Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,282,433. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they merely broaden the scope of the claims of the reference patent.
Refer to the following tables for each of the independent claims:
19/182,175
US 12,282,433
Same/different?
Claim 1. An apparatus, comprising:
Claim 1. An apparatus, comprising:
Same
a memory device; and
a memory device; and
Same
a memory controller coupled to the memory device, and comprising:
a memory controller, coupled to the memory device, comprising
Same
a cache, including a cache sequence controller configured to:
a cache, and configured to cause performance of a cache look-up operation associated with the cache, wherein the cache includes a cache sequence controller configured to:
Different
determine that a quantity of a given type of result of cache look-up operations associated with the cache satisfies a bypass threshold;
determine a quantity of a given type of result of cache look-up operations associated with the cache;
determine the quantity satisfies a bypass threshold; and
Different
cause performance of a bypass memory operation that bypasses the cache and accesses the memory device substantially contemporaneously with a cache look-up operation performed by the memory controller;
cause performance of a bypass memory operation, substantially contemporaneously with the performance of the cache look-up operation, that bypasses the cache and accesses the memory device;
Different
wherein performance of the cache look-up operation results in a cache miss; and
Different
cache-in any data associated with the performance of the bypass memory operation in the cache responsive to a determination that the cache is a clean cache.
wherein, responsive to a determination that the cache is a clean cache, the cache sequence controller is configured to cache-in any data associated with the performance of the bypass memory operation in the cache.
Different
19/182,175
US 12,282,433
Same/different?
Claim 10. A system, comprising:
Claim 7. A system, comprising:
Same
a memory device; and
a memory device; and
Same
a memory controller coupled to the memory device and configured to perform cache look-up operations associated with a cache responsive to host read requests, wherein the cache comprises:
a memory controller coupled to the memory device and configured to perform cache look-up operations associated with a cache responsive to host read requests associated with the memory device, wherein the cache comprises:
Different
A metric logic including counters, the metric logic configured to collect, within a threshold amount of time, metrics related to the cache look-up operations; and
Different
a cache sequence controller to:
a cache sequence controller to:
Same
determine, based on collected metrics, that a quantity of a given type of result of the cache look-up operations associated with the cache satisfies a bypass threshold;
determine, based on the collected metrics, a quantity of a given type of result of the cache look-up operations associated with the cache;
determine the quantity of the given type of result satisfies a bypass threshold;
Different
responsive to the determination that the quantity of the given type of result satisfies the bypass threshold:
responsive to the determination that the quantity of the given type of result satisfies the bypass threshold:
Same
perform a cache look-up operation to determine a cache hit or a cache miss corresponding to a host read request; and
perform a cache look-up operation to determine a cache hit or a cache miss corresponding to a host read request; and
Same
in parallel with performance of the cache look-up operation, initiate a bypass read operation to read data corresponding to the host read request from the memory device.
in parallel with performance of the cache look-up operation, initiate a bypass read operation to read data corresponding to the host read request from the memory device.
Same
19/182,175
US 12,282,433
Same/Different?
Claim 17. A method, comprising:
Claim 14. A method, comprising:
Same
receiving a read request at a controller coupled to a memory device;
receiving a read request at a controller coupled to a memory device;
Same
performing cache look-up operations on a cache of a central controller portion;
performing cache look-up operations on a cache of a central controller portion;
Same
collecting, over a threshold amount of time, metrics associated with performing the cache look-up operations;
Different
determining, based on metrics associated with performing the cache look-up operations, a quantity of cache misses resulting from performance of a quantity of consecutive cache look-up operations associated with the cache; and
determining, based on the collected metrics, a quantity of cache misses resulting from performance of a quantity of consecutive cache look-up operations associated with the cache;
Different
determining the quantity of cache misses satisfies a bypass threshold; and
Different
responsive to determining the quantity of cache misses satisfies a bypass threshold:
responsive to determining the quantity of cache misses satisfies the bypass threshold:
Different
bypassing the cache and accessing the memory device in response to a host access request; and
causing performance of a bypass read operation that bypasses the cache and accesses the memory device in response to a host access request; and
Different
causing performance of a cache look-up operation associated with the cache in response to the host access request.
causing performance of a cache look-up operation associated with the cache in response to the host access request substantially contemporaneously with the performance of the bypass read operation.
The tables above show that the independent claims of the present application correspond to the independent claims of the reference patent. It is clearly obvious that US Patent 12,282,433 substantially discloses the subject matter of claims 1, 10 and 17 of the instant application. Applicant merely broadens the scope of the instant application by deleting a few elements from US Patent 12,282,433.
The claims 2-9, 11-16 and 18-20 included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De, US PGPub 2019/0384713, in view of Rohillah et al., US Patent 11,866,354, hereafter Rohillah.
With respect to claim 17, De teaches a method, comprising:
receiving a read request at a controller coupled to a memory device (pars. 53-54, the request for data being a read, received from the device controller 126 of par. 48);
performing cache look-up operations on a cache (par. 53, the on-die controller accessing the cache);
determining, based on metrics associated with performing the cache look-up operations, a quantity of cache misses resulting from performance of a quantity of consecutive cache look-up operations associated with the cache (pars. 53 and 57, the balancing circuit 304 in the balancing component determines the cache hit count (quantity of cache misses)); and
responsive to determining the quantity of cache misses satisfies a bypass threshold (par. 57, the balancing circuit 304 determines a relationship between the cache hit count and the total access count being greater than a predetermined threshold):
bypassing the cache and accessing the memory device in response to a host access request (pars. 55-57, the balancing circuit 304 directly communicated with the non-volatile memory device 408 in response to a relationship between the cache hit count and the total access count being greater than a predetermined threshold. The balancing circuit 304 directly communicating with the non-volatile storage bypasses the communication with the cache 410. Note that this is a contingent limitation based on the condition “responsive to determining the quantity of cache misses satisfies a bypass threshold,” and is not required to occur.); and
causing performance of a cache look-up operation associated with the cache in response to the host access request (par. 55-57. Note that this is a contingent limitation based on the condition “responsive to determining the quantity of cache misses satisfies a bypass threshold,” and is not required to occur.).
De teaches performing cache look-up operations on a cache, but fails to teach the cache is of a central controller portion.
Re teaches:
a cache (fig. 1, cache 120) of a central controller portion (fig. 1, cache controller circuitry 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified De to incorporate the teaching of Rohillah such that the memory controller of De that communicates with the cache would include the cache and the cache controller circuitry of Rohillah that receives various performance metrics from the cache. The motivation is to switch between insertion policies at a given cache level based on various performance metrics, as disclosed in Rohillah col 3, lines 3-4.
With respect to claim 19, De and Rohillah teach the limitations of the parent claim. De further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein data associated with the performance of the bypass read operation is selectively utilized based on a type of respective result of the cache look-up operations (pars. 55-57, the balancing circuit 304 directly communicated with the non-volatile memory device 408 in response to a relationship between the cache hit count and the total access count being greater than a predetermined threshold. The balancing circuit 304 directly communicating with the non-volatile storage bypasses the communication with the cache 410).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De and Rohillah as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Polishuk et al., US PGPub 2023/0305960, hereafter “Polishuk.”
With respect to claim 18, De and Rohillah teach the limitations of the parent claim, but fail to teach determining a quantity of consecutive cache misses resulting from performance of the plurality of consecutive cache look-up operations, and determining the quantity of consecutive cache misses exceeds the bypass threshold. Polishuk further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the cache look-up operations comprise a plurality of consecutive cache look-up operations, and further comprising:
determining a quantity of consecutive cache misses resulting from performance of the plurality of consecutive cache look-up operations (par. 77, 79, and 81, and figs 6a-6c, the sequences 600-602 of respective communications between a cache controller 620, a snoop filter controller, and a cache array 640. The cache controller 620 participates in lookup 612, and a miss message 613 is generated to indicate to the cache controller 620 that no such corresponding entry has been found by the lookup 612),
De teaches determining the quantity of cache misses exceeds the bypass threshold (par. 57, the balancing circuit 304 determines a relationship between the cache hit count and the total access count being greater than a predetermined threshold), so the combination of De with Polishuk teaches determining the quantity of consecutive cache misses exceeds the bypass threshold, as Polishuk teaches determining a quantity of consecutive cache misses (pars. 77, 29, and 81, as discussed above)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: De, Rohillah, and the other prior art of record fail to teach wherein the metrics are collected over a threshold amount of time, and wherein the threshold amount of time is variable based on a hit rate or a miss rate of the cache look-up operations.
Independent claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,282,433. If the Applicant were to resolve the double patenting rejection through a terminal disclaimer, claims 1-16 would be allowable, as they contain the similar allowable subject matter as that of the parent application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moyer et al., US Patent 12,204,454 teaches bypassing cache insertion. Walker, US Patent 11,853,224 teaches a filter for storing to cache. Jain et al., US PGPub 2023/0341922 teaches dynamic cache bypass for power savings. Mounes-Toussi, US Patent 6,651,143 teaches a cache bypass. Mirza, US Patent 5,625,793 teaches automatic cache bypass for instructions exhibiting poor cache hit ration.
/RYAN DARE/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132