DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 08/28/2026. Claims 12-15, and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-25 have been newly added. Thus, Claims 1-11,16-19 and 21-25 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2025 filed in accordance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been reviewed in detail to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's attention is directed to the specification, and applicant is requested to make any necessary corrections of which applicant is aware.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 7-9, filed August 28, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, and 16 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration of the amended subject matter, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Naser et al. (US-20250055981-A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction
of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed
invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art
to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which
the invention was made.
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 16-17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Teng et al (US-20240236915-A1) hereinafter “Teng”.in view of Naser et al (US-20250055981-A1) hereinafter “Naser”.
Regarding Claim 1 Teng-Naser
Teng discloses 1. A method of video decoding (Teng, Fig. 2 and 3; [0031], 'FIG. 3 illustrates a flowchart of a method for decoding video data by an electronic device….”), comprising:
receiving a coded video bitstream (Teng, Fig. 3, step 310) comprising coded information of a current block in a current picture, the coded information indicating that the current block is coded using multiple template decoder side intra mode derivation. (Teng, [0072] “At block 310, the decoder module 124 receives video data. The video data received by the decoder module 124 may be a bitstream.”) [0074] “…the bitstream may include a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) to indicate whether a DIMD mode is performed” See also ¶[0152]-[0155] disclosing multiple template lines and selection of one template line based on a first line index or MRL index);
selecting a template Teng, [0055] “…a prediction processor (e.g., prediction processing unit 2242) that is decoded from the coded information of the current block; (Fig. 3, steps 330, 340 illustrates selecting the intra candidate modes and generating corresponding template predications associated with intra candidate modes; [0058] 'The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2241 The prediction process unit 2242 may receive the syntax elements including the partition information and divide image frames according to the partition information.'; [0079], 'At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.'; [0087], 'Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes.'; [0096], 'The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit…to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks');
determining one or more intra prediction modes based on the template; (Fig. 3, steps 330-350 illustrates selecting intra candidate modes, generating corresponding template predication, and selecting predications modes based on the template predications. [0058], “The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as…intra modes…from the entropy decoding unit 2241” [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes…” [0087], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes.” [0094], 'Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 350, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of prediction modes from the plurality of intra candidate modes based on the template predictions.'; [0096], 'The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit…to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks” [0098], “The decoder module 124 may select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes based on the cost values of the template predictions generated based on the template blocks”) and
Teng does not explicitly disclose
when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes;
when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, constructing the MPM list without the one or more intra prediction modes;
reconstructing the current block based on the MPM list
However, Naser in the same field of endeavor discloses more explicitly the following:
when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Naser teaches constructing an MPM list based on one or more intra predication modes derived using a template, wherein candidate intra predication mode derived via TIMD are added to the MPM list [0124] “In TIMD, intra prediction modes may be tested on the template of reconstructed pixels …One or more candidate intra prediction modes may be selected from the tested modes)” [0141] “ the MPM list may be generated based on candidate intra prediction mode(s) derived via TIMD… The selected candidate intra predication mode(s) may be added to the MPM list.” See also [0143])
when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, constructing the MPM list without the one or more intra prediction modes; (Naser, [0139] “The device may determine that the intra coding mode derivation process is disabled (e.g., is not to be used in MPM list generation) for a coding block. In this case, a first MPM list generation process may be used to generate an MPM list for that coding block. For example, the first MPM list generation process may involve using DIMD for MPM list(s) generation (e.g., based on the intra coding mode derivation process being disabled).” Thus Naser, teaches generating an MPM list without using intra prediction modes derived via the disabled intra coding mode derivation process.)
reconstructing the current block based on the MPM list. (Naser, ¶¶ [0077], [0104], [0140], teaching decoding/reconstructing the coding block based on the generated MPM list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Teng in view of Naser such that, when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes derived using the template, and when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, the MPM list is constructed without those intra predication modes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because Naser teaches selecting different MPM-list generation processes depending on whether the intra coding mode derivation process is enabled or disabled (Naser, [0007]).
Note: The motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to claims 2, 4-6, and 17.
Regarding Claim 2 and 17 Teng-Naser
Teng-Naser discloses 2. The method of claim 1,
wherein the syntax element is a reference line index indicating a reference line that is selected from a plurality of reference lines. (Teng, Fig. 7, step 720; Fig. 8C illustrates multiple reference lines from which a reference line is selected using a line index syntax element; [0058] “The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2241” [0101] “The decoder module 124 may predict the block unit based on a reference line of the block unit by using the prediction modes and the weighting parameters” [0151] “the line index may include at least one of a first line index or a second line index. The first line index is used to select the template line from a neighboring region neighboring the block unit to filter the template line to determine a plurality of intra candidate modes, and the second line index is used to select a reference line to generate a plurality of predicted blocks based on the intra candidate modes” [0160] “The decoder module 124 may predict the block unit based on one of a plurality of reference lines neighboring the block unit by using the intra candidate modes to generate the predicted blocks. FIG. 8C is an illustration of example implementations of a block unit 8000 and the reference lines, such as a first reference line 8200, a second reference line 8210, and a third reference line 8220.” [0162] “the second line index may be a multiple reference line (MRL) index or any other syntax element used to determine the selected reference line”).
Claim 17 recite limitations that are substantially similar to those of dependent claims 2, except that claims 17 are directed to encoding rather than decoding. Therefore, the reasoning and rejection of claims 2 applies equally to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 4 Teng-Naser
Teng-Naser discloses 4. The method of claim 2,
wherein the selecting the template comprises: selecting the template based on a position relationship of the one or more predefined templates and the plurality of reference lines.
(Teng, [0151] “…., the line index may include at least one of a first line index or a second line index. The first line index is used to select the template line from a neighboring region neighboring the block unit to filter the template line to determine a plurality of intra candidate modes, and the second line index is used to select a reference line to generate a plurality of predicted blocks based on the intra candidate modes'; [0155]
, the first line index may be a multiple reference line (MRL) index or any other syntax element used to determine the selected template line.'; [0160], 'The decoder module 124 may predict the block unit based on one of a plurality of reference lines neighboring the block unit by using the intra candidate modes to generate the predicted blocks. FIG. 8C is an illustration of example implementations of a block unit 8000 and the reference lines, such as a first reference line 8200, a second reference line 8210, and a third reference line 8220” [0161], 'the encoder module 114 may select one of the reference lines for predicting the block unit and provide the second line index indicating which is the selected reference line to the second electronic device 120. The selected neighboring line is the selected reference line…” and Fig. 8C illustrates multiple reference lines and corresponding template lines selected relative to the reference lines. )
Regarding Claim 5 Teng-Naser
Teng-Naser discloses 5. The method of claim 4,
wherein the reference line is positioned at one of:
a nearest line in the template to the current block; a second nearest line in the template to the current block; or a furthest line in the template to the current block. (Teng, [0160]: “FIG. 8C is a schematic illustration of example implementations of a block unit 8000 and the reference lines, such as a first reference line 8200, a second reference line 8210, and a third reference line 8220.” [0161]“the encoder module 114 may select one of the reference lines for predicting the block unit” [0151] “the second line index is used to select a reference line to generate multiple predicted blocks”)
Regarding Claim 6 Teng-Naser
Teng-Naser discloses 6. The method of claim 2, wherein: the selecting the template comprises:
selecting the template based on a predefined relationship of the one or more predefined templates and the plurality of reference lines; (Teng, [0151] “The first line index is used to select the template line …” [0155] “the first line index may be a multiple reference line (MRL) index or any other syntax element used to determine the selected template line…” [0160], 'The decoder module 124 may predict the block unit based on one of a plurality of reference lines neighboring the block unit by using the intra candidate modes to generate the predicted blocks. FIG. SC is an illustration of example implementations of a block unit 8000 and the reference lines, such as a first reference line 8200, a second reference line 8210, and a third reference line 8220” [0161], 'the encoder module 114 may select one of the reference lines…” and Fig. 8C illustrating multiple references lines and corresponding template lines selected relative to the reference lines.); and
the reconstructing the current block comprises: reconstructing the current block according to reference samples in the reference line. (Teng, [0161] “the decoder module 124 may determine the line samples in the selected reference line as multiple reference samples. The decoder module 124 may reconstruct the block unit based on the reference samples. The predicted blocks may be generated based on the reference samples in the selected reference line by using the multiple intra candidate modes. The number of the intra candidate modes may be equal to the number of the predicted blocks.” reference samples and the reference line can be used to reconstruct a block.)
Regarding Claim 12-15 and 20 Canceled
Regarding Claim 16 Teng-Naser
Teng discloses 16. A method of video encoding, (Teng, Fig. 3 & 9; [0037] “FIG. 9 is a block diagram illustrating the encoder module of the first electronic device illustrated in FIG. 1,….. “[0189] “With reference to FIG. 3 and FIG. 9, the encoder module 114 may receive video data and use multiple intra default modes to predict multiple image frames in the video data by using the method 300. The video data may be a video to be encoded.”) comprising:
determining to code a current block in a current picture using multiple template decoder side intra mode derivation;
(Teng, Fig. 2 shows the bitstream and the intra prediction unit 22421, with Fig. 9 showing the inverse in intra prediction unit 9142; Fig. 3, step 310 shows receiving the bitstream; [0061], “The intra prediction unit 22421 may perform intra-predictive coding of a current block unit relative to one or more neighboring blocks in the same frame as the current block unit based on syntax elements related to the intra mode in order to generate a predicted block”[0072], “At block 310, the decoder module 124 receives video data. The video data received by the decoder module 124 may be a bitstream”[0093], “The decoder module 124 may predict the template blocks in the template unit based on the reference region having the template references by using the intra candidate modes to generate the template predictions. The decoder module 124 may predict the template blocks in the template unit based on the template references by using one of the intra candidate modes to generate one of the template predictions. Thus, the number of the intra candidate modes may be equal to the number of the template predictions. For example, when the number of the intra candidate modes is equal to six, the number of the template predictions may also be equal to six.” Thus, multiple templates may be used with intra candidate modes”)
selecting a template
(Teng, Fig. 2 & 9; Fig. 3, steps 330, 340 show selecting the template based upon the intra candidate modes [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.” [0087], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes.” [0096], “The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit by using a cost function to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks”)
determining one or more intra prediction modes based on the template;
(Teng, Fig. 2 & 9; Fig. 3, steps 330, 340 show selecting the template based upon the intra candidate modes; Fig. 3, step 350 shows selecting the prediction mode from the intra candidate modes; [0058], “The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2241 The prediction process unit 2242 may receive the syntax elements including the partition information and divide image frames according to the partition information.” [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.” [0087], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes” [0094], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 350, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of prediction modes from the plurality of intra candidate modes based on the template predictions.” [0096], “The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit by using a cost function to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks” [0098], 'The decoder module 124 may select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes based on the cost values of the template predictions generated based on the template blocks”);
. . . and
including a syntax element[into]] in the coded information of the current block, the syntax element being indicative of the selected template
(Teng, Fig. 2, 3 & 9; [0058], “The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2241 The prediction process unit 2242 may receive the syntax elements including the partition information and divide image frames according to the partition information.” [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.'; [0087], 'Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes.” [0096],”The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit by using a cost function to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks” [0175], “The prediction process unit 9141 may further provide syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra mode indicators, partition information, and other syntax information, to the entropy encoding unit 9148.”).
Teng does not expressly disclose
when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes;
when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, constructing the MPM list without the one or more intra prediction modes;
generating coded information of the current block based on the MPM list
However, Naser in the same field of endeavor discloses more explicitly the following:
when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Naser teaches constructing an MPM list based on one or more intra predication modes derived using a template, wherein candidate intra predication mode derived via TIMD are added to the MPM list [0124] “In TIMD, intra prediction modes may be tested on the template of reconstructed pixels …One or more candidate intra prediction modes may be selected from the tested modes)” [0141] “ the MPM list may be generated based on candidate intra prediction mode(s) derived via TIMD… The selected candidate intra predication mode(s) may be added to the MPM list.” See also [0143])
when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, constructing the MPM list without the one or more intra prediction modes; (Naser, [0139] “The device may determine that the intra coding mode derivation process is disabled (e.g., is not to be used in MPM list generation) for a coding block. In this case, a first MPM list generation process may be used to generate an MPM list for that coding block. For example, the first MPM list generation process may involve using DIMD for MPM list(s) generation (e.g., based on the intra coding mode derivation process being disabled).” Thus Naser, teaches generating an MPM list without using intra prediction modes derived via the disabled intra coding mode derivation process.)
generating coded information of the current block based on the MPM list (Naser,[0106] “generating a first most probable mode (MPM) list for the first coding block based on a first MPM list generation process, encoding the first coding block based on the first MPM list,..”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Teng in view of Naser such that, when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes derived using the template, and when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, the MPM list is constructed without those intra predication modes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because Naser teaches selecting different MPM-list generation processes depending on whether the intra coding mode derivation process is enabled or disabled (Naser, [0007])
Regarding Claim 23 Teng-Naser
Teng discloses 23. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform (Teng, [0051] “non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the stored instructions using one or more processors to perform the disclosed methods. Each of the encoder module 114…”) a method of encoding a bitstream, [0185] “The encoded bitstream may…”) the method comprising:
determining to code a current block in a current picture using multiple template decoder side intra mode derivation;
(Teng, Fig. 2 shows the bitstream and the intra prediction unit 22421, with Fig. 9 showing the inverse in intra prediction unit 9142; Fig. 3, step 310 shows receiving the bitstream; [0061], “The intra prediction unit 22421 may perform intra-predictive coding of a current block unit relative to one or more neighboring blocks in the same frame as the current block unit based on syntax elements related to the intra mode in order to generate a predicted block”[0072], “At block 310, the decoder module 124 receives video data. The video data received by the decoder module 124 may be a bitstream”[0093], “The decoder module 124 may predict the template blocks in the template unit based on the reference region having the template references by using the intra candidate modes to generate the template predictions. The decoder module 124 may predict the template blocks in the template unit based on the template references by using one of the intra candidate modes to generate one of the template predictions. Thus, the number of the intra candidate modes may be equal to the number of the template predictions. For example, when the number of the intra candidate modes is equal to six, the number of the template predictions may also be equal to six.” Thus, multiple templates may be used with intra candidate modes”)
selecting a template;
(Teng, Fig. 2 & 9; Fig. 3, steps 330, 340 show selecting the template based upon the intra candidate modes [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.” [0087], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes.”)
determining one or more intra prediction modes based on the template;
(Teng, Fig. 2 & 9; Fig. 3, steps 330, 340 show selecting the template based upon the intra candidate modes; Fig. 3, step 350 shows selecting the prediction mode from the intra candidate modes; [0058], “The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2241 The prediction process unit 2242 may receive the syntax elements including the partition information and divide image frames according to the partition information.” [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.” [0087], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes” [0094], “Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 350, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of prediction modes from the plurality of intra candidate modes based on the template predictions.” [0096], “The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit by using a cost function to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks” [0098], 'The decoder module 124 may select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes based on the cost values of the template predictions generated based on the template blocks”);
. . .
including a syntax element in the coded information of the current block, the syntax element being indicative of the selected template, and the coded information being included in the bitstream;
(Teng, Fig. 2, 3 & 9; [0056] “The entropy decoding unit 2241 may receive the bitstream including multiple syntax elements from the second interface 126, as shown in FIG. 1, [0058], “The prediction process unit 2242 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2241 The prediction process unit 2242 may receive the syntax elements including the partition information and divide image frames according to the partition information.” [0079], “At block 330, the decoder module 124 selects a plurality of intra candidate modes from a plurality of intra default modes based on the neighboring regions.'; [0087], 'Continuing with FIG. 3, at block 340, the decoder module 124 generates a template prediction for each of the plurality of intra candidate modes.” [0096],”The decoder module 124 may compare the template predictions of the template blocks with the template unit by using a cost function to select the prediction modes from the intra candidate modes. Thus, the template blocks are predicted to generate the template predictions for selecting the prediction modes based on the template predictions of the template blocks” [0175], “The prediction process unit 9141 may further provide syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra mode indicators, partition information, and other syntax information, to the entropy encoding unit 9148.”).and
transmitting the encoded bitstream. (Teng, [0185] “The encoded bitstream may be transmitted….”)
Teng does not explicitly disclose
when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes;
when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, constructing the MPM list without the one or more intra prediction modes; generating coded information of the current block based on the MPM list;
However, Naser in the same field of endeavor discloses more explicitly the following:
when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Naser teaches constructing an MPM list based on one or more intra predication modes derived using a template, wherein candidate intra predication mode derived via TIMD are added to the MPM list [0124] “In TIMD, intra prediction modes may be tested on the template of reconstructed pixels …One or more candidate intra prediction modes may be selected from the tested modes)” [0141] “ the MPM list may be generated based on candidate intra prediction mode(s) derived via TIMD… The selected candidate intra predication mode(s) may be added to the MPM list.” See also [0143])
when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, constructing the MPM list without the one or more intra prediction modes; (Naser, [0139] “The device may determine that the intra coding mode derivation process is disabled (e.g., is not to be used in MPM list generation) for a coding block. In this case, a first MPM list generation process may be used to generate an MPM list for that coding block. For example, the first MPM list generation process may involve using DIMD for MPM list(s) generation (e.g., based on the intra coding mode derivation process being disabled).” Thus Naser, teaches generating an MPM list without using intra prediction modes derived via the disabled intra coding mode derivation process.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Teng in view of Naser such that, when the selected template is one of one or more predefined templates, constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list based on the one or more intra prediction modes derived using the template, and when the selected template is not one of the one or more predefined templates, the MPM list is constructed without those intra predication modes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because Naser teaches selecting different MPM-list generation processes depending on whether the intra coding mode derivation process is enabled or disabled (Naser, [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-9, 18-19, 21-22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Teng-Naser in view of Wang et al (US-20220224915-A1) hereinafter “Wang’915”.
Regarding Claim 3 and 18 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 3. The method of claim 2,
Teng-Naser does not explicitly disclose
wherein: a first number of the one or more predefined templates is equal to or less than a second number of the plurality of reference lines.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following:
wherein: a first number of the one or more predefined templates is equal to or less than a second number of the plurality of reference lines. (Wang’915, [0215]”…, at least one template set for the current video block from a plurality of sub-templates. The one or more sub-templates may be selected from a plurality of sub-templates including: a left sub-template, an above sub-template, a right-above sub-template, a left-below sub-template, and a left-above sub-template.” [0216] “…multiple sub-templates may be selected”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Teng-Naser with Wang’915 to create the system of Teng-Naser as outlined above wherein a first number of the one or more predefined templates is equal to or less than a second number of the plurality of reference lines, as suggested by Wang’915.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Wang’915 into Teng-Naser to improve intra mode coding efficiency and template predication accuracy while limiting template selection relative to available reference lines as described in Wang’915 [0163] and [0207].
Claim 18 recite limitations that are substantially similar to those of dependent claims 3, except that claims 18 are directed to encoding rather than decoding. Therefore, the reasoning and rejection of claims 2 applies equally to claim 18.
Note: The motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 3 applies equally as well to claims 7-9, 18-19,21-22, and 24-25.
Regarding Claim 7 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 7. The method of claim 1,
Teng-Naser does not explicitly disclose
wherein the syntax element is a template index indicating the template that is selected from the one or more predefined templates.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following:
wherein the syntax element is a template index indicating the template that is selected from the one or more predefined templates. (Wang’915, [0217] “selecting the sub-templates may depend on a signalled syntax element. For instance, the decoded syntax element may indicate the one or more sub-templates.”)
Regarding Claim 8 Teng-Naser-Weng’915
Teng-Naser discloses 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more intra prediction modes comprises:
Teng-Naser do not expressly disclose
constructing a histogram of gradients from samples in the template; and selecting the one or more intra prediction modes based on the histogram of gradients.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’15 discloses more explicitly the following:
constructing a histogram of gradients from samples in the template; (Wang’915 . “Template pixels 2220 are pixels on which the gradient analysis is possible”([0171]), and that [0172] “For each template pixel 2220, the intensity and the orientation of the gradient using…are calculated..”([0172]). Wang’915 further discloses that “The orientation of the gradient can then be converted into an intra angular prediction mode, used to index a histogram.”([0173]). and
selecting the one or more intra prediction modes based on the histogram of gradients. (Wang’915, [0173] “The mode that shows the highest peak in the histogram can be selected as intra-prediction mode for the current block…”)
Regarding Claim 9 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Teng-Naser do not expressly disclose
determining a transform set based on the one or more intra prediction modes; and
calculating residual values of the current block based on the transform set.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following:
determining a transform set based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Wang’915 , [0145] discloses that “The transform choice for the ISP mode may instead be fixed and selected according the intra mode, the processing order and the block size utilized.” See also [0146], disclosing the selected horizontal and vertical transform t.sub.H and t.sub.V ) and
calculating residual values of the current block based on the transform set. (Wang’915, [0143] discloses that “a residual signal is generated by the processes such as entropy decoding, inverse quantization and inverse transform.” See also [0089], disclosing that the inverse transform unit applies inverse transforms to the transform coefficient video block “to reconstruct a residual video block from the transform coefficient video block”)
Regarding Claim 19 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 19. The method of claim 17,
Teng-Naser does not explicitly disclose
wherein the one or more predefined templates are mapped to the plurality of reference lines.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following:
wherein the one or more predefined templates are mapped to the plurality of reference lines. (Wang’915 [0224]”…multiple lines of template-reference samples neighboring the selected template may be used. ….which of the N lines of template-reference samples to use may be inherited from the index of reference line used in MRL…the number of lines of template-reference samples for each template may be different. [0324]”wherein the one line of the N lines is inherited from an index of a reference line for multiple reference line (MRL)..”
Regarding Claim 21 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 21. (New) The method of claim 16, wherein the determining the one or more intra prediction modes comprises:
Teng-Naser do not expressly disclose
constructing a histogram of gradients from samples in the template; and selecting the one or more intra prediction modes based on the histogram of gradients.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following:
constructing a histogram of gradients from samples in the template; (Wang’915 . “Template pixels 2220 (including the current pixel 2210) are pixels on which the gradient analysis is possible”([0171]), and “For each template pixel 2220, the intensity and the orientation of the gradient using…are calculated…”([0172]). Wang’915 further discloses that “The orientation of the gradient can then be converted into an intra angular prediction mode, used to index a histogram.”([0173]) and
selecting the one or more intra prediction modes based on the histogram of gradients. (Wang’915, [0173] “The mode that shows the highest peak in the histogram can be selected as intra-prediction mode for the current block…”)
Regarding Claim 22 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 22. (New) The method of claim 16, further comprising:
Teng-Naser do not expressly disclose
determining a transform set based on the one or more intra prediction modes; and
calculating residual values of the current block based on the transform set.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following
determining a transform set based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Wang’915 , [0145] discloses that “The transform choice for the ISP mode may instead be fixed and selected according the intra mode, the processing order and the block size utilized.” See also [0146], disclosing the selected horizontal and vertical transform t.sub.H and t.sub.V ) and
calculating residual values of the current block based on the transform set. (Wang’915, [0143] discloses that “a residual signal is generated by the processes such as entropy decoding, inverse quantization and inverse transform.” See also [0089], disclosing that the inverse transform unit applies inverse transforms to the transform coefficient video block “to reconstruct a residual video block from the transform coefficient video block”)
Regarding Claim 24 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 24. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Teng, [0051] “non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the stored instructions using one or more processors to perform the disclosed methods.”) of claim 23, wherein the determining the one or more intra prediction modes comprises:
Teng-Naser do not expressly disclose
constructing a histogram of gradients from samples in the template; and selecting the one or more intra prediction modes based on the histogram of gradients.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following:
constructing a histogram of gradients from samples in the template; (Wang’915 . “Template pixels 2220 are pixels on which the gradient analysis is possible”([0171]), and that [0172] “For each template pixel 2220, the intensity and the orientation of the gradient using…are calculated..”([0172]). Wang’915 further discloses that “The orientation of the gradient can then be converted into an intra angular prediction mode, used to index a histogram.”([0173]) and
selecting the one or more intra prediction modes based on the histogram of gradients. (Wang’915, [0173] “The mode that shows the highest peak in the histogram can be selected as intra-prediction mode for the current block…”)
Regarding Claim 25 Teng-Naser-Wang’915
Teng-Naser discloses 25. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Teng, [0051] “non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the stored instructions using one or more processors to perform the disclosed methods.”) of claim 23, wherein the method further comprises:
Teng-Naser do not expressly disclose
determining a transform set based on the one or more intra prediction modes; and
calculating residual values of the current block based on the transform set.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’915 discloses more explicitly the following
determining a transform set based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Wang’915 , [0145] discloses that “The transform choice for the ISP mode may instead be fixed and selected according the intra mode, the processing order and the block size utilized.” See also [0146], disclosing the selected horizontal and vertical transform t.sub.H and t.sub.V ) and
calculating residual values of the current block based on the transform set. (Wang’915, [0143] discloses that “a residual signal is generated by the processes such as entropy decoding, inverse quantization and inverse transform.” See also [0089], disclosing that the inverse transform unit applies inverse transforms to the transform coefficient video block “to reconstruct a residual video block from the transform coefficient video block”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Teng-Naser-Wang’915 in view of Moon et al (US-20210274214-A1) hereinafter “Moon”.
Regarding Claim 10 Teng-Naser-Wang’915-Moon
Teng-Naser discloses 10. The method of claim 1, wherein: the determining the one or more intra prediction modes comprises:
determining the one or more intra prediction modes based on luma values of first samples in the template; (Wang’915, [0166] “…deriving the luma intra mode using previously encoded/decoded pixels,..” [0168] “To derive the intra-prediction mode for a block, a set of neighboring pixels may be first selected on which a gradient analysis is performed….”) and
Teng-Naser-Wang’915 does not explicitly disclose
the reconstructing the current block comprises:
reconstructing luma values of second samples in the current block based on the one or more intra prediction modes;
reconstructing chroma values of the second samples in the current block using a direct mode that is determined according to the one or more intra prediction modes.
However, in the same field of endeavor Moon discloses more explicitly the following:
the reconstructing the current block comprises:
reconstructing luma values of second samples in the current block based on the one or more intra prediction modes; (Moon, [0236] “a luma intra prediction mode determination unit 1502 may determine the intra prediction mode of a luma block using the reconstructed information…determines a luma intra prediction mode which is optimal for the template region…” and
reconstructing chroma values of the second samples in the current block using a direct mode that is determined according to the one or more intra prediction modes ,(Moon, [0256] “. a chroma intra prediction mode determination unit 1504 may determine the intra prediction mode of the chroma block…” [0283] “…the chroma block…reconstructed pixel obtained using the optimal intra prediction mode of the luma block.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Teng-Naser-Wang’915 with moon to reconstruct luma values based on the one or more intra prediction modes and reconstruct chroma values using a direct mode that is determined according to the one or more intra prediction modes, as suggested by Moon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Moon into Teng-Naser-Wang’915 “for efficient encoding/decoding of the optimal intra prediction mode.” as described in Moon, [0508].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Teng-Naser in view of Wang et al (US-20200314432-A1) hereinafter “Wang’432”.
Regarding Claim 11 Teng-Naser-Wang’432
Teng-Naser discloses 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the reconstructing the current block comprises:
Teng-Naser does not explicitly disclose
generating an intra predictor of the current block based on the one or more intra prediction modes, the current block being coded in a combined inter-intra prediction mode; and
combining the intra predictor with an inter predictor of the current block to reconstruct the current block.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang’432 discloses more explicitly the following:
generating an intra predictor of the current block based on the one or more intra prediction modes, (Wang’432, [0011] 11)“ Firstly, performing intra prediction on a coding unit (CU);” [0017] 21) Firstly, for the coding unit (CU), performing intra prediction; the current block being coded in a combined inter-intra prediction mode; (Wang’432 [0007] “…an intra-frame and inter-frame combined prediction method … improve prediction precision of the prediction blocks.” [0034] “…intra-frame and inter-frame combined prediction method obtains a new prediction block by means of weighting an intra prediction block and an inter prediction block….”) and
combining the intra predictor with an inter predictor of the current block to reconstruct the current block. (Wang’432 [0017] “…perform reconstruction of the current coding block (the intra-frame and inter-frame combined prediction block.” Claim ,6 “…performing reconstruction of the current coding block; the intra-frame and inter-frame combined prediction block is obtained by performing prediction.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Teng-Naser with Wang’432 to generate an intra predictor of the current block based on the one or more intra prediction modes, code the current block in a combined inter-intra prediction mode, and combine the intra predictor with an inter predictor of the current block to reconstruct the current block, as suggested by Wang’432.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Wang’432 into Teng-Naser to enhance prediction accuracy and thereby improving coding efficiency as described in Wang’432, [0508].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASTEWAYE GETTU ZEWEDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2481 /WILLIAM C VAUGHN JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2481