DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on August 17, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search of multiple groups would not impose a serious burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because Groups I and II comprise patentably distinct features which require the search of different subclasses due to the claimed structural differences between such species. Examining multiple groups together would impose a serious burden on the examiner, as such would require the search of multiple patentably distinct features that otherwise would not have to be searched for, applying appropriate prior art rejections and having to consider and respond to attorney arguments regarding such multiple patentably distinct features and rejections.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 3-7) recites “a flange component with a weld seat projection on a first side… a conductive component that joins the outer race and the flange component at an interface between the outer race and a second side of the flange component, opposite the first side”.
It is unclear as to what structurally defines the “conductive component” such that it is “at a second side of the flange component, opposite the first side”. It is unclear as to how the conductive component can be disposed at an interface end of the weld seat projection, which is on the first side of the flange component; thus being disposed also on the first side, and also be “at a second side of the flange component, opposite the first side”. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds of such claim. Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claim 2 recites “wherein a chamber is formed between the outer race and the flange component, and the conductive component is removably positioned in the chamber”; claim 3, which depends from claim 2, recites “further comprising a second conductive component positioned in the chamber”; and claim 5, which also depends from claim 2, recites “where the conductive component has a third surface, and the third surface is level with and curves with a fourth surface of the passage”.
Claims 2 and 5 clearly contradict claim 5; the first recited “conductive component” and the “second conductive component” cannot be both received within the chamber.
Paragraph [0047] of the specification clearly recites that “The interface 250 may be a conductive area (e.g., a thermally conductive area) between the outer race 220 and the weld seat projection 234,via which heat transfer may occur”; thus it is the material of the weld seat and weld seat projection which define such first recited “conductive component”; not the separately-formed “second conductive component”. Figure 3 clearly shows separately-formed “second conductive component” 322 received within chamber 274; not the first recited “conductive component”. Accordingly such limitations are misdescriptive and/or inaccurate. Moreover, such further renders one unable to properly determine what structurally constitutes the “conductive component” within claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being discloses by Warnke (US 5,230,660).
As to claim 1 as best understood, Warnke discloses a joint assembly, comprising:
a constant velocity joint having an outer race 26 with a weld seat A (Figure 1 reprinted below with annotations);
a flange component 32,30 with a weld seat projection B on a first side, where the weld seat projection is configured to mate with the weld seat of the outer race;
a conductive component C,D that joins the outer race and the flange component at an interface between the outer race and a second side of the flange component, opposite the first side; and
a shaft component 22 drivingly coupled to the constant velocity joint, where the constant velocity joint is received by and drivingly coupled to the shaft component at the weld seat of the outer race (Figures 1-4).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (F)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (E)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 2 as best understood, Warnke discloses a joint assembly wherein a chamber E is formed between the outer race 26 and the flange component 32,30, and the conductive component D is removably positioned in the chamber (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 3 as best understood, Warnke discloses a joint assembly comprising a second conductive component D positioned in the chamber (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 4, Warnke discloses a joint assembly wherein the flange component 32,30 comprises a passage fluidly coupled to the chamber E, and wherein the passage is coaxial with a central axis of the outer race 26 and the flange component 32,30 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 5 as best understood, Warnke discloses a joint assembly where the conductive component D has a third surface, and the third surface is level with and curves with a fourth surface of the passage (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 9, Warnke discloses a joint assembly wherein the shaft component 22 is coupled to the constant velocity joint via a boot 34,48 can coupled to the outer race 26 on a side of the outer race opposite the flange component 32,30, and where coupling of the boot can and the outer race creates a fluidly sealed cavity therebetween (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 10, Warnke discloses a joint assembly wherein the constant velocity joint is configured as a tube mount mono-block joint including the outer race 26 with the weld seat A (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 11, Warnke discloses a joint assembly wherein the shaft component 22 is configured to be rotationally coupled to a rotational input and/or output (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 12, Warnke discloses a joint assembly wherein the flange component 32,30 is configured to be rotationally coupled to a rotational input and/or output (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 13, Warnke discloses a constant velocity joint, comprising:
a tube mount mono-block joint having a weld seat A on a back face;
a flange component 32,30 with a weld seat projection B on a front face, the weld seat projection configured to mate with the weld seat; and
a conductive component C,D positioned at an interface between the weld seat projection and the weld seat (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 14, Warnke discloses a constant velocity joint wherein the tube mount mono-block joint has an outer race 26, an inner race 24, and a cage F positioned between the outer race and the inner race (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 15, Warnke discloses a constant velocity joint comprising a plurality of balls 28 located in an inner race track of the inner race 24 and an outer race track of the outer race 26 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 16, Warnke discloses a constant velocity joint wherein the outer race 26 is coupled to the weld seat projection B of the flange component 32,30 at the weld seat A of the tube mount mono-block joint (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 17, Warnke discloses a constant velocity joint comprising a sealing system 34,48 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 18, Warnke discloses a constant velocity joint wherein the tube mount mono-block joint is configured to couple the constant velocity joint to a driveshaft tube 22 (Figures 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warnke.
As to claim 6, Warnke fails to disclose a joint assembly where the conductive component comprises a thermally conductive resin, a low melting point metal, or a conductive inert material. Warnke does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the conductive component; other than that it is a thermally-conductive, meltable, weldable material.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint assembly disclosed by Warnke wherein the conductive component comprises a thermally conductive resin, a low melting point metal, or a conductive inert material, as Warnke does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the conductive component; other than that it is a thermally-conductive, meltable, weldable material, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
Conclusion
09/03/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619