DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification amendment submitted on 04/18/2025 which added the cross-reference to related applications has been accepted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SIMULTANEOUS DATA TRANSMISSION BETWEEN AN ACCESS POINT AND A PLURALITY OF STATIONS
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10085243, hereinafter “Patent’243”.
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’458.
Regarding claims 21-22, Patent’243 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see claim 1] comprising:
a transceiver; and [see claim 1]
a processor, [see claim 1]
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see claim 1; wherein the processor receives, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between a transmission terminal and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the transmission terminal, at least one of terminal identifier fields included in the first control frame indicates the wireless communication terminal, wherein the terminal identifier fields include a plurality of association identifiers, wherein each of the plurality of association identifiers respectively identifies the each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see claim 1; transmits, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information to the transmission terminal when at least one of terminal identifier fields included in the first control frame indicates the wireless communication terminal, wherein the terminal identifier fields include a plurality of association identifiers, wherein each of the plurality of association identifiers respectively identifies the each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals], and
receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see claim 1; receives, through the transceiver, a data frame which is transmitted based on the second control frame],
wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see claims 3-4; wherein the processor transmits the second control frame to the transmission terminal, when the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time from a time point at which the first control frame is received; wherein the predetermined time is a Short Inter-Frame Space(SIFS)].
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10708890, hereinafter “Patent’890” in view of Chu et al. (US 2015/0146808 A1, hereinafter “Chu”).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’890 by adding the well-known elements and functions as set forth below.
Regarding claims 21-22, Patent’890 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see claim 1] comprising:
a transceiver; and [see claim 1]
a processor, [see claim 1]
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see claim 1; receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see claim 1; transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal], and
wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see claims 2-3; wherein the processor transmits the second control frame to the access point, when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time from a time point at which the first control frame is received and at least one of terminal identifier fields included in the first control frame indicates the wireless communication terminal; wherein the predetermined time is a Short Inter-Frame Space(SIFS)].
Patent’890 does not explicitly disclose receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel.
However, Chu teaches receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see Fig. 8A, step 809, para. 78-79; client station receives a data frame within a reserved channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel”, as taught by Chu, into the system of Patent’890 so that it would provide a frame exchange between an AP and a plurality of client stations [see Chu, para. 78].
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10893511, hereinafter “Patent’511” in view of Chu et al. (US 2015/0146808 A1, hereinafter “Chu”).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’511 by adding the well-known elements and functions as set forth below.
Regarding claims 21-22, Patent’511 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see claim 1] comprising:
a transceiver; and [see claim 1]
a processor, [see claim 1]
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see claim 1; receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point, wherein a receiver address of the first control frame is a group address which indicates a second plurality of wireless communication terminals including the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, wherein the terminal identifier fields include a plurality of association identifiers, wherein each of the plurality of association identifiers respectively identifies the each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see claim 1; transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal], and
wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see claims 1-2; wherein a inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time; wherein the predetermined time is a Short Inter-Frame Space (SIFS)].
Patent’511 does not explicitly disclose receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel.
However, Chu teaches receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see Fig. 8A, step 809, para. 78-79; client station receives a data frame within a reserved channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel”, as taught by Chu, into the system of Patent’511 so that it would provide a frame exchange between an AP and a plurality of client stations [see Chu, para. 78].
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11350390, hereinafter “Patent’390” in view of Chu et al. (US 2015/0146808 A1, hereinafter “Chu”).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’390 by adding the well-known elements and functions as set forth below.
Regarding claims 21-22, Patent’390 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see claim 1] comprising:
a transceiver; and [see claim 1]
a processor, [see claim 1]
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see claim 1; receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point, wherein a receiver address of the first control frame is a group address which indicates a second plurality of wireless communication terminals including the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, wherein the terminal identifier fields include a plurality of association identifiers, wherein each of the plurality of association identifiers respectively identifies the each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see claim 1; transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal], and
wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see claims 1-2; wherein a inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is a predetermined time; wherein the predetermined time is a Short Inter-Frame Space (SIFS)].
Patent’390 does not explicitly disclose receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel.
However, Chu teaches receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see Fig. 8A, step 809, para. 78-79; client station receives a data frame within a reserved channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel”, as taught by Chu, into the system of Patent’390 so that it would provide a frame exchange between an AP and a plurality of client stations [see Chu, para. 78].
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11844072, hereinafter “Patent’072” in view of Chu et al. (US 2015/0146808 A1, hereinafter “Chu”).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’072 by adding the well-known elements and functions as set forth below.
Regarding claims 21-22, Patent’072 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see claim 1] comprising:
a transceiver; and [see claim 1]
a processor, [see claim 1]
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see claim 1; receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point, wherein a receiver address of the first control frame is a group address which indicates a second plurality of wireless communication terminals including the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, wherein the terminal identifier fields include a plurality of association identifiers, wherein each of the plurality of association identifiers respectively identifies the each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see claim 1; transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal].
Patent’072 does not explicitly disclose receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel, and wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time.
However, Chu teaches receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see Fig. 8A, step 809, para. 78-79; client station receives a data frame within a reserved channel], and wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see para. 80; an interframe space (e.g., SIFS)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel, and wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time”, as taught by Chu, into the system of Patent’072 so that it would provide a frame exchange between an AP and a plurality of client stations [see Chu, para. 78].
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12382458, hereinafter “Patent’458” in view of Chu et al. (US 2015/0146808 A1, hereinafter “Chu”).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’458 by adding the well-known elements and functions as set forth below.
Regarding claims 21-22, Patent’458 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see claim 1] comprising:
a transceiver; and [see claim 1]
a processor, [see claim 1]
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see claim 1; receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point, wherein a receiver address of the first control frame is a group address which indicates a second plurality of wireless communication terminals including the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, wherein the terminal identifier fields include a plurality of association identifiers, wherein each of the plurality of association identifiers respectively identifies the each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see claim 1; transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal], and
wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see claim 1; wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time].
Patent’458 does not explicitly disclose receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel.
However, Chu teaches receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see Fig. 8A, step 809, para. 78-79; client station receives a data frame within a reserved channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel”, as taught by Chu, into the system of Patent’458 so that it would provide a frame exchange between an AP and a plurality of client stations [see Chu, para. 78].
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusivity beyond the term of a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 2015/0131517 A1, hereinafter “Chu’517”).
Regarding claims 21-22, Chu’517 discloses A wireless communication terminal [see Fig. 1, para. 46-47; a client station 25-1] comprising:
a transceiver [see Fig. 1, para. 46-47; transceiver 30]; and
a processor [see Fig. 1, para. 46-47; MAC processing unit 28 and PHY processing unit 29],
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, through the transceiver, a first control frame which reserves a channel for a transmission between an access point and a first plurality of wireless communication terminals, includes terminal identifier fields, and includes information on each of channels respectively allocated to each of the first plurality of wireless communication terminals, from the access point [see Fig. 14A, para. 125; the AP 14 transmits a scheduling frame 1404 to a plurality of client stations 25. The scheduling frame 1404 includes downlink channel allocation information for the plurality of client stations 25. The scheduling frame 1404 indicates that a first 20 MHz sub-channel is allocated to a first client stations 25 (STA1), a first portion of a second 20 MHz sub-channel is allocated to a second client stations 25 (STA2), a second portion of the second 20 MHZ sub-channel is allocated to a fourth client station 25 (STA4), and a 40 MHz sub-channel that includes a third 20 MHZ sub-channel and fourth 20 MHz sub-channel is allocated to a third client station 25 (STA3). In an embodiment, the scheduling frame 1402 includes the OFDMA downlink scheduling element 700 of FIG. 7A. In an embodiment, the respective channel subfields corresponding to the AID of STA 2 and AID of STA 4 are set to indicate that the second 20 MHz channel is allocated to each of STA1 and STA2],
transmit, by using the transceiver, a second control frame in response to the first control frame to the access point through a channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal which is indicated by the information when the wireless communication terminal determines that the channel allocated to the wireless communication terminal is idle for a predetermined time and at least one of the terminal identifier fields indicates the wireless communication terminal [see Fig. 14A, para. 127; client stations STA1, STA3 and STA4 transmit respective acknowledgement (ACK) frame 1408 to the AP 14 as part of an OFDMA transmission to the AP 14, ACK frames 1408 are transmitted in the respective sub-channels allocated to the client stations STA1, STA3 and STA4 indicated in the scheduling frame 1402. Client station STA2 does not transmit an ACK frame immediately (e.g., after SIFS)], and
receive, by using the transceiver, a data frame within the reserved channel [see Fig. 14A, para. 126; client stations STA1, STA3 and STA4 receive a data unit within the reserved channel],
wherein an inter-frame space between the first control frame and the second control frame is the predetermined time [see para. 127; the SIFS is the predetermined time according to the ACK policy].
Conclusion
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469