation of the electronic device does not fall within the desired efficiency range for the first power transfer profile, identifying that the second power transfer profile is efficient at the determined wireless power transfer efficiency and the received rectifier power level, wherein the second power transfer profile defines one or more operating characteristics for the wireless power transfer coil that are different from the first power transfer profile (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter changing transmit power and/or frequency parameters/profile to one that is different and above efficiency threshold/in efficiency range). Re claim 7 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein determining the wireless power transfer efficiency between the electronic device and the additional electronic device using at least the received rectifier power level comprises determining the wireless power transfer efficiency between the electronic device and the additional electronic device using the received rectifier power level and the target output characteristic of the wireless power transfer coil (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter using received power information to calculate power transmission efficiency; note that power efficiency is a term of art understood to refer to percent of received power divided by transmitted power, and therefore inherently is also based on the transmitted power/target output characteristic which is adjusted; alternatively, Official Notice is hereby taken that it is well-known in the art to provide a measure of transmission efficiency based on ratio of received power to transmitted power, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the system of Park in view of Usman to measure and calculate the transmission efficiency in this manner for purposes of providing known, predictable means for measuring the efficiency of wireless power transmission for the corresponding control). Re claim 8 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein determining the second power transfer profile comprises: determining that the determined wireless power transfer efficiency and the received rectifier power level are within an efficiency range on a curve associated with the second power transfer profile (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter changing transmit power and/or frequency using predetermined ranges of efficiency corresponding to transmit power/frequency and determining within associated efficiency range, i.e. some curve; note the claim does not provide context/definition of curves, how they are associated with profiles, or manner of determining within range). Re claim 9 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 5 wherein determining the second power transfer profile comprises: identifying the curve associated with the second power transfer profile using device type information received from the additional electronic device and at least one operating parameter (see Park: [0075-0084], [0085-0096], [0203-0208], Figs. 3, 12, regarding receiver providing information identifying the type of device/class and profile information including its power capabilities/ranges, i.e. range including the allowable target power values as discussed regarding claim 1; the combination therefore further suggests that selection of second target power/output characteristics would be associated with the type of device and parameters which limit/are associated with supported power values for the type of device). Re claim 10 . Park in view of Usman teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second power transfer profile is the most optimal available power transfer profile for power transfer between the electronic device and the additional electronic device (see Usman: [0086-0088], Figs. 2-3 regarding transmitter changing transmit power and/or frequency having better efficiency/in predetermined range; note the claim does not define or limit what is considered most optimal or recite any details of process for deciding most optimal). Re claim 11 . The claim recites a method of operating essentially the same components operated in the same manner as recited in claim 1, and therefore is rejected by the same reasoning applied above. Re claims 12-19 , the further recited limitations essentially correspond to the limitations recited in claim 2-9, and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning applied above. Re claim 20 . The claim recites a storage medium and processor operating essentially the same components operated in the same manner as recited in claim 1, and therefore is rejected by the same reasoning applied above . Conclusion In summary, it is recommended Applicant consider the cited prior art of record, and amend the claims to recite particular details of the invention which would be clearly distinguished and nonobvious over similar prior art of record under broadest reasonable interpretation. The prior art appears to suggest a variety of wireless power transmission systems which receive feedback on received power, calculate power transmission efficiency, and adjust some aspect of the power transmission to improve efficiency are known in the art. Prior art such as Park generally suggests it is known for the transmitter to exchange packets for the feedback information and also to coordinate subsequent changes to the power transmission. It is generally recommended that Applicant amend the claims to provide more explicit and clear detail of contents/context of the power transfer profiles, and particular manner and information used to select/determine that a second profile is more optimal/efficient as supported by the further details in Applicant’s Specification/Drawings (e.g., further details/context of acquiring efficiency-power curves associated with type of device, manner of selecting curve and corresponding power adjustment, etc.). Applicant is cautioned that claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation, and to ensure sufficient context/details are recited to avoid potential 112 issues or unintended interpretation. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US2013/0249306) also discloses a transmitter receiving received power feedback information to calculate efficiency and then adjust power transmission properties. Jia (US2020/0343777) generally discloses use of profiles/curves for efficiency associated with transmission voltage/power levels . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID A SHIAO whose telephone number is (571)270-7265. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri: 8:30AM-5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rexford Barnie can be reached at (571) 272-7492. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 9 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 10 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 11 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/182,384 Page 12 Art Unit: 2836