Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“a water pumping driving member” includes the generic/nonce term “member” coupled with the function of “water pumping driving”. A return to the specification provides member 872 which from the figure is a motor. Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 2,050,470)
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a mobile air conditioner, comprising:
a casing (1), an accommodation space being arranged in the casing;
a compressor (21), the compressor being arranged at a bottom of the accommodation space;
an outdoor air duct assembly (35 and 37), the outdoor air duct assembly being arranged in the accommodation space and located above the compressor (21);
an indoor air duct assembly (duct from 8 to 12), the indoor air duct assembly being arranged in the accommodation space and located above the outdoor air duct assembly;
an outdoor heat exchanger (27), arranged on a side of the outdoor air duct assembly in a horizontal direction, such that the outdoor air duct assembly conveys outdoor air to the outdoor heat exchanger for heat exchange; and
an indoor heat exchanger (5), arranged on a side of the indoor air duct assembly in a horizontal direction, such that the indoor air duct assembly conveys indoor air to the indoor heat exchanger for heat exchange;
wherein the compressor, the outdoor heat exchanger, and the indoor heat exchanger are connected end to end along a height direction of the casing to form a refrigerant circuit;
the casing (1) is provided with an air outlet (11 and 12) and an air inlet (inlet of 8), wherein the air outlet corresponds to an outlet of the indoor air duct assembly and a length direction of the air outlet is the height direction of the casing, so as to guide air outputted by the indoor air duct assembly out of the casing as a vertical airflow;
the air inlet (inlet of 8) corresponds to the indoor heat exchanger (5), such that under the action of the indoor air duct assembly, indoor air enters the casing from the air inlet (8), undergoes heat exchange with the indoor heat exchanger (5), and is then sent out from the air outlet (11 and 12).
Regarding claim 2, Smith further discloses the indoor air duct assembly comprises: an indoor air duct member, the indoor air duct member (member through which 11 passes) being arranged on a side of the indoor heat exchanger in a horizontal direction; and an indoor fan (7), the indoor fan being arranged in the indoor air duct member, and an axial direction of the indoor fan being the height direction of the casing.
Regarding claim 3, Smith further discloses the indoor fan is a cross-flow fan (air flow shown in figure 1), and an axial direction of the cross-flow fan is the height direction of the casing.
Regarding claim 5, Smith further discloses an air inlet duct (37), the air inlet duct being configured to convey outdoor air to the outdoor heat exchanger (27) for heat exchange; an air outlet duct (35), the air outlet duct being configured to convey heat-exchanged air to the outside under the action of the outdoor air duct assembly; wherein the air inlet duct and the air outlet duct are arranged side by side in a horizontal direction (shown in figure 1).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamio et al (US 5,638,695).
Regarding claim 1, Kamio discloses a mobile air conditioner, comprising:
a casing (2), an accommodation space being arranged in the casing;
a compressor (12), the compressor being arranged at a bottom of the accommodation space;
an outdoor air duct assembly (duct passing through condenser 7), the outdoor air duct assembly being arranged in the accommodation space and located above the compressor (12);
an indoor air duct assembly (duct passing through evaporator 6), the indoor air duct assembly being arranged in the accommodation space and located above the outdoor air duct assembly;
an outdoor heat exchanger (7), arranged on a side of the outdoor air duct assembly in a horizontal direction, such that the outdoor air duct assembly conveys outdoor air to the outdoor heat exchanger for heat exchange; and
an indoor heat exchanger (6), arranged on a side of the indoor air duct assembly in a horizontal direction, such that the indoor air duct assembly conveys indoor air to the indoor heat exchanger for heat exchange;
wherein the compressor, the outdoor heat exchanger, and the indoor heat exchanger are connected end to end along a height direction of the casing to form a refrigerant circuit (3:61 to 4:19);
the casing (2) is provided with an air outlet and an air inlet (identified in annotated figure below), wherein the air outlet corresponds to an outlet of the indoor air duct assembly and a length direction of the air outlet is the height direction of the casing, so as to guide air outputted by the indoor air duct assembly out of the casing as a vertical airflow;
the air inlet corresponds to the indoor heat exchanger (6), such that under the action of the indoor air duct assembly, indoor air enters the casing from the air inlet, undergoes heat exchange with the indoor heat exchanger (6), and is then sent out from the air outlet.
Regarding claim 5, Kamio discloses an air inlet duct (duct to the left of fan 11 shown in figure 1), the air inlet duct being configured to convey outdoor air to the outdoor heat exchanger for heat exchange; an air outlet duct (duct to the right of fan 11 as shown in figure 1), the air outlet duct being configured to convey heat-exchanged air to the outside under the action of the outdoor air duct assembly; wherein the air inlet duct and the air outlet duct are arranged side by side in a horizontal direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamio et al (US 5,638,695) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 5,117,652).
Regarding claims 2-3, Kamio further discloses the indoor air duct assembly comprises: an indoor air duct member, the indoor air duct member (member through which 10-1 connects to 10-2) being arranged on a side of the indoor heat exchanger in a horizontal direction; and an indoor fan (10) which is a cross flow fan, the indoor fan being arranged in the indoor air duct member.
Kamio lacks an axial direction of the indoor fan being the height direction of the casing.
Takeuchi discloses a mobile air conditioner wherein the indoor fan (40) is a cross-flow fan and has an axial direction in the height direction of the casing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kamio with a vertical axis in order to allow for a single motor to power both fans as is shown in Takeuchi.
Regarding claim 4, Kamio discloses the mobile air conditioner according to claim 1, but lacks a plurality of guide plates.
Takeuchi discloses a mobile air conditioner having a plurality of air guide plates (35) arranged at the air outlet, a length direction of each of the plurality of air guide plates being the height direction of the casing, and the plurality of air guide plates being arranged along a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kamio with guide plates as taught by Takeuchi in order to guide the air flow.
Regarding claim 15, Kamio discloses a third air duct plate (identified in annotated figure below), the third air duct plate and the indoor heat exchanger defining an indoor air duct, the indoor fan being arranged in the indoor air duct; a fourth air duct plate (identified in annotated figure below), the fourth air duct plate being arranged in the indoor air duct.
Kamio is silent concerning detachable connection. The examiner takes official notice that detachable connections between fitting portions are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the third air duct plate is provided with a first fitting portion, the fourth air duct plate is provided with a second fitting portion, and the third air duct plate and the fourth air duct plate are detachably connected through the first fitting portion and the second fitting portion in order to all detachment to make the arrangement more compact, e.g. for shipping purposes.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamio et al (US 5,638,695), in view of Takeuchi et al (US 5,117,652), and in view of Ihle et al (US 2007/0271941).
Regarding claim 6, Kamio discloses the mobile air conditioner according to claim 1, but lacks the water receiving trays as claimed.
Takeuchi discloses a mobile air conditioner further comprising: a first water receiving tray (56), the outdoor heat exchanger (53) being arranged above the first water receiving tray; a second water receiving tray (139), the indoor heat exchanger (38) being arranged above the second water receiving tray, and the second water receiving tray (139) being arranged above the outdoor heat exchanger (53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kamio with the dual water receiving tray as taught by Takeuchi in order to utilize the condensate as a heat exchange enhancement.
Kamio lacks the first water receiving tray is arranged above the compressor. Ihle discloses a water receiving tray (4) w arranged above the compressor (1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kamio with the first water receiving tray above the compressor in order to provide a cooling effect at the compressor.
Regarding claim 7, Kamio as modified discloses the first water receiving tray is arranged directly above the compressor (as provided by Ihle above, the first water receiving tray is mounted directly to the top of the compressor), the outdoor heat exchanger is located directly above the compressor (provided by Takeuchi above), such that the outdoor heat exchanger and the compressor are correspondingly arranged.
Regarding claim 18, Kamio and Takeuchi further disclose the second water receiving tray (139 of Takeuchi) is provided with a first water tank (60) and at least one water outlet (72; plural outlets 72 shown in figure 21), and the first water tank (60) is communicated with the water outlet (both the water outlet and the water tank supply water to 56); wherein the water outlet and a water outlet end of the first water tank are spaced apart, a plurality of water guide ribs are arranged between the water outlet (ribs correspond to walls of 139 as shown in figure 21) and the water outlet end of the first water tank, a water guide channel is formed between every two adjacent water guide ribs (flow space of 139 is a water guide), and a water inlet end of the water guide channel is communicated with the water outlet end of the first water tank (both flow to 56 and thus are communicated).
Regarding claim 19, Kamio and Takeuchi further disclose the at least one water outlet comprises a plurality of water outlets (72 of figure 21 of Takeuchi), and the first water tank is communicated with the plurality of water outlets (both flow to 56); wherein the water guide channel is arranged corresponding to the plurality of water outlets (channel is space between walls/ribs of 139 of Takeuchi).
Regarding claim 20, Kamio and Takeuchi a water pumping device (58), the water pumping device comprising a water pumping wheel (58) and a water pumping driving member (39b), the water pumping wheel being rotatably arranged on the first water receiving tray (56), and the water pumping driving member being in transmission connection with the water pumping wheel;
the outdoor heat exchanger (53 of Takeuchi) comprises a first heat exchange member and a second heat exchange member, the first heat exchange member and the second heat exchange member being spaced apart to form a water flow channel, and the water pumping wheel being correspondingly arranged at a lower end of the water flow channel (58 is within flow channel of 56); a sealing plate (55), the sealing plate covering an upper side of the outdoor heat exchanger, a flow guide groove being arranged in the sealing plate (curve at upper portion of 55 is regarded as a groove), and the flow guide groove corresponding to the water flow channel.
Kamio and Takeuchi lack the water pumping driving member being arranged on the first water receiving tray. The examiner takes official notice that providing a motor on a water tray is old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a submerged motor on the tray in order to provide a cooling effect to the motor.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 2,050,470).
Regarding claim 15, Smith further discloses the indoor air duct member further comprises: a third air duct plate (2), the third air duct plate and the indoor heat exchanger defining an indoor air duct, the indoor fan being arranged in the indoor air duct; a fourth air duct plate (3), the fourth air duct plate being arranged in the indoor air duct; wherein the third air duct plate is provided with a first fitting portion, the fourth air duct plate is provided with a second fitting portion (fitting portions corresponding to connection with 16).
Smith is silent concerning detachability. The examiner takes official notice that detachable connections are old and well known, e.g. snap fittings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the first and fourth duct plates as detachably connected in order to facilitate assembly and disassembly.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 2,050,470) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 5,117,652).
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses the mobile air conditioner according to claim 1, but lacks a plurality of guide plates.
Takeuchi discloses a mobile air conditioner having a plurality of air guide plates (35) arranged at the air outlet, a length direction of each of the plurality of air guide plates being the height direction of the casing, and the plurality of air guide plates being arranged along a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Smith with guide plates as taught by Takeuchi in order to guide the air flow.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 2,050,470), in view of Takeuchi et al (US 5,117,652), and in view of Ihle et al (US 2007/0271941).
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses the mobile air conditioner according to claim 1, but lacks the water receiving trays as claimed.
Takeuchi discloses a mobile air conditioner further comprising: a first water receiving tray (56), the outdoor heat exchanger (53) being arranged above the first water receiving tray; a second water receiving tray (139), the indoor heat exchanger (38) being arranged above the second water receiving tray, and the second water receiving tray (139) being arranged above the outdoor heat exchanger (53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Smith with the dual water receiving tray as taught by Takeuchi in order to utilize the condensate as a heat exchange enhancement.
Smith lacks the first water receiving tray is arranged above the compressor. Ihle discloses a water receiving tray (4) w arranged above the compressor (1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Smith with the first water receiving tray above the compressor in order to provide a cooling effect at the compressor.
Regarding claim 7, Smith as modified discloses the first water receiving tray is arranged directly above the compressor (as provided by Ihle above, the first water receiving tray is mounted directly to the top of the compressor), the outdoor heat exchanger is located directly above the compressor (provided by Takeuchi above), such that the outdoor heat exchanger and the compressor are correspondingly arranged.
Regarding claim 18, Smith and Takeuchi further disclose the second water receiving tray (139 of Takeuchi) is provided with a first water tank (60) and at least one water outlet (72; plural outlets 72 shown in figure 21), and the first water tank (60) is communicated with the water outlet (both the water outlet and the water tank supply water to 56); wherein the water outlet and a water outlet end of the first water tank are spaced apart, a plurality of water guide ribs are arranged between the water outlet (ribs correspond to walls of 139 as shown in figure 21) and the water outlet end of the first water tank, a water guide channel is formed between every two adjacent water guide ribs (flow space of 139 is a water guide), and a water inlet end of the water guide channel is communicated with the water outlet end of the first water tank (both flow to 56 and thus are communicated).
Regarding claim 19, Smith and Takeuchi further disclose the at least one water outlet comprises a plurality of water outlets (72 of figure 21 of Takeuchi), and the first water tank is communicated with the plurality of water outlets (both flow to 56); wherein the water guide channel is arranged corresponding to the plurality of water outlets (channel is space between walls/ribs of 139 of Takeuchi).
Regarding claim 20, Smith and Takeuchi a water pumping device (58), the water pumping device comprising a water pumping wheel (58) and a water pumping driving member (39b), the water pumping wheel being rotatably arranged on the first water receiving tray (56), and the water pumping driving member being in transmission connection with the water pumping wheel;
the outdoor heat exchanger (53 of Takeuchi) comprises a first heat exchange member and a second heat exchange member, the first heat exchange member and the second heat exchange member being spaced apart to form a water flow channel, and the water pumping wheel being correspondingly arranged at a lower end of the water flow channel (58 is within flow channel of 56); a sealing plate (55), the sealing plate covering an upper side of the outdoor heat exchanger, a flow guide groove being arranged in the sealing plate (curve at upper portion of 55 is regarded as a groove), and the flow guide groove corresponding to the water flow channel.
Smith and Takeuchi lack the water pumping driving member being arranged on the first water receiving tray. The examiner takes official notice that providing a motor on a water tray is old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a submerged motor on the tray in order to provide a cooling effect to the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 recites the structural relationship between an electric control box and a support plate relative to other components of the system. While electrical control boxes and support plates are known in the prior art. No known reference, whether alone or in proper combination, would yield the claimed invention.
Claims 8-14 and 16-17 depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Young et al (US 2,220,594) vertically arranged air conditioner
Faggiani et al (US 2004/0040329) compressor mounted evaporative pan
Northcut et al (US 2025/0290662) sling motor mounted on condensate pan
Patton, Sr. et al (US 4,776,180) vertically arranged air conditioner
Liu (US 12,442,547) vertically arranged air conditioner with detachably connected duct
Jung et al (US 11,041,643) vertical cross flow fan
Coughlan et al (US 12,687,319) condensate pan with plural openings
Wang et al (US 11,415,839) vertically arranged air conditioner
Liu (US 12,474,085) guide ribs for condensate
Chiu (US 7,895,849) water tank mounted to top of compressor
Frazer (US 2,234,753) vertically arranged air conditioner
Keilholtz (US 2,210,458) vertically arranged air conditioner
Eberhart (US 2,293,718) vertically arranged air conditioner
Woodruff (US 2,115,294) vertically arranged air conditioner
Smith (US 2,175,946) vertically arranged air conditioner
Taugher (US 2,262,477) vertically arranged air conditioner
Eberhart (US 2,417,743) vertically arranged air conditioner
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799