CTFR 19/182,493 CTFR 82368 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0086889 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) . PNG media_image1.png 725 565 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 496 628 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 , Chang et al. teaches a light-emitting device, comprising: a circuit board (222; see at least figures 2 and 3 and paragraph [0034]) having a light-reflecting region (226c; see at least figures 2 and 3); a plurality of light-emitting elements (224; see at least paragraph [0034] and at least figures 2-3) arranged on the circuit board (222); a first reflective element (226c; see at least figure 2) disposed on the circuit board (222; see at least figure 2 and 3); and a second reflective element (226b; figure 2) disposed on the first reflective element (226c) and comprising a plurality of apertures (226d) overlapping the circuit board (222) along a normal direction of the circuit board (222), wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (224) are disposed in the plurality of apertures (226d). Chang does not explicitly teach wherein along the normal direction of the circuit board, at least a part of the first reflective element is located in at least one of the plurality of apertures, the first reflective element and the second reflective element respectively overlap at least part of the light-reflecting region, the first reflective element is disposed between the second reflective element and the circuit board, and the first reflective element partially overlaps the second reflective element. PNG media_image3.png 511 548 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 713 467 media_image4.png Greyscale Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) teaches wherein along the normal direction of the circuit board (where light source 6 is positioned), at least a part of the first reflective element (10) is located in at least one of the plurality of apertures (102), the first reflective element (10) and the second reflective element (124) respectively overlap at least part of the light-reflecting region, the first reflective element (10) is disposed between the second reflective element (124) and the circuit board (6), and the first reflective element (10) partially overlaps the second reflective element (124). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chang et al. to include a light reflective region on the circuit board and a reflective element that overlaps on of the light emitting element along a normal direction of the circuit board as taught by Yu et al. to improve utilization of the backlight source and also help improve homogeneity of illumination (see paragraph [0046] of Yu et al.) . Regarding claim 2 , Chang et al. further teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second reflective element (226b; see at least figure 3-4) surrounds at least one of the plurality of light-emitting elements (224; see at least figure 3-4). Regarding claim 7 , Chang et al. further teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a light guide plate (210; see at least figure 2 and 3 and paragraph [0034]) disposed on the circuit board (222; see at least figures 2 and 3) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0086889 A1) in view Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bogner et al. (US 2006/0007553 A1) . Regarding claim 3 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. further teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, but Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a shape of the second reflective element is a grid shape. PNG media_image5.png 170 544 media_image5.png Greyscale Bogner et al. teaches a shape of a reflective element (grid reflector 5) is a grid shape (see grid reflector 5 in figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chang et al. to include a grid shaped reflector as taught by Bogner et al. to effect uniform light distribution of the light emitting device (see paragraph [0021] of Bogner et al.) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim( s) 4 and 5 are r ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C hang et al. (US 2012/0086889 A1) in view Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) a s applied to claim 1 a bove and further in view of J ang et al. (US 2012/0134139 A1). R egarding claim 4 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, but Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first reflective element has a first reflectivity R1, the second reflective element has a second reflectivity R2, and the first reflectivity R1 is greater than the second reflectivity R2. PNG media_image6.png 422 314 media_image6.png Greyscale Jang et al. a backlight unit and display apparatus comprising a first and second reflective member (490a, 490b, respectively in figure 12B) having a first and second reflectivity where the first reflectivity is greater than the second reflectivity (see at least paragraph [0206] and [0207]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. to include reflective elements having a first reflectivity greater than a second reflectivity as taught by Jang et al. to reflect light emitted from the light source to a more distant region from the light source to achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0208] of Jang et al.) Regarding claim 5 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, but Chang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first reflective element has a first reflectivity R1, the second reflective element has a second reflectivity R2, and the first reflectivity R1 and the second reflectivity R2 satisfy the following formula: 0 ≤ |(R1 — R2)|/Max(R1, R2) < 20%. Jang et al. a backlight unit and display apparatus comprising a first and second reflective member (490a, 490b, respectively) having a first and second reflectivity where the first reflectivity is greater than the second reflectivity (see at least paragraph [0206] and [0207]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. to include reflective elements having a first reflectivity greater than a second reflectivity as taught by Jang et al. to reflect light emitted from the light source to a more distant region from the light source to achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0208] of Jang et al.) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0086889 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kakkar et al. (US 2019/0146142 A1) . Regarding claim 6 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, but Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first reflective element comprises a first white material, and the second reflective element comprises a second white material. Kakkar et al. teach a light guide 43 comprising a reflective layer 42 wherein the reflective layer 42 may be white to diffuse the light (see at least paragraph [0037]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reflective elements of Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. to comprise a white material as taught by Kakkar et al. to diffuse the light and achieve a desired illumination output from the light emitting device (see paragraph [0037] of Kakkar et al.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0086889 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view Komano et al. (US 2016/0077270 A1) . Regarding claim 8 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1, but Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit board comprises a first part and a second part connected with the first part, the first part extends along a first direction, the second part extends along a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction. Komano et al. teaches a circuit board (see at least figure 5) comprising a first part and second part, the first part extending horizontally (see 18a1 in at least figure 5), portion comprising light sources (17) and the second part extending perpendicularly from the first part (see 18a2 in at least figure 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit board of Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. as taught by Komano et al. to reduce the overall thickness of the display device (see paragraph [0044] of Komano et al.).. Regarding claim 9 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. and Komano et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 8, but Chang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of light- emitting elements are disposed on the first part. Komano et al. teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (17) are disposed on the first part (18a1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit board of Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. to include the plurality of light emitting elements on the first part as taught by Komano et al. to reduce the overall thickness of the display device (see paragraph [0044] of Komano et al.). Regarding claim 10 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. and Komano et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 8, but Chang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a portion of the second part is a connector. Komano et al. further teach wherein a portion of the second part (18a2) is a connector (see 14b in at least figure 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit board of Chang et al. to include a second part that is a connector as taught by Komano et al. . to reduce the overall thickness of the display device (see paragraph [0044] of Komano et al.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0086889 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2015/0168629 A1) and Komano et al. (US 2016/0077270 A1) as applied to claim 10 above and further in view Bu et al. (US 2015/0338570 A1) . Regarding claim 11 , Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. and Komano et al. teaches the light-emitting device as claimed in claim 10, but Chang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of external signals transmit to the plurality of light-emitting elements through the connector. Bu et al. (US 2015/0338570 A1) teaches wherein a plurality of external signals transmit (see paragraph [0027]) to the plurality of light-emitting elements (light emitters 2) through the connector (4; paragraph [0027]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chang et al. modified by Yu et al. and Komano et al. to include a plurality of external signals transmitted to the plurality of light emitting elements through the connector as taught by Bu et al.so that the driving signal may be transmitted to the circuit of the substrate via the connector, so as to drive the light emitters to emit light (see paragraph [0027] of Bu et al.). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claim 1 and further consideration of applicant’s arguments. A new reference, Yu et al., teaches the limitations “ wherein along the normal direction of the circuit board , at least a part of the first reflective element is located in at least one of the plurality of apertures, the first reflective element and the second reflective element respectively overlap at least part of the light-reflecting region, the first reflective element is disposed between the second reflective element and the circuit board, and the first reflective element partially overlaps the second reflective element. Claims 2-11 remain rejected based on dependency on a rejected base claim. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA MCMILLAN APENTENG whose telephone number is (571)272-5510. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00 am-5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ABDULMAJEED AZIZ can be reached at 571-270-5046. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875 /ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 7 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 8 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 9 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 10 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 11 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/182,493 Page 12 Art Unit: 2875