DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This office action is in response to amendments filed 07/31/2026. Claims 1-11, 13-20 are pending.
Applicant's arguments with respect to rejections of Claims 1-11, 13-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments that Duffy fails to teach “wherein the processor is further configured to integrate a new element into the robotic system, including by determining one or both of one or more capabilities of the new element and one or more services required by the new element to operate; and communicating said one or more of one or more capabilities of the new element and one or more services required by the new element to operate to one or more robotic elements included in the plurality of robotically controlled elements.”, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Duffy discloses multiple examples that fall within the scope of the added claim language. Par. 0182, 0196, 0203 are now cited below as they are examples of Duffy disclosing information being exchanged between a newly attached modular attachment and the main robot. The examples in those sections disclose the modular attachments communicating with the main robot to help the main robot controller determine the specific architecture of actuators and sensors included in the modular attachment (which falls within the scope of “capabilities of the new element”) as well as the power requirements and data transmission requirements of the modular attachment (which is falls within the scope of “services required by the new element to operate”). The examples also disclose a test sequence where the controller verifies that the main robot and modular attachment are physically interacting and communicating properly. Only two elements are required to read on a plurality of robotically controlled elements, so the examples in Duffy with one main robot communicating with a robotic modular attachment fall within the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duffy et al (US 20190248007, hereinafter Duffy).
Regarding Claim 1, Duffy teaches:
1. A robotic system (see at least Fig. 11) , comprising:
a plurality of robotically controlled elements (see at least "In other words, FIGS. 13 and 14 show the drive unit or the master robot module or unit that can be configured to be connected to a variety of separate, independently operable modules. These modules can vary in shape, size, function, and capability. The different modules can be considered as a slave robot module or unit, as described further in reference to FIG. 11. " in par. 0255) ;
a processor coupled to a robotically controlled element included in the plurality of robotically controlled elements and configured to control operation of the robotically controlled element to which it is coupled (see at least "Throughout this disclosure, reference may be to various controllers and/or processors. In some embodiments, a single controller (e.g., controller 118) may serve as the various controllers and/or processors described. In other embodiments different controllers and/or processors may be used, such as controllers and/or processors used particularly for one or more operative units 104. Controller 118 may send and/or receive signals, such as power signals, status signals, data signals, electrical signals, and/or any other desirable signals, including discrete and analog signals to operative units 104. Controller 118 may coordinate and/or manage operative units 104, " in par. 0108)
via communications sent via a standard interface implemented across said plurality of robotically controlled elements and to communicate with the robotic system via a communication interface using a communication protocol associated with the robotic system. (see at least "According to some non-limiting exemplary embodiments, a main robot, utilizing a single universal connection interface, may attach to a plurality of different modular attachments of varying complexity. The universal connection interface may reduce complexity for the main robot to attach to a modular attachment since the same connection interface may be used to connect to the plurality of different modular attachments. A main robot not utilizing a connection interface may approach each module, of the plurality of different modules, differently to ensure a secure connection as each module may comprise varying levels of complexity and therefore may require different connection interfaces (e.g., ethernet, USB, etc.) from the main robot." in par. 0100 and communication protocols in par. 0175-0177)
wherein the processor is further configured to integrate a new element into the robotic system, including by determining one or both of one or more capabilities of the new element and one or more services required by the new element to operate; and communicating said one or more of one or more capabilities of the new element and one or more services required by the new element to operate to one or more robotic elements included in the plurality of robotically controlled elements. (see at least "According to at least one non-limiting exemplary embodiment, the number of channels required to communicate sufficient data between a main robot 102 and a modular attachment 512 may be determined by controller 118, of the main robot 102, by giving input to encoder 502, wherein the input configures encoder 502 to output data to the correct number of channels 514. Additionally, controller 118 may dynamically adjust the number of communication channels 514 based on the complexity modular attachment 512 attached, wherein the complexity of a modular attachment 512 may correspond to the number of motors and sensors on the modular attachment 512 to be controlled by main robot 102. Controller 118 may further determine essential communication channels required for a main robot 102 to operate with any modular attachment of any complexity. For example, bandwidth 522-1 may be assigned to send and receive a test connection signal for testing the connection of connection interface 214, bandwidth 522-2 may be assigned for the modular attachment 512 to communicate the number of data channels required by the modular attachment 512 to be controlled by controller 118 (e.g., how many data channels 514 and 516 encoder 502 and decoder 508 should expect to output or receive input from), and so forth." in par. 0182 and “Controller 118, in this example, may determine the gain of dynamic amplifier 702-1 to be smaller than the gain of dynamic amplifier 702-2 as mechanical output 204-1 requires less mechanical power to carry out its function. The function of a coupled mechanical device may be communicated to controller 118 through data connections 212 of connection interface 214” in par. 0196 and “The modular attachment may communicate this specialized system architecture to the controller 118 upon connection to the main robot 102, causing controller 118 to configure data connections 212 by sending signals to an encoder and decoder to output the necessary data to the data ports specified by the modular attachment.” In par. 0203)
Regarding Claim 2, Duffy teaches:
2. The robotic system of claim 1, wherein the robotically controlled element coupled to the processor comprises a robotic arm. (see at least "For example, a passive antenna modular attachment may be of low complexity when compared to a gripper arm modular attachment of high complexity wherein the gripper arm may comprise multiple degrees of freedom, motors, and sensors to be controlled by the main robot." in par. 0079)
Regarding Claim 3, Duffy teaches:
The robotic system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to control operation of the robotic arm directly. (see at least "The minion device can control an associated slave device directly, either when operating autonomously, or when being controlled by a master device. Alternatively, the master device can control a slave device associated with a minion device without routing instructions through the minion processor." in par. 0245)
Regarding Claim 4, Duffy teaches:
The robotic system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to control operation of the robotic arm indirectly via a robotic controller associated with the robotic arm. (see at least "The minion device can control an associated slave device directly, either when operating autonomously, or when being controlled by a master device. Alternatively, the master device can control a slave device associated with a minion device without routing instructions through the minion processor." in par. 0245)
Regarding Claim 5, Duffy teaches:
5. The robotic system of claim 1, wherein the robotically controlled element coupled to the processor comprises an auxiliary equipment. (see at least "modular attachments" in par. 0079 and Figs. 13-14)
Regarding Claim 6, Duffy teaches:
6. The robotic system of claim 5, wherein the auxiliary equipment comprises a camera or other sensor. (see at least "The main robot may, after utilizing the gripper arm modular attachment to stock shelves, navigate back to the plurality of modular attachments and connect to a camera modular attachment using the same universal connection interface. One skilled in the art would appreciate the range of complexity of the aforementioned exemplary tasks and modular attachments, wherein the gripper arm modular attachment may comprise multiple motors, actuators, and sensors whereas the camera modular attachment may only comprise a single sensor (e.g., the camera)." in par. 0101)
Regarding Claim 7, Duffy teaches:
The robotic system of claim 5, wherein the auxiliary equipment comprises a material handling equipment. (see at least "The main robot, upon finishing the task of floor cleaning, may navigate back to the location of the plurality of modular attachments, detach the scrubber, and attach to a gripper arm modular attachment using the same universal connection interface. The main robot may, after utilizing the gripper arm modular attachment to stock shelves," in par. 0101)
Regarding Claim 8, Duffy teaches:
8. The robotic system of claim 1, further comprising the communication interface. (see at least "According to some non-limiting exemplary embodiments, a main robot, utilizing a single universal connection interface, may attach to a plurality of different modular attachments of varying complexity. The universal connection interface may reduce complexity for the main robot to attach to a modular attachment since the same connection interface may be used to connect to the plurality of different modular attachments. A main robot not utilizing a connection interface may approach each module, of the plurality of different modules, differently to ensure a secure connection as each module may comprise varying levels of complexity and therefore may require different connection interfaces (e.g., ethernet, USB, etc.) from the main robot." in par. 0100 and communication protocols in par. 0175-0177)
Regarding Claim 9, Duffy teaches:
9. The robotic system of claim 8, wherein the communication interface comprises an adapter. (see at least “A main robot not utilizing a connection interface may approach each module, of the plurality of different modules, differently to ensure a secure connection as each module may comprise varying levels of complexity and therefore may require different connection interfaces (e.g., ethernet, USB, etc.) from the main robot. A universal connection interface, as illustrated in this example, may enable a main robot to reduce the complexity of performing a connection by reducing the number of connection interfaces to a single universal connection interface. Additionally, the universal connection interface may enable a main robot to provide varying levels of output complexity to the modular attachment based on the complexity of the modular attachment.” In par. 0100 and "Advantageously, the use of a single connection interface 214 to attach to a plurality of varying complexity modular attachments may provide a main robot 102 with the capability to quickly and easily switch between the plurality modular attachments to perform a plurality of tasks of varying complexity without the need for different connectors (e.g., ethernet, USB, PCIe, etc.) to be positioned on the chassis of the main robot 102 for each of the plurality of modular attachments." in par. 0257)
Regarding Claim 10, Duffy teaches:
10. The robotic system of claim 9, wherein the communication interface comprises a wireless interface comprising the adapter. (see at least “The system comprises a wireless communication device, an application, a data transmitting unit and a data receiving unit, such as is achieved between a master robot and a slave robot. The wireless communication device may send voice commands or signals via an application to the slave robotic device. The slave robotic device then receives the data, through the data receiving unit, from the data transmitting unit, and accordingly processes the data and executes the command as desired based on the input signals received from the master robot. The wireless communication may be achieved by use of Bluetooth, pairing, or radio frequency identifiers (RFID)." in par. 0244)
Regarding Claim 11, Duffy teaches:
11. The robotic system of claim 9, wherein the processor controls the auxiliary equipment via signals sent via a physical interface comprising the adapter. (see at least " Referring back to FIG. 5B, encoder 502 may be configured to receive input 518 from a controller 118 of a main robot 102, the input 518 may comprise sensor data, control signals, and/or any other data type useful for effectuating the control of the modular attachment 512." in par. 0174 and “FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a connection interface 214, previously illustrated in FIG. 2, of a main robot 102 comprising a plurality of mechanical outputs 708-n, data ports 802-n, and power input 804. As illustrated in FIG. 8, data connections 212 further comprise a plurality of data ports 802-n, configured in a coaxial design, used to send and receive input to and from a modular attachment. Other embodiments of data ports 802-n are considered, such as a twisted pair dual pin configuration, and would be readily apparent to one skilled in the art.” In par. 0201)
Regarding Claim 13, Duffy teaches:
13. The robotic system of claim 1, wherein integrating the new element includes one or more of
establishing a connection, establishing trust. (see at least "Block 416 illustrates controller 118 sending a connection test signal to the desired modular attachment through connection interface 214. According to at least one non-limiting exemplary embodiment, the connection test signal may be carried by a specific carrier frequency, as further illustrated in FIG. 5B and 5C, and a return confirmation signal may be communicated from the desired modular attachment confirming proper attachment of data connections 212, of connection interface 214, to the desired module." in par. 0164 and “The accessories provide electronic identification regarding their function to the control module to enable the control module to configure the robotic device to enable the accessories to function.” In par. 0253)
Regarding Claim 14, Duffy teaches:
14. The robotic system of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of robotically controlled elements are distributed over multiple sites comprising a wide area. (see at least "Various “minion” bots are controlled from the central hub via wireless communication to perform their assigned tasks. In embodiments, the tasks of the minion bots may be the same or different for each bot. For example, a network of minion bots may comprise a vacuum bot, a mopping bot, a plant care bot, etc. with each of their courses through the space mapped and directed by the control module just to the locations for each of their assigned tasks." in par. 0266 and “A maintenance robotic system for golf courses may include multiple robotic devices to maintain their grassy areas. For instance, larger devices may be equipped with mowing modules suitable for mowing grass at fairway or rough heights. Smaller devices may be used to clip grass on putting surfaces, which require very uniform, short grass heights. Similar small devices could be used to clip grass on other surfaces, such as grass tennis courts, bowling greens, etc. Each robotic device could be programmed to mow appropriately mapped areas depending on the purpose of the areas. They may be controlled by a central hub in wireless communication with the devices.” In par. 0332)
Regarding Claim 15, Duffy teaches:
15. The robotic system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to communicate to the robotic system usage data associated with the robotically controlled element coupled to the processor. (see at least "Communication channel 216 may be further configured to receive input signals from the modular attachment, these signals may comprise sensor data, feedback, state parameters, and/or any additional data the modular attachment may communicate with the master robot 102." in par. 0140)
Regarding Claim 16, Duffy teaches:
16. The robotic system of claim 15, wherein the usage data comprises a strategy learned in connection with use of the robotically controlled element coupled to the processor to perform a task. (see at least "According to at least one non-limiting exemplary embodiment, controller 118 may determine a modular attachment used to perform a task based on a learning process, wherein a main robot 102 may attempt to accomplish the task using a plurality of different modular attachments to find the most efficient modular attachment to perform the task." in par. 0210 and “In one or more obstacle avoidance applications, an adaptive predictor apparatus may be configured to learn to anticipate the obstacles, allowing for faster and smoother anticipatory avoidance behavior.” In par. 0237)
Regarding Claim 17, Duffy teaches:
17. The robotic system of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to receive via the communication interface and use in connection with control of the robotically controlled element coupled to the processor a strategy learned in connection with another element comprising the robotic system. (see at least " As yet another exemplary embodiment, various robots (e.g., that are commonly associated, such as robots by a common manufacturer, user, network, etc.) may be networked so that data captured by individual robots are collectively shared with other robots. In such a fashion, these robots may be configured to learn and/or share sensor data in order to facilitate the ability to readily detect and/or identify errors and/or assist events." in par. 0113 and “According to at least one non-limiting exemplary embodiment, controller 118 may determine a modular attachment used to perform a task based on a learning process, wherein a main robot 102 may attempt to accomplish the task using a plurality of different modular attachments to find the most efficient modular attachment to perform the task.” In par. 0210)
Regarding Claim 18, Duffy teaches:
18. The robotic system of claim 1,
wherein the processor comprises a first processor and the robotically controlled element coupled to the first processor comprises a first robotically controlled element; and wherein each of at least a subset of the plurality of robotically controlled elements other than the first robotically controlled element is associated with a corresponding processor configured to control the element via the standard interface implemented across said plurality of robotically controlled elements. (see at least " Data connections 212, as further illustrated below in FIG. 8, may comprise one or more data connections configured to send and receive signals to and from a master robot and a modular attachment, as illustrated by communication channel 216." in par. 0140 and Figs. 13-14)
Regarding Claim 19, Duffy also teaches:
A method for implementing the system of Claim 1 (see Claim 1 analysis for rejection of the system)
Regarding Claim 20, Duffy also teaches:
A compute program product on a non-transitory computer readable medium for implementing the system of Claim 1 (see Claim 1 analysis for rejection of the system)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN M KATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657