Priority date of 04/17/2024 based on 63/635611 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8, and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group I, directed to biometric locking system, without traverse, in the response dated 06/04/2025 is acknowledged.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: the latching mechanism in claim 1, another form of user verification in claim 1, the zipper tab and the latching mechanism and the locking mechanism connected configured to transition from the locked configuration to an unlocked configuration upon successful authentication, the keypad, wireless reader, or other form of user verification system in claim 3, keypad, wireless reader, or other form of user verification system in claim 4, the power supply charging the external device in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, the specification fails to teach how the zipper tab connected to the locking mechanism and the latch configured to transition from the locked configuration to an unlocked configuration upon successful authentication.
Regarding claim 1, the specification fails to teach what comprises “another form of user verification”, and how “other form of user verification” connected and operates. See drawing objection above.
Regarding claim 3, the specification fails to teach how “other non-biometric access structure” operates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detry (WO2017174813)) in view of Garner (10143281) or Siau et al. (20240164499).
Returning to FIG. 2, according to an exemplary embodiment, the electronic locking module (151) comprises a biometric reader (251), or more generally a means for identifying an individual in a certain way.
the luggage element is closed by a double slider zipper closure (120), the locking being achieved by inserting the zippers (221, 222) of the two sliders into a latch,
The TSA type lock also makes it possible to lock-unlock the case, by means of a suitable key, even in the absence of any power supply, and regardless of the mode of operation of the electronic locking module. Said lock includes a sensor (not shown) for detecting the introduction of a key or the operation of said lock, opening or closing.
According to this embodiment, the slider (320) comprises a bridge (321) cooperating with an eyelet (321) for articulating the pull tab, the assembly being molded in one piece. The pull tab includes a locking eyelet (322) which is engaged in a housing of the electronic locking module, the locking being achieved by the insertion of a locking pin into the bore of the eyelet (322).
Advantageously, the electronic module that is the subject of the invention comprises a standardized connection (256), for example of the USB ("Universal Serial Bus") or micro-USB type. Said connection is for example connected to a removable charging battery placed inside the bag to allow the user to perform a charging of an electronic device, such as a smartphone.
Regarding claim 1, Detry teaches a storage device, comprising: one or more compartments (111/112), each including: a securing mechanism (120) disposed along a perimeter of at least one compartment; wherein the securing mechanism includes at least one zipper tab (221/222), a locking mechanism (151) comprising a latch (cited above) and at least one authentication module (206); wherein the authentication module comprising a fingerprint sensor (251) wherein the locking mechanism is configured to transition from the locked configuration to an unlocked configuration upon successful authentication.
Detry meets all claimed limitations except for the divider system as claimed. Garner teaches that it is known in the art to provide one or more dividers (30/54/40) and one or more corresponding slots (28/45/168”’), the divider system configured to define one or more customizable storage sections. Saiau teaches one or more dividers (168/160/168”’) and one or more corresponding slots (258, 226”), the divider system configured to define one or more customizable storage sections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the divider system of Gardner or Siau to enable one to sort the contents and access the contents easily.
Regarding claim 2, note the zipper inserted into the receiving cavity (housing, cited above) configured to receive and retain at least a portion of each zipper tab in a locked configuration.
Regarding claim 3, note the biometric sensor 251(cited above),
Regarding claim 4, note the fallback unlocking mechanism (TSA mechanical key),
wherein the fallback unlocking mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, note Detry teaches power supply being a removable charging battery for charging an external device (phone) cited above.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733