DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 2014/0313423).
Claim 1, Johnson teaches An electronic device, comprising:
a memory configured to store a first image including a first location recognition pattern and a first color pattern (i.e. calibration corrected is stored) (p. 0048);
a communication interface (i.e. PC) comprising circuitry (p. 0048);
a projection unit comprising a projector (140, 142, 144) (fig. 1A); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the memory, the communication interface, and the projection unit and individually and/or collectively, configured to cause the electronic device to:
control the projection unit to project the first image (i.e. projectors project calibration patterns) (p. 0051),
control the communication interface to transmit (i.e. relay), to an other electronic device (i.e. other projector), a control signal for controlling a second image including a second location recognition pattern and a second color pattern to be projected (i.e. calibration corrected image sent to the projectors) (p. 0048-0051), and
based on a captured image, including an image of an area onto which the first image and the second image are projected (i.e. captures by camera 110), being received from a user terminal device through the communication interface (i.e. PC), acquire first information for changing at least one of a first projected area of the electronic device or a second projected area of the other electronic device based on the first location recognition pattern and the second location recognition pattern (i.e. calibration correction information based on common coordinate system to achieve edge blending), and acquire second information for matching projection colors of the electronic device and the other electronic device based on the first color pattern and the second color pattern (i.e. color and intensity calibration with second camera) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071).
Claim 2, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first location recognition pattern includes a plurality of first patterns indicating an outer edge of the first projected area,
the second location recognition pattern includes a plurality of second patterns indicating an outer edge of the second projected area (i.e. one or more patterns for the projectors determine overlap zones) (p. 0027-0032),
the plurality of first patterns are different from the plurality of second patterns (i.e. pre-calibrated patterns and distortion patterns) (p. 0027-0032), and
at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to:
identify the first projected area based on the plurality of first patterns (i.e. first image with an overlap zone) (p. 0027-0032),
identify the second projected area based on the plurality of second patterns (i.e. the pre-calibration and distortion patterns are used to create common coordinate system and determine the image area and overlap zones) (p. 0027-0032), and
acquire information for changing at least one of a size, a shape, or a location of at least one of the first projected area or the second projected area based on the first projected area and the second projected area as the first information (i.e. calibrate overlap zones with calibration correction) (p. 0048-0055).
Claim 4, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the first color pattern and the second color pattern includes red (R) color, green (G) color, blue (B) color, and white (W) color according to a plurality of pieces of luminance (i.e. RGB for colon intensity correction) (p. 0082-0084), and
at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to acquire, as the second information (i.e. homography maps), information for adjusting at least one of luminance, white balance, or gamma of at least one of the electronic device or the other electronic device based on the first color pattern and the second color pattern (i.e. color correction based on projector patterns and edge blending zones (p. 0060, 0082-0084).
Claim 5, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to:
control the projection unit to change a location of the first projected area based on the first information (i.e. calibration correction information based on common coordinate system to achieve edge blending) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071), and
change the projection color of the electronic device based on the second information (i.e. color and intensity calibration with second camera) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071).
Claim 6, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to control the communication interface to transmit, to the other electric device, a control signal for changing a location of the second projected area based on the first information (i.e. mapping data sent to projectors for calibration correction information based on common coordinate system to achieve edge blending) and changing the projection color of the other electronic device based on the second information (i.e. color and intensity calibration with second camera) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071).
Claim 7, Johnson teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to:
update a location of at least one of the first projected area or the second projected area based on the first information (i.e. projection maps for edge blending sent to projectors) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071),
identify an overlapping area of the updated first projected area and the updated second projected area (i.e. overlap zones) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071),
adjust luminance of an area corresponding to the overlapping area in first content (i.e. color and intensity calibration with second camera) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071), and
control the projection unit to project the first content with the adjusted luminance (i.e. projection maps for edge blending with color correction sent to projectors) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071).
Claim 8, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 7, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device (i.e. PC) to control the communication interface to transmit, to the other electronic device, a control signal for allowing the other electronic device to adjust luminance of an area corresponding to an overlapping area (i.e. overlap zone) in second content (i.e. second projector pattern) corresponding to the first content and project the second content with the adjusted luminance (i.e. projection maps for edge blending with color correction sent to projectors) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071).
Claim 9, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first image further includes a first guide pattern for guiding (i.e. manual calibration for color and intensity) a user to a relative location of the electronic device and the other electronic device, and the second image further includes a second guide pattern for guiding the user to the relative location of the electronic device and the other electronic device (i.e. manual calibration of second projector) (p. 0046, 0053, 0071).
Claim 10, Johnson teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the memory further stores the second image, and at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic device to control the communication interface to transmit, to the other electronic device, the second image and a control signal for controlling the second image to be projected (i.e. projection maps for edge blending with color correction sent to projectors) (fig. 1A, 6; p. 0048-0055, 0071).
Claim 11 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1.
Claim 12 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 2.
Claim 14 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 4.
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2014/0313423) in view of Kaji (US 2020/0329220).
Claim 3, Johnson is silent regarding The electronic device as claimed in claim 2, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to:
identify a first center of gravity of each of the plurality of first patterns and identify the first projected area based on the first center of gravity, and
identify a second center of gravity of each of the plurality of second patterns, and identify the second projected area based on the second center of gravity.
Kaji teaches The electronic device as claimed in claim 2, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to:
identify a first center of gravity of each of the plurality of first patterns and identify the first projected area based on the first center of gravity (i.e. non colored center of gravity) (fig. 22; p. 0199, 0206, 0215-0216, 0258-0259), and
identify a second center of gravity of each of the plurality of second patterns, and identify the second projected area based on the second center of gravity (i.e. colored center of gravity (fig. 22; p. 0199, 0206, 0215-0216, 0258-0259).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided center of gravity patterns as taught by Kaji to the system of Johnson to provide calibration (p. 0206).
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 3.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160187468 A1 WANG; GUO-ZHEN et al. – center of gravity for measuring displacement
US 20130321582 A1 Huang; Yaxiong – center of gravity for measuring 3D distances
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 7/22/2026