DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending and rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a).
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "holding device" in Claim 11 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6-8 & 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitation “at least one first rotatable filter wheel” on Line 5. Further recitations of this limitation on Lines 7-8, 13, 15, 16-17, 20 & 21, respectively, recite “the first filter wheel”. Examiner kindly requests Applicant amend these limitations to read “the at least one first filter wheel” or “the at least one first rotatable filter wheel” to provide consistent claim language throughout.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitations “the first filter wheel can mesh with the teeth [emphasis added]”, “the first connecting wheel can mesh with the teeth [emphasis added]” and “the second filter wheel can be positioned in parallel [emphasis added]” on Lines 16-17, Lines 18-19 and Lines 21-22, respectively. Examiner kindly request Applicant amend these limitations to read “the first filter wheel is configured to mesh with the teeth [emphasis added]”, “the first connecting wheel is configured to mesh with the teeth [emphasis added]” and “the second filter wheel is configured to be positioned in parallel [emphasis added]”, respectively, to better conform to U.S. patent practice and avoid ambiguity whether these limitations are considered optional.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 recites the limitation “the first filter wheel” on Lines 2-3. Examiner kindly requests Applicant amend this limitation to read “the at least one first filter wheel” or “the at least one first rotatable filter wheel” to provide consistent claim language throughout.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 recites the limitation “the first filter wheel” on Line 3. Examiner kindly requests Applicant amend this limitation to read “the at least one first filter wheel” or “the at least one first rotatable filter wheel” to provide consistent claim language throughout.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 recites the limitation “the first filter wheel” on Line 2 & Line 4. Examiner kindly requests Applicant amend these limitations to read “the at least one first filter wheel” or “the at least one first rotatable filter wheel” to provide consistent claim language throughout.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 recites the limitation “the terminal wheel can be driven via a drive gear [emphasis added]” on Line 4. Examiner kindly request Applicant amend this limitation to read “the terminal wheel is configured to be driven via a drive gear [emphasis added]” to better conform to U.S. patent practice and avoid ambiguity whether this limitation is considered optional.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 recites the limitation “the first filter wheel” on Line 2. Examiner kindly requests Applicant amend this limitation to read “the at least one first filter wheel” or “the at least one first rotatable filter wheel” to provide consistent claim language throughout.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 recites the limitation “at least one filter changing apparatus” on Lines 2-3. A further recitation of this limitation on Lines 3-4 recites “the filter changing apparatus”. Examiner kindly requests Applicant amend this limitation to read “the at least one filter changing apparatus” to provide consistent claim language throughout.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 recites the limitation “the filter changing apparatus can be arranged between a proximal end [emphasis added]” on Lines 3-4. Examiner kindly request Applicant amend this limitation to read “the filter changing apparatus is configured to be arranged between a proximal end [emphasis added]” to better conform to U.S. patent practice and avoid ambiguity whether this limitation is considered optional.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a drive unit configured to drive” in Claim 1, as described in Para. [46] of Applicant’s specification.
“a holding device for holding a non-rotating filter wheel” in Claim 11, as described in Para. [53] of Applicant’s specification.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitations recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitations are:
“means of the drive unit” in Claim 1.
“means of the one single motor” in Claim 7.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitations “a first engagement level with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof [emphasis added]”, “a gear with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof [emphasis added]” and “the first filter wheel has a portion comprising teeth distributed along the outer circumference thereof [emphasis added]” on Lines 10-11, Line 12 & Lines 13-14, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “a first engagement level with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof”, “a gear with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof” and “the first filter wheel has a portion comprising teeth distributed along the outer circumference thereof” are being interpreted as “a first engagement level with teeth distributed over an entire outer circumference thereof [emphasis added]”, “a gear with teeth distributed over an entire outer circumference thereof [emphasis added]” and “the first filter wheel has a portion comprising teeth distributed along an outer circumference thereof [emphasis added]”, respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 recite the limitation “at least one receptacle of the first filter wheel and of the second filter wheel” on Lines 20-21. It is unclear whether this “at least one receptacle of the first filter wheel and of the second filter wheel” is one of the “at least two receptacles [of the first filter wheel]”, previously recited on Line 8, one of the “at least two receptacles [of the second filter wheel]”, previously recited on Line 8, or a separate, different receptacle”. For the purpose of examination, “at least one receptacle of the first filter wheel and of the second filter wheel” is being interpreted as “at least one receptacle of the at least two receptacles of the first filter wheel and at least one receptacle of the at least two receptacles of the second filter wheel [emphasis added]”.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 recites the limitation “teeth distributed uniformly completely over the respective outer circumference [emphasis added]” on Lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “teeth distributed uniformly completely over the respective outer circumference” is being interpreted as “teeth distributed uniformly completely over a respective outer circumference [emphasis added]”.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 recites the limitations “the third filter wheel”, “the fourth filter wheel”, “the further filter wheels” and “the respective outer circumference” on Lines 2-3, Line 3, Line 3 & Line 5, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “the third filter wheel”, “the fourth filter wheel”, “the further filter wheels” and “the respective outer circumference” are being interpreted as “a third filter wheel”, “a fourth filter wheel”, “further filter wheels” and “a respective outer circumference”, respectively.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 recites the limitations “the portion of the respective second engagement level [emphasis added]”, “the third wheel”, “the fourth wheel”, “the further filter wheels” and “the respective outer circumference” on Line 3, Line 4, Line 4, Line 5 & Line 6, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “the portion of the respective second engagement level”, “the third wheel”, “the fourth wheel”, “the further filter wheels” and “the respective outer circumference” are being interpreted as “a portion of a respective second engagement level [emphasis added]”, “a third wheel”, “a fourth wheel”, “further filter wheels” and “a respective outer circumference”, respectively.
Regarding Claim 4, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired (see MPEP § 2173.05(c)). In the present instance, Claim 4 recites the broad recitation "a region of 45% to 55%" on Line 5, and the claim also recites "in particular 48% to 52%, preferably 50%" on Lines 5-6 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purpose of examination, the narrower language is considered optional and thus not required.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 recites the limitation “the respective filter wheel” on Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “the respective filter wheel” is being interpreted as “the at least one first filter wheel or the second filter wheel”.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 recites the limitation “the respective outer circumference” on Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “the respective outer circumference” is being interpreted as “a respective outer circumference”.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim recites “wherein the first filter wheel… has a driving portion comprising teeth distributed completely over the… outer circumference” on Lines 2-3. It is unclear whether these “teeth distributed completely over the outer circumference” include the “the teeth distributed along [the portion of] the outer circumference [of the first filter wheel]” previously recited on Lines 13-14 of Claim 1, or separate, different teeth. For the purpose of examination, the teeth distributed completely over the outer circumference of the first filter wheel are interpreted to include the teeth distributed along the portion of the outer circumference of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 recites the limitation “the connecting wheels” on Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “the connecting wheels” is being interpreted as “the first connecting wheel”.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 recites the limitation “the second rotary axle” on Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of examination, “the second rotary axle” is being interpreted as “a second rotary axle”.
Regarding Claims 6, 8 & 1, Claims 6, 8 & 1 rejected as being dependent upon claims previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (hereinafter "Ma") (CN 117031864 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ma, as best understood, discloses a filter changing apparatus ([0037]), the filter changing apparatus comprising:
a base plate (an envelope —understood to be an outer housing or base of the device; [0047]),
an optical passage comprising an optical axis ([0047]),
at least one first rotatable filter wheel (Fig. 1, 4; [0038]),
a second rotatable filter wheel (Fig. 1, 5; [0039]) and a rotatable first connecting wheel (Fig. 1, a driving assembly comprising 2 and 3; [0040] & [0041]) as well as a drive unit (Fig. 1, 1; [0042]) configured to drive one of the filter wheels ([0042]), the first filter wheel (Fig. 2, 4 has a plurality of 17 in which 8-12 are disposed therein; [0038] & [0047]) and the second filter wheel each having at least two receptacles for one optical filter each (Fig. 3, 5 has a plurality of 18 in which 13-16 are disposed therein; [0039] & [0047]), the filter wheels having a common first rotary axle (Fig. 1, 6; [0046]), the second filter wheel having a first engagement level (a driving-gear-engaging half; see Fig. 3) with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof (Fig. 3, 20; [0039]), and the first connecting wheel being designed as a gear with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof ([0040] & [0041]), wherein the first filter wheel has a portion comprising teeth distributed along the outer circumference thereof (Fig. 2, 19; [0038]), and the first connecting wheel is arranged on the outer circumference of the first filter wheel ([0040]) and on the outer circumference of the second filter wheel ([0041]) in such a way that the teeth of the portion of the first filter wheel can mesh with the teeth of the first connecting wheel for rotating the first connecting wheel ([0040]), and the teeth of the first connecting wheel can mesh with the teeth of the first engagement level of the second filter wheel ([0041]) so that when the first filter wheel is driven by means of the drive unit ([0043]), at least one receptacle of the first filter wheel and of the second filter wheel can be positioned in parallel in the optical passage ([0047]).
Regarding wherein the filter changing apparatus is for an endoscope camera, the intended use language “for an endoscope camera” does not positively recite any structural limitations so as to carry out the function, accordingly the prior art Ma, as best understood, can carry out the function, i.e. the intended use recited absent any specific structure recited to do so.
Regarding Claim 2, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the filter changing apparatus has a second connecting wheel (a third-layer driving gear; [0044]), a third connecting wheel and/or optionally further connecting wheels and a third filter wheel (a third-layer filter wheel; [0044]), a fourth filter wheel and/or optionally further filter wheels, the third filter wheel, the fourth filter wheel and/or optionally each of the further filter wheels having at least one first engagement level with teeth distributed uniformly completely over the respective outer circumference ([0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the second filter wheel, the third filter wheel, the fourth filter wheel and/or optionally each of the further filter wheels has or have a second engagement level (a non-gear-engaging half of 5; see Fig. 3) comprising a portion with teeth distributed along the respective outer circumference (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the respective filter wheel has four receptacles (Fig. 3, 5 has four 18 wherein 13-16 are disposed; [0047]), six receptacles and/or optionally an even number of further receptacles for one optical filter each.
Regarding Claim 6, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the drive unit has a single motor for driving the first filter wheel or a terminal filter wheel of the filter changing apparatus (Fig. 1, 1 is a servomotor; [0042]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 7. Ma further discloses wherein the first filter wheel or the terminal filter wheel has a drive portion comprising teeth distributed completely over the respective outer circumference (see Fig. 2) so that the first filter wheel or the terminal filter wheel can be driven via a drive gear by means of the one single motor ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 6. Ma further discloses wherein the first filter wheel or the terminal filter wheel has a shaft (Fig. 1, 7; [0046]) or a receptacle for a shaft along the first rotary axle for connection to the one single motor.
Regarding Claim 9, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the connecting wheels have a common second rotary axle (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the first rotary axle and/or the second rotary axle is or are arranged on the base plate (Fig. 1, for 4 and 5 to rotate with respect to 6, 6 must be fixed to the envelope; [0045]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1. Ma further discloses wherein the filter changing apparatus has a holding device (Fig. 1, 7; [0045]) for holding a non-rotating filter wheel in its position during driving (Fig. 1, given that 4 and 5 are independently rotatable, during rotation of only either 4 or 5, 7 of the non-rotating 4 or 5 would hold it in its position during driving; [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (hereinafter "Ma") (CN 117031864 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Ma, as best understood, discloses the filter changing apparatus according to Claim 1.
Ma, as best understood, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the outer circumference of the portion of the first filter wheel has a teeth distribution of 45% to 55%.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the teeth distribution of the outer circumference of the portion of the first filter wheel of Ma be 45% to 55% since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the first filter wheel would not operate differently with the claimed teeth distribution. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that “in a[n]… embodiment of the filter change apparatus, the portion of the first filter wheel… has teeth in a region cover 45% to 55%” (see Para. [42] of Applicant’s specification).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashiyama et al. (hereinafter "Higashiyama") (US 2019/0076007) in view of Ma et al. (hereinafter "Ma") (CN 117031864 A).
Regarding Claim 12, Higashiyama discloses a camera head (Fig. 1, 14; [0038]) for an endoscope (Fig. 1, 11; [0038]), the camera head having an image sensor (Fig. 7, 233; [0107]), an opening (Fig. 7, 32; [0050]) for receiving light of an image ([0050]) along an optical path (Fig. 4, On; [0076]) and an optical lens system (Fig. 4, 20; [0043]) for focusing the light on the image sensor ([0044]), wherein the camera head has at least one filter changing apparatus (Fig. 7, 33; [0050]). Higashiyama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one filter changing apparatus is the filter changing apparatus of Claim 1.
However, Ma, as best understood, teaches a filter changing apparatus ([0037]), the filter changing apparatus comprising:
a base plate (an envelope —understood to be an outer housing or base of the device; [0047]),
an optical passage comprising an optical axis ([0047]),
at least one first rotatable filter wheel (Fig. 1, 4; [0038]),
a second rotatable filter wheel (Fig. 1, 5; [0039]) and a rotatable first connecting wheel (Fig. 1, a driving assembly comprising 2 and 3; [0040] & [0041]) as well as a drive unit (Fig. 1, 1; [0042]) configured to drive one of the filter wheels ([0042]), the first filter wheel (Fig. 2, 4 has a plurality of 17 in which 8-12 are disposed therein; [0038] & [0047]) and the second filter wheel each having at least two receptacles for one optical filter each (Fig. 3, 5 has a plurality of 18 in which 13-16 are disposed therein; [0039] & [0047]), the filter wheels having a common first rotary axle (Fig. 1, 6; [0046]), the second filter wheel having a first engagement level (a driving-gear-engaging half; see Fig. 3) with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof (Fig. 3, 20; [0039]), and the first connecting wheel being designed as a gear with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof ([0040] & [0041]), wherein the first filter wheel has a portion comprising teeth distributed along the outer circumference thereof (Fig. 2, 19; [0038]), and the first connecting wheel is arranged on the outer circumference of the first filter wheel ([0040]) and on the outer circumference of the second filter wheel ([0041]) in such a way that the teeth of the portion of the first filter wheel can mesh with the teeth of the first connecting wheel for rotating the first connecting wheel ([0040]), and the teeth of the first connecting wheel can mesh with the teeth of the first engagement level of the second filter wheel ([0041]) so that when the first filter wheel is driven by means of the drive unit ([0043]), at least one receptacle of the first filter wheel and of the second filter wheel can be positioned in parallel in the optical passage ([0047]).
The advantage of the multilayer optical filter changing apparatus is to increase the number of filters (Ma; [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to replace the filter changing apparatus as disclosed by Higashiyama, with the multilayer optical filter changing apparatus taught by Ma, to increase the number of filters (Ma; [0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, Higashiyama discloses a retrofit kit (Fig. 1, 10; [0038]) for retrofitting a camera head (Fig. 1, 14; [0038]) and/or an endoscope (Fig. 1, 11; [0038]), wherein the retrofit kit has at least one filter changing apparatus (Fig. 7, 33; [0050]) so that the filter changing apparatus can be arranged between a proximal end of the endoscope and a distal end of the camera head (see Fig. 7). Higashiyama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one filter changing apparatus is the filter changing apparatus of Claim 1.
However, Ma, as best understood, teaches a filter changing apparatus ([0037]), the filter changing apparatus comprising:
a base plate (an envelope —understood to be an outer housing or base of the device; [0047]),
an optical passage comprising an optical axis ([0047]),
at least one first rotatable filter wheel (Fig. 1, 4; [0038]),
a second rotatable filter wheel (Fig. 1, 5; [0039]) and a rotatable first connecting wheel (Fig. 1, a driving assembly comprising 2 and 3; [0040] & [0041]) as well as a drive unit (Fig. 1, 1; [0042]) configured to drive one of the filter wheels ([0042]), the first filter wheel (Fig. 2, 4 has a plurality of 17 in which 8-12 are disposed therein; [0038] & [0047]) and the second filter wheel each having at least two receptacles for one optical filter each (Fig. 3, 5 has a plurality of 18 in which 13-16 are disposed therein; [0039] & [0047]), the filter wheels having a common first rotary axle (Fig. 1, 6; [0046]), the second filter wheel having a first engagement level (a driving-gear-engaging half; see Fig. 3) with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof (Fig. 3, 20; [0039]), and the first connecting wheel being designed as a gear with teeth distributed over the entire outer circumference thereof ([0040] & [0041]), wherein the first filter wheel has a portion comprising teeth distributed along the outer circumference thereof (Fig. 2, 19; [0038]), and the first connecting wheel is arranged on the outer circumference of the first filter wheel ([0040]) and on the outer circumference of the second filter wheel ([0041]) in such a way that the teeth of the portion of the first filter wheel can mesh with the teeth of the first connecting wheel for rotating the first connecting wheel ([0040]), and the teeth of the first connecting wheel can mesh with the teeth of the first engagement level of the second filter wheel ([0041]) so that when the first filter wheel is driven by means of the drive unit ([0043]), at least one receptacle of the first filter wheel and of the second filter wheel can be positioned in parallel in the optical passage ([0047]).
The advantage of the multilayer optical filter changing apparatus is to increase the number of filters (Ma; [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to replace the filter changing apparatus as disclosed by Higashiyama, with the multilayer optical filter changing apparatus taught by Ma, to increase the number of filters (Ma; [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0326592; US 2021/0215920; US 2021/0010659; US 2014/0135581; US 2009/0052185; US 2003/0184853; U.S. 6,231,503; U.S. 5,142,359; U.S. 4,800,474 and U.S. 4,524,383.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795